SPYSHOTS: Proton-badged Suzuki Vitara Brezza SUV

Proton Suzuki Vitara Brezza 3

UPDATE: This was an April Fool’s 2016 post.

Now this will get quite a lot of us excited. We have photos of what appears to be a Maruti Suzuki Vitara Brezza wearing a Proton badge. Is the local carmaker planning to rebadge the new B-segment SUV for the local market? Remember the date, boys and girls – you heard it here first!

The pictures – supplied by regular contributor Theophilus Chin, so no doubting their authenticity, then – show two near-standard Brezzas. Only things of note are the Proton badges up front, and the Malaysian road tax stickers on them.

We are only publishing low-res photos for now, to respect the internal source’s request to stay anonymous. Having seen the full high resolution images, we can report that the road tax stickers are indeed current (valid until April 1, 2017), adding more credibility to this scoop.

So, what do you think of this Proton compact crossover, guys? Let us know in the comments section below.

GALLERY: Maruti Suzuki Vitara Brezza

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• superman on Apr 01, 2016 at 10:00 am

excited? about what? an Indian Maruti re-badge? Failed move. who would buy this outdated ugly car? proton is gone…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 32
    • Fools. Hahahaha

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 2
      • Muniandy Periasamy on Apr 01, 2016 at 11:32 am

Don’t worry, Proton will bungle it as usual. Like the Perdana, they price it so near the Accord and Teana, who will really buy?

This car also the same. Proton always thinks their cars are like Rolls Royce and it appeals to everyone and everyone is begging and lining up to buy them. So, they will price this SUV very clos eor more than HRV pricing.

Then when it fails, Proton will say, rakyat never support their cars. How to buy a Proton SUV when I can buy a honda HRV or add a bit more an X-Trail or a Mazda CX5?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 11
    • OMG…the whole car damn ugly and look cacat….no wonder Tun M resigned lah…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 9
  • Silthice on Apr 01, 2016 at 10:07 am

Price similarly to M4 from GW/Haval?

• Vitara looks so low-class with Proton’s badge

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 9
  • spongewai on Apr 01, 2016 at 10:09 am

the question, will Proton launched this B-segment SUV?!

• Silthice on Apr 01, 2016 at 10:10 am

Still using the old badge…

• the only car to get the new badge at the time being is the new Perdana

• kennytkl on Apr 01, 2016 at 10:11 am

is tat a manual transmission i saw in the pic??

• Raymond on Apr 01, 2016 at 10:24 am

Chill guys it’s april fools

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 0
  • Sadiqutp on Apr 01, 2016 at 10:26 am

April’s fool maybe?

• AprilFirst on Apr 01, 2016 at 10:27 am

*clap *clap maybe too good to be true

• Ian Marjoribanks on Apr 01, 2016 at 10:31 am

Happy April 1St guys!

• I cannot decide if proton is an april fool or year-long fool.

• Unknown on Apr 01, 2016 at 10:41 am

“Remember the date, boys and girls – you heard it here first!”. Sounds suspicious hahaha

• Yikes! on Apr 01, 2016 at 10:45 am

YUCKKKkkk…!!!!!

• 2 April fools joke? Aiyo this is going to confuse a lot of people.

• Hyril on Apr 01, 2016 at 10:56 am

April fool!
    You guys go check out google image for Vitara Brezza. Similar picture without proton badge and roadtax!

hahahahahahhahahaha

• seancorr (Member) on Apr 01, 2016 at 10:59 am

Nice April fools joke!

• Hyril on Apr 01, 2016 at 11:00 am

April Fool!
    You guys go out and google for Vitara Brezza. Similar picture without proton badge and roadtax!

hahahahahahaha

• Oh my god, what a car of this? for sure proton can ta bau. like proton tiara, juara before.

• FIST (Member) on Apr 01, 2016 at 11:35 am

Too long name, should call it Proton Bras

• Shahrin on Apr 01, 2016 at 11:42 am

April’s fools day people….if today the car is registered, roadtax ends on 31 march 2017…..how can they show already got roadtax??? ha ha ha

• Jonn Dol on Apr 01, 2016 at 11:43 am

It’s certainly April Fool, but certainly not impossible for Proton , provided Suzuki & Maruti granted their permission..

• Vogel on Apr 01, 2016 at 11:49 am

This year would be a challenging year for p1 as many new & rebadged will come out in showroom.Its wiser to chop off the unwanted neo & the rebadged inspiration first.Replace the current uneconomical engine on Iriz,exora,suprema & preve with so called new intelligent petronas engineered,if that is prove to be as good as it sounds then p1 will afloat & accepted in many developing markets.Drb Hicom got all rounded materials to launch it departure from ground zero now.As a company with lesser government red tape currently,the game is in their hand.Go abroad.Play it right or die hard.

• your guess on Apr 01, 2016 at 12:05 pm

april fools day!!!!!!!

• electron on Apr 01, 2016 at 12:05 pm

looking to replace my proton. sell cheap2, rm50k, i buy right now. i dont care about badge. forgot to mention, no campro please.

• Im Batman on Apr 01, 2016 at 1:02 pm

I just saw Proton accord yesterday, and now proton suzuki? O.o wow I wonder when will it be proton Lamborghini?

• Please rebadge Suzuki Ciaz

• Smlok on Apr 01, 2016 at 4:25 pm

I want one

• greentechie on Apr 01, 2016 at 4:36 pm

Gee… why all the negativity?! If it’s going to be cheaper then it’s good for the people. While I understand your anger, don’t let it clouds your mind. Beauty is in the eye of beholder, this car is good looking, much better than a lot of cars out there. I’d consider one for sure!

• savvykl on Apr 01, 2016 at 4:48 pm

Proton should re-badge Vitara not Vitara Brezza. and provide 2WD and 4WD variant, also MT and AT

• Kent Lim on Apr 01, 2016 at 6:43 pm

Hafriz, you said the road tax is valid till 1 April 2017, and yet the article was published 1 April 2016. As I know, JPJ roadtax is always one day less from the issued/renewal date, e.g if issued on 1 April 2016, expiry will be 31 March 2017 etc. If expiry is 1 April 2017, meaning issued date should be 2 April 2016, but that’s tomorrow, not today.

Anyway, that’s a good one Hafriz! Make sure you get a raise from your boss Paul!

• B-Unggul on Apr 01, 2016 at 7:57 pm

So maybe this car is also equipped with flux capacitor? Great scott, Proton!

• Happy Family on Apr 01, 2016 at 7:13 pm

after so many donkey years Proton claiming to be car manufacturer, spent millions RM of tax payer money for R&D, invested in their Engineers, staffs, built multi million facilities…….and last-last went back to re-badging car???!!!

hahahahahahaha…..April Fool indeed!!!

• Put Keymark! on Apr 01, 2016 at 7:20 pm

biasalah.. journalist in Malaysian always post fake news and rumours just to confuse people…

just wait and see this rubbish going spread anywhere soon

• T E Choong on Apr 01, 2016 at 7:50 pm

April Fool’s joke? Bad….

• Passerby on Apr 02, 2016 at 12:29 pm

Allow old Proton owners to trade up with great discounts and low RRP and maintenance.

• wish it will come true

• chin peng on Apr 04, 2016 at 10:49 am

dey,buy haval m4 lor if you want cheap and ‘quality’ cars…why u dont want to buy??apek2

• Go for it proton but make sure its auto. I will be the first to buy.

• go for it proton but make sure its auto. I will be the first to buy