VIDEO: New car window tint rules in M’sia explained

Did you know there are NEW car window tinting rules in Malaysia? Watch our video explaining the new rules to make sure your car's tint falls within the legal limits.

Posted by Paul Tan's Automotive News on Sunday, 27 March 2016

It has been a long time coming – it was first supposed to come into effect in November 2014 – the new window tint rules have finally been enforced in Malaysia. The updated regulations now specify different minimum permissible visible light transmission (VLT) levels compared to what was allowed before.

In short, darker tints are now permitted, but not on all windows. The new regs call for a minimum of 70% VLT for the front windscreen, 50% for the front side windows and 30% for all other windows (rear side windows and rear screen), as opposed to 70% VLT for the windscreen and 50% VLT for all other windows previously.

As it may not be clear to everyone, though, we’ve made this short video to explain it all better, using the new Mitsubishi Outlander as an example. As shown in the clip above, following the new rules to the letter will result in a slight two-toned look for the vehicle, with the rear windows appearing marginally darker.

Choosing the right (and legal) tint is vital, lest you want to risk fines of up to RM2,000 or six months jail. So, do keep this in mind when you tint your next vehicle. Of course, some models do offer window tint as standard to make things easier for consumers, such is the case with the Outlander, which comes with complimentary Konica Minolta solar and security window tint.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• power rangers on Mar 28, 2016 at 10:10 pm

and we have rules for majority, and exceptional rules for those with a add on plate…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
    • As if the normal-plated car owners care 2 hoots about the law when they tint 30% VLT all round

• Next time JPJ catch the VLT below 30% at the sunroof

• Muniandy Periasamy on Mar 29, 2016 at 9:16 am

A big thank you for such a good video an explanation. But the BIG BIG problem in Malaysia is enforcement. We can have all the laws in the world but there is no enforcement.

Tinting laws have been around for the last 20 years. But everyday we see so many heavily tinted cars going around happily like they are not scared. How can this happen? Very simple. It is duit kopi. Hundreds of cars are apprehended daily by Trafik Polis, JPJ and even SPAD but they all give duit kopi to get out of the saman.

This is no deterrent. People are no more scared. So, they go around in their tinted cars until they get stopped again, and then duit kopi again.

I home our polis and JPJ grow some balls and have the guts to enforce the law. To make matters worse, I have even seen Polis saluting cars with tinted plates and just saying “Lalu Lalu”. Car was completely black the tinting. Most likely it was a gangster or Ah Long in the car and the polis was too scared to stop the car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
  • Very complicated rules , it calls for scientific proof and takes a professional to tell , how can a layman get it right. It’s all about being told so or i think so , infact everyone wants to get it right but how?

• kzm (Member) on Mar 29, 2016 at 12:18 am

Go to reputable tint shop lo..

• 1st, choose gud tint film ie 3M, Vkool, HO, Llumar, etc.
      2nd, go to their authorised installer.
      3rd, make it clear u wanna tint as dark as legal permitted.
      4th, if possible, get them to show the VLT beforehand.
      5th, once installed, get official warranty.
      6th, ???
      7th, profit

• It is not complicated, it is call ignorant. Most of the tint shop have the device to measure the VLT.

• Window Tinting on Mar 28, 2016 at 10:59 pm

What is he rushing for? He talks too fast!

• heybadigol (Member) on Mar 29, 2016 at 2:32 am

I like the 2 tone look, on SUVs and wagons. But might be a bit odd on a 3 box sedan.

• kedai tint on Mar 29, 2016 at 8:39 am

I just don’t understand why can’t we go a little bit more darker. We live in a tropical country with the sun shining most of the time. Plus our level of security is not always high. Even countries that have higher chances of getting a terrorist attack still can have their cars tinted almost to the max (on the rear windows).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 4
    • Samdol on Mar 29, 2016 at 9:48 am

Totally agree with you. In the UK, there are no rules for the rear windows. You can put tint as dark/black as you can. Malaysia’s rules are always scratching head weird…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
    • Is a misconception that darker tint is cooler than a lighter tint that has better solar & UV reflectivity.
      A cap ayam super dark tint doesnt perform better than a lighter colour 3M Crystaline 60.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 29