Toyota C-HR spied in Turkey; to be built in Thailand?

Toyota C-HR Turkey 1

The Toyota C-HR was present at the 2016 Geneva Motor Show, but it was mounted on an enclosed platform at the Toyota stand and no one could get close to it. Now, however, Otopark has procured photos of the B-segment crossover in Turkey, giving us a closer look (literally) at the Honda HR-V and Mazda CX-3 rival.

On display were two cars, both featuring a different colour scheme from the silver-and-black car shown at Geneva – one in red with a white roof, the other in a full white scheme. Both cars are fitted with smaller wheels than the show car’s 18-inch items, and the white car also doesn’t have the optional full-LED head- and tail lights, going for more traditional projector headlights and bulb-type tail lights.

Toyota C-HR Turkey 4

Production of the C-HR is slated to kick off in Turkey at Toyota’s Sarkaya plant (likely where these photos were taken) as well as the Miyagi plant in Japan in the autumn. However, reports have stated that production will also be expanded to China’s Tianjin and Guangzhou facilities, as well as to Thailand starting in 2018 – will that be when the C-HR will make its market debut in ASEAN?

Three powertrains will be available for the C-HR, including a hybrid version likely derived from the new Prius – it delivers 122 PS and incorporates a 1.8 litre engine with a record maximum thermal efficiency of 40%, the same claimed for the Prius. Carbon dioxide emissions is quoted at under 90 grams per kilometre.

Also available is the 8NR-FTS 1.2 litre turbo four-pot introduced on the facelifted Auris, delivering 115 PS from 5,200 to 5,600rpm and 185Nm between 1,500 and 4,000rpm. It is mated to either a six-speed manual transmission or a CVT, the latter offered with either two- or four-wheel drive.

A 2.0 litre CVT variant, possibly fitted with the same 147 PS/187 Nm 2.0 litre Dual VVT-i four-pot and CVT combo as the Corolla Altis, will also be available in certain markets – will this be what we are getting, to take on the 1.8 litre HR-V and the 2.0 litre CX-3?

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• transformer on Mar 16, 2016 at 12:15 pm

Exterior looks very futuristic…
    Just wished it’s interior has Mazda 2 standards in term of build quality and design…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
    • Bravo PT Commentators!!! on Mar 16, 2016 at 1:35 pm

Why everyhting also launch and being built in Thailand. What happened to our great Malaysia? No more investments?

What is wrong with Malaysia?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
      • mr1031 on Mar 16, 2016 at 2:44 pm

I was more surprised that u didn’t know why..hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 1
        • wilson on Mar 16, 2016 at 3:48 pm

hehe

• Copy competitor’s design? Check the shape, the rear door handle etc. See where all the Toyota salesman put their face this time.

• helmi on Mar 16, 2016 at 5:38 pm

I salute you sir when you said “…our great Malaysia..”

• DPCraft on Mar 16, 2016 at 4:42 pm

I hope they won’t cucuk the ipad on the upper dash like Mazda 2.

• sabahan on Mar 16, 2016 at 12:29 pm

why want to make a 1.2T?
    1.2T like extremely underpower, just like a 1.5 HR-V

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 23
    • jz stfu if you know ntg on Mar 16, 2016 at 2:12 pm

Pls don comment if you don’t know any shit. 1.2 turbo, 185Nm @ low rpm And you say it’s extremely underpowered ? It has even more torque than the 1.8L (172NM @4.2k rpm) HRV.. Oh and since when hrv uses 1.5?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
      • blardy hell on Mar 16, 2016 at 2:43 pm

Ahem, just to let you know, thai HRV and some parts of the world using 1.5cc for base spec. google more and you will know. Self confidence is good but without proper knowledge would be idiot.

Cheers!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 10
        • DPCraft on Mar 16, 2016 at 4:51 pm

+blardy hell since when Honda equip a 1.5cc engine on their cars ?? 1500cc and 1.5cc is huge different you know…

Not so smart eh ? Don’t scold ppl larh…

• aquila on Mar 17, 2016 at 2:29 pm

The Vezel is 1.5L while the HR-V is the 1.8L…

• jz stfu if you know ntg on Mar 18, 2016 at 11:10 am

Hahhaahhahaha correcting someone with the wrong fact is much more like an idiot. HRV with 1.5cc? That’s the smallest engine displacement I ever known (if it really does exist). U sure who can’t even differentiate between cc and L but dare to speak like you know everything hahaha. Stop making a joke out of yourself man

• in my shopping list. Just cancelled my long waiting HR-V

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 15
    • Every1canTalk on Mar 16, 2016 at 1:30 pm

Muahahaha, cancel HRV that having waiting period few months and waiting the CHR that may coming date few years? You are the best!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
    • king? on Mar 16, 2016 at 2:05 pm

It will be here in 2018….and you cancelled your booking?

• If it is damned good as it looks, a few more years won’t matter!

• I think my 2013 Honda city still can last for another 2 years gua…. no problem to wait for the CHR. Just make sure i buy what i like.

• wilson on Mar 16, 2016 at 3:54 pm

hehe, u should jz cancel
      this time toyota finally got brilliant art sense

• if price below 100k surely i will buy!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
  • ah mat on Mar 16, 2016 at 1:00 pm

ini kereta masuk malaysia jadi RM 150 ribu,
    then next day MAI kata harga kereta sudah turun 10%.
    puii…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
    • Andas on Mar 16, 2016 at 2:14 pm

If 150k, can not fight with HRV.. better dont come to Msia la..

• Nasi campur SUV..dpn Renault,blkg Honda..tail lamp same as Honda civic..btw nice look n size perfect..

• Civic & chr produced in the same year 2016, tail light actually made by Toyota for Lexus LFA concept in 2007,,you can google it, Honda borrowed from Toyota lol

• Maria on Mar 16, 2016 at 1:32 pm

I don’t know but did toyota copy civic’s rear lamp to this CHR.If price wise come to me baby

• How can toyota copy civic? Both produced in 2016..actually Honda copied toyota..search Lexus LFA concept car 2007

• Looks nicer than HRV

• civic gen X on Mar 16, 2016 at 1:44 pm

The rear can easily be mistaken for a Honda Civic Crossover, if ever Honda decides to make one.

• thepolygonal on Mar 16, 2016 at 1:47 pm

Bring in the hybrid and turbo. At least something different to shout about rather than 2.0. The Nissan Juke 1.6 Dig-Turbo could have swept everyone under the table few years ago but Nissan decided not to bring it in to Malaysia. Don’t make the same mistake Toyota.

• Toyota is taking their own sweet time to bring in this mini-SUV. They must be pretty confident with their market share till then.

• How my passenger going to look out the mirror

• ionlaw on Mar 16, 2016 at 2:37 pm

The white one is a stromtrooper!!!

• xxxxxxxx on Mar 16, 2016 at 2:45 pm

when this coming to our land HRV second generation start teasing with photos and you all want to cancel booking this again. then complaint about price increase due inflation.

• Juke-inspired, Hyundai front, civic 10-rear. But becoz its toyota, nobody gonna bash. Cannot persoal their jepunis gods.

However if P1 did this….

• Just like BMW 7 series looks kike a camry. Becoz it is BmW, semua orang diam diam.

• this joker thinks amateur proton is in the same league as all the established carmakers in the world. you go jilat your proton logo diam-diam ok?

• Honda actually copied toyota for rear lamp..search Lexus LFA concept car 2007..lol

• Wish it was a bit shorter and taller like HRV.

• Blitz on Mar 16, 2016 at 4:47 pm

I would still spend my money on the honda accord (eventhough its a diffrent car segment) cos its just so much more comfortable then this crampy SUV segment car. XD Just my 2 cents oppinion

• seancorr (Member) on Mar 16, 2016 at 6:03 pm

Still no interior shots??

• Consumer on Mar 16, 2016 at 6:07 pm

After looking at this beautiful car for many many times, still think that the only down side is rear handle. Why they put it this high yet it is not the invisible type. Overall looks handsome.

• Let go viva on Mar 16, 2016 at 6:43 pm

2018? Kinda late..Buy M3 first loh then trade in since Sam lor said sushi RV would be good

• They’re already late & they wanna sell it 2018? Mazda & Honda could’ve built better rivals by then.

• RavenAii on Mar 16, 2016 at 11:51 pm

Nice design but not very practical

• Volve are looking more n more to Volvo, but the front part like Toyota … where is the Honda Identity goes???

• Wira 1.8 on Mar 17, 2016 at 10:43 pm

Diesel engine please. Euro5. 2L engine can get milage 6L per 100km