SPAD must focus on legal proceedings before it considers legalising ride-sharing services – cabbies

Taxi-drivers-protest-jalan-bukit-bintang-4_BM

Taxi drivers want the Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD) to concentrate on the legal injunction application filed against it, before they consider regulating ride-sharing services like Uber and Grab.

“SPAD should focus on facing us in court rather than talking about taking steps to regulate Uber,” said Klang Valley Taxi Drivers Action Committee (JBPTLK) president Zailani Isa Usululludin in a report by The Sun.

A group of 102 taxi drivers filed an injunction against SPAD on December 30, 2015 for alleged negligence in taking action to ban ride-sharing services Uber, Grab and Blacklane. The group wants a High Court order to ban these services.

Taxi Drivers Protest Against GrabCar 1

Zailani said the group will not restrain itself from protecting the interests of taxi drivers, which includes organising more street gatherings. His statement comes following a recent protest by cabbies held along Jalan Bukit Bintang on Tuesday.

“We are using all channels available including sending a memorandum to the government, using legal means and we had to take it to the streets to make our voices heard,” he said.

Zailani also expressed his displeasure towards transport minister Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai, who recently urged the SPAD to speed up the process to regulate Uber, saying, “the Minister is not respecting the legal process currently. He should refrain from making confusing statements since this matter falls under SPAD.”

Big-Blue-Taxi-01

The group also claimed that SPAD is being lenient towards these ride-sharing services, while ignoring the rights and interests of taxi drivers. This includes failing to take action against those who provided these services using private vehicles as taxis.

Big Blue Capital owner Datuk Shamsubahrin Ismail (pictured above) said he would re-submit an injunction to halt Uber/Grab drivers from providing their services in Suria KLCC, which the company has exclusive contract rights to.

Are you in support of SPAD’s move to regulate ride-sharing services in Malaysia? Do you think taxi drivers should continue pursuing legal action against the commission?

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• chin peng on Mar 31, 2016 at 12:05 pm

I don’t know the different and the benefit between grab car and texi..and at this point,I’m too afraid to ask..

• Muniandy Periasamy on Mar 31, 2016 at 12:56 pm

Question for IGP. This Zailandi is already openly threatening public safety. What are you going to do about it? 2 days ago, he halted traffic for 2 hours. That alone is worth few million ringgit in productivity. Many of us could not go into office at all. Many companies suffered losses.

What is the IGP going to do? 300 teksi protest, IGP only arrest 5 people. Why this Zailani not arrested under Sosma for causing public disorder and national security interest?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
      • Muniandy Periasamy on Mar 31, 2016 at 1:03 pm

Where is the IGP and PDRM. Some cases, they are so rajin. Immediately can go and investigate. So where is the polis now?

Situations like 2 days ago where Zailani and gang protested, near KLCC, with the threat of terrorist and bombs going around, I find it hard to understand why PDRM could not send 10 officers to the scene in 5 minutes including helicopter support and disperse the whole crowd in 10 minutes.

If I was IGP, I will arrest all the drivers on the spot for causing a public danger. If basic thing like this IGP cannot disperse, how to handle bigger issues?

You could have sent 10 polis guys on kap chai to go through traffic and settle the matter very fast instead of people stuck for 2 whole hours. Unless PDRM is scared of these gangsters?

Where is the Twin Towwer and KLCC auxilarry polis? Buat apa abang abang polis kat twin tower?

Twin tower got hundreds of auxilarry polis. they could have gone to BB in a second to help out the incident?

I wonder what were they doing? Infact BB got so many plain clothes polis man due to the recent threats of attacks to BB. Where were they?

IGP, are you doing your job?

• Tongkat Mentality Must Stop on Mar 31, 2016 at 1:13 pm

Datuk Shamsubahrin Ismail masih nak Tongkat lagi ke? Berapa lama nak Tongkat?

MACC should check this Datuk and see how much money he got in his account, who he is related to, how many bungalows he has, what contracts he has.

Looks like this is just another tongkat case

• Just become Uber and Grab drivers lo. Stop renting a car from cronies will have their attention.

• Muniandy Periasamy on Mar 31, 2016 at 1:19 pm

Once upon a time, the whole Malaysia used to use Jaring Internet. Dial 1511, wait for our 56k modem to connect to the Internet.

Then came TMnet, they provided faster and better services like 1515, Streamyx and Unifi. Everybody jumped to these services.

Do you see Jaring or Mimos protesting? No. Why? Because Jaring comprised of educated people.

Why is teksi drivers protesting when something new and better came along for the rakyat? Simple. they are barbarians and hooligans.

how to trust people like this and use their services? their true colours are now coming up

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
  • I believe that SPAD is trying to legalize Uber and Grab because they know taxi services here in Malaysia is super bad! Its funny that SPAD is giving up on taxis here. Good job!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 0
    • Muniandy Periasamy on Mar 31, 2016 at 12:35 pm

It is such a big fight now. You see, Uber is Government. Yes, Khazanah has invested heavily in Uber. Go and google and see for yourself. So, Uber got the backing of the Government.

But teksi gangsters got the backing of SPAD chairman. Because SPAD chairman’s wife hold so many teksi licence and teksi companies.

So, there is so much of conflict of Interest now. The SPAD chairman, who earns 6 figure pay per month (not per year) don’t know what to do. To listen to the Government (who backs Uber) or to listen to his wife?

Who do you think will win? Government or Wife?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
      • hahaha on Mar 31, 2016 at 1:24 pm

i love the way its all about the money!!! who cares about the rakyat.??? hahaha

• kzm (Member) on Mar 31, 2016 at 2:44 pm

What? u know they really get backing by who..just think street demo.

• Same L0rrrr on Mar 31, 2016 at 12:51 pm

One question to the cabbies: WHERE is your legal mindset when you do all the stunt on the roads?

• Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Mar 31, 2016 at 1:02 pm

Kita kasi injunction sama dia punya protes jalanan, boleh? Jangan marah ye Datuk Shamsubahrin Ismail.

• Jemput turun on Mar 31, 2016 at 12:17 pm

The people who rented out the taxis used to ate the whole pie guaranteed easy money..nw they using those simple minded drivets to fight for them in the guise of protecting passengers and drivers

• Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Mar 31, 2016 at 12:48 pm

Datuk Shamsubahrin Ismail, saya janji tak akan kacau periuk nasi Datuk. Saya tak akan guna perkhidmatan Grab dan Uber di Suria KLCC, tapi saya akan tempah perkhidmatan Grab dan Uber di kawasan berhampiran seperti Avenue K, Wisma Central, Menara Public Bank, Wisma Selangor Dredging. Lebih murah dan kalau kemalangan pun tak mengapa sebab saya dilindungi takaful prudential.

• 4G63T DSM on Mar 31, 2016 at 12:27 pm

“Big Blue Capital owner Datuk Shamsubahrin Ismail (pictured above) said he would re-submit an injunction to halt Uber/Grab drivers from providing their services in Suria KLCC, which the company has exclusive contract rights to.”

WTF. All these exclusive rights need to END. Tongkat mentality must END.

How did they get exclusive rights anyway. Same with KLIA. How much to grease the wheel?

• Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Mar 31, 2016 at 12:57 pm

Datuk Shamsubahrin Ismail, saya tak mengamalkan gaya hidup bersuap. Saya tak menggunakan pinjaman atau biasiswa kerajaan, saya tak belajar di UiTM dan saya kerja sektor swasta yang tak berkait kerajaan. Saya bayar cukai, berdikari dan percaya dengan merit. Jadilah macam saya.

• Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Mar 31, 2016 at 12:38 pm

Regulating won’t stop abang teksi from making noise. Abang teksi just doesn’t want any competition. Best to just ignore the 100 odd abang teksi. Abang teksi will just die off and retire.

• Kedah Boy on Mar 31, 2016 at 1:15 pm

SPAD should be closing down, it’s not constitute to have PMO a redundant body in taking charge of what transport or JPJ should be doing, or fire those minister of transport department totally

• everytime I see a picture of this samsubrain fella I feel punching him

• Support SPAD = Anti taximen
    Support taximen = anti SPAD

• I always have this issue with the middle-men taxi companies. They have no accountability whatsoever, just know how to complain.

What the government should’ve done long time ago is setup an agency that promote cabbies to be self sustaining without these middle-men. Not so dissimilar to the OLD FELDA program.

Arrange for training, finance, licensing and documentation help for rookie cabbies. Let them own the permit. Monitor their performance (discipline, service-level, financial management, etc.). Keep them on the leash for 5 years and those who finish with good performance can retain their own permit.

We have these kind of programs for start-ups in IT & Agro. Why not for start-up cabbies?
    Well, we know the answer for that, don’t we?

• C.P. MOHAN on Mar 31, 2016 at 2:23 pm

I sympathise but cabbies should focus on the various cost to run a taxi here

• Apalah taxi ni bising bising. Kan ada dapat TEKS1M? Dapat tayar percuma lagi.

• Diorang nie Buat malu bangsa jer.

• Josh Ling on Mar 31, 2016 at 9:00 pm

if they could channel all their effort and energy and resources in doing all the clown stuff they are doing right now, into really focusing on how to attract more customers and improve customers’ satisfaction, they would have gained a lot more from what they are gaining now.

now, not only they keep losing money, they keep losing customers too, coz their image is no more already, sorry….up to a point where i believe not even government would back them up anymore, because of their much-jeopardized image. they are digging their own graves. period.