SPAD will launch taxi-hailing app similar to Uber, Grab

Malaysia-Taxi-01

The Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD) is set to revamp taxi services in the country this year by introducing a new mobile app for traditional taxis. The app will be similar to those currently offered by Uber and Grab.

In the report by The Sun, Deputy Transport Minister Datuk Abdul Aziz Kaprawi said the mobile app would be developed with the assistance from a mobile network service provider. “We will ensure the well-being of (conventional) taxi drivers … please trust the government,” he said.

SPAD’s upcoming app will join others that were released earlier by taxi groups. Official Ride (Oride) is just one of them, a private initiative by the Federation of Taxi Drivers Associations and Companies for Peninsula (Gabungan). Another is MesraCab from the Kuala Lumpur and Selangor Application Taxi Drivers Association (Pertapps).

Commenting on allegations that conventional taxi services here were of poor quality, Abdul Aziz dismissed the notion, claiming app-based ride-sharing services (Uber and Grab) had become the preferred choice simply because they used an easily accessible system.

GrabCar safety-01

However, Federal Territories Minister Datuk Seri Tengku Adnan Tengku Mansor, a.k.a. Ku Nan recently said that taxi drivers need to improve their quality of service if they hope to compete against Uber and Grab, disputing Abdul Aziz’s statement.

Nonetheless, taxi drivers are certainly fuming at the unresolved issue pertaining to ride-sharing services. While some have opted to take legal action against the SPAD, others took to the streets in protest, as evident by a blockade set up by cabbies along Jalan Bukit Bintang on March 29, 2016.

Transport Minister Liow Tiong Lai has said recently that the Government is in the midst of preparing a mechanism that will allow ride-sharing services to operate on the same platform as taxi service operators, which will be ready soon.

What are your thoughts on SPAD’s upcoming app for conventional taxi drivers? Will it provide the edge cabbies need to compete with Uber and Grab? Let us know your thoughts in the comments below.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Black Dog on Apr 05, 2016 at 10:45 am

Another stupid minister in self-denial mode. Another opportunity to make money. How to improve?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 0
    • Gargantia on Apr 05, 2016 at 12:10 pm

Similar apps but the Gangsters taxi attitude still the same… Uber and Grabcar services are the proper way.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
      • Same L0rrrr on Apr 05, 2016 at 12:19 pm

Another project to burn public tax money, transfer the money into private pockets.

• Won’t help much as long as cronies taxi rental still out there … sucking blood of the taxi drivers

• Jimmy on Apr 05, 2016 at 12:18 pm

How to become successful if what you urgently need is motivation?

• Muzamir cheebailu on Apr 05, 2016 at 1:24 pm

Fully support the good initiative.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
    • Tong Sampah on Apr 06, 2016 at 12:35 am

they really thought the APP is the issue? LOL
      its the lousy car and ganster drivers.

• otakudang on Apr 05, 2016 at 10:48 am

Penumpang mahukan teksi baru..bukan apps baru..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 0
  • tokmoh. on Apr 05, 2016 at 10:56 am

“Commenting on allegations that conventional taxi services here were of poor quality, Abdul Aziz dismissed the notion, claiming app-based ride-sharing services (Uber and Grab) had become the preferred choice simply because they used an easily accessible system.”

Abah dia. Tak pakai meter, kereta kotor busuk, driver samseng bloodsucker is not poor quality.

Protek maruah tercabar level : ikan bakar.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 0
  • -BigBalls- on Apr 05, 2016 at 11:13 am

The problem is not the accessibility to public taxi, they are every where in KL, double parking and parking illegally causing jam on our roads.. the problem its their service, attitude and their overall professionalism towards the public.

Still don’t get the point ah Mr Minister? Or you wanna spend rm10 million to launch a redundant app using taxpayers money????

-BigBalls-

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
    • AJDFJKLS897 on Apr 05, 2016 at 12:38 pm

You bring up a good point – I wonder who’s gonna get the 10 mil, some crony of his?

• Deadpool on Apr 05, 2016 at 11:17 am

this only open up another route for people to find you, but if you don’t improve your services, don’t use a proper taxi car, don’t improve taxi drivers attitude and don’t review the taxi fee, you think customers will choose you? you think you copy people app will improve the business? if you don’t change, you open up 100 ways for people to find you also useless, pointless, and shameless. that’s why, giving taxi drivers false hope, just remove the middle person for taxi license la, still want to protect own cronies makan duit?

• Terrence on Apr 05, 2016 at 11:17 am

Better spend effort to screen out thugs and re-educate the rest on service improvement to restore public’s trust & impression on them.

• Jimmy on Apr 05, 2016 at 11:20 am

I thought we already have GRAB application which includes the taxi category as a selection? Why need another app?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • hailthepurist on Apr 05, 2016 at 11:22 am

make reading our comments on paultan.org as routine, mr.Abdul Aziz Kaprawi,ku’jabba’nan..

• “Please trust the government”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • Rosmah on Apr 05, 2016 at 11:29 am

Stupid effort when you have Grab for taxi driver. SPAD again failed to tackle this issue. The main problem with our taxi system is that they don’t use metered fare. Simply put high price for short ride for tourist and local.

• I thought the taxi association launched their app not too long ago?

• Unknown on Apr 05, 2016 at 11:45 am

Rude drivers, not using meter and cars poorly maintained are not poor quality taxi service? Something is seriously wrong with you.

• Saitam on Apr 05, 2016 at 12:01 pm

Just develop an app will solve the problem of the current taxi?? This minister doesn’t know what he is talking about.

And what about consumers that still want to take a taxi by the road side? same problem? same no use meter? same don’t go to jam area?

Trust the government… kelaka lah si minister ni…haha

• NO way, if the govt does it, it will be full of cronyism, ‘fees’, corruption and bugs.

• nabill (Member) on Apr 05, 2016 at 12:32 pm

I stil lough everytime i see the world renowned sticker on the taxis ‘this is a metered taxi, haggling is prohibited’!!
    To revamp taxis, u need to revamp spad, n both are not gonna happen…

• its not only accessibility. taxi drivers over charge as well.. thats y i prefer UBER

• The problem isn’t the apps, is driver attitude! Still dreaming?

• Dr MA Jamil on Apr 05, 2016 at 2:29 pm

Apps for normal taxi is food move as it will automatically identify the driver, taxi number and distance covered and charges. This will benefit both the driver as well as users of cabs. Appraisals can be given for each driver and any complaints can be immediately conveyed to SPAD at the end of the ride. By using apps, the ride is confirmed and there will be no cases of refusal to go to a destination.
    However SPAD still have to find a way to increase the take home pay of the taxi drivers by:
    1. If the lisences is under companies, then the driver should be employed with some kind of incentives to reward hard work. They should have EPF, SOCSO and bonuses when the company makes a profit. Repairs, inspection and insurance is borne by the company.
    2. For individual lisences the driver must drive the taxi a minimum of 8 hours per day and take care of his own expenses. Subletting is not allowed.

• Nasi lemak 2.0 on Apr 05, 2016 at 4:20 pm

U tink SPAD wann intro app for improve, to get money masuk dlm poket la. If spad really care abt taxi drivers, they wud demolish the taxi permit crony system n misc charges on taxi permit and all.. Its nasi lemak management… Alwiz fail. Example our gomen. Latest Proton

• peter on Apr 05, 2016 at 3:30 pm

Grab is already a Malaysian developed app that is also popular within the region.

Why can’t our SPAD support our local talent and product by supporting and bettering our existing world quality products instead of needlessly wasting our resources to build competing systems whilst allowing international competition to pull ahead.

• Hanabishi on Apr 05, 2016 at 5:53 pm

Still a no no for taxi… 99.5% of taxi driver attitude are rubbish, talk cock, dangerous driving and price slasher… Most of d taxi car are totally out dated… Means less safety features and might breakdown in the middle of journey… No matter how good is the taxi apps i still choose uber, taxi are thousand years too late for regretting their actions… Cheat our money so many years, now is time for karma…

• Minister Numero Uno on Apr 05, 2016 at 10:38 pm

Look, I’m the most genius minister. I want to REINVENT THE WHEEL.