Lexus, Toyota to have standard autonomous braking system on almost all US models by the end of 2017

Toyota Safety Sense screenshot-01

By the end of 2017, Lexus and Toyota models will see Lexus Safety System + and Toyota Safety Sense packages, anchored by automatic emergency braking (AEB), as standard on nearly all models and trims in the US, it was announced.

It’s a step and a significant commitment by Toyota to “help save lives” and bring the number of highway injuries down. With both packages being offered as standard, AEB tech will be widely available four years ahead of the 2022 industry target announced by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) and Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS), last week.

A total of 25 out of 30 Lexus and Toyota models will come with Lexus Safety System + and Toyota Safety Sense as standard equipment. Models that will not see these packages as standard include the Lexus GX, Toyota Mirai, 4Runner and the Toyota 86.

toyota-safety-sense-3

“High-level driver assist technologies can do more than help protect people in the event of a crash; they can help prevent some crashes from ever happening in the first place. We are proud to help lead this industry in standardising these systems and bring automated braking to our customers sooner rather than later,” said Jim Lentz, CEO of Toyota Motor North America.

Toyota’s safety tech pack comes in two forms, Toyota Safety Sense C includes pre-collision system, lane departure alert and automatic high beam. The other, Toyota Safety Sense P adds on pre-collision system with pedestrian pre-collision function – vehicle and pedestrian detection, dynamic radar cruise control and lane departure alert with steering assist function.

Lexus’ Safety System + on the other hand, includes pre-collision system – pedestrian and object, lane departure alert, automatic high beam and dynamic radar cruise control.

Bear in mind that the announcement concerns Toyota’s US market only, for now. As to when other markets – including ours – will get the new safety packages, well, that remains to be seen.

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• karam singh on Mar 25, 2016 at 7:15 pm

Brilliant. That’s why Toyota is no 1 car manufacturer in the world. Not only in volume, but also the number of models on sale which including Lexus brand can easily have 40 different models altogether.

Forget about Honda being no 1 in Malaysia for non national segment. Toyota is no 1 in Japan, Thailand, Indonesia, Arab countries and the USA. Honda is so far behind.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 20
    • Don’t need to look so far. ABS is not even standard on Toyota cars sold here. Just look at the Avanza! VSC isn’t even standard on their Camry. They may lead in numerous countries, but as far as Malaysians are concerned, they’re absolute crap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
      • So don’t buy Toyota car until we have this features here. Let’s wait long-long first

• Muniandy Periasamy on Mar 26, 2016 at 11:40 am

We cannot even dream with autonomous braking systems in our Toyota because basic VSC pun tak ada, how to aim higher in life’s progress?

I think Malaysians need to ask UMw why we don’t even have basic safety feature sin our Toyota yet, we are charged Rm140 to RM150k for a Toyota.

• Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Mar 26, 2016 at 12:58 pm

By end of 2017, Malaysians are still repairing and driving their Proton Wira.

• Jimmy on Mar 26, 2016 at 8:42 pm

Please mind your areas with cost optimisations in your brandnew Alphard 3.5V6, the price of which I presumed is 80% going to government tax right?

That was the beauty of having no competitions, you could do whatever that you wanted.

• Every1canTalk on Mar 26, 2016 at 9:26 pm

What you so excited? You got Toyota share? Lol

• Sam "Hailat" Loo on Mar 25, 2016 at 7:26 pm

In US by 2017… In Malaysia by 2027..?

Heck, to even have these autonomous tech in our P1 and P2 brands, probably 2057…? But by then either they tapau longer before, or the country tapau (bankrupt) as a whole… Bolehland tarak harapan.

NEXT…!!!

• In P1 is a possibility, seeing that they r collabo with LG for ADACS tech.

Meanwhile P2 will remove the engine and replace with a horse (yes, a real horse with hooves). Their reason is, it saves petrol cuz the horse doesnt consume any. MY pipu belip and buy 300k units. Now they can brag of having kuasa kuda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
      • camtakpro on Mar 25, 2016 at 9:15 pm

P1 has a posibility of rebatching yet another honda models.

Power window can’t even do it right, what kind of tech are you envisioning? Crony tech? The best safety tech for Proton is break downs before driven.

• Notakata on Mar 27, 2016 at 7:06 am

Jepunis cant even do airbags right, what kind of safety we can envisioning?

• Samelordupe on Mar 25, 2016 at 8:30 pm

Same lor with his 3rd world country attitude how to get developed if like this?

• Thaiboy on Mar 25, 2016 at 8:38 pm

If compare sedan sector only than Honda is no1 in Thailand and Honda has better image for not being taxis as well

• In Germany Mercedes e class and VW Passat are used as taxis. The reason to use a car as taxis are 1. Ultra reliable. 2. Easy to maintain 3. Spacious 4. Comfortable 5. Economical

Clearly Honda cars are not fit to be taxi anywhere in the world.

• Kipi Dap on Mar 28, 2016 at 12:41 am

Honda is well known as sporty design bloodstream.It no need commercial & corporate fleet to earn volumes in total sales.But surpassing the world no.1 brand for 2nd consecutive years in Thai & bolehland market consider high honourably victory.What made your conclusion that Honda not ultra reliable,easy to maintain,spacious,comfortable & economical? Comparison head to head,city,civic & accord equally or even more spacious than rival Toyota models.Current vios drink fuel like a hippo & lack of power.Economical?No! Accord much more bigger than Camry.Current civic weird design also bigger than altis.Not to mention new 2016 civic coming soon is all rounded winner in all aspects.Not to blame Toyota but fact shows by number not past glories.Congrats Honda Thai & Bolehland.Kipidap.

• kington on Mar 25, 2016 at 10:11 pm

UMW will give you this too… pay additional RM10K at least.

• Brake system problem solve?

• paparadzi (Member) on Mar 26, 2016 at 12:42 am

Some of these technologies are available for the models that are sold in Malaysia today, unfortunately UMW Toyota decided not to offer them to Malaysian buyer, not even as additional cost options.

Heck, they can’t even give a working Mirrorlink connection despite advertising them in their brochures.

• annonymous on Mar 26, 2016 at 7:13 am

The irony is how Toyota Malaysia (UWM) is struggling to provide full airbags and ESC as standard across its fleets.

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Mar 28, 2016 at 9:41 am

I love to see those driving with this braking system in Malaysia. Your car will be not be moving very far as everyone will be cutting into your lane & your car braking each time someone cuts in. In traffic jam even worst. The system will leave a huge safety gap to front car & others just cucuk in-between to cut queue. You will come out dizzy as every sec the car brakes in Malaysian traffic…ha.ha…