Nissan price increase – all CKD models up by RM5,000

nissan-x-trail-red-0008

As anticipated earlier this month, Edaran Tan Chong Motor (ETCM) is set to increase the prices of its locally assembled models by RM5,000 apiece, effective April 1, 2016. The six CKD models, including the Nissan Almera, Grand Livina, X-Gear, Teana and NV200 will soon see their prices increased by 2.98% to 7.91%.

UPDATE: ETCM has called us to say that the prices as suggested by the bulletin are not accurate. We are checking into the matter.

The news was initially uncovered when a photo of a communication bulletin on the matter was posted on social media. This time around, paultan.org reader AJ has once again tipped us in the right direction towards another official document that appeared online, which confirmed the new prices coming into effect.

The breakdown of the new CKD Nissan models are as above, where you can see that the base Almera 1.5E MT, previously priced at RM66,835, is now listed at RM71,835 (OTR with insurance and GST). The D-segment Nissan Teana 200XE, originally priced at RM137,291, is now listed at RM142,291.

The popular Nissan X-Trail in its base 2.0 guise was formerly priced at RM141,067, but is now RM146,067. Fortunately, the CKD Serena S-Hybrid facelift maintains its previous pricing, thanks to benefits from the hybrid incentive in place right now.

The official Nissan distributors confirmed late last year that it was mulling a price increase for its range of Nissan models in Malaysia in light of the ringgit’s depreciation. Thus far, Honda, Toyota, Lexus, Mitsubishi, Kia, Peugeot, Citroen, Audi and Proton have all upped their prices in Malaysia due to the weakening ringgit.

Chris Aaron

With an equal passion for fast cars and everyday workhorses, Chris Aaron maintains a passion for European makes, Formula 1, playing the electric guitar and spending endless hours on the PlayStation - first-person shooters and the Gran Turismo franchise are his favourites. He also finds it strange to have written this in the third person.

• Toyota Ex Owner on Mar 29, 2016 at 10:03 am

Who do we thank for our weak Ringgit ?

• Muniandy Periasamy on Mar 29, 2016 at 10:05 am

In Malaysia, let us do a different thing. Please continue to starve the car companies again this year. Try your best to use your old car. Spread the word around and tell everybody not to buy new cars in 2016.

You will see, these greedy car companies, will start to drop their prices.

It is up to all of us. If you want cheaper cars, stop buying them for a while. you can buy in 2017 or 2018.

If you urgently need a car, go buy a 2nd hand car. Let us choke and suffocate these vultures.

Malaysians are fed up. Car companies pretend to blame the Government and tax for high prices. Government pulak blame car companies for high prices. Both pretend to blame each other BUT the truth is, they are doing a drama for the rakyat.

In truth, Government virtually owns ALL car companies in Malaysia indirectly. It is the Government that is screwing with us with high car prices but pretending to blame these car brands.

Let us do our part. Let us not buy any cars in 2016 and 2017…..oooops US dollar now already very good at 4.0 to the Ringgit. So how can still increase Tan Chong?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 0
  • Albert on Mar 29, 2016 at 10:08 am

Sigh tan chong you can keep your cars for yourself. Even if you give 15k discount now also no one buy some more want to increase??

• Muniandy Periasamy on Mar 29, 2016 at 10:15 am

Life is so difficult now. Because of corruption, our GDP per Capita is now one of the lowest in the world. In comparison to Singapore, Singapore GDP Per Capita is 5X that of Malaysians. What this means is very simple, if Abu in Malaysia earns RM5000, the same Abu in Singapore earns RM25,000 doing the same job.

So, because of corruption, our pay packet has become so small. Our currency also become so small. Petrol also we are overpaying the Government by at least RM1 per litre.
    Electric bill also now RM500 is very common for most families….

I am searching everywhere to buy that RM1 whole chicken Najib said can get. Anybody know where I can find this RM1 chicken?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 0
  • Fixed Price on Mar 29, 2016 at 10:22 am

And now Malaysians will finally realize that car prices are arbitrarily fixed by the dealers like Tan Chong in this case. All the complex equipment level, duties & GST structure calculation have gone out the window when Tan Chong boss says “All cars go up by RM5000 can already!”

• kenot on Mar 29, 2016 at 10:44 am

Sylphy not include?

• Perodua on Mar 29, 2016 at 10:47 am

Let’s buy Perodua! The only car company who doesn’t increase car prices and gives RM3000 discount.