VIDEO: Nissan GT-R sets new world record for fastest ever drift – 304.96 km/h, 1,380 hp, rear-wheel drive

Remember Nissan’s teaser video earlier in the week, where it claimed to set a new Guinness World Record? Well, that record involves setting the fastest ever drift, and the car used in the attempt is far beyond what we initially thought.

Using a specially-tuned MY16 Nissan GT-R, the record was broken with a speed of 304.96 km/h and 30-degree angle. The man who made the attempt is naturally skilled of course – Masato Kawabata, the Japanese drift champion and title holder for the Japanese D1 Grand Prix.

As for the car, the GT-R was specially prepared with the assistance of Nismo specialists. This particular car makes 1,380 hp from a 4.0 litre engine, although the video doesn’t disclose further specifications. However, unlike regular GT-Rs, this one sends its four-figure power to the rear wheels.

Nissan GT-R Breaks the GUINNESS WORLD RECORDS title

Could it be a bored-out version of the standard 3.8 litre VR38DETT biturbo V6? Who knows. Nonetheless, the GReddy Trust-tuned engine cranks out more than double of what a GT-R Nismo makes. And it’s plenty noisy as well

To make sure that things go smoothly, and Kawabata has enough space to make the attempt, the record was set during a special event that took place at Fujairah International Airport, UAE. The choices was a strategic one due to the airport’s 3 km long airstrip that served the purpose of the challenge.

Amazing stuff, isn’t it? What car do you think can best the monstrous (insert Godzilla reference) GT-R’s newly-set world record?

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• hahaha on Apr 08, 2016 at 10:16 am

damnnn…. drive at 304kmh scary enough… this guy drift at that speed…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
    • Big Bang Theory on Apr 08, 2016 at 11:19 am

Can’t imagine rear tyres looks after that speed.. and G-force impact when suddenly turn..

• Danny on Apr 08, 2016 at 10:21 am

Leona wants this badly :-D

• gaviny on Apr 08, 2016 at 10:22 am

i think supercars regularly slide off roads at that speed, just guiness not there to record.

anyways GTR is getting long in the tooth, other’s are moving forward nissan are facelifft,facelift, special edition, limited edition, special limited edition facelift

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
    • CarGuy on Apr 08, 2016 at 11:56 am

Since u know other supercars will normally slide off road at that speed, what’s the purpose to be recorded in Guinness World Record? Or you misuse the word “slide off the road”? Can’t actually get your meaning.

• albag on Apr 08, 2016 at 8:36 pm

when you have a great car created, you dont have to replace it so soon… coz people still love it no matter how many times of facelifts or special editions

• jay8393 on Apr 08, 2016 at 11:19 am

The engine is indeed still the VR38DETT. Kawabata’s D1 battle machine is also a VR38 GT-R, albeit with 1200 horses instead of the 1480 of this.

• jay8393 on Apr 08, 2016 at 11:20 am

It is indeed still running the VR38DETT. Kawabata’s D1 battle machine is also a VR38 GT-R, albeit 1200 horses instead of the 1380 in this.

• shawal ali on Apr 08, 2016 at 11:38 am

shud collaborate with sega and release a new outrun arcade……
    4k uhd insane drift arcade game

• Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on Apr 08, 2016 at 12:08 pm

Tonite i gonna drit my saga FLX at speed of 100km/h, see whether i survive or not

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
    • Slumber on Apr 08, 2016 at 3:53 pm

No bro, please don’t. Your nyawa is more important, seriously.

• Scoobydoo on Apr 08, 2016 at 7:11 pm

Your Saga is front wheel drive. Not suitable for drifting. Don’t die trying. Lolz

• Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on Apr 08, 2016 at 2:34 pm

I notice this insane skyline used TE37, this rim really reliable. I more impressed with Volk racing product rather than JRD oled.

• Daym..my andreline rush..tomorrown want trade my viva with this gtr.hoyeh

• ben yap on Apr 08, 2016 at 5:29 pm

Almera can drift how fast?

• Actman on Apr 09, 2016 at 1:27 am

Wow fastest ever drift – 304.96 km/h. The question is where the h*ll is Takumi right now?

• im punch man on Apr 09, 2016 at 11:37 am

I can do that… hold my sirap, i got this