DRIVEN: 2016 BMW 330i – can the best still keep up?

2016-BMW-330i-1

In case you have somehow missed BMW’s marketing storm last year, a staggering 40 years have passed since the 3 Series was first introduced in 1975. In the intervening years, Munich’s iconic sports sedan – and the centre on which it has built its reputation as the maker of the Ultimate Driving Machine – has become the benchmark, the yardstick on which all compact premium sedans have been measured.

The sixth and latest generation, the F30, started out life pretty much the same way. When we first tested the car in Barcelona all the way back in 2012, we praised it for its fleetness of foot and an impeccable ride and handling balance. “Back to the top of the heap,” “the balance of power has very much shifted back to Munich” and “the king is dead, long live the king” were just some of the things we said about it.

But the past four years have shown why a king should never rest on his laurels. The first part of a one-two punch came with the radical new W205 Mercedes-Benz C-Class, which impressed with its mini-S-Class looks, an awe-inspiring interior and improved driving dynamics that came close to toppling the 3er. Then came the new B9 Audi A4, which will arrive this year – we sniggered at the lackadaisical “facelift” styling, but the Ingolstadt wunderkind blew us away with first-rate cabin quality and whisper-quiet refinement.

The tougher competition is starting to hit the 3 Series where it hurts, so a well-timed facelift has been called to rejuvenate the BMW, as it faces one of the toughest fights in its history. Seconds out, round two – does the revised F30 3 Series have what it takes to hold its own in the ring? We suss out the formidable new BMW 330i on Malaysian roads to find out.

2016-BMW-330i-5

Unveiled to the world in May last year, the Life Cycle Impulse (LCI) brings along a fair few updates – both in terms of aesthetics as well as under the skin – in an attempt to keep the F30 3 Series looking and feeling fresh, as well as to tighten its grip on the sports sedan crown.

With the refresh comes a new range – out goes the base 316i and the range-topping 328i, replaced by the 318i and 330i. The mid-range 320i remains, but all are powered by new engines, including a downsized 1.5 litre turbocharged three-cylinder mill on the 318i. Sadly, we don’t get the top dog straight six-powered 340i here, despite its predecessor, the 335i, being sold in Malaysia for a short time.

From the outside, the most noticeable difference are the new full-LED headlights (standard-fit on Malaysian-market models), something that was previously reserved for the sleeker, more low-slung 4 Series models.

These lamps give the 3 Series a sharper gaze in the day, thanks to the reshaped LED “corona ring” daytime running lights and LED “eyebrow” indicators. They lack the definition of the previous xenon projectors when fully lit, however – the end result is that at night, the “eyes” look a little lost, becoming just big white globules of light. Still, they’re very nice to have, as they project a whiter, brighter beam.

At the rear, the tail lights are also now full-LED and gain reshaped light guides and full red lenses for a cleaner look. The M Sport kit on this 330i (and the 320i M Sport) is unchanged, save for a new fender M badge that debuted on M Sport variants of the F10 5 Series LCI; other models receive sharper front and rear bumpers that provide the standard 3 Series with a more aggressive appearance.

Also fitted on the 330i are 18-inch Ferric Grey M double-spoke style 441M alloy wheels – the darker hue provides some much needed contrast compared to the bland silver items (M star-spoke style 400M) on the 320i M Sport and the pre-LCI 328i M Sport.

Those expecting a substantial revamp to the F30’s business-like interior will be disappointed, as it still presents neither the flair of the new C-Class nor the polish of the new A4. Sure, there are a number of minor changes, including gloss black trim around the audio and climate controls, as well as satin chrome air vent surrounds. Even the powered seat controls feature the same silvery trim.

Elsewhere, the dashboard accent strip has been extended across the doors for a more unified wraparound look; on the 330i M Sport it’s Estoril Blue, matched to Aluminium Hexagon dash trim. There are also new graphics for the LCD climate control screen, ambient lighting around the centre console and – finally! – a sliding cupholder cover, replacing the old, useless removable one that needed to be stowed in the glovebox.

2016-BMW-330i-30

That may seem like a long list of upgrades, but they do little to lift the interior ambience. If the F30’s clean-cut exterior design stands the test of time, the cabin feels decidedly old-hat now, particularly next to newer opposition – apart from the ageing design, fit and finish still isn’t quite up to scratch. Perceived quality is exactly where rivals are spending a lot of effort on these days, and it’s sorely lacking in the BMW.

What’s more, signs of the F30’s traditionally suspect build quality continue to rear their head here. While the condition of a test car is not always representative of one that is used by actual customers, cabin creaks and a squeaky driver’s side door mirror (the latter manifesting itself when the mirrors unfold every time the car is unlocked) on a car with less than 2,500 km on the clock doesn’t exactly dispel our nagging concerns.

Not helping matters is the dearth of standard kit. This 330i may seem well-equipped at first, with Adaptive M Suspension, Variable Sport Steering, Comfort Access keyless entry, the full Navigation System Professional with a widescreen 8.8-inch display and handwriting recognition on the iDrive knob, and even a colour head-up display. There are also the new ConnectedDrive Services and Apps, including the cool Concierge Service that will even send directions directly to the navigation system – watch the video below for a demo.

Look closer, however, and you’ll find some startling omissions on the kit list. Shockingly, this near-RM300k car does not have a reverse camera (it’s a dealer option), the top Harman Kardon sound system, a powered bootlid, seat lumbar adjustment, rear air-con controls or even split-folding rear seats. Also given a miss are a suite of driver assistance systems offered in other markets, including autonomous emergency braking.

Thankfully, we have no qualms with the space inside. That’s no mean feat, given that the F30 3 Series is on the smaller side of the compact premium sedan class – at 4,633 mm long, 1,811 mm wide and 1,429 mm tall, it’s smaller than the W205 C-Class (53 mm shorter, 13 mm lower), and is dwarfed by the massive B9 A4 (102 mm shorter, 31 mm narrower).

Despite the more compact dimensions, the 3 Series manages to avoid feeling claustrophobic inside, with plenty of head- and legroom to spare – although the tall transmission tunnel means that centre passengers will have to splay their legs to get comfortable, so it’s not really suited to three-abreast rear seating. Visibility is also excellent, as is the vast seat and steering wheel adjustability, enabling a fantastic driving position.

No complaints with what’s under the bonnet, either. The 330i is powered by a 2.0 litre turbo four-cylinder as on the preceding 328i, but don’t let the similar capacity lead you to believe that this unit is in any way related to the old N20. Based on the mill in the latest MINI Cooper S, the B48 is all-new, and in this application produces a heady 252 hp (up from 245 hp on the 328i) at 5,200 rpm and 350 Nm from 1,450 to 4,800 rpm.

That’s the same power output as on the new A4 2.0 TFSI, and while maximum torque is 20 Nm down, it’s made 150 rpm lower and extends 300 rpm higher. Compared to the C 300, the 330i has seven more horses, although it also makes 20 Nm less torque.

2016-BMW-330i-28

The end result is that the 330i feels incredibly rapid out of the gate. Push past the small amount of initial turbo lag and the car surges forward effortlessly, the engine delivering its power smoothly and cleanly throughout the rev range. Mid-range punch is particularly potent, allowing for effortless overtaking manoeuvres.

Progress is accompanied by a new, rather interesting engine note, no doubt influenced by synthetic induction noise piped through the speakers. Rev the engine out at a standstill and all you’ll get is a flat, uncultured yell, but set off and the car develops a sonorous, almost V6-like burble, accompanied by a boomier exhaust in Sport mode – although, to be quite honest, this writer could do without the latter.

The new noise sounds downright weird at first – it’s nothing like a typical inline-four engine note – but it grows on you the more time you spend with it, and gives the four-pot a distinct character that’s separate from other engines in BMW’s stable. Purists may bemoan the fakery used here, but even the most ardent will have to admit that the days of unadulterated engine noise are now truly behind us. It’s the new normal, guys.

Paired to the new engine is the improved ZF eight-speed sport automatic transmission that is as brilliant as ever. It’s smooth, quick-shifting and almost always on top of things, although the eco-friendly mapping is a little hesitant in kicking down a gear or two in regular driving.

You can quicken the gearbox’s responses by engaging Sport mode, which provides the driver with lightning fast gear changes and instantaneous manual shifts (though it will automatically shift up at the redline unless you’re in Sport+), twinned with quicker throttle response. Alternatively, Eco Pro mode helps reduce fuel consumption thanks to a coasting function that allows the car to “sail” on off-throttle.

Refinement has long been a bugbear of the F30 3 Series, and unfortunately it’s something the facelift fails to rectify. The cabin is inundated with excessive road and wind roar any time you go anywhere near the national speed limit, and the clatter of raindrops striking the roof and windscreen makes itself heard all too clearly. The rough automatic engine start-stop system only adds to the uncouth nature of the car.

This lack of refinement is borderline unacceptable, particularly as rivals have made great strides in this area. It’s a right shame, as it undermines the premium nature of the 3 Series, and threatens to unravel all the good work Munich has done to the engine and chassis.

Fortunately, the latter claws back much of the ground lost to rivals, bolstered by tweaks that are aimed at making the 3 Series a more involving, yet cosseting drive. New models get a more rigid bodyshell mounting, while the suspension has now been made stiffer without compromising ride comfort, thanks to new damper technology. The steering has also been retuned for improved precision.

Over rough roads, the 330i is exemplary, particularly with the adaptive suspension set to Comfort mode. In this setting, the improved damping enables the car to literally glide across pits and undulations, soaking up the worst our terrible blacktop can throw at it. Even Sport mode doesn’t deteriorate the ride quality too badly – yes, it’s a lot firmer, but it remains composed, only becoming a touch uncomfortable over larger bumps.

It only gets better in the corners. Flick the steering wheel in any given direction and the car changes tack with remarkable alacrity, with little slack in the chassis. Come into a bend a touch hot and you will find a fair bit of understeer, but it is easily neutralised with a dollop of throttle; keep your foot pinned down the accelerator and the 330i rewards you with a brief but satisfying drift as you pull out of the corner. The brakes also inspire confidence, with immense stopping power and precise pedal feel.

Body movements are well controlled, up to a point. Drive it at seven-tenths in Sport mode and the 330i is a riot, with very little body roll to speak of. At higher speeds, however, it begins to fall apart – the stiffer setup exposes the dampers’ inability to cope with higher-frequency bumps, so the car begins to skip about.

It’s here where the softer Comfort mode would start to make sense, as the softer suspension gives it more room to absorb these bumps. However, you also won’t get the sharper throttle and gearbox settings of the Sport mode – ideal for spirited driving.

Luckily, you can decouple the Sport mode’s harder-edged chassis setup from the drivetrain’s in the vehicle’s settings, so Sport mode with the more comfortable damping became my ideal setup – although I did miss the heavier steering of the Sport chassis.

Speaking of which, the Variable Sport Steering system on the 330i is a bit of a mixed bag. While it’s quick, responsive and provides immense stability at high speeds, feedback through the rim leaves a lot to be desired – no doubt numbed further by the too-thick M steering wheel.

It’s also marred by inconsistent weighting, making it a little bit difficult to place the car accurately through a corner. Thankfully, with time, it does become less noticeable, and doesn’t detract from the 3 Series’ trademark deft handling.

In short, then, the new BMW 330i is a sports sedan served straight up. It’s a car that demands that owners put all their stock into its towering dynamic capabilities, and makes little attempt at pandering to frivolous distractions like refinement and quality. Of course, that has always been the case with the F30, but BMW has sharpened the 3er further still – not by much, but just enough to make the difference that much more stark.

2016-BMW-330i-3

But is that what people really want these days? The competition, particularly from the likes of Mercedes and Audi, has stepped up the game immensely over the past couple of years, and customers’ expectations have risen proportionally as a result. The fact that we’re seeing so many of the W205 C-Class on the road these days only proves that buyers aren’t titillated by BMW’s sheer “emotional appeal” any longer.

In fact, it’s now very hard to justify the 3 Series’ mechanical excellence. The F30 brushed off those concerns easily enough in 2012, but four swift years later and the yardstick has very clearly moved on. That’s not to say that the 330i is in any way a bad car – it can’t be, not when it drives so well – it’s just that, more than ever, it’s a car that doesn’t compromise, for better or worse.

The choice is obvious. If you are looking for a refined, properly premium motoring experience – especially one that you would expect at the sharp end of RM300k – then you are arguably better off looking elsewhere. But the select few that still insist on driving the most dynamic car in the class may find that the latest iteration of the original sports sedan can still surprise and delight.

The new BMW 330i M Sport is priced at RM297,800 on-the-road without insurance. It comes with a five-year unlimited mileage warranty, five years’ free scheduled maintenance based on the onboard Condition Based Service (CBS), as well as a two-year tyre warranty. Browse full specifications and equipment of all BMW 3 Series models on CarBase.my.

VIDEO: BMW ConnectedDrive demo, available with the 330i

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Muniandy Periasamy on Mar 30, 2016 at 8:58 pm

BMW Malaysia is really a flip flop company. Firstly, recently they said certain 3 series got EEV status. How some models got and some don’t? they use the same engines in the X3 and the 5 series.

Secondly, when they announced the new EEV prices, all the old existing prices were JACKED UP. How come BMW? Government give you EEV status to pass on to the consumers. But all your BEFORE EEV prices, you jacked up. For example 320i was RM230k, now jacked up to RM249k

To recap, readers can read here http://paultan.org/2016/02/25/bmw-malaysia-gets-eev-status-incentives-for-1-series-and-3-series-prices-down-by-up-to-8/

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 100 Thumb down 7
    • Who are you on Mar 31, 2016 at 8:28 am

Everything from u are negative. See all comments at all blogs. Probably if f30 is selling Rm 80k can make u happy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 75
      • It is not negative comment. What he said is true. Gov give this company an insentive, but they used it as other way to make huge profit, then blme the gov for high tax. No wonder gov did not continue the hybrid incentve. Go figure why some Japs hybrid ckd cost more before but s-class hybrid cost almost half the normal price.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 2
      • Pandai Pandai Sime Darby on Mar 31, 2016 at 10:22 am

A very good question to ponder. I checked prices before the announcement and the 318i was at RM200k and the 320i was at RM230k.

Something smells very fishy. Pity the Government. Always get blamed. Like Government give Government Department money to repair roads, but the people in the Department curi the money and roads are not repaired.

Here, it is obvious. Government give us price reduction but BMW Malaysia pandai pandai raised prices before the incentives come in.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
      • 300K premium ride oso got in-car orchestra when Hujan?!! Worse than my cucu’s P2 Axia

• Sneaky Crook Company on Mar 31, 2016 at 8:52 am

Very sneaky. Stealing Rm20k from each BMw sold. Gomen give savings to us, they sapu

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 1
      • Question for BMW Malaysia on Mar 31, 2016 at 10:46 am

No wonder why the Government don’t want to give incentive to car companies and public. Give also we don’t see it. Can BMW Malaysia give an official reply as to why they have increased all the EEV cars by RM20k prior to the Government incentive?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
    • heybadigol (Member) on Mar 31, 2016 at 9:49 am

The X3 and 5 Series are still using the old N20 engines. The new B48 engine is on the LCI 3 Series only, though not sure about the 1 Series, which is also considered EEV. That’s why some get EEV, and some don’t.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 16
  • Fine effort but not the best in class, still short of the C300 by a whisker.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 16
  • A blacked out 330i with 19″ M sport rims is the best looking thing in its class. The only thing I don’t like is the tiny dual exhaust. They could’ve at least put them on either side.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 12
  • Steam on Mar 30, 2016 at 9:07 pm

The lack of fancy kit is not bmw’s fault but the local distributorship’s spec decision.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • james on Mar 30, 2016 at 9:23 pm

Very detail and good review!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
  • policeman on Mar 30, 2016 at 9:23 pm

3 series is not a premium sedan. Just feel the low grade plastics used for the glove box and centre console.

Check out the Lexus IS200t. Much more refined interior and ambience. Better looking too, unlike this grandpa car. My 60+ year old chicken rice seller drives a 3 series.

Lexus IS200t – Tak payah Banyak Masuk Workshop and don’t have to worry Bila Masuk Workshop, keluar nanti Besok Masuk Workshop lagi.

Tak mau BMW. Nanti kena bakar lagi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 38
    • kington on Mar 31, 2016 at 12:05 am

I agree that the LEx has possibly the best feel in its interior but with the price UMW is asking, they are not going to sell any of it. The IS200t F-Sport gets you near the next level, the 5 and the E.

True that Mercs don;t feel as tough as they used to, but my money would go to the CKD C250 AMG. The suspension was stiff but acceptable for daily drives. Didn’t get to try the C300 though.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
    • dugongx on Mar 31, 2016 at 2:30 am

Ya Lexus is damn good but why for more than 2 yrs on sale I can’t even see a single Is200 on the road everyday I go kl?
      Its only good for people that earn easy money like you makan duit kopi all day. The rest of ppl won’t buy this sort of overpriced junk with their hard earned money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
    • Procol harum on Mar 31, 2016 at 7:50 am

Hahah that banyak masuk workshop joke is staler than rosmah’s wig glue. Obviously you’ve not been in a bimmer before to make such a silly schoolboy comparison.

• TurboMan on Mar 31, 2016 at 9:56 am

You need to know what you get yourself into when buying a bimmer. The review is spot on, awesome to drive, great cornering ability but refinement is out of the window.

My e90 ownership since new pretty much sums it up. The interior creaks and rattles since new, requiring many visits to the Sc to fix, and even that, you fixed 1 and 3 more came up. Awesome handling but ride quality is way too firm for our roads. Probably works well on the autobahn but not in asia. Horrendous road and wind noise at anything above 80kmh. The n52 engine is still a gem though.

So if you are after a luxury car, stay far far away from it. It is NOT a luxury car. Its a sport car with 4 doors. Its not designed as a luxury car and CKD assy made it worst. Treat it as a sports car and you will be happy. If you expect luxury, u will be disappointed and you are better off getting that c250. The handling gap between the Bmw and merc is getting smaller with each iteration. Merc is trying hard to reverse its old man car’s image. I would say they are having some success with the w205 and GLE. Bimmer is still selling sports sedan and SUV, softening it with each iteration.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
  • After 40 years still unbeaten, the rival only can come close but not on par – The Ultimate Driving Machine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 43
    • you obviously did not read the review

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 12
      • Procol harum on Mar 31, 2016 at 7:51 am

And you obviously have not read many global reviews

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 16
        • You mean the same global reviews that say jaguar is the best at everything right? Right.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
          • Procol harum on Mar 31, 2016 at 9:37 am

Hence your logic about not reading paultan’s review of this doesn’t hold water since reviews can’t be trusted, right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
          • Nenek Kau on Mar 31, 2016 at 4:17 pm

agreed with 8db!
            All rounder= XE
            Luxury+Handling= A4 and C Class
            Handling= 3ser

Value to money goes to A4 and C Class!

• muddin on Apr 01, 2016 at 3:33 pm

since you like white man reviews so much

http://www.drive.com.au/what-car-should-i-buy/prestige/audi-a4-v-bmw-3series-v-jaguar-xe-v-lexus-is-v-mercedesbenz-cclass-20160330-gnud5y.html

• C class always want to copy 3 series, but they only achieve in the cabin not the driving dynamics.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 34
      • Ye la tu, sour grape haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
        • TurboMan on Mar 31, 2016 at 12:24 pm

Why you say Mercedes sour grape, have you driven Mercedes or not, Mercedes is the best, best compare all cars.

• sutheshkumar87 on Mar 30, 2016 at 9:41 pm

1. The fender M badges were there on the pre facelift too.

2. The 3 Series never had the option of seperate rear air con controls.

3. I thought BMW Malaysia has discontinued the 320i M Sport, along with the 320d M Sport?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
  • mr w205 on Mar 30, 2016 at 9:46 pm

Nowdays.. it seems like bmw has struggled to compete with mercedes benz… i mean interm of head to head w205 & F30… without any question.. i would go for w205.. mmm.. wondering if the 318 lci can be sold because people in this range will surely have no problem with few thousands difference but in the end moaning about the lack of power in that 318 lci… or maybe a gift for my gf… then it make sense..haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
  • mr w205 on Mar 30, 2016 at 9:52 pm

Rm300k car….no reverse camera and lumbar support????seriously beemer??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 1
  • Anti-Fuel-Price on Mar 30, 2016 at 9:56 pm

Well…… competition makes healthy “challenge” towards automakers. BMW been enjoying sales without any stiff competition but now as AUDI & Mercedes invest heavily on refinement, I assume BMW finally feel the pinch from it. But highest credit should be given to Mercedes because lately their design, engineering and safety features are top notch therefore I dare to say, their hard work finally bear fruits!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • Jay Law on Mar 30, 2016 at 10:25 pm

improved photography

keep it UP

• Wowww 120 Temp ! Looks like just pass Vroommm the B48 . N20 never achieve that limit although hard drive for long journey …

• Neonceejay on Mar 30, 2016 at 10:27 pm

With all respect to It’s main rival, BMW 3 series is the only among it’s rival to maintain that handbrake lever which I appreciate a lot.
    If they could get at least 320i or 320d with manual tranny it would be the perfect car for me.

However as much as I wanted a mt BMW, I always worried about the maintenance cost. Currently searching for e36 and e46 with manual box…..

about this new car, it’s my favourite design among 3 series. Sorry, merc are too luxury, Audi are too boring and Lexus are just not driver focused enough for me.

• john deepak on Mar 31, 2016 at 1:28 am

Don’t ever consider a manual BMW in Malaysia. BMW right hand drive model has offset pedal problem. The pedal is not aligned with the steering wheel.

BMW left hand drive model don’t have this problem.

Google “bmw offset pedals” and see the difference on pedal alignment for left hand drive vs right hand drive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • Wiwiwiwiw on Mar 30, 2016 at 10:58 pm

Call me old fashioned but I dislike modern BMWs, they’re lost the plot. I am not even talking about the turbocharged transverse-mounted three cylinder 2-Series front wheel drive van.

For me you buy a BMW because of its six cylinder engines. Hearing a diesel clattering like a bus or a three cylinder revs sounds like a Perodua Viva is a let down.

I’d say the cars below are probably the last modern real BMWs. Sweet high revving naturally aspirated six.
    E36 325i M50B25
    E46 325i M54B25
    E90 325i N52B25

It is sad that the cheapest six cylinder BMW that is on sale in Malaysia is the BMW M2 at RM498,800

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 4
    • Bring back Bangle on Mar 31, 2016 at 11:50 am

Not really a fanboy, but the legends of modern BMWs are the E36 and E60. Hopefully the F30 will make way for another 3 series legend, we’ll have to wait and see.

• Mandatory on Apr 07, 2016 at 1:27 am

BMWs is about chassis & set up.

• nabill (Member) on Mar 30, 2016 at 11:11 pm

So can we say the how the giant has fallen or wait for the new model?? Maybe bmw are banking on their brand power to maintain sales volume till the new one comes out….
    Interior issues sound like ckd 3series to me… They hav that irritating hollow sound from the doors… And always have that creak n squeak that u have no idea where its coming from even after spending an hour looking for it… But the hardware is very solid n reliable… No issues to speak of.. Well, not currently…..
    Its always interesting how being no1 for so long makes u lose focus until the underdog(c-class, a4) suddenly comes up with sting better than ur own product….

• digidigi on Mar 30, 2016 at 11:12 pm

f30 lci exterior actually looks fresh and sharp compare to c class

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 13
  • spock1976 (Member) on Mar 31, 2016 at 12:36 am

Thanks for the review. I’m really feeling the lack of split folding rear seat now cos I just got a bicycle. Come on Malaysia, it is offered in Australia – why not here? At least make it an option.

• Cervelo on Mar 31, 2016 at 7:56 am

Spend 1.8k la and get a pair of Seasuckers . Solve the problem . Why scratch the interior by putting a bicycle in there ? Or get a cheaper bike rack

• anonymous on Mar 31, 2016 at 1:12 am

Really nice and detailed review. I enjoyed reading but would you mind doing a review for C300?

Back to the this 3 series, I don’t understand why 330i as the top ranger in Malaysia(exclud. M3) don’t get a set of premium sound system like harmon kardon speakers. You know sometimes you do want to cruise down the highways while playing your favourite playlist along the journey leisurely. The Merz C300 now arrived to our shore with similar performance of 330i, seriously, I would rather pay a little more to get C300 with complete package – performance, class, and comforts. P.S – in my opinion tho.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • -BigBalls- on Mar 31, 2016 at 7:44 am

reading the review, i have to give myself a pat at the back for going with c250 as my daily drive car, bmw has become too boring, too predictable and too complacent for its fans with the less than average equipment specs in its class, and dont get me started with their service centre’s reputation which is going down the drain…

After so many years, still banging on their UDM motto, when others have catched up albeit with more goodies

-BigBalls-

• Volvo for life on Mar 31, 2016 at 7:47 am

Volvo the best…..top class engineering… Sad to say not many Malaysian appreciates it…waiting for S90..hopefully priced well…

• Bring back Bangle on Mar 31, 2016 at 12:01 pm

Used to drive the S60, sweet engine, great brakes, not the best handling but good enough. Only let down by maintenance costs and low residuals.

• Pakai Proton Saja on Mar 31, 2016 at 9:06 am

Based on all comments I read here, what I can conclude are:

1) The battle of comment between salesman of Lexus, Mercedes and BMW

2) People with remarks “I will surely buy (certain car brand) over (certain car brand” in reality, they have no money to buy the actual car pun! Cakap saja lebih

3) People with technical comments such as offset pedal la, driving dynamics la etc etc. In reality, they only drive a Proton like me saja.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 7
    • ….And look at all the comments and the like/Dislike, can conclude that Mercedes salesman is very free and they are very good in attacking other brands.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
    • 3 kereta saja on Apr 01, 2016 at 7:27 am

Yeah… i got proton inspira, honda accord and last but not least….. a C200.. so what…..

• Good and thorough review…especially from a Malaysian perspective (global reviews all love the 3-series and XE over the C-class and A4). I do think Malaysian buyers in this class would prefer the higher refinement and quality of the C-class and A4 over the ‘driving dynamics’ of the 3-series, which is quite overrated.

Looking forward to the launch of the B9 A4, and looking forward to a Driven comparison of the three Germans!

• FarizY (Member) on Mar 31, 2016 at 9:59 am

Very nice car indeed!! 252PS with 350Nm of torque!! Man, this thing will definitely GO!! RM297k, wayyyyy out of my budget!!

• wow i cant believe that somebody else is using my nickname here..pls get a life dude. find your own nickname.

back to the topic, very fair review by Jonathan. I enjoyed reading it to the end. I hope Paultan could do a comparison review for the 330i, c300, and A4 2.0TFSI quattro..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
  • Talk all you want, but when it comes to putting your money down, the market has shown that C Class is more desirable.
    Other then sheer horsepower, the C Class beats this 3 series in every other department. Kit count, Space, the better balance between comfort and driving dynamics….

And for RM300k, this car has alot more to justify. Stop playing those pre-reg games. When did you last see a 3 series having a waiting list like the C?

• seancorr (Member) on Mar 31, 2016 at 12:35 pm

Okay so it’s confirmed BMW didn’t do anything do rectify the pre-LCI issues which is a shame. It would be good to see the 330i go head on with the C300 and I believe the C300 will not disappoint. I think the only thing going on for BMW is the 5 year warranty and free service as well as its driving dynamics…for everything else look at Mercedes…until the new G30 and G20 arrives to claim the crown.

• Doesn’t have to be the C300.
      I doubt the 330i could win over C250 interms of potential customers.

• Contifan on Mar 31, 2016 at 1:48 pm

BMW 3 series all pre reg…sell cheaper. Merc must wait 6 mth…. Kinda tells you which is a winner

• A winner will don’t need to keep on benchmark the 3 series….

• Contifan on Mar 31, 2016 at 2:40 pm

BMW nice when new….couple years down the road….it will be come a liability…long term better put your money on a merc. Dont believe me….history has shown. E46 vs W203. E90 vs W204. Which has better value. Which one common to change engine to Toyota 1JZ.

• Pritchard on Mar 31, 2016 at 2:47 pm

Many collectors choose rare BMWs over old Mercedes. That tells you which has better value.

• Pritchard on Mar 31, 2016 at 2:50 pm

BMWs are often imitated but never duplicated. Thats why all the major brands want to create the ‘3 series killer’. Always.

• Holofanboi on Mar 31, 2016 at 8:08 pm

Don’t know why you are all bickering about the 3 series like idiots.

All i know is,

*whispers*

Chicken rice….

• OxfordMan Ei? on Apr 01, 2016 at 2:21 am

You’d not have to use heavy words to write up this article.
    Keep it simple and straightforward.

• Blaster88 on Apr 01, 2016 at 5:42 pm

I recently moved from a A4B8 to the 330i. While waiting for the 330i, I actually had the chance to test and sit in the C class extensively. My 2 cents…
    a). Interior Design – Merc Wins
    b). Interior Quality (eg. Plastics) – BMW Wins. Look and feel closely, you would know what I mean
    c). Engine and Drive train – BMW Wins. The B48 engine is a gem. Merc’s Tranny is a let down. C300 would be a fairer comparison.
    d). Ride – BMW wins for me as I prefer a harder and sportier ride. If you want comfort and a quieter cabin, Merc is the way to go.
    e). After Sales – BMW Wins – 5 Years Warranty and Free Service!
    d). Exterior Design – BMW Wins for me obviously, since I bought that car. I find the Merc too contrasting – the front is very angular, sharp and bold, while the rear is rounded, short and stubby. Looks good on the S Class but not on the C. But then, its just me.
    e). Accessories – Merc Wins. BMW no Harmon Kardon, no rear fold/split, no reverse camera etc. but the HUD and BMW connect are ultra cool

If you are not in a hurry, I would wait for the new A4B9….nearly won car of the year. The driver assist tech/features are one generation ahead of these 2…hope VGM won’t take them out when it gets to Bolehland.

• Jakob on Jul 25, 2016 at 12:04 am

The tranny in the C Class is disgusting.Had to go to HSS 4 times just to have the gear jerking problem between 1-2 and 2-3 to be rectified.The C250 & C300’s with the AMG suspension is extremely harsh and every pothole you go over will make your whole body jitter and a sound akin to your front/rear axle falling off.The A4 is extremely promising, but due to Audi malaysia pricing methodologies, i doubt most options will make it to bolehland due to the A4 being sold on price :S.

• focus on Apr 04, 2016 at 1:12 pm

318i 1.5 rm202k? i will go for Focus ecoboost 1.5 rm140k, more hp, more torque, better spces…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • Big Money Wasted

• Paul Boots on Jul 10, 2016 at 4:09 pm

it’s a car that doesn’t compromise ? This is bull shit. It is quick and it is very very good at fuel consumption. I have my new 330i 4 weeks now and it is a perfect car for me. It is not as boring as the new A4, at least from the outside.