Genesis to focus on luxury status first, sales later

Genesis G90

Genesis, Hyundai’s sub-division of luxury models, is eager to establish itself as a genuine luxury brand before setting any sales targets for itself. Speaking to CarAdvice, Genesis’ general manager, Erwin Raphael revealed that getting the brand on par with the likes of Lexus, Infiniti and even Mercedes-Benz and BMW is a top priority.

“I am less interested in the volume of cars that we sell than the fact that people will look at Genesis and identify luxury by Genesis. So, we are not looking at numbers. That’s irrelevant right now, we just want to make sure that the brand is established well,” Raphael said.

The Genesis G90 (a.k.a. EQ900L) is already available in the US and Korea, competing with the Mercedes-Benz S-Class, BMW 7 Series and Lexus LS. The luxury brand has also rebadged the original Hyundai Genesis to become the G80 — a model that will rival the E-Class and 5 Series types.

Genesis G90

Its next steps include developing a C-Class/3 Series fighter, known as the Genesis G70 — previewed recently by the New York Concept. Beyond this, two SUVs and more sedans are said to arrive by 2020.

“We have fierce competition, this is tough. We have all the big players that have been here for years and years. They are entrenched as aspirational brands and we are the new kids on the block. So, of course it’s going to be a lot of competition,” Raphael explained. He added that one way of competing with the top brands will be to offer very competitive pricing for its models.

GALLERY: Genesis G90

Chris Aaron

With an equal passion for fast cars and everyday workhorses, Chris Aaron maintains a passion for European makes, Formula 1, playing the electric guitar and spending endless hours on the PlayStation - first-person shooters and the Gran Turismo franchise are his favourites. He also finds it strange to have written this in the third person.

• Lance on Mar 30, 2016 at 12:57 pm

Less interest on the sales volume?? Or you guys just can’t get the sales? How can it be relevant when you can’t get a reasonable number of sales?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
  • Jimmy on Mar 30, 2016 at 1:09 pm

It is a correct vision.
    Can you tell us what features that make you special in luxury market?
    Cutting edge pioneering technology(engine/drivetrain/safety/comfort/silence/ride-handling)?
    Human hand-made top quality craftmanship?
    Ultrathoughtful pleasant elegant designs?
    Unsponsored purchases by wise famous people?
    Perhaps, renowned reliability and durability, if you can’t have any of the above.
    World-class racing championship is a stage for you to show people your abilities.

• Dr. Ash on Mar 30, 2016 at 1:38 pm

I agree with you, Jimmy. Attention to the quality and the product is more important rather than sales numbers. The thing is, if the product is really Good, it will eventually get recognition and then sales will then follow through.

• Accordana on Mar 30, 2016 at 1:24 pm

I’m so proud of this Genesis under Hyundai now able to aim BMW Mercedes Audi at their own German backyard.

• Gud excuse for P1. Just say they r focusing on upmarketing their car, so no concern on sales volume, market share or profits. Bashers all no more modal. Well played Hyundai.

• stasta on Mar 31, 2016 at 1:05 pm

i dont see proton developing their own 5 liter v8 or 8 speed auto gearbox, unlike hyundai. hyundai is selling in developed markets like USA and europe, where is proton ?

• The interior looks good. But headlights has so much of ah beng’s element in it. There are room for improvement.

• theanswer on Mar 31, 2016 at 10:50 am

should be ok.. i’ve seen worse. main concern is the engine..they should focus more on downsizing+turbo engine.

• Meaning the sales is bad

• Sammy Loo on Mar 30, 2016 at 8:59 pm

kimchi has nothing to do with luxury, true luxury car is the Lexus

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7