Local companies should sponsor motorsports: Khairy

Khairy-Jamaluddin

A call has been made by Youth and Sports Minister Khairy Jamaluddin, for more local private companies to sponsor national motorsport efforts, Bernama reports. The call was made due to the high costs involved in managing national-level motorsports.

“I am asking for more private sector companies to come forward as the cost of motorsports is very high,” Khairy urged. “I believe the return is very high as well,” the minister added. According to him, the ministry has worked with the Sepang International Circuit (SIC) to coordinate motorsports development since last year with funding of RM2 million.

“On behalf of the ministry, we will focus on talent development programmes but when they reach a certain level in MotoGP, we hope there will be assistance from the private sector,” the minister urged.

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• Datuk … mana 100 juta yang hilang dari kementerian sukan mu?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 4
    • Cash is King on Apr 06, 2016 at 11:54 am

Tu donation ma..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 1
      • I want some, can ah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
        • KJ tokok on Apr 06, 2016 at 3:19 pm

Yes sponsor… Then sell Augusta MV for Euro 1. Fantastic business model this ex-4th floor boy

• WT Fuchhhh on Apr 07, 2016 at 8:42 pm

Tak malu. Dah hilang 100m , now asking for more money. If find sponsor, how will sponsor trust you with their money.

• George Abdul on Apr 06, 2016 at 12:21 pm

Got to agreed with this, haven’t settle its own problem and scandal, he start to busybody on others business… Is all BN ministry had so much “free time”?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 5
    • Really on Apr 07, 2016 at 12:55 pm

UMNO ministers’ SOP when shit hit the fan: keeping quiet and hope the matter will be gone on its own. Because ‘Malaysians mudah lupa’.

• Ask Magnum la Mr Minister. last time they sponsored Alex in F1.
    Giants like 1MDB pun boleh what… Or you expecting Qu Puteh?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 2
  • Deadpool on Apr 06, 2016 at 11:46 am

sponsor proton? you think too much, in your dream also won’t happen. if only proton closing down i will sponsor some to the closing ceremony, if there is any.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 15
    • Foreign worshipper…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 13
      • Deadpool on Apr 06, 2016 at 12:09 pm

no john, i worship quality and fact. how good if there is no proton from the start? or if proton really gives malaysian cheap and reliable cars? what proton brought us is high import car tax and made lost to our country. throw face throw until foreign country. i was in uk before, uk people treats proton like junk cars, even car reivewers, topgear LOL. those money dumped in proton may have better use for our country and all malaysian can enjoy cheaper and quality cars instead of forced to buy proton, and expensive foreign cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 10
    • kzm (Member) on Apr 06, 2016 at 12:00 pm

Motorsport..gok not p1

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
    • Bodo ke bangang? What does this have to do with P1?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
  • Local companies should also sponsor Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
  • Cash is King on Apr 06, 2016 at 11:53 am

U ain’t gettin’ any donation, mate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • annoying on Apr 06, 2016 at 11:54 am

RM 2M? for motorsports…come on la..be realistic…what SIC do with the money
    our talent strive on their feet toward success…luckily got some sponsor elsewhere. Now only want to talk on sponsorship and what so ever…talk only la… pour much more money and really support…don’t just talk talk talk..and get publicity…annoying…be like TMJ

• xoxox on Apr 06, 2016 at 11:56 am

yea, but also kena pay GST…

• seancorr (Member) on Apr 06, 2016 at 11:58 am

Local company all tarak duit la boss all went into government pockets from paying off.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
    • kzm (Member) on Apr 06, 2016 at 12:06 pm

So what bout other country? Many private company outside Bolehland give sponsorship for sport not only motorsport and they also pay VAT/GST.

• Pipu here dun syukur that VAT rate in UK is 20% while Sweden is 25%. Then all gip to house immigrant syrians.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
        • House immigrants also less than RM2.6B gua. And some of the Syrians will become valuable contributors. Steve Jobs’ father is Syrian.

• That i agree. at least they din justify running away from home cuz it doesnt have swimming pool

• donno on Apr 06, 2016 at 12:00 pm

About the achievement of khairul idham pawi, I believe that he is not only the first malaysian ever to get number 1 finish in motogp history, but also the first south east Asian ever to do so. And achieving that with such a big superiority over other competitors, showing that he has the talent to go far. We need more support in nurturing talents, not only in motorcycle (which has excellent career path thanks to the malaysian cubprix), but also in formula cars, touring cars and rallying. A lot of times the sponsors are not there for the long term relationship. We need more low cost competition series to unearth more talents, something like the cubprix but for cars and rallying (probably using 1000cc perodua cars). I believe we could be a major sporting country if we have the right path to do it, and for motorcycle racing it has started to bear fruit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 3
    • EXACTLY! We have smaller series but these oso takes money. What we need is a very low cost, where the racing can be foot by themselves. That is setting up of informal circuits and getting mat rempits to come and do their shebang in a controlled environment. Hopefully they will organise themselves and step up to semi-pro then pro level.

• jonn dol on Apr 06, 2016 at 3:33 pm

Rallying is no longer a crowd pulling motorsport like the yesteryears. Circuit racing still is.
      And maybe to strengthen the grassroot level, the duties imposed on motorsports related equipments should further lowered or abolished altogether!

• Tong Sampah on Apr 06, 2016 at 12:05 pm

yup, ask from the AP holders!!

• donno on Apr 06, 2016 at 12:08 pm

If the spending of a paltry 2million has shown this kind of results, imagine if motorsports has the funding as much as what FAM gets… BTW we should not forget that it is also Honda malaysia and Japan investment in khairul idham pawi is one of the main reasons that he is in motogp right now, along with mutiara motors for Adam norrodin and of course petronas for hafizh syahrin.

• anonymous on Apr 06, 2016 at 12:10 pm

This minister should discuss and ask closed door from their billionaires and multi-millionaire cronies.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 06, 2016 at 12:15 pm

problem is…motorsports is something only rich spoilt underprivileged kids can enjoy…like my overweight son…and unless they have the talent of aryton senna (none exists in malaysia if u go sepang kart track in the weekends) nobody is willing to throw millions into a stagnant sea

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 4
    • kzm (Member) on Apr 06, 2016 at 3:54 pm

There is oni u don’t see it..some already at europe n competing there. Eg Akash Neil Nandy, Rahul Mayer, Nabil Jefri…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
    • TheYein on Apr 06, 2016 at 7:25 pm

That’s where you are so wrong. Anyone with a car or motorcycle can enjoy motorsports. Why does it have to be rich kids only?

• Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 06, 2016 at 8:39 pm

going drifting at taylor’s lakeside carpark in ur mum’s corolla altis isnt motorsports

• stasta on Apr 07, 2016 at 11:34 am

biggest joke of the year. VW jetta owners club organising a track day in SIC is not considered motorsports u know.

• Khairy haunted me…everytime I see hI’m I think of 100m

• PowerHong on Apr 06, 2016 at 1:50 pm

With the loss of 100m, the ministry could have been an important key sponsors to F1 and Moto GP. There will still be plenty of balances to set up new academies as well.

I guess the minister needs to explain the loss of RM100m and stop making public comments saying it’s ok to have offshore accounts. It just reflects how blatant some matters are.

• NoBrain on Apr 06, 2016 at 2:06 pm

Private company to sponsor? What is the ROI here? Consumer confidence all time low, busiess is already tough. Due to the implementation of GST, many company reduce credit term from 90 days to 60 days. Why? Because the supplier needed money to pay GST. Many business are already trying to stay afloat due to high cost and weak exchange rate. I really doubt there will be much sponsorship. Unless.. someone is there to “sweeten” the deal. *hint* *hint*

• 4G63T DSM on Apr 06, 2016 at 2:21 pm

How many local companies have an international presence, let alone those related to the motorsports and automotive industry?

You want local sponsor, just ask your cronies to sponsor the local trackdays at Sepang and other smaller local tracks around the country every saturday and sunday. Let people do test and tune for free. Hows that for building motorsports talent?

Put up your ads and sell your products at the track.

• Hurais on Apr 06, 2016 at 2:56 pm

Govt must give tax breaks for amount spent on motorsports sponsorship regardless of the nature of business the company is in.
    Govt must lead the way.

• But must be right kinda sponsorship. So far only gambling, tobacco and liquor industry willing to put sufficient money into sports which is not gud.

More Qu Putehs shud be welcomed.

• rider on Apr 06, 2016 at 5:18 pm

if I have a company I will sponsor, if govt. add a new clause in the tax relief, sounds fair & convincing…

• Private companies need proof there is enough exposure for them to consider.

Create a proper reality racing TV show. Bring in around 8-10 talents from differing background to compete. Show training sessions, and have elimination races. Build up the contestants profiles and personality. Create some drama with some rivalry and incidents. Build up fanbases for each racers.

Grand prize should be a chance to be properly trained to join proper races, even as a wildcard. Probably not MotoGP, but some recognized local races. The late Norick Abe started his MotoGP career in a memorable fashion as a wild card (albeit, he was a national champion and one of Japan’s hottest talent by then).

If there is enough viewing numbers, private companies will come begging for a piece of action.

Who knows, the racers might end up racing in pink :P.

• Only 660cc, how to go sport?

• Operation Manager on Apr 06, 2016 at 9:51 pm

Ministers link company also pls contribute, AP holders also pls contribute… take & give la pls

• Mummy returned on Apr 06, 2016 at 10:37 pm

Datuk.. ask the big tycoon or billionaire in Msia to sponsor 1 cent from their billion-billion income as their CSR

• symusty on Apr 07, 2016 at 7:02 pm

Petronas has been sponsoring the Mercedes AMG Formula 1 Team since 2010, at something like 75-80 million USD annually (maybe even over 100 million) + as a supplier. Since 2014 they have been leading the grid. The return in marketing for that is worth in the hundred of millions.

But well, small motorbike race that no one watches is different la…..