Buying a car not about patriotism – minister on Proton

Mohd-Salleh-Keruak

Everyone wants to have a say on Proton, it seems. Following Tun Mahathir’s resignation from the national car brand last week, MITI minister Datuk Seri Mustapa Mohamed issued a lengthy statement on the current state of Proton. Since then, KPDNKK minister Datuk Seri Hamzah Zainuddin, Proton Edar Dealers Association (PEDA) president Armin Baniaz Pahamin and Tun M himself have voiced their (mixed) opinions.

Now, it’s the turn of the minister of information and communications, Datuk Seri Dr Mohd Salleh Keruak. Titled “the Proton willing buyer, willing seller situation,” Salleh’s opinion piece was published in his personal blog, SSKeruak. In it, he wrote that “that buying a car is not about nationalism or patriotism.” It all boils down to one thing, apparently, which is value for money.

“You cannot create a demand by asking Malaysians to buy your product just because they are Malaysian and Proton is also Malaysian,” Salleh added. He then cited Volvo’s sale to Chinese company Geely and BMW’s acquisition of Mini as examples of competition and globalisation turning the world into a buyers’ market.

Do read the minister’s statement in full, and share your comments on the matter below.

The Proton willing buyer, willing seller situation

Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad has asked Malaysians to help Proton. Proton is not government owned but private owned. Mahathir, however, wants Malaysians to help Proton as a sort of national service or as a mark of patriotism.

Personally I have no argument with this. After all, I am as Malaysian as Mahathir is and anything that helps keep Malaysia’s flag flying high I would be most supportive of.

But then we need to understand that buying a car is not about nationalism or patriotism. It is about spending sometimes up to half your monthly salary (instalments, road tax, insurance, fuel, toll charges, parking fees, service, etc.), not including the depreciation, which can be as high as 20% the instant you register your car and drive it out of the showroom.

So when someone buys a car it all boils down to just one thing, value for money, and whether later you can recover as much as possible from your investment when you decide to sell or trade-in your car. And a car is the worst investment you can own because it depreciates the instant you buy it and you loss more money every day you hold on to it.

So ultimately the issue of market forces and the law of supply and demand dictates what you do. If there is a demand then you create the supply. But you cannot create a demand by asking Malaysians to buy your product just because they are Malaysian and Proton is also Malaysian.

Sweden did not ask the Swedes to buy Volvo to prevent the company from being sold to the Chinese. Britain did not ask the British to buy Mini to prevent the company from being sold to the Germans. And the current problem the British government is facing is that three Tata steel factories (which are losing RM6 million a day) may be closed in the UK, resulting in the loss of 40,000 jobs because people prefer buying cheaper steel from China.

This is all about willing buyer, willing seller. But when the buyer is not willing then there is nothing the seller can do. Unfortunately, competition and globalisation have turned the world into a buyers’ market. That, basically, is what Proton is suffering from and not due to lack of nationalism and patriotism on the part of Malaysians.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• SSharif on Apr 06, 2016 at 7:26 pm

Now you are talking some sense

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 99 Thumb down 34
    • Robotwarrior on Apr 06, 2016 at 7:45 pm

I second

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 12
      • hahaha on Apr 06, 2016 at 8:16 pm

i disagree. it is patriotism again when certain fat cats stands to gain from it. so, maybe currently, thats not happening.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 9
        • Mr Minister, you are slapping on the PATRIOT number plate too. I see.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 6
          • Buying a car is about cronyism, keeping our cronies network afloat and most importantly, creating job opportinities for bumiputera

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
          • Diff geng from Maslan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
          • Not same geng as Maslan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
          • Shoe Polish on Apr 07, 2016 at 10:20 am

This particular Minister blows to the direction of who is in power. Once was carrying DrM shoes… now wiping Najibs

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
          • PEDA Bail Proton on Apr 07, 2016 at 10:51 am

Ask the PEDA fellows to bail out Proton. PEDA president himself driver S class with a No 1 plate. He himself don’t drive a Proton.

PEDA should bail out Proton cause PEDA members each made millions from Proton.

Infact PEDA members were also given official SC for Proton and in the SC, they hantam maximum changing so many parts that need not be changed. My Proton was only 3 months old and the SC changed all 4 shock abosrbers. He said ” Don’t worry we can claim from Proton under warranty”

• Same L0rrrr on Apr 06, 2016 at 8:59 pm

It is time to let go my son saga. RV sure drop.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
          • Same L0rrrr on Apr 07, 2016 at 7:21 pm

If I have any junk Proton, I will ditch it at roadside like people spit out chewing gum.

• Close Down Proton Please on Apr 06, 2016 at 9:03 pm

Tun also should explain besides his resignation why he has made people in Malaysia suffer with high car prices since 1985.

Global car prices have risen only double since 1985. But Malaysian car prices have risen 6 fold since 1985. All because MITI wanted to protect Mahathir’s baby.

In the 90s, you can get a good brand new Nissan Sunny for RM20k or a Toyota Corolla brand new for RM20k. Now, its RM139k for the Corolla.

Tun must answer, what was the purpose he created Proton? he said in 1985 that it was to give Malaysians cheap cars. But now, it seems, even Perdana can cost over RM100k. Is this cheap Tun? Maybe to you and your billionaire sons but to most Malaysians, even Protons are so expensive.

I hope Tun can explain to all of us, why are we paying overpriced cars, more precisely 3x the global prices of cars.

My dad bought a brand new Mercedes 200 for Rm57k. The year was 1990. Still got the receipts if any Proton fanboys here want a copy.

Today, the same car is the Mercedes E200. Price Rm370k. 7 kali ganda. U think our currency drop 7X? Or inflation 7X?

Only small boys commentin here cannot remember anything here cause they were born in 1998 onwards. So they don’t know about life before Proton!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 15
          • For many years we have suffered high car prices and financing burden. All due to one thing Proton and Mahathir. I have nothing against Proton, but if it is at the expense of the public let Mahathir rescue Proton alone! Now new car prices are going up but 2nd hand prices are going down even hard to get financing, long term impact of supporting an industry where we have no natural competitive edge. wastage!

• George Abdul on Apr 06, 2016 at 9:38 pm

This minister seem good in automotive industry more then his Telco TM (slow and expensive plans) industry !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 6
          • WT Fuchhh on Apr 06, 2016 at 9:56 pm

In Malaysia, buying a car is not about patriotism, but supporting a corrupt leader is all about patriotism. Phtuiii…!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 4
        • Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Apr 06, 2016 at 10:42 pm

Willing employee getting peanut salary, more than willing employer pay peanuts. Willing buyer paying RM900k terrace house, more than willing sime darby build small houses in remote plantation land.

• Muniandy Periasamy on Apr 06, 2016 at 8:52 pm

Malaysian Government cannot sustain Proton anymore. Cannot lah, every year ask for money despite kononnya being in Private Hands.

Somemore, Proton is asking billions. The recent asking was RM1.5 billion. How long can this go on?
        When Mahathir was PM, it was so easy. Just take DIRECT from Petronas. One pocket into another. Every year Mahathir just take billions from Petronas into Proton just to keep the company afloat.
        Then when Mahathir resign as PM but still Petronas big advisor, the same, still take money direct from Petronas and give to Proton just to keep the company afloat.

How long can this go on? Pity Petronas also. They need to re-invest money into exploration and drilling. They cannot be giving FREE money to Proton.

Proton few days ago declared they lost RM2.5 billion in 3 years. Proton also is losing RM25 million every month (about RM1 mil per day). We cannot be sustaining a company that is losing that much just to keep the national pride. Even Jaguar was sold to Indian Tata. Even Aston Martin was sold to Ford.
        It is high time we also sell Proton to somebody or just close shop. The oppurtunity cost is just way too much.

If Proton did not exist, the money saved just to keep the company float can be used to build at least 10 fully fledged Government hospitals and Government Schools in each state every 10 years.

One question I cannot understand, during the good years of the 90s, when Proton was making money, how come Proton never saved for a rainy day? Most prudent companies have RM billions in reserves. Where is Proton’s reserves? nothing.

This what happens when during good times, the company was living luxuriously and spending like a King without saving a sen. Instead of giving staff and directors Protons to use, they were all given Audis, for example.

Can Proton inform us how much does the management and BOD earn per year? And their fat 12 month bonuses?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 17
        • Boring Samy on Apr 07, 2016 at 12:02 am

Boring Samy again……no life….copy and paste

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
        • same kot on Apr 07, 2016 at 9:15 am

you sure 12 months bonuses??you think proton is like genting casino meh?? stfu

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
      • Operation Manager on Apr 06, 2016 at 9:20 pm

So, what’s next..? Abolish AP, IMPORT TAX EXCISE DUTY …?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
        • Gargantia on Apr 06, 2016 at 9:48 pm

Malaysia current car price are… Paying “double the car costing” + multiple taxes ON owning a single vehicle. Buy 1 car pay double the price(not include loan interest).

• Low Budget on Apr 07, 2016 at 10:23 am

Same old, same old will still go on…, the Proton bashing by all kind of Ministers now is just taking a dig at TDM and nothing more.

• Nohood on Apr 06, 2016 at 10:49 pm

Why before Tunbresign diam diam only

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
      • Another Malaysia on Apr 07, 2016 at 10:47 am

The timing of the statement made was all about politics… So please dont praise him and say he is talking with some sense. It’s all about DEDAK. Remember his boss promised 30% car price reduction before last Election? If he really concerned with automotive, why didnt he raise that issue?

• Wan Muhammad Ariff on Apr 07, 2016 at 1:12 pm

Also please tell us something we Don’t already know.

• Albert on Apr 06, 2016 at 8:07 pm

Proton fanboys,this politician is pouring cold water on your favourite car.Why keeping quiet now?
      In other words,Keruak is saying PROTON,IF NO WILLING BUYER….YOU CANNOT SUCCEED AS SELLER…SO,JUST CLOSE SHOP,or get Xi Xing Ping’s ma chai to take over.
      Save rm 3 billion grant…but this amount will be diverted elsewhere for other “mega projects”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 18
      • Close Down Proton Please on Apr 06, 2016 at 8:54 pm

Most Malaysians can enjoy cheap and reasonable cars but because of Proton, all the other car prices have been raised up tremendously to protect Proton. Malaysians have already suffered so much. For 30 years, 30 million people suffer so much.

We struggle paying for our high car prices all because of dying Proton to live. Proton sucks billions of our LHDN money.

Every year government gives hundreds of million to Proton as form of grants.

Every other year, Proton ask RM billions in help. Recently, even under private hands also (DRB) Proton asked the government to give them free few RM billions from LHDN.

Proton also cost us hundreds of billions in ringgit in investments from car companies who moved to Thailand and Indonesia. Car companies got fed up with Malaysia’s MITI for protecting Proton and telling other companies what to price their cars. They got sick and tired of the AP system and how genuine brands cannot get enough APs to import their cars in (like Mercedes, BMW and Honda).

They thought that if they set up their brands and plants in Malaysia, they knew they had to give 30% of their hard earned company free away as well as being told by MITI what to price their cars. They all moved their operations to Thailand making it the AutoCity of the world.

Recently GM announced that they rolled out already 1 million cars from Thailand.
        Imagine if GM was in Malaysia and we taxed GM RM10,000 per car. Calculate that with 1 million cars. Just from GM alone, we lost Billions in USD. Imagine what will the amount be from other car companies if they had set up in Malaysia?

Because of Proton, we lost hundreds of billion of ringgit in investment and trillions of ringgit from jobs lost. If Malaysia was the autocity of Asia, hundreds of thousands of jobs would have been created for Malaysians. We lost all that. Trillions of Ringgit and hundreds of thousands of jobs. Now, Thailand is benefiting from this trillions lost.
        Car companies are flocking to invest hundreds of billions in Thailand despite Thailand being an unstable government, unstable economy and full of bomb blastings and terror.

Yet, global car companies still prefer Thailand.
        Which is better? 300,000 jobs created by car companies setting up plants in Malaysia or to sustain the existing 30,000 Proton employees that have been living off us the past 30 years?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 14
    • tokmoh. on Apr 06, 2016 at 9:06 pm

Actually he does. I’m amazed.

Now sell proton to Geely, rebadge Volvo and truly become Volvo of asia hewhewhew.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
    • OMG…U talk cock again…Last time said pls buy National car as shown patriotism. Merry go roind and round..no ending unless P1 close down.

• Low Budget on Apr 07, 2016 at 10:19 am

He is talking sense now, but wait lah, the G will still pump in RM1.5B into Proton bank acc next few months, for Proton to develop cars that fly.

• Malaysian on Apr 07, 2016 at 10:34 am

The timing of the statement made was all about politics… So please dont praise him and say he is talking with some sense. It’s all about DEDAK. Remember his boss promised 30% car price reduction before last Election? If he really concerned with automotive, why didnt he raise that issue?

• Wan Muhammad Ariff on Apr 07, 2016 at 1:09 pm

Exactly, just posted my two cents worth until I read your similar comment. They had a good 20-30 years to bring up issues. All of a sudden everyone’s got a brilliant idea two days after the old man steps down. Looks like no change in Proton after all.

• Suhaimi on Apr 06, 2016 at 7:39 pm

What makes Proton different from other it is Malaysia only car maker that use most of locally made parts and with local expertise in design and R&D. For Proton to be success Internationally, people must help proton to success in home ground first. The success of Proton will bring up Malaysia. It is about patriotism to support local brands.

Secondly, his point of view did not mention on Korea market where hardly to see any other brand besides Kia & Hyundai. That is how Kia and Hyundai become success. Even thou in Malaysia Mr Sam Loo really hate Korean car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 51
    • Abah kau on Apr 06, 2016 at 9:02 pm

That happened during the entire decade of the 90s when proton had over 70% of market share. And also the first 5 years of the new millennium. Didn’t you know that?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
    • Suhaimi, I agree with you on the Korea side of your comment. But sadly, the difference between the Korean (Kia & Hyundai) and Proton is, the Korean hired and is hiring real talents, I mean, real talented people. Look into Proton, what do we have? Please compare rationally, at business point of view.
      I hope that Proton will see this comment, and shall they consider to look into this in their restructuring (if they are planning it at this moment).
      I truthfully wish that Proton will really become our nation pride one day in the future.
      From a Proton car owner.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 10
      • #patriotismsave1998 on Apr 07, 2016 at 6:16 am

I support u Jan!
        And this minister is rubbish, what Tun was trying to say is that with a proton success if managed properly (better management, more skillful workers, better work ethics,better local vendors, etc) Malaysian will eventually will enjoy more jobs opportunity. Better yet, Malaysia can curb huge cash outflow to foreign countries and our country can flourish just like Japan. Tun is trying to build Proton just like Japan, which is hard, but at least it is home grown success.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
    • I don’t have a solid number to show you, but I found a comment in another post which presented some figure. From someone call Superman.

“Proton must sack over 5000 to 6000 of its unused staff. there are people so called senior and general managers with no job KPI and plan mainly in R&D and also their GTP section with 5 figure worry free salary and also under table money who does not care about the company. if these people are out they will save Millions per month that can be used to fix some of the problems.”

This is the root to the failure of this company, which the Korean don’t have this problem.

• AhmadAlbaab on Apr 06, 2016 at 7:45 pm

Buy foreign car…. money goes abroad… then u said ringgit is not strong because of money going abroad… Who knows where did he got his education?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 16
    • Go oversea sikit saje.. Masuk pocket gov banyak tuuu

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 9
      • it is about PATRIOTISM!

Patriotism is an emotional attachment to a nation which an individual recognizes as their homeland. This attachment, also known as national feeling or national pride, can be viewed in terms of different features relating to one’s own nation, including ethnic, cultural, political or historical aspects.

So now knowing Proton historic launch as the nation’s carmaker, is 90% local content, providing locals with job opportunities, business opportunities and developing local talent. See for yourself where we are right now. Even Thai as the Detroit of Asia have no national car! If you are not proud and PATRIOTIC i don’t know what to say anymore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 20
    • Alibaba on Apr 06, 2016 at 9:30 pm

Why does it have to go abroad? Thailand doesn’t make its own car but its automotive sector is doing much better than Malaysia and it is also boosting the local economy by providing more jobs. As long as the car is made in Malaysia, no matter what brand it is, its the same. It will boost our economy. Proton is only bringing down our economy. Don’t tell me Proton is helping our ringgit in anyways.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 6
      • B-Unggul on Apr 06, 2016 at 10:14 pm

Based on the recent article in PT regarding slowdowns on Thailand auto market, some may say their auto market is also entering its gloomy age.

Be it emission tax ka, CO2 tax ka, it surely affects them.

And its export market, namely our region, isn’t much forgiving either. Don’t look solely to Malaysia, ask a particular country for their ‘brilliant’ COE auction system. And add those emission-tax introduced in some countries too. Even if you go full electric, you still can never win with ‘the system’.

• That particular country din like Tesla circumventing their perfect system and not pay the high tax. So they go find hi emission in that no emission car.

• So please walk the talk and remove the import duties and AP system ! We Malaysians want the best value for our money ! Not paying artificially inflated prices !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 6
  • Joberg on Apr 06, 2016 at 7:48 pm

Ini menteri kaki bodek PM. Please stop giving statement….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 7
    • Yea… he is kaki bodek… dare to ask his beloved PM ro reduced the car price as BN manifesto during election…

• agree on this on

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • Derrickstudio on Apr 06, 2016 at 7:52 pm

Somehow I have to agree to the remarks. Its a buyers market, and to all car owners maybe this would be your second highest investment. If given a chance many will selected a foreign car, not mainly because of the brand but reliability. A foreign car may cost higher (this is due to taxation) but if minus the tax, with the same price tag again a none tax nation car why there are still issues with the car where else other car marker could be depend on? If we are talking about experience don’t our national car given the fair ground?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • B-Unggul on Apr 06, 2016 at 7:54 pm

Adoi la. These people saying these and that, and they don’t think that the word came from their mouth/writing will just worsened the situation?

“It is about spending sometimes up to half your monthly salary (instalments, road tax, insurance, fuel, toll charges, parking fees, service, etc.), not including the depreciation,”

…and you think buying any other car giving people a much better outcome, eh? With lots of them are being CKD unit? (motorheads should know better what I’m implying here)

Please refrain from spewing some thoughts that’ll won’t add value nor bringing the solution to the situation they’re having. It’s bad enough for Proton to face the current predicament. Ego vs Ego won’t solve anything (I don’t say those people on the Proton’s side are totally blameless, though).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 9
  • Tak mau kaki bodek on Apr 06, 2016 at 8:00 pm

Yes, i agree that buying a car has nothing to do with patriotism. But this editorial piece couldn’t have been more timely published after the resignation of Dr. M and the apparent going on feud between Najib and Dr.M, in which I view it as just another “kaki bodek” service done by some tiga suku menteri.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 2
  • Betul. Baik DRB-Hicom jual je Proton kat orang lain. Buat daki je DRB-Hicom simpan. Kalu dulu jual kat other bidder kan bagus

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
  • Jobless on Apr 06, 2016 at 8:19 pm

Vote tis guy to be our next PM!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 38
    • tokmoh. on Apr 06, 2016 at 9:01 pm

Don’t la… Later he say people buy tin milo car cuz people don’t want safety.

• George Abdul on Apr 06, 2016 at 9:40 pm

Nonsense your TM plans are expensive like shit thanks to him… Go search and compare other Telco you will know.

• Muhammad on Apr 06, 2016 at 8:27 pm

People (not just Malaysians)/don’t buy Proton because Proton is really a shit product. 30 million people have lost faith in Proton. Since it’s sooooo hard for Proton to sustain business and it’s affecting 32 million Malaysians for the past 32 years it’s only critical to close down Proton once and for all. Malaysians live would be so much more happier without Proton and it’s disgusting cars on our beloved Malaysian roads. 32 million Malaysians will be so much more happier driving good quality cars. Whether if there’s a Malaysian made car or not it doesn’t matter! Most important is ALL Malaysians can enjoy the best of the best of the world at the cheapest price. Isn’t there a reward far better than forcing Malaysians to buy subpar low quality Malaysian products? Isn’t there far greater value to Malaysians if Malaysia can provide us good and cheap cars other the world has created for mankind?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 31
    • Proton owner on Apr 06, 2016 at 8:43 pm

I bought a Suprima S and is enjoying it more than my Civic 2.0. Proton’s newer offerings have good value for money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 20
      • Abah kau on Apr 06, 2016 at 9:07 pm

I think u really made a bad choice. Since u claimed suprima is better than civic but that is not the same case in Australia, Thailand or Indonesia. Or the whole of Europe and America where thousands of Honda civics are sold every year but proton did not sell even 1 unit. Pathetic

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 13
      • Anonymous on Apr 06, 2016 at 9:19 pm

Agree… but most consumers only afford something lesser… hence the great demand for P1 Myvi n Axia… the market wants it but just cant afford it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
      • Alibaba on Apr 06, 2016 at 9:35 pm

I bought a Preve and am regretting with all my life. The problems never stopped and will never stop. It is faster than my sister’s city but in terms of quality…its like heaven and earth. Bare in mind, the honda city is also a cheap, low class car and is only about RM60k if not for the additional tax on it. So how can Honda offer much better quality?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 9
        • honda jazz v owner on Apr 06, 2016 at 10:39 pm

You are kidding right? I own a honda jazz v spec and the car give me many problem. rattles here and there. Bad reverse sensor that almost made me hit car behind me. Bad undertray below the engine bay that fall when I hit a puddles. Tak tak sound from the engine bay. The worse car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 17
        • Preve owner on Apr 07, 2016 at 9:07 am

You’re joking, I also own Preve along with my wife 4th gen City (facelift). Bought at the same time. I can tell you both equally has their own problems in quality but I enjoy more on Preve of its advantage on tackling corner and climbing steep hill despite being bigger in size than the city .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
      • Caring on Apr 06, 2016 at 9:52 pm

Spot on

• Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 06, 2016 at 8:36 pm

this april fool’s joke has gone too long…malaysian politicians talking sense…omg

• Now..all gov officer can ask for better car..S Class instead accordana ..

Nice :)

• john is otak batu on Apr 06, 2016 at 8:39 pm

Eat this is donkey,john & proton beng!! u can C even minister hamzah also can say buy ppotong isn’t patriotic. Majority M’sia prefer foreign car

• I support not sending families into afterlife, but im sure u r the opposite.

• undertaker on Apr 07, 2016 at 10:57 am

You are already in the afterlife, remember? In your Gen 2

• Well u certainly knows cuz u went ahead of me in ur mangled vios, or was it altis? Cudnt tell the difference from the amount of damage. Oh well

• undertaker on Apr 07, 2016 at 10:51 pm

Well, if you think carefully, i won’t know unless you went ahead of me. Haha

• donno on Apr 06, 2016 at 8:44 pm

Every other minister is trying to publicly trash anything to do with Dr M, to show their stand to Najib. This keruak fella has slammed everything under the sun that has to do with Dr M, so why should we take note of what he is saying?

Btw if buying a car has nothing to do with patriotism, is buying the expensive patriot number plates does?

• salleh meluat on Apr 06, 2016 at 8:55 pm

Salleh Keruak,

We want value for our money. Stop censoring the web, we entitled for all information, good or bad.

• Really on Apr 06, 2016 at 9:17 pm

I have only one question. If Dr M is still buddy with Najib, will he say the same thing? Suddenly, an UMNO minister developed conscience and start thinking on behalf of the rakyat? I am sorry but this is just too good to be true. All these yes men trying to please their (pay)master really makes me cringe.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
    • Really on Apr 06, 2016 at 9:28 pm

I do agree that Proton need to buckle up and improve in nearly all aspects to make Malaysians trust it again. Proton is going in the right direction, slowly but surely. Since Dr M is out of Proton now, can we leave politics out of Proton and focus on improving it instead?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • yup, lets not invest in any tech just because theres no economies of scale, plus malaysians tend to dislike anything made by themselves and will continue to condemn..lets just stay a 3rd world nation and depends on others..proton was badly managed for years unfortunately and now a victim of politics..singapore spends hundreds of billions in technology yearly which dont guarantee any returns, but the know hows are priceless..

• albag on Apr 06, 2016 at 9:32 pm

somehow what the minister say is spot on… we can support national product with our heart, but not our wallet…

• Bernard on Apr 06, 2016 at 9:36 pm

Remember what it was like before Ploton?

Msians could buy foreign cars at highly affordable prices.

Can we have the good old days back??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
  • Wallace on Apr 06, 2016 at 9:49 pm

Please remember PROTON still need to pay tax, excise duty to goverment even GST. Are goverment is MALAYSIAN?

• nabill (Member) on Apr 06, 2016 at 10:16 pm

Nither is stealing, playing racial cards, moving ur wealth to offshore accounts, corrupt institutions and so on…. Patriotism is u do everything for ur own country AND ITS PEOPLE….. U guys are so far off might as well live on Mars…

• Ahmadjr on Apr 06, 2016 at 10:24 pm

Yes all are true. But one point is missing, how much our government fund the private or institutions’ r&d compare to other countries( I prefer if you compare to Sg) ? The gov can begging from astro owner and implement gst to backup 1mdb yet when to develop our own tech is a waste money right? Some research failed, some succeed. How if the new engine will be as good as skyactiv?

• World No.1 on Apr 06, 2016 at 10:30 pm

If there is a demand then you don’t intentionally limit supply and competition. But you can actually create demand by asking Malaysians to buy your product just because they are Malaysian and GLCs are Malaysian.

So ultimately the issue of market ‘policies’ and the law of protectionism and cronyism dictates what you ultimately get.

This is all about buyer forced into overpaying a monopoly seller. But when the buyer is not willing they still have to pay and there is nothing the buyer can do.

Unfortunately, greed and market manipulation have turned the world into a sellers’ market.

That, basically, is what citizens are suffering from and not due to lack of nationalism and patriotism on the part of Malaysians.

• Walk the talk on Apr 06, 2016 at 10:39 pm

Use your own money to buy a proton. Get your family members to do the same too. What say you

• Support P1 = anti-najib

• john is otak batu on Apr 07, 2016 at 9:01 am

Sorry this oldest trick on the book doesn’t work anymore

• if they could just remove the high taxation on foreign cars, i would be gladly to own a Proton/Perodua and a foreign car at a same time.

• harris on Apr 06, 2016 at 10:53 pm

Is patriotism an issue for buying cara or for selling a car company?

• Jobless on Apr 06, 2016 at 11:41 pm

Look at the Preve teribble paint quality, looks like straight out frum ah beng paintshop, vely uneven..and those who proudly boast they driving Supima, pls lah its a damn uncle looking cip car, even those ah bemg who drive Vios look down on u

• Cari makan lah on Apr 07, 2016 at 12:17 am

‘Bodek’ skill is very coveted nowadays. Afterall, it’s that skill that enabled Salleh to become a full federal minister. Before the IMDB fiasco broke out, he was still in half-retirement. It needs special talent to ignore facts, twist truth and blatantly lie with a straight face to defend his boss on national TVs.

• salleh keruak on Apr 07, 2016 at 12:25 am

good job minister!!!

your intention in making this kind of statement is pretty obvious.

firstly, u failed to understand the definition of nationalism or patriotism? it is of course, not about getting RM3M free money!

secondly, yes buying a car is not about nationalism or patriotism, but buying/consuming a local product is. Be it a local kacang, a local cooking oil or a local airlines.

in the case of proton, yes willing buyer and willing seller will hold true forever. we cannot be forced to buy some products at a high price, but with low quality (low satisfaction). proton need and must buck-up. quality should be linearly related to the price.

at the moment, the customer’s perception towards the quality of proton’s car is not linearly correlated to the car’s price. that’s where the issues arise.

it is half true that, because of proton, the car prices in the country is among the highest in the region. what if the government/DRB decided to close down proton and maintain the tax structure? what say u then?

back to the nationalism or patriotism definition by salleh keruak. it is handily and contemporarily defined by him which does not necessarily accepted by others who are as malaysian as he is.

i still remember, how one politician in the United States question/debate in Congress over US olympics uniforms made in china!

Now, do u understand what does nationalism or patriotism means mr keruak?

you mentioned about mini and volvo in your article but please do not forget about kia and hyundai in korea, tata in india, ford and GM in US.

• Janggut on Apr 07, 2016 at 12:31 am

Why cant you speak sense like this often? For the first time, i agree with this man. If Proton cannot survive pls just sell it to foreigners.

• MrMan on Apr 07, 2016 at 2:13 am

He is telling the truth but he not ask us to do not buy Proton. The motivational spoken by him is to improve Proton cars to meet the market demands. That’s all.
    For those who dislike or hate Proton, its up to you. For me my family old Proton had served to my childhood until got better degree, I now I owned another 2 Proton cars (SAGA (2008) & Exora Turbo (2013)) and really satisfied. Exora Turbo is an amazing mpv in terms of power, comfort, space and proud of it. I really don’t understand too much baseless bashing over here. Too much hatred laid on Proton is unfair. Just my opinion.

Thanks

• Yes ,good car but bad cvt gearbox and bad tuning engine with wash machine sound,over weight body shell ,poor interior design , and fuel comsuption lagi teruk ….that all…

• reeve on Apr 07, 2016 at 1:09 pm

Over weight body shell? – 1.4 tonne is normal weight for mid-sized MPV

Poor interior design? Much better than GL, Abanja, Innova

Fuel comsuption? It’s 2.0l equivalent MPV, even better FC than Camry 2.0l (both 1.4 tonnes)

Safety – 4 airbags + ESC ftw!

• For me is the price. too expensive only make affordable by 9 years loan.

• jacobsen on Apr 07, 2016 at 3:02 am

Every company has a phase that prosper, and phase of maturity – when will Proton think business sense? Sell off Proton and we can all stop mourning for something that is so injured but cannot die. Major car brands like Mini and Aston Martin has done this in the past, when the cash cow cannot be milked further. So ridiculous that it’s making every Malaysian dumber by the minute. If Proton wants to hold on to its ego and recover, then make BETTER cars. Have you seen an inside of a Preve? Ridiculous interior that looks like a Toyota Camry in the 80s.

• bulletmy on Apr 07, 2016 at 7:45 am

Does the minister own a proton car purchasing from his pocket money? Or owning continental car instead.

• Proton will get its grant, its better to make more friends than enemies. Besides there are more than 1 way to skin a cat.

• azrai on Apr 07, 2016 at 8:29 am

So..giving support to corrupt person in not an act of patriotism also..

• drMpower on Apr 07, 2016 at 8:34 am

The problem with salleh kruak is that he felt obliged to answer back to mahathir. So when mahathir say black he will want to say white. When mahathir say this he will want say that. He just have to say back and whatever he say he will make sure to be opposite of mahathirs.

Perhaps thats his kpi as the minister pickup from the bin where no one cares before.

The thing with salleh is that he has no malaysian values. He doesnt proud of seeing malaysian cars on the roads. All he cares that monies he spent get him something he likes. He never cares about hundreds of thousands spin offs, neither he cares about monies bring in by proton.

This is a problem that repeated many times in history that tells about fallen of great kingdoms like the fall of China, Industrial Revolutions, etc.

• when the boss change, minister all start to talk different story..last time when the old boss started national car project all ministers were follow same tone…what a wonderful boleh land politic game player

• Khoo Sim on Apr 07, 2016 at 8:43 am

If 1mdb can sell their asset to china company, why the gov can’t try to sell proton to them? Make them buy and invest billions ringgit. Proton have facilities and technology which sometimes automobiles company in china don’t have.

• I disagree.

“Value for money”, it depends what values you are holding or seek. Patriotism is certain a value that some would pay for. And if all things being equal, I would want to buy a Malaysian product. And I remember how proud I was when the first Proton rolled out back in 1985.

• same kot on Apr 07, 2016 at 9:18 am

apparently MITI minister knows everything about Proton now..stupid old man

• C.P. MOHAN on Apr 07, 2016 at 9:27 am

Definition of “Patriotism is an emotional attachment to a nation which an individual recognizes as their homeland. This attachment, also known as national feeling or national pride, can be viewed in terms of different features relating to one’s own nation, including ethnic, cultural, political or historical aspects”. I believe patriotism goes beyond just purchasing cars.

• MuakKeruak on Apr 07, 2016 at 10:08 am

Keruak is just doing his job brown nosing Jibby. Anything that comes out of his mouth is worth shit.

• Malaysian on Apr 07, 2016 at 10:32 am

• Talk is cheap on Apr 07, 2016 at 11:07 am

So can we have some action now by closing down Proton?

• n e c k o t y n n e on Apr 07, 2016 at 11:16 am

Mr. Bernard
    the foreign cars at highly affordable prices that u mean are WITHOUT abs, esp, power windows, no injections, airconds including big square-shaped!

Do u wanna have the good old days back like that??

I bet u were not born yet when Proton wasn’t exist…!

What year u born Mr. Bernard…??? Hehehehehe…!

Plus, I bet too even if Proton close down the Government wont abolish the TAX on cars… Do u think the government are very kind to abolish a system that they easily could get money from the people…??? I bet they wont la… ;)

• Wan Muhammad Ariff on Apr 07, 2016 at 11:33 am

Everybody (with the exception of Mahathir who is merely responding) is just trying to score some points by saying something against mahathir. Where were all your “smart” comments and critique when Mahathir was still in Proton?? Sekarang baru nak bising. Please la. Im not supporting what Mahathir did or didn’t do but I know enough that all these statements are made just to throw dirt. At the end of the day it’s still politics at proton. Nothing has changed and probably nothing will with these kind of ministers.

• Deadpool on Apr 07, 2016 at 11:35 am

I love malaysia, only hate the government, hate the najibai and the fat rosmahai. If people wants to buy they buy, so there is no point of raising the import car duty tax to give protection of national brand. all of these just an excuse for government to suck more money from malaysians, and like chinese people says, ‘wan chou’, ‘play sting’. you raised car import tax but produce low quality cars how can malaysians don’t hate you? and it’s not fair to foreign cars too. reduce the car import tax to normal rate, buck up own proton’s quality to have equal and fair competition, otherwise please close shop, don’t throw malaysian face, make us suffer, makan our money.

• Ask your beloved to put VSC in Vios first, then you can ask for cheaper price than p1

• Ask your beloved to put VSC in Saga first, then you can ask others to put it in their cars

• I noticed that of late, all tegar DEDAK eaters tends to make statements which is not related to their ministry, for the sake counter attacking political opponents and strengthening his corrupted boss’ position….

• Want to make car on Apr 07, 2016 at 1:10 pm

If this minister don’t like technology, only like to buy from outside, do not want to support invention, are not proud of its own country technology capability or, are not interested to build its own capability, if he think that we can’t do this. That is a sign of a bad leadership. A good country leader should promote inventions, he should love technology, build businesses, find their way to succeed it. Puchase import goods to solve your problems sound too easy isn’t it? I don’t need Keruak kind of leader.

• Kinda agreed with this statement, surely it is about the seller willing to buy or not. But if we elaborate on that, the willing to buy governs by several factors such as the price (cars in Malaysia are super expensive), quality, monthly income (very low on average for Malaysian).

I think the better solution are by reducing the car prices and increase the quality, and provide better public transport facility.

Therefore each of individual can lend their income to better and beneficial things (education, health) subsequently can reduce government burden then can achieve Wawasan 2020 for Malaysia Negara Maju, not developing anymore.

• mat racing on Apr 08, 2016 at 1:21 pm

huhu… tapi satu benda aku suka psl proton… berbanding yg lain proton punya manual gearbox lg umph! nyer bukan main. sedap giler.
    honda, mercedes, toyota x jual lg dah manual…
    kalo ade manual kan bagus!

• rashid on Apr 08, 2016 at 2:52 pm

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MxSEDQH_jXM

• azermala on Apr 22, 2016 at 11:51 am

First and foremost need to change the name PROTON to something else. The name got no ONG! Alway got comment. Find name that NGAM with numerology!