Mitsubishi to return to turbocharged engines – report

Outlander_Ext_33

It appears that after years of abandoning high-performance turbocharged engines in favour of economical, fuel-sipping naturally-aspirated mills, Mitsubishi is finally going back the forced induction route, if a report by Automotive News is to be believed.

According to the publication, company executives told dealers in the United States in a meeting on Sunday that a range of turbocharged engines would be introduced there, beginning with a 1.5 litre turbo engine set to debut on a new crossover in 2018. The dealers claimed that the new car, which was shown during the meeting, would slot in between the next-generation ASX and Outlander.

Also revealed were plans for a turbocharged 1.1 litre engine for the next Mirage and Attrage, along with a larger turbo mill for the next Outlander. All three are set to go into production around 2019.

Mitsubishi Motors North America (MMNA) executive vice president Don Swearingen told attendees that he and CEO Ryujiro Kobashi were going to travel to Japan this month to persuade the carmaker to build the turbo engine for the Outlander.

Outlander_Ext_03

Swearingen stated in an interview that the company needs the engine to push the Outlander upmarket in the face of stringent fuel economy standards. “Everybody in the industry is going to be going even further in this direction,” he said.

Executives told dealers that the US is Mitsubishi’s largest market and a profitable one, making it an ideal place for the Japanese carmaker to invest – despite only selling about 100,000 vehicles there annually. “They know we’re their best chance,” said Mitsubishi dealer council chairman and general manager of O’Brien Mitsubishi in Normal, Illinois, Ryan Gremore. “You put your resources where you get your best results.”

More good news for US dealers came with an increase in marketing budget for 2016, with dealers urged to increase local and regional advertising. Finally, during a dealer council meeting the day before, Mitsubishi presented images of new, sportier trim packages planned for the Mirage, Attrage and ASX – they would be badged “SAM,” or “special action model.”

Looks like the Japanese are entering the realm of turbocharged engines in a big way recently – Honda is also going the blown route, with the 173 hp/220 Nm 1.5 litre VTEC Turbo in the new Civic and the insane 310 hp/400 Nm 2.0 litre mill in the Civic Type R. What do you think of Japan’s turbo resurgence?

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• UMW TOYOTA on Apr 05, 2016 at 1:40 pm

the turbocharge engine is the best way to increase performance and efficient.. best to match with diesel + hybrid

• Ah Beng ProtonFan on Apr 05, 2016 at 1:41 pm

Yes new Lancer will be back, Mirage and Attach can stay in kampung and papah house !!! Hope Proton will get the technology too. Proton car of the future and Rakyat ! Long live AP system and BN !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
  • hatiku mancis jiwaku lighters on Apr 05, 2016 at 1:43 pm

and don’t forget proton new 1.5 turbocharged gdi engine that produce 180hp and 250nm

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 8
  • hatiku mancis jiwaku lighters on Apr 05, 2016 at 2:00 pm

also proton new 1.5 turbocharged engine that produce 180 hp and 250nm :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
  • shaiful shah alam on Apr 05, 2016 at 2:14 pm

P1 are you listening?
    Time to swallow whatever pride you have left and go back to your roots.
    You have the infrastructure & capacity.
    Don’t expect MMC to come begging.
    This may be the biggest break & the engine variants suit our local market esp the NA engines.
    (And perhaps the turbo, once a JV is in the works)
    This may be the window to determine your future existence.
    Good luck !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
    • If they have small sized diesel/turbo-diesel, oklah. But if not, why bother? Mitsu is in worse condition than P1.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 17
      • Shaiful shah alam on Apr 05, 2016 at 10:20 pm

You didn’t read John
        MMC also looking at 1.1 litre turbo engines.
        And don’t be too kepala besar
        Now is the best time to form a JV
        – when 2 companies also facing a do or die situation.
        See the positives in this.

• Proton better.
    Use Trubo Cumpor enjin.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 7
  • Fishy on Apr 05, 2016 at 2:35 pm

Because having big slow engines in daily drivers is silly in this day and age.

• Jonn Dol on Apr 05, 2016 at 2:37 pm

It’s a good news, but we also want to see Mitsubishi back to producing sedans – the famed Lancer & Galant models!!

• ae101 on Apr 05, 2016 at 3:14 pm

Gogogo Mitsu. Please revive your legacy.

• Josh Ling on Apr 05, 2016 at 4:16 pm

It’s time to bring back the MIVEC + Turbo combo!!

• Jimmy on Apr 05, 2016 at 5:33 pm

Good morning, I wake up at 11.58 AM.

• Mr.Pondan on Apr 07, 2016 at 12:35 am

Good morning my prince :) now let me kiss you and then I wanna go with you to our shining stars at the sky :) awwwwwww mmuahhhh

• Mitsubishi need to come back to the past, and introduce new high performace Evo sedan, make a high performace suv and coupe. That’s all they need here in US