GALLERY: 2016 Toyota Hilux 2.8G 4×4 A/T previewed

2016 Toyota Hilux preview

Not long now before the 2016 Toyota Hilux is launched in Malaysia – the latest version of the iconic pick-up has been previewed at the Toyota WOW Road Tour 3, which kicks off at the Setia City Convention Centre today. On show is the 2.8G 4×4 auto, the top trim in a range that also includes a single cab 2.4 4×2 manual and double cab 2.4 4×2 manual, 2.4 Standard 4×4 manual, 2.4G 4×4 manual and 2.4G 4×4 auto models.

Setting the glitziest model – carrying an estimated price of RM135,000 – apart from the other variants on the outside are automatic LED projector headlights with LED daytime running lights (halogen reflectors standard), a chrome grille, fog lights and a set of snazzy machine-finish 18-inch alloy wheels (16-inch steel items as standard, 17-inch alloys on 2.4G models).

2016 Toyota Hilux preview-2

Inside, there’s an Optitron instrument cluster with a Camry-style 4.2-inch colour LCD multi-info display, a leather-wrapped steering wheel, an eight-way power-adjustable driver’s seat, leather upholstery and reverse camera and sensors. Additionally, this particular Hilux has also been fully optioned, including a RM1,574 sports bar and a RM3,169 DVD-AVN navigation package.

Standard safety kit across the range include three airbags (including one for the driver’s knee) and ABS with EBD. Only the 2.4G auto and 2.8G auto get Vehicle Stability Control (VSC) Active Traction Control (A-TRC) and Hill-Start Assist Control (HAC), and only the top 2.8G auto gets side and curtain airbags, for a total of seven airbags.

2016 Toyota Hilux preview-25

The Hilux is all-new under the bonnet – you get a choice of either 150 PS/400 Nm 2.4 litre (343 Nm for manual models) or 177 PS/450 Nm 2.8 litre GD turbodiesel engines, mated to six-speed manual (with a rev-matching function for downshifts) and automatic transmissions.

Estimated prices for the rest of the range are RM93,000 for the single cab 2.4 4×2 manual, RM95,000 for the double cab 2.4 4×2 manual, RM105,000 for the double cab 2.4 Standard 4×4 manual, RM115,000 for the double cab 2.4G 4×4 manual and RM125,000 for the double cab 2.4G 4×4 auto. Check out the full list of equipment for all variants here.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Aaron on Mar 26, 2016 at 1:55 pm

No Automatic Climate Control WTF???!!!!!!

Thanks UMW again

• Hailat Loo on Mar 26, 2016 at 2:05 pm

Hello Honda, where is your sissy ladies pickup Ridgeline? Bring it on lah!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 21
    • Kill The brand on Mar 27, 2016 at 11:20 am

All sales man very quiet. Previously when Hilux was launched., we see all very proud sales man keep talking kock

• Michael on Mar 27, 2016 at 5:21 pm

Ha Ha Ha. Truck can cost same price as a luxuries Honda Accord or a Nissan Teana. Buyers are so stupid. Long ago, trucks started at RM70k not long ago. There was a BIG BIG GAP between D segment cars and trucks

Slowly and slowly, the add one or 2 spec and it went up up up and away!. Now trucks are RM140k.

• Michael on Mar 27, 2016 at 5:45 pm

Toyota sell their top range trucks in US for $20k USD. Even kuli work in McDonalds in US also can buy without taking loan.

Here, doctor also want to buy cheap truck must take loan of RM135k

• Shitty same lorrr on Mar 27, 2016 at 6:26 pm

If Honda bring on the Ridgeline,definately Toyota sales will kaput a bit.As we know hilux is not the most powerful 4×4 on earth.New Ranger & triton launched earlier months ago,if those pick ups slash their price surely hilux sales not as before too.Hilux is not the King on sales in Thai market anymore even with this brand new model,haven’t u read paultan article couple weeks ago? With this kind of very high price,hilux will struggle to beat older rivals.. Last time single cab sold just at 69k,now 93k-95k! Crazy!! And aircond switch still on manual? Bye bye Toyota!

• Really on Mar 28, 2016 at 1:47 am

The current Hilux single cab is 4×4 selling at 80k. The new one is 4×2 and still fetches over 90k? UMW has really lose it.

• A Yasir on Mar 26, 2016 at 2:31 pm

I am disappointed that the top spec doesn’t come with rear aircond vents like Thai’s. I was just thinking about selling off the saloon car for this after I saw the Thai top spec 2.8G version came with rear aircond vents ( critical for me as my wife and 8 month old baby sits at the back, as my baby would cry every time she is carried into a stuffy car that’s been parked for hours under the hot sun ), plus it’s a truck, so I can shove off my bike to the workshop myself if it broke down, heck, I can even carry my bike during balik kampung sessions and still can carry wife + baby + luggage. :(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 8
    • albag on Mar 27, 2016 at 9:01 am

Get a Navara then, no big deal

• Apa benda dah. This is not saloon car la dey. Not yout balik kampung comuter ler. Ceit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
      • Warren Wong Yee Ket on Mar 27, 2016 at 11:47 pm

I don’t see anything wrong with using it that way.

• Michael on Mar 27, 2016 at 5:32 pm

I today’s weather, where even our house aircon blows warm air, not having back vents is a big joke. That is UMw for you

• seancorr (Member) on Mar 26, 2016 at 3:15 pm

…and they didn’t even include auto aircond in the top spec hailat…dayum!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 9
    • policeman on Mar 27, 2016 at 1:06 am

Is it so hard to adjust the air conditioner yourself?

Auto A/C is the most useless function in a vehicle, after auto wipers.

My Inspira has it, but I put it back to manual.

• Even the top-spec Hilux 2.5V in Indonesia gets auto aircon
      note that the Indo-spec Hilux gets the old engine

• Jay Law on Mar 26, 2016 at 4:40 pm

labourer’s choice of transport

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • david on Mar 26, 2016 at 4:50 pm

Finally, the king has returned

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 54
  • Taliban on Mar 26, 2016 at 5:02 pm

Ugly dashboard

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
  • Yes!! The price of the new Hilux is increased again. I bought the top spec FL Hilux at RM115k in 2013… And if it’s true, it represents an increase of 20k over the previous model and UMW (not Toyota) tries to justify the price by giving 7 air bags, VSC and other stuff.. Oh come on! These stuff should have been made standard across the range for god sake! As if our lives are not worth anything at all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 1
    • Michael on Mar 27, 2016 at 5:30 pm

About 6 years ago, trucks were for either contractors or people who had little money. That is why trucks did so well. Can get good big car for RM70k. Then like magic, it slowly increased over the years. 3 yrs ago I bought triton for Rm73k. Now where can get that price?

Where is Najib’s promise of 30% price reduction?

• Blame the car company. Greedy. Just stop buying and lets make the sales statistic become worse. Show them the consumer power.

• Willing buyer, willing seller mah! U can even make the truck bed into a impromptu swimming pool, so even more value than….

• Gone are the big-screen DVD, tweeters, auto climate air-cond, rear air-cond vent as overseas models.., overpriced..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 0
  • Aircon knob makes the interior dated even before launch. Safety wise much better than its own sedan in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • UMW Toyota on Mar 26, 2016 at 9:21 pm

Wow is best pick up here

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 45
  • Sammy Loo on Mar 26, 2016 at 10:08 pm

oh no, rear aircond vent is missing here

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • RM135k but a way inferior specs compared to Thai’s? Ugly AC dials and smallish display

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
  • albag on Mar 26, 2016 at 11:07 pm

paying more than RM130k with that manual aircon system? UMW seriously???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 3
    • Michael on Mar 27, 2016 at 5:31 pm

and don’t forget Rm130k for no back vents too!

• Shitty same lorrr.hahaha on Mar 27, 2016 at 6:38 pm

At this moment likes is 15 and dislike just 1.. Easy to figure out who’s the only 1 dislike vote.. Right same lorrr?

• Seriously, who is actually interested in this thing?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
  • harriex on Mar 27, 2016 at 12:15 am

everything ticked, LED lighting, 7 airbags including knee airbag, traction control but absent of rear aircond vents? disappointed…

• Josh Ling on Mar 27, 2016 at 1:46 am

suddenly ford ranger wildtrak is not that much overpriced. i think i will go for wildtrak anytime over this.

• Wow at that interior dashboard especially the aircond knobs, are we living in the 80s?

• Anti-Fuel-Price on Mar 27, 2016 at 2:59 am

Why the “reverse camera” is position the SAME location as the current Hilux. Where else 2016 NEW Hilux is position neatly at the chrome opening.
    Check it out at the website from Thailand: http://www.toyota-hilux-revo.com/

Don’t let me predict it right is too: CLEAR “old” stock from this current Hilux. Then soon after finish, Tah Dah…. they install back Thailand spec!!!

Please paultan members verify my claims. Thank You

• Urghhh… Looks soo ugly.. look at the dashboard

Look at all others like new Navara, Ranger, Triton they are miles better and more good looking than this piece of crap.

• idealtech on Mar 27, 2016 at 9:06 am

Competitive edge = robust,rigid than ever before. Downside = Uglier, expensive. Conclusion? we welcome Ford Ranger as the norm of Malaysian truck market. Bye bye hailat, you served us good throughout your generations, but we don’t see you are worth for future purchase. Oh yes Mitsu Triton is picking up in popularity

• Np300 on Mar 27, 2016 at 9:17 am

Oh my…this vehicle is lack of everything compared to its competitor… not worth buying no value for your money unless u buy it bcos ur crazy about RV podaa suck it…

• Kipi Dap on Mar 28, 2016 at 12:51 am

RV? Hello! Drop percentage about the same as rivals.RV what? If your mean is Reversed-think Vehicle yes i agree on u.

• achique on Mar 27, 2016 at 10:37 am

Hi Jonathan is the spec for 2.4 correct? 150 PS/343 Nm?

• Jonathan Lee (Member) on Mar 27, 2016 at 10:43 pm

Apologies, we forgot to add the torque figure for the automatic models, which is 400 Nm. The article has been amended. Thanks for the spot!

• Anti-Fuel-Price on Mar 27, 2016 at 2:02 pm

How come Malaysian 2016 Hilux “reverse camera” is position same as the current Hilux, where else Thailand and the rest of the world is position at the chrome handle???? Please check it out at the website link and u guys know what I mean: http://www.toyota-hilux-revo.com/
    Please don’t let me guess it correctly is: UMW Toyota is clearing those “old stock” and after that only they install the current position. If that not the case why is that all continent Hilux is standard but Malaysia is damn special. Can Paultan verify my claim? Thank You

• Wee fuk yew on Mar 27, 2016 at 4:20 pm

Seriously bro, buying a pickup truck like hilux ,which is equipped with rear leaf spring suspension, to carry your wife and baby at the rear seats would be hell for them. They will suffer motion sickness from the bumpy ride. Pickups were made primarily as workhorses to carry materials. Comfort was never a top priority.If you put their comfort and safety as a priority, go buy an suv. Afterall they are within the price range. At 135k you definitely have other options.

• Mat Yun on Mar 27, 2016 at 8:13 pm

Sorry, not interested…

• Gimme 20k discount on Mar 28, 2016 at 12:12 am

At 135k it suppose to look like an angry t-Rex face equipped with round body protections but what showcased here is just nothing but plain nude rhino with rear side sticker.Sticker? C’mon UMW!! No front bar,roofline bar,small tyres even a small cargo box but sell at 135k? Omg! Omg! My neighbor’s Rottweiler can sleep in between big gap small tyre & body also.Typical Toyota space proportion to save cost! Hope 135k is just an estimated price,real price lingering at 115k-120k only.If not so,reading this shocking article is consider waste of time too.Sigh

• Really on Mar 28, 2016 at 1:42 am

If comfort for your wife and baby is top priority, wouldn’t a SUV or a crossover be a better choice than a pick-up truck? Do you really need the 4WD? Other than carrying a bike, a SUV would meet all your criterias. There are quite a few choices at 140k price range: CX-5, CRV, X-Trail. If a cargo bed is absolutely vital for you, why not have a look at the NP300 Navara? The VL spec is pretty well equipped and is better value than the Hilux 2.8.

• Rm93k for a single cab 4X2????????? Seriously?
    Add 2 doors and u get a double cab at rm95k??? UMW = u Memang wayang

• CX5 2016 or HIlux 2016 on Mar 28, 2016 at 4:55 pm

Even my 2007 Altis has VSC and auto aircon. At least it kills my stupidity try to own an ute.

• Great,I can now replace my aged Vigo with the Ranger 3.2L.

• Azran on Mar 30, 2016 at 10:20 pm

Its the best selling truck on the planet bar none.. no wonder till the last generation it is the most stolen pick up in Malaysia. That is also why 9 out of 10 pick up in Cameron Highland is a Hilux. People all over the world love this pick up.. you can see it in Siberia Russia or even Patagonia in Chile.

• Azran on Mar 30, 2016 at 10:28 pm

What else do u need other than that climate control.. it work fine before.. what about massaging seat? Cruise control? Rear Traffic Alert and Blind Sport Monitor? How about auto parking? Why dont you just take a cab or a bus… better for us real driver

• ensem on Apr 03, 2016 at 12:29 pm

for the price tag, the looks was just too ugly. better wait for facelift TRD.

• too pricey… will just wait for year end sale 2017.

but i have to say the features are good.

• Sattesh on Jul 20, 2016 at 11:13 pm

Why don’t we get the SR5 trim like Australia and Thailand models ?

• Malaysian citizens on Aug 23, 2016 at 12:24 pm

No rear AIR-CON
    No auto climate control
    No Cruise control
    But Thai model has all this features……
    Same manufacturering factory….but don’t have this features.
    Do something…. Toyota Malaysia