Land public transport fares not dictated by oil prices but by GST, higher insurance premiums, forex – SPAD

Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD) chairman Tan Sri Syed Hamid Albar has said that the fare rates of land public transport like buses or taxis are not dictated by world oil prices, even as the latter has been falling steadily, according to Bernama.

The former home minister said that this was because the cost of petrol or diesel only constitutes 10% of the operating costs of the companies providing public transport services, adding that the cost of maintaining these vehicles on the road affected the fare prices more.

“There are other influencing elements, such as the goods and services tax (GST) imposed on vehicle spare parts,” Syed Hamid said. “Aside from that, the companies have to bear with higher insurance premiums and fluctuating foreign exchange rates.”

Additionally, Syed Hamid claimed that while commuters had complained about land transport fare increases, they also said that the quality of these services were much improved now.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• BNaik on Mar 11, 2016 at 2:57 pm

“Grandpap said like this, grandmum said like that”. ur all win loh, just know to suck rakyat $$$ saja

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 0
    • George Abdul on Mar 11, 2016 at 3:41 pm

Welcome to monopolies Malaysia AP system ! Cronies free to apply any thing to increase price… and just “Good” blaming on traders, hawkers and Rakyat !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
      • Ruckyard on Mar 11, 2016 at 4:55 pm

Public transport still got GST. nonsense!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
      • Nazee on Mar 11, 2016 at 9:45 pm

bullsh*t. nuff said.

• Oh mak lu cina on Mar 12, 2016 at 7:32 pm

Domestic Trade, Cooperatives and Consumerism Minister Datuk Seri Hamzah Zainuddin said:

“If you ask me, God has never told anyone to raise or lower prices. Only those who do not believe in God will increase their prices.”

Therefore the government does not believe in GOD.

• Wayang taichi on Mar 11, 2016 at 4:15 pm

The smartest excuses given so far!

• thepolygonal on Mar 11, 2016 at 5:21 pm

If it’s not this, it’s that. Next they blame the cuaca hot so use more aircon for public transport so cost more. I just pity those effected.

• Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Mar 11, 2016 at 5:55 pm

When ringgit recovers we should write to SPAD to demand fares to be brought down.

Following the government of the day’s line of thought, SPAD doesn’t believe in God if they are not honest in their pricing.

• kimi's fan on Jun 01, 2016 at 1:46 pm

our fried rice minister always tell people that GST won’t bring burden to the business. Hence, selling price shall not be increase.

but..what are we dealing now ?

otak udang minister

• cendol (Member) on Mar 11, 2016 at 2:59 pm

But But when oil prices increase, you all crying want to increase price because cost increase

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 0
    • Another SPAD Bull on Mar 11, 2016 at 3:31 pm

Another bull by SPAD. But SPAD cannot solve the most important thing. Their big boss’s wife has so many teksi companies. Of course Big Boss will be happy when fares and rates go higher.

You see, in Malaysia, there is no conflict of Interest. Big boss can keep on raising prices to benefit his wife and susahkan the rakyat and yet, we got no where to complain to.

Who to complain to? He former Minister. All his friends are in Cabinet. You complain about him also, the Ministers tak layan you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
      • Subramaniam Alagappa on Mar 11, 2016 at 3:55 pm

SPAD need to be abolished. It is sucking too much of money from the rakyat yet, they come out with absurd things and have done ZERO to the Transport arena.

Hamid’s salary is 6 figures per month. Not per year but per month. Better abolish SPAD and just keep JPJ as the one governing transport.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
    • anti BN on Mar 11, 2016 at 3:33 pm

Yes true, all BN ministers are stupid and corrupted. Hope they will be vanished from earth soon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • Subramaniam Alagappa on Mar 11, 2016 at 3:51 pm

Go and dig deeper and see, nearly all transport companies are indirectly owned by Ministers. And we know, Ministers have no clue about the hard lives we lead. Most of our Ministers are super rich. And when I say super rich, I mean by the billions.

Ask people taking bus, they will tell you, it eats a big portion of their salary. Is this fair?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • Subramaniam Alagappa on Mar 11, 2016 at 3:57 pm

What about crony GLC TNB? Raised rates so much because they said fuel was very high. Now fuel has gone down so much, our TNB rates are the same.

Most households in Klang Valley are paying RM500 per month. Totally unheard off figures when you compare to other countries rates.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • later when oil price increase, transport fee also increase. then tan sri will say media misquote him. as usual la…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • Now you say its not dictated by oil price but GST. then why in the world that these sector was not being exempted from GST. You people simply wants to pinch squeeze the rakyat from all angle public transport toll etc etc.

Your time will come soon :-)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • Wow SPAD.

• Same L0rrrr on Mar 11, 2016 at 3:44 pm

Typical Sendiri Cakap Sendiri Syok!

• c.p.mohan on Mar 11, 2016 at 3:55 pm

“There are other influencing elements” Syed Hamid said but when traders increase prices they are accused of being not god-fearing and threaten with jail-time. Prosecute those preventing the smooth-flow of goods, services and healthy competition.

• omegle on Mar 11, 2016 at 3:56 pm

Oh so now the petrol only constitutes 10% of the cost?? So when the oil price go way up, don’t you dare say you have to increase taxi fare because of that

• Naik Bas on Mar 11, 2016 at 4:16 pm

when fuel price increase, they will increase fares so sudden event by overnight.. when fuel drop, suddenly said 10%.. plus, saying GST is good for rakyat.. then now what? reason for cost increase?

• BeemerFreak on Mar 11, 2016 at 4:24 pm

Slap that bastard……don’t know economics but want to talk

• Black Dog on Mar 11, 2016 at 4:46 pm

Many countries in the world, public transport is subsidized by the government but here in bolehland its like another money making opportunity to suck the poor rakyat money

• the stiq on Mar 11, 2016 at 5:03 pm

When raising public transport fees: Reason: Petrol and Diesel price have increased, impacted sustainability.

When asked to reduce public transport fees: CANNOT, Reason: Cost of petrol or diesel only constitutes 10% of the operating costs.

So are you telling us that previously you were lying when you want to raise the fees?!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
  • Mr Fakta on Mar 11, 2016 at 9:36 pm

Almost forgot we paid our bangla in USD, that’s why the forex

• Roger Tan on Mar 11, 2016 at 10:02 pm

Yaya papaya

• foreign currency affect fares?

wa…..how often they buy new vehicles from overseas?

when favourable forex do they reduce fare or not? dumb excuse

• Dulu masa tambang naik katanya sebab harga minyak naik dan alat ganti dibeli dari luar negara menyebabkan xdapat menampung kos jadi perlu naik..

hakikatnya sekarang lori2(xsemua), bas2(xsemua), ambulan2(xsemua lagi pun xperlu bayar tambang ambulan jadi jangan risau), taxi2 proton(mungkin 1-2 saja guna made in malaysia yang lain guna madi in japan), guna “filter minyak” ada tulis “made in malaysia”, minyak pelincir ada lambang “UMW” dan siapa yang xtau kilang GTL LUBE SHELL juga ada kilang di malaysia dan Petronas lube (dibungkus saja di malaysia oleh feoso (m)) dan tayar jenama conti(conti made in malaysia) dan harga minyak dunia jatuh lebih dari 70% sejak jun 2014(rusia xnak hadkan pengeluaran minyak tu sebab simpanan dunia banyak kali dan harga jatuh).

Tetapi, bagi mengaburi mata bagi mengelakkan tambang2 diturunkan disalahkan GST yang naik 6% dan “MUNGKIN” kenaikan insyuran (70% “””MUNGKIN”””) yang perlu dibayar 2 kali setahun MENYEBABKAN tambang xboleh turun…

sekian

maaf xsemua fakta sebenar

• papa mama's sister on Mar 13, 2016 at 4:15 pm

SPAD – Really taboleh pakai langsung…..

• Justice on May 16, 2016 at 1:12 pm

Welcome to Msia, brothers and sisters, friends from other countries! Betul-betul mcm mcm pun ada.
    Where the citizens work to pay off for mcm mcm department, impossible to afford houses, 9 years car instalment…etc etc…betul….betul betul mcm mcm pun ada. American punya conspiracy movie on Fahrenheit pun kalah. if we have our own movie, it’ll be in a form of series.
    Have you guys ever thought, based on our income and car values here, say we earn the exact same salary figures in countries like Aus, USA, Eng…have you any ideas what cars would u be driving there? Put aside the fact that we still have to consider mortgages, taxes, insurances etc etc la. Here, a person with an income of around 2,500 can buy a 70k Vios. Now imagine if we were to swap the currency to the mentioned nations but with the same figures, what sort of cars would 70k get u?

• thepolygonal on May 18, 2016 at 9:13 am

Please tell the truth… it’s actually dictated by the sugar price.

• Allen on May 24, 2016 at 12:16 am

Most car parts drop in price after the introduction of GST.

GST replaced the 10% sales tax.

• SayaRakyatBodoh on Jun 18, 2016 at 10:17 am

when oil price goes up, they increase the price stating on the reason that oil is more expensive now. now they want to increase again, then they say it’s not dictated by oil price, but by GST. rakyat Malaysia memang bodoh.

• thepolygonal on Jun 20, 2016 at 6:09 pm

No no noooo.. it’s the sugar price. It’s all dictated by the sugar price.