Kia Rio Sedan X open for booking – bodykit, RM78k

IMG_2981

Brochures and price lists of the Kia Rio Sedan X have been circulating by dealers – proclaiming that the car is open for booking – ahead of the new variant’s launch, slated for the end of the month. The four-door model was only launched in January, and has already received several features for added value.

First up, the pricing – the X will go for RM77,888 on-the-road with insurance – that’s RM5,000 more than the standard sedan (which now also benefits from a RM2,000 rebate for a limited time), and just RM1,000 less than the better-equipped hatch. A five-year, unlimited mileage warranty is included.

So what do you get in exchange for the five grand? Well, the most obvious is the new bodykit that runs around the car, along with a small bootlid spoiler. Otherwise, it’s the same kit as before – reflector halogen headlights with bulb-type daytime running lights, front and rear fog lights and 15-inch alloy wheels.

Changes inside include a new aftermarket head unit with a seven-inch touchscreen, USB, AUX, Bluetooth and MirrorLink connectivity and a rear view camera, plus leather seats with embroidered “K2” logos. Otherwise, it’s the same as before, which means you still don’t get the hatchback’s keyless entry and start, leather-wrapped steering wheel, alloy pedals and Supervision multi-info display.

Crucially, however, the Rio Sedan X retains six airbags, electronic stability control, hill-start assist, ISOFIX child seat anchors, a tyre pressure monitoring system and all-around disc brakes, all as standard. So what do you think of this new variant – does it really offer better value compared to the regular sedan?

GALLERY: Kia Rio Sedan in Malaysia

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Big big cheats. on Mar 18, 2016 at 4:26 pm

just another way for crony sneaky Naza to con another RM5000 from the rakyat.

No point paying more. When you buy Korean, try to keep your price as low as possible cause next year, the car drops to half in value. So, best to keep original price as low as possible.

Or just buy 2nd hand. Why waste your money buying new? Go buy an Elantra, 2 year old car for RM50k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 41
    • Docky on Mar 18, 2016 at 7:47 pm

Away with your political bashing. We buy cars , not interested in the seller.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 6
    • Really really chaets on Mar 18, 2016 at 7:56 pm

But still better than vios top range has no VSC, no traction control and only 2 airbag at price almost RM 90,000?

At least KIA still survive without copying or rebadge other car from other car maker. They learn and challenge something that can make their car more better than before. Now, they earn profit.

What about position proton as national car maker? hrmm..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 2
    • OMG…Safety features – GOOD, Design – normal, Engine spec – BAD, RV – BAD …My opinion, better buy Kia Cerato with big rebates which available now.

• Ollie on Mar 21, 2016 at 2:51 pm

I’m a car brand agnostic.. dont care about brands. but i bought a 2nd hand Kia 2 years ago because the RV was bad; so i got a premium car for very cheap. but now im looking to replace my car with another 2nd hand, and the RV for Korean cars is the same or even more than Japanese and other makes. I might as well buy a Continental looking at 2nd hand prices

This RV low for Korean cars is a myth perpetuated for years.. the facts say otherwise. Too many ppl go by hearsay instead of looking at facts

• Ollie on Mar 21, 2016 at 1:41 pm

Elantra is selling for 70k, 2013 model (3 yr old considered now). Vios 2013 model is 50k. FACTS from Mudah.my. So would you like to laugh or cry?

• Chilok on Mar 23, 2016 at 9:56 am

A lot better than my brother’s Vios; performance, safety, body kits.. Interior-excellent. Worth buying.

• Bueno on Mar 25, 2016 at 4:36 pm

Have u ever think why the first owner sells his or her car? Sure something not satisfies the previous owner. For me I go for this…brand new, with warranty, perfectly nice for me.

• DPCraft on Mar 18, 2016 at 4:43 pm

Honda City still better…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 25
  • farghmee on Mar 18, 2016 at 5:07 pm

78k with ESC, isofix & 6airbags is niceeeee!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 3
  • omg another ‘bodykit’…isit me or are we obsessed bodykits/lips here…

make the car look taller…so ugly

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 21
    • Ong Chee Boon on Mar 22, 2016 at 3:36 pm

“Ugly” is a relative term. It depends what’s your preference and which cars are you comparing this Kia Rio Sedan with. Have you seen an actual one?

Yes the design is simple, not-sporty and minimalist, but the fine details are there. You won’t believe this car just cost RM73k in malaysia (you know our malaysia cars are usually overpriced right?)

• Sedan no sunroof?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
  • Not for investment on Mar 18, 2016 at 5:59 pm

We are not buying car for Investment, but is follow what you like. with this price range and feature you are not be able to compare with others B-segment sedan. 6 airbags, ESC,isofix,Tpms which is not include by others brand.
    Kia Rio sedan is ugly, but safety is far better with others.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 1
    • Sammy Loo on Mar 20, 2016 at 3:33 am

i wonder how many units of this junk is being sold, even the hatchback is rare to see although it comes with good safety features

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
  • Jobless on Mar 18, 2016 at 8:52 pm

The bodykit cost pobably about Rm500 at many ah beng mechanics located beneath many trees

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • Stop Crony on Mar 18, 2016 at 9:09 pm

What do you expect from proton?Their engineers can’t even do the armrests right!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
  • Maria on Mar 18, 2016 at 10:30 pm

Oh my god what are you doing naza…Better bring new sorento,Carnival,Sportage and new optima to malaysia rather than this fugly bodykit rio….God to believe that..

• Same L0rrrr on Mar 19, 2016 at 1:16 pm

Failed kimchi no RV car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
  • Ong Chee Boon on Mar 19, 2016 at 1:59 pm

Putting safety features aside (which is already stated by other posters – its full loaded and should be applauded.)

I think Kia Rio Sedan is quite a nice looking car for its pricing segment. I have actually been to a Kia showroom before, there was no demo unit, but a salesman is kind enough to show me the actual unit.

Interior quality is quite decent and appropriate in its segment, heck even better than some of the japanese models here. The fit and finish is solid.

The new rear boots space is not class leading but it is certainly sufficient. I don’t know about you guys, but i think its rear design is minimalist and i like it.

Too bad i bought Kia picanto, otherwise i might seriously considering this car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
  • Kuinosan on Mar 19, 2016 at 2:51 pm

I genuinely feel that Naza Malaysia have lost its sense of direction. Just a few years back, they looked like they knew what they were doing by offering some of the good cars from the Kia line of products. Why after only a few years, things have suddenly took a turnabout and Naza Malaysia have been offering nothing but dated and MOD up models from the old line up of Kia cars??? What is wrong with you guys at the top management level? Kia Korea, Europe and U.S. is doing a great job of offering the cream of the crop cars over there. But over in Malaysia, things have gone from bad to worse!!! When a car company resorts to using cheap gimmicks such as cheap looking body kits and pathetic rebates, you know they are doing a crap job. This Rio X is a textbook example of a good original design made to look bad with these cheap cosmetic upgrades. Naza Malaysia, if you are reading this. You guys give Kia a bad name!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
    • Quad Cam on Mar 23, 2016 at 11:46 am

Kuinosan, dont be so prejudiced. We talking about Rio Sedan, its a new line up from Kia as well. i believed Korean offered more Full Model Change compared to Japanese. Now market very tight, difficult to get loan, everybody need to compete. Japan bodykit you name it. Nismo, TRD, Modulo etc all local made also. Not made in Japan. Even you can get AMG, M series bodykit locally.Let the buyer decide. U dont like the bodykit, you hv an option to buy without bodykit. This model have many safety features compared to the price offered.

• BRO SADO on Mar 23, 2016 at 12:28 pm

Don’t be so prejudiced,,,,Bro

• Brother Kuinosan. I can really understand your sentiments. You are a genuine car enthusiast and you like KIA or any other brand because of its equipment, performance and technology and not because of gimmicks. But in Malaysia many people do buy MYVI with a body kit but with the same tyres, suspension, brakes, engine, gear box and what else? So the market here is in majority different from Europe. I do agree with you partially that KIA afterall is a different brand and they should keep their different identity by providing solid technology and higher equipment in competitive pricing to be distinguished from most japanese brands.

• Ahmad Mazlin Shuib Katib on Mar 19, 2016 at 10:37 pm

Syukur dah ada kereta Sedan. Dengan kudratnya packi will drive satu. Kalau bukan di sini mungkin di syurga

• Sammy Loo on Mar 20, 2016 at 12:02 am

oh man this car does exist in Malaysia, didnt even see one on the road till now…

nobody cares about anything if it is kimchi, if you want 6 airbags and ESC, go for the Honda City else get the Vios pre-facelift

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
  • Eugene on Mar 21, 2016 at 9:04 am

Been waiting for this for 2 years but i’d already bought other car. and still 4-speed? REALLY? DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY ON THIS CAR. other countries RIO already has 6-speed and yet malaysia still 4-speed and is selling 78K??? WTH? almost going back to the 80’s. SO OUTDATED CAR…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
  • As we always said …u won’t go wrong with sushi car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
    • PapaGemuk on Mar 23, 2016 at 10:34 am

Sushi cars look & feel cheap.. Lot of recalls.. Change to kimchi.. 2 years .. No regret. Koreans are bypassing the Japs in performance & technology.

• PapaGemuk on Mar 23, 2016 at 10:56 am

Sushi looks cheap.. lot of recalls.. change to kimchi.. 2 years … never regret. Koreans are better in performance & technology.

• worth buying is about gratitude… any korean numbers would do as safety comes first…..

• go gorilla on Mar 23, 2016 at 11:24 am

have not test drive yet the car but heard a rumour…. for a safety reason especially if compare to other model available in the market.. it worth the money to buy..we shall see ..

• safety comes first….i choose safety ….than it’s worth buying…

• tempe on Mar 23, 2016 at 11:40 am

Batman vs Superman….kia vs hyundai……

• kudos well done on Mar 23, 2016 at 12:28 pm

Good…..Both are super heroes.
      Reliable….Korean Made..

• Kancil Turbo on Mar 23, 2016 at 12:18 pm

Banyak tul cekadak orang Malaysia nie…nak murah pakai kancil cam aku la…save money ma…

• Bueno on Mar 25, 2016 at 5:06 pm

Kan…very the Malaysian…belum apa2 dah komen. Dah test drive ke belum? Test dulu, pakai, sendiri rasa baru lah komen….negara lain belambak pakai KIA…Malaysia gak ketinggalan zaman….last December i pergi Miri Sarawak, WOW….penuh 1 floor car park shopping mall dengan kereta Brunai….98% Brand Kia. Nampak gak lah kereta Kia orang Sarawak pakai Kia…Mantap!!!!

• Millenia on Mar 23, 2016 at 2:55 pm

Reserves your thought
    Independently design
    On the road……try first laaa…

• Thoroughbred on Mar 23, 2016 at 3:58 pm

It’s not fair to compare Rio with City & Vios. Different line up. Cerato should be the one. Test drove the car & it’s better than Almera, look & performance especially. At that quoted price it’s still affordable. Both KIAs never compromise on safety. The rating is always at the highest ranking. I’ve heard it’s also equipped with TPMS & some other excellent features. Well done KIA & thanks to NAZA for giving Malaysians such a quality car. I’ve also tried Optima & it’s superb.

• Bueno on Mar 25, 2016 at 4:44 pm

Love Kia … Modern design and excellent equipment levels for the money

• Just got my kia Rio Sedan 1week ago, the exterior of the car looks handsome and the interior far better compare to jap car. The build up of the car are very solid. NVH are better compare to a lot of Jap Milo Tin car exspeacially Vios ,you can hear a group of Jpop singing and dancing on top of the car roof when raining .Safety of the Car is thump up! Six airbag,ABS, Hill start Assist, ESC,Tire Pressure Monitoring System, ISOFIX all this are the bisic safety feature for Rio Sedan for only 72k ,can you get it from the Japcar with this price? When on the road all the eyes are on this car cos Jap cars are so bored now you can see it everyway. Performance of this Rio sed an more or less is the same compare to B sagmentJapcar. This car is worth buying no regret to owned it.