Kia Rio Sedan X now here: bodykit, 7″ screen, RM78k

Kia Rio Sedan X  Front

The Kia Rio Sedan X, previously revealed through brochures and price lists issued by dealers, has now been officially announced by distributor Naza Kia. The four-door model was only launched in January, and has already received several features for added value.

First up, the pricing – the X will go for RM77,888 on-the-road with insurance – that’s RM5,000 more than the standard sedan (which now also benefits from a RM2,000 rebate for a limited time), and just RM1,000 less than the better-equipped hatch. A five-year, unlimited mileage warranty is included.

So what do you get in exchange for the five grand? Well, the most obvious is the new bodykit that runs around the car, along with a small bootlid spoiler. Otherwise, it’s the same kit as before – reflector halogen headlights with bulb-type daytime running lights, front and rear fog lights and 15-inch alloy wheels.

Changes inside include a new aftermarket head unit with a seven-inch touchscreen, USB, AUX, Bluetooth and MirrorLink connectivity and a rear view camera, plus leather seats with embroidered “K2” logos. Otherwise, it’s the same as before, which means you still don’t get the hatchback’s keyless entry and start, leather-wrapped steering wheel, alloy pedals and Supervision multi-info display.

Crucially, however, the Rio Sedan X retains six airbags, electronic stability control, hill-start assist, ISOFIX child seat anchors, a tyre pressure monitoring system and all-around disc brakes, all as standard. So what do you think of this new variant – does it really offer better value compared to the regular sedan?

The powertrain remains unchanged, so the Rio Sedan X retains the use of a 1.4 litre Gamma CVVT four-cylinder engine, sending 109 PS and 137 Nm to the front wheels through a four-speed automatic transmission.

GALLERY: Kia Rio Sedan in Malaysia

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• nabill (Member) on Mar 24, 2016 at 6:11 pm

Too much bodykit for a small car.. Should have been abit more subtle… Bt looks good on spec… Bt probably be rare on our roads

• seancorr (Member) on Mar 24, 2016 at 6:13 pm

Let’s compare what 5k will get u in other brands. For Mazda u need to pay 5k to get the fancy headlights for the Mazda 2 and for around 5k u can opt for a reverse camera in your BMW. If this sedan was a Honda I think the whole country will be singing praises especially when it comes with standard TPMS haha.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 4
  • Jobless on Mar 24, 2016 at 7:35 pm

In Malaysia the bodykits can make the cars “fly” …dunt play play…nw every ah beng can “fly”

• Sewel on Mar 24, 2016 at 8:27 pm

Very ugly

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 12
  • 4G63T DSM on Mar 24, 2016 at 8:45 pm

Been saying it for years.

Wrong engine and gearbox. Just drop in the 1.6 and 6 speeder from the K3.

Otherwise tempting enough.

• Ong Chee Boon on Mar 24, 2016 at 10:28 pm

Some of you might not agree with me in this, but Kia recently really showed its sincerity.

With or without this 5k package, Kia Rio Sedan (K2) is still the best specced car in its segment besides the Honda City V (which is even more expensive @ RM 90k plus, if compared fairly in terms of safety features and specs)

If i were the one to buy it, i don’t really mind to spend this extra 5k for such package. It offers:

1) Whole set of bodykits. Suits the car body well. Minimalist concept and looks better than Toyota VIOS Sportivo bodykit. TRD looks way too exaggerated in my eyes.

2) Aftermarket 7 inch infotainment. While i do not know how does it fare, but it is a good addition to the mundane original stock infotainment(got USB, AUX, BT etc) Some more you can get Mirror link, which Toyota Camry hybrid’s one is not functioning in malaysia. (feel free to ignore this if it is already working, because so far i know, it is not working with some Camry hybrid owners)

With RM78k i think it is a decent package compared to Toyota and Honda, or even current Mazda 2 in 2016. That is if you can adapt to Kia’s underpowered engine. Wish it comes with a manual and priced in RM 75k in package.

• Ootai on Mar 25, 2016 at 8:06 am

Underpowered engine…ha,ha, after 2 months of driving, start cursing and looking for replacement. The dilemma is RV value.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
    • I could agree with you on what you said, that the Rio is a good package with decent price.

But I think you have conveniently ignore the fact that the Kia dealership sucks… big time. Naza hasnt changed its spots. They are more into AP business as it is much more lucrative, and they are just not so interested in listening and fixing customer’s problem. And for that reason, not even a 20 inch screen could compensate for the shortcoming.

• GoodReply on Sep 30, 2016 at 12:01 pm

I love your reply, your replies are not trolls but thorough analysis. Keep up the good work man !

• If this car belong to sushi,people will make the waiting list more than 6months.Unfortunately this is kimchi..Outstanding overall specs but doraemon song still in my head.An an an to te mo dai suki.. Dorae mon

• kelvin on Mar 25, 2016 at 12:28 am

The car is like shouting hey! Look at my new body kits! I still prefer the plain vanilla version.

• good car but not enough power, prefer if its 1.6 or diesel sold in other country

• Mathew on Mar 25, 2016 at 9:30 am

KIA should give the customers the option for body kit. The 5K extra , they should include projector head lights with LED daytime running light and LED back light.

• cendol (Member) on Mar 25, 2016 at 10:01 am

Looks fantastic on paper, but in real life it suffers.