Mazda MX-5 ND crowned 2016 World Car of the Year

Mazda MX-5 2.0 Review 9

The Mazda MX-5 has been crowned 2016 World Car of the Year at the ongoing New York auto show. The ND MX-5 prevailed after edging out the B9 Audi A4 and the Mercedes-Benz GLC, the podium finishers. Before that was an initial entry of 23 cars from across the world, before it was whittled down to a top 10.

The fourth-gen MX-5, which we also love, joins a previous winners list that includes the W205 Mercedes-Benz C-Class (2015), Audi A3 (2014), Volkswagen Golf (2013), Volkswagen Up! (2012), Nissan Leaf (2011), Volkswagen Polo (2010), VW Golf (2009), Mazda 2 (2008), Lexus LS460 (2007), BMW 3-Series (2006) and the Audi A6 (2005).

The roadster, now with an RF hard-top targa version, also scooped the World Car Design of the Year award, beating sibling Mazda CX-3 and the Jaguar XE. The luxury car sub-award saw the G11 BMW 7 Series chosen over the Audi Q7 and Volvo XC90 big SUVs. In the green section, the 73 auto journalist strong jury picked a the hydrogen-powered Toyota Mirai over two hybrids, the new Prius and second-gen Chevrolet Volt.

Mazda MX-5 2.0 Review 3

The World Performance Car Award went to the new Audi R8 Coupe, which crossed the line before the Honda Civic Type R and Mercedes-AMG C63 Coupe.

“As our iconic MX-5 roadster approaches one-million units of production, this award is proof that it is as young, vibrant, fun and relevant as ever. While I accept this award on behalf of the company, I do so representing every Mazda employee, retail partner and customer around the world who has ever felt the joy of driving a pure roadster. We say ‘Driving Matters’ in our ads, and we prove it in our cars,” said Masahiro Moro, president and CEO of Mazda North American Operations.

We’ve driven the top three cars WCOTY selected for 2016, and each does what it does best in its class (to this writer at least, not all colleagues agree). Read our review of the ND Mazda MX-5, coming soon B9 Audi A4 sedan and Mercedes-Benz GLC.

GALLERY: ND Mazda MX-5 2.0L

GALLERY: B9 Audi A4 2.0 TFSI

GALLERY: Mercedes-Benz GLC 250

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• alex chan on Mar 25, 2016 at 10:17 am

Tipu lah. VW should be crowned car of the year. Mazda is Jepunis, no quality, VW is German built and strong!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 35
    • Yamateh on Mar 25, 2016 at 10:49 am

Jepon boleh, Banglasia boleh!

Gogo Proton Perdana!

• Most Dangerous Car 2016 on Mar 25, 2016 at 11:15 am

where is Banglasia’s car Proton? Not here? Proton always win awards from Jeremy Clarkson of Top Gear. Jeremy always say Proton is the most dangerous car in the World. So we also got award lah!

• Yea! VW is the RAZZIE Equivalent award for cars!

• alex chan on Mar 25, 2016 at 10:28 am

Look 2010, 2012 and 2013 all VW. Go VW!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 16
  • abe we on Mar 25, 2016 at 10:28 am

Still cannot beat RX-8 exterior design….

• extensive engineering know how is needed to produce something as this magnitude…

1) lightness
    2) fun to drive
    3) easy to operate
    4) frugal
    5) reliable
    6) meets safety ratings across the globe…
    7) affordability

kudos to the engineer and design team , your hard work has paid off….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
  • now only march 2016 n oledi 2016 car of the year..

• Lance on Mar 25, 2016 at 12:02 pm

You should read what’s the criteria of WCOTY. Participants are for cars launched in 2015 and as of all cars launched its always stated as one year ahead. So any car launch this year it will be called the 2017 model.

• nabill (Member) on Mar 25, 2016 at 12:20 pm

Same like when they announce the PFAplayer of the year in april or may!
      I wd go for the A4 for emphasizing on quality and the xc90 for thinking out of the box.. The mx5 feels to me more like a journalists favorite…..

• xtreme7 on Mar 25, 2016 at 11:56 am

Few weeks ago I went to Mazda showroom to have a look at this cute little car. With the thought of test driving it.
    However, the salesperson said there’s no test drive car since the car is too fast for ordinary people to handle.. Then i tricked the SA to chat with me while walked me to my slower A45.. shame on him.
    Now that MX5 has won WCOTY, what kind of bluff the SA gonna bullshitting their customers. Sigh…

• BRZ fan on Mar 25, 2016 at 1:31 pm

The salesman should have said it’s too much fun to drive, so much so that people just want to test drive but have no intention of buying it. So only enthusiasts who really appreciate it will buy first, drive later. I got the same reply when I asked for a test drive of the BRZ.

• xtreme7 on Mar 25, 2016 at 6:29 pm

I believe fun to drive is best description of this car.

• emexfai on Jul 23, 2016 at 11:53 pm

Fun to drive it is! The numbers don’t do justice to the car.

I did some research while looking for a sportscar, checking out the SLK, Z4 and Cayman, before placing an order for a brand new Audi TTS. While waiting for stock to arrive, I made the mistake of reading the reviews and watching the Youtube videos on the MX5. After a test drive and the completion of the required paperwork, a red MX5 now sits proudly in my garage instead of the yellow TTS.
          My measurement of the fun factor is simply by comparing with the fabulous rides on my superbike – I’m now spending more time driving the MX5 than riding, so much so that the bike has remained under its cover for far longer than I can remember. Vroom! Vroom!