New Jaguar XF coming soon to M’sia – 2nd gen teased

The new Jaguar XF is coming soon to Malaysia, as teased by the official Jaguar Malaysia Facebook page. The post has four close up shots of details – the leaping cat, the rotary gear knob that the original XF pioneered, the front badge and the slimmer/sharper headlamps of the latest model.

The second-gen XF made its debut at the 2015 New York International Auto Show (NYIAS) a year ago before going on sale later in 2015. It’s lighter, more spacious, more powerful and more fuel efficient than the original XF, which has been around since 2007.

The styling is inspired by the smaller XE, and a glasshouse that stretches further back allows the new XF to keep its characteristic coupe-like roofline. Although the 2016 XF is 7 mm shorter and 3 mm lower than before, its 2,960 mm wheelbase is actually 51 mm longer, providing what Jaguar says is class-leading rear space. The dashboard also shares the same design style as the XE, which was launched here in January.

Built on Jaguar’s mostly aluminium modular architecture (the second model after the XE) the new XF is up to 190 kg lighter than before – 80 kg lighter than the next competitor, Jaguar claims – despite torsional stiffness having increased by as much as 28%.

The car was launched with a new Ingenium 2.0 turbodiesel with two outputs – 163 PS/380 Nm and 180 PS/430 Nm – mated to either a six-speed manual or an eight-speed auto. The other three engines – 240 PS/340 Nm 2.0 litre petrol turbo, updated 300 PS/700 Nm 3.0 litre biturbo diesel V6, 3.0 litre supercharged petrol V6 in either 340 PS/450 Nm or 380 PS/450 Nm – are auto only.

The current XF in Malaysia is available as a 2.0 Ti petrol (240 PS/340 Nm), 2.2 Td diesel (200 PS/450 Nm), 3.0 Td diesel (275 PS/600 Nm) and 3.0 SC supercharged petrol (340 PS/450 Nm), priced from RM408,888 to RM623,888. A stylish and sporty alternative to the German establishment.

GALLERY: Second-gen Jaguar XF

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Great Car but Low Class Service on Mar 14, 2016 at 11:46 am

High class car with low class service. Only 1 place to service, Glenmarie. At the service centre, got no place to sit. You can stand and watch your car being serviced through a glass panel.

No coffee. No water also. Yes, I am not joking. Coffee machine got but rosak. Water also tak ada. Sometimes you get Hwa Tai biskut but most of the time, nothing.

This is what you call pariah company given the dealership.

One may argue it is for drivers to take their bosses cars in but come on, Jaguar owners like to be treated with some class I am sure and the bosses want to drive their car in for service too.

Very very low class service. My advice to Jaguar UK, please withdraw your dealership and open yourself here.

• P1 liker on Mar 14, 2016 at 11:57 am

If new perdana hv silhouette like this, I will consider buying seriuosly

• Pune Power on Mar 14, 2016 at 12:38 pm

Starting at 400k is a 100k premium over the new C300, different segment notwithstanding. Let’s see how it compares with the new E Class and 5 series.

• seancorr (Member) on Mar 14, 2016 at 7:40 pm

The XE cost about 500k for top spec so this one we can expect it to be 800k?