New Peugeot 408 e-THP previewed, open for booking

Peugeot408Publika_Ext_-2

Official Peugeot distributor Nasim has revealed the new Peugeot 408 e-THP at the Publika Shopping Gallery today. This is effectively a world premiere of sorts, as this is the first time the car has been shown in a different specification from the Chinese-market 408 – where it has been sold exclusively until now. Prices have yet to be announced, but the order books have been opened.

Locally-assembled (CKD) in Gurun, Kedah like its 308 hatch siblings, the Malaysian-market 408 is essentially a best-of compilation of sorts – take one 408 sedan, pile on several goodies from the 308, and you’ll end up with the car you see here.

The lineage is clear to see from the front – the 408 is obviously a derivative of the 308, with “fanged” full-LED headlights and a similar front bumper design as the hatch. Differences include chrome slats on the grille, with the lion badge now inset, instead of being located on the bonnet as on the 308.

Peugeot408Publika_Ext_-16

The wheels measure 17 inches in diameter, and features the same “Rubis” turbine design as on the base 308 THP Active, ditching the Chinese market’s multispoke items. At the rear, Malaysian models are identical to Chinese ones, with C-shaped LED tail lights and dual trapezoidal exhaust exits.

Most of the changes from the Chinese sedan occur inside. Out goes the conventional dashboard layout, replaced by the 308’s avant-garde design with a small-diameter steering wheel, an i-cockpit instrument cluster perched high up the dash, and twin centre air-con vents that flank the 9.7-inch centre display instead of sitting above it.

The seats feature full leather upholstery instead of Alcantara centres on the high-spec 308 THP and fabric on the Active. Elsewhere, kit that can be seen on the locked car on display include keyless entry, push-button start and the Smart Park Assist II system.

Peugeot408Publika_Int_-12

Safety kit includes six airbags, stability control, traction control and a blind spot information system. Unfortunately, the car doesn’t get the top 308 THP’s Driver Assistance Pack, which includes Dynamic Cruise Control, Emergency Collision Alert and Emergency Automatic Braking.

Under the bonnet, the 408 carries Peugeot’s ubiquitous 1.6 litre Turbo High Pressure (THP) direct-injected four-cylinder engine that develops 165 hp and 240 Nm of torque, mated to a six-speed automatic transmission with Quickshift technology. The “e” in the car’s name (408 e-THP) refers to the car’s automatic engine start-stop feature that makes its debut in Malaysia on the new 408.

If you’re interested in the new 408, you can contact any of our CarBase.my Verified Peugeot Sales Advisors for more details.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Cash to Trash on Apr 13, 2016 at 3:33 pm

If its Naza .. it’s a NO for me

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 16
    • WheelFire on Apr 13, 2016 at 4:55 pm

a Nice car indeed and good substitute to the usual suspects, Germans, Japonese & Perdanas.

If only u could tahan the eye-watering car Depreciation $$ & below par Aftersales service.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
    • chris lim on Apr 13, 2016 at 6:01 pm

Currently own a lion since 2009. I have never had any issue with the car neither service. For me, the most important thing, I know how to explain to my service advisor and know the right channel to complaint.

• They comment like they drive a Pug. Recently I have to replace my pug alternator and cost me about RM2k+ after driving for 240k km. My friend laugh at me kaw-kaw and said the spare part are expensive because it is a pug. Later, his vios alternator also go kaput around Bukit Jelutong, and it cost almost the same as my pug to replace the alternator at their authorize service center. Cheap spare part for Vios my a** I told him.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
  • shawal on Apr 13, 2016 at 3:38 pm

with dynamic cruise control + emergency braking , does it mean it cn drive itself in traffice jams…???

A huge selling point right there…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
    • Kena tipu on Apr 13, 2016 at 5:31 pm

NAZA lagi… alamak !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
      • There is Naza authorize service center and there is other authorize service center that are not run by Naza. I prefer not to go to Naza own service center for my pug.

• SKYjack on Apr 18, 2016 at 5:25 pm

I have been using NAZA SC as long as the warranty period. Have no complaints, 2 warranty claims that I made were also satisfactory. NAZA has made progress, hope the continue the good work!

• alldisc on Apr 13, 2016 at 7:26 pm

Unfrotunately, it cannot steer by itself.

• stasta on Apr 14, 2016 at 10:12 am

do u even read ? the article says it DOES NOT HAVE “dynamic cruise control + emergency braking”

• Fan of the lions? on Apr 13, 2016 at 3:44 pm

A friend of mine told me he that he paid nearly RM4k for major service of his 408. Good luck maintaining this car!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 27
    • ben yap on Apr 13, 2016 at 4:01 pm

friend told you means it’s just hearsay.

my friend’s cousin’s sister’s friend told me that the 408 maintenance is cheaper to maintain than a motorcycle.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 28
      • camtakpro on Apr 14, 2016 at 10:03 am

Confirmed your friend’s cousin’s sister’s friend cheat you.

• bro comparing this 408 to the old 408 is like comparing an Axia to a Kancil. This is new car…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 6
    • JonLabu on Apr 13, 2016 at 5:57 pm

“A friend of mine”

• I am not suprise, change my lower arm for 207 and mouting outside from peugeot, cost me almost 4.5k, if its SC at peogeot, bills will be some where ard 6.5k.
      You do the calculation if its worth driving or not for that simple spare parts. not major yet.

• Conti – higher expectation comes with higher price tag. Normal.
        Cant afford a conti then go back to jap/local.

• GTi-R on May 25, 2016 at 8:35 pm

207 lower arm and mounting almost RM4.5K even at outside workshop? This is pure bull shit.

• Jemah on Apr 13, 2016 at 3:53 pm

rear lamp look like nissan Selfie haha

• LatukBandar on Apr 13, 2016 at 3:53 pm

I believe most peugeot owners buy peugeot because of the lion logo/emblem. I always here my friend says: “but but but the lion logo is so cool.”

When they own it, after a few months, they will spam peugeot facebook page due to anger. just google and you will know.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 19
    • Lionfren on Apr 14, 2016 at 6:41 am

What is your concern? It is your fren who can afford it and why you need to be worried?

• camtakpro on Apr 14, 2016 at 10:09 am

I would buy it because of the interior… and yeah, the lion logo!

• rchoo on Apr 13, 2016 at 3:55 pm

My 508 Premium have never reached RM 700 per 10K service, what is this RM 4K yu Fan of the lions? talk about?

Bloody liar.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 10
    • Han Juan on Apr 13, 2016 at 6:09 pm

Agreed with you rchoo. So far my highest bill for my 308 was 3k plus. But that’s include major service + parts that i personally requested to change.

• Major service can reach 2k to 3k
      Minor service around 500
      308t owner.
      No regret. Great car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
      • rchoo on Apr 14, 2016 at 12:32 am

I have been using 508 premium for 2 years and the mileage is 53k that is 6 services, what 4K, 2k, 6k you guys are talking about? You all talked crap, liars.

• mochoo on Apr 21, 2016 at 8:08 pm

My 408T first srvce for 10k only RM380, what the heck Toyol tak and Jap AVs lovers talking about?

• 308 VTi 2012 owner on Apr 14, 2016 at 9:45 am

Have been driving the car for 4 years. Major service RM1.6-1.7k, normal service RM500-700. Car broke down once at the parking lot due to a chip in the gearbox, and another time power window failure, all replaced under warranty, other than that it has been a very enjoyable ride! There are more and more workshops for Peugeot these days it’s not hard to find cheap parts.

• Alibaba on Apr 14, 2016 at 11:34 am

May I know what kind “chip”is in the gearbox? Or just a dent or damaged casing..etc

• 308 VTi owner on Apr 24, 2016 at 6:00 pm

It’s a chip that decides the gear shifts, once it broke down it jammed the whole car, it won’t even let you start.

• Just like navara if u try to hijack the security ,the gearbox chip set in to be faulty jamming all 4 tyres. I experience this. Cobra security alarm. I have faulty alarm system n workshop outside try to temper with it.

• camtakpro on Apr 14, 2016 at 10:17 am

Those RM4k are not typical service that just changes oil.

• 008 Lion (Member) on Apr 14, 2016 at 4:22 pm

Totally agreed with you rchoo. I have never reached more than RM 500 per 10K service, except for the spark plug change at 40K km service and my next 60K km service (major service). Please own a peugeot before you make a comment. Very satisfied with my car. Great handling and comfort.

• Melly on Apr 13, 2016 at 3:56 pm

Nasim, Naza? No thanks. Had enough.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 16
  • Loyal407owner on Apr 13, 2016 at 4:05 pm

Wel l it’s look much better and more mature compared to the old 408. But the read light really reminds me of the Sylphy. Been using 407 for 7 years and still running great.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
    • same. I got mine in 2009. Just changed the engine mounts & shocks a few months ago and it feels like new.

• NAZA don’t provide good service and car maintenance is very high. It’s No No for me too

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 17
  • I must say. If this drives like the current 308 (which it probably will) & Nasim price this around RM125-130k this will sell very well. I mean it’s got all the kit you can put in a car. Adaptive cruise, AEB, auto park assist, 5 star E-NCAP, full LED headlights etc.

But I still like the look of the 308.

• 308 2012 owner on Apr 13, 2016 at 9:48 pm

Test drove the new 308 THP and indeed it was a nice surprise, it droves much better than the previous generation, only down point is the small boot space, and the depreciation if that’s your concern.

• trunk space is still the biggest in the segment.

• 308 2012 owner on Apr 14, 2016 at 10:06 am

Yes the boot space is the biggest in terms of volume, it’s deeper in terms of height than the previous gen no doubt, but quite narrow, I tried and have trouble fitting in the golf set. In the previous gen I can at least lay the golf set adjacently without the driver.

• stasta on Apr 14, 2016 at 10:13 am

IT DOES NOT HAVE “Adaptive cruise, AEB” . learn to read before commenting.

• Loyalto407 on Apr 13, 2016 at 4:22 pm

407 is much more better in looking, driving and performanced… European Looking compare to 408…

• Jonn Dol on Apr 13, 2016 at 4:32 pm

Nice car.

• seancorr (Member) on Apr 13, 2016 at 4:33 pm

Tough luck for Pug Malaysia as the all new Civic is arriving soon and there’s the new Focus too. But among the three I prefer the Pug’s interior the most

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
  • Why call it 408? It should be 409 since the design is different from current 409 model

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
    • Irwan on Apr 13, 2016 at 11:15 pm

308/408/x08 is the last moniker, next 15 years also 08. Unless they start a new naming scheme.

• SKYjack on Apr 18, 2016 at 5:39 pm

Then the next update will be named 500 . Soon it will hit 508. I think numbers are frozen from now on based on models. Other identifications will be introduced on new models like 408-e

• Encik Boss on Apr 13, 2016 at 4:35 pm

Peugeot is good. Naza is the problem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 13
  • Encik Boss on Apr 13, 2016 at 4:38 pm

Peugeot is ok. Naza is the problem

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 16
  • only dailinngong buy peegeons car on Apr 13, 2016 at 5:12 pm

front sonata lf rear teana/slyphy ,packing back to your country with your mess up problem car la diu!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 18
  • Engineer berhemah on Apr 13, 2016 at 5:34 pm

Typical hearsay comment that will bash pug same how they bash proton. Even if pug come out with new model in year 2030 they will still say “dare buy pug? My frenz 2005 pug 408 so many problem wan”.
    Same if proton come out with new model in years 2030 they will say ” dare to buy proton? My frenz iswara so many prob one” . All of this hearsay comment they still stuck at the car brand old product even it already 10 years ahead. What they trust is just Toyota vios old 4 speed auto and can’t receive any improvement or technology advance in car automotive engineering. If they is something new , they will bash and bash

• Jobless on Apr 13, 2016 at 5:57 pm

Even minah rempit look down on tis car wit almost zero resale value after 2-3 years…and yur mother in law will look at yur car tinking omg my princess married a weirdo…get a Civic or Altis, Camry or Accord instead

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 16
  • JonLabu on Apr 13, 2016 at 5:57 pm

Handsome!

• Kingsman ho on Apr 13, 2016 at 6:19 pm

So many Japanese car salesman here. Go troll elsewhere la pls

• Ryan Giggs on Apr 13, 2016 at 6:26 pm

Can’t wait for the launching! Thanks to Peugeot that never compromise on the safety, not like some Japanese with less airbags, safety bar etc and always have recall due to safety issue but some Malaysian still call it a reliable car?

• Ryan Giggs on Apr 13, 2016 at 6:29 pm

Can’t wait for the launch!
    Thanks Peugeot that never compromise on SAFETY feature. Not like Japanese with less airbags, safety bar etc and always have recall issue due to safety but most malaysian still call it a reliable car?

• Golfer on Apr 13, 2016 at 7:40 pm

If you buy this car please be prepared to face your worst nightmare. You have been warned.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 22
    • Colin W on Apr 14, 2016 at 12:28 am

Problem is with Naza. They cannot diagnose and fix simple stuff. Your car will be be in and out and you become a Grab/Uber expert :-)

Since I changed my SC to non-Naza, I can tell you that my perception of my 508 has changed a lot. It is a car that I will keep for a long time. I feel really sorry for people who sell their 408 for a song because Naza cannot fix a jerking problem which is most likely due to timing chain out of alignment which is easily fixed. Sigh.

Brake persistence snapping sound could not be fixed by Glenmarie (yes, the HQ) and yet it was fixed by a non-Naza SC on first visit.

SC: It is your brake rotors sir. Need to replace.
      Me: Dont replace can? Can skim?
      SC: If you are OK with it sir.
      PROBLEM SOLVED.

So, it is not the Pug. It is Naza.

Period.

• carfan on Apr 13, 2016 at 11:50 pm

The strange 308 high set meters and small steering wheel may not suit everyone. I personally find it uncomfortable to peer over the steering wheel to look at the meter in the 308. Not sure why they carried over to the new 408.

• Andrew on Apr 14, 2016 at 1:06 am

If it launch with price rm150k+, this car will be difficult to sell.

• Dogymal on Apr 14, 2016 at 8:16 am

In this price range, the performance is much better than any Japanese car. But u need another courtesy car to own it

• peugeots with the older xu engines were ok but newer generataions with the prince engine is totally useless..peugeot always be unreliable plus that with low grade after sales equals nightmare motoring..

• fussyfussy on Apr 14, 2016 at 10:31 am

Somehow this model look so handsome and well built. I don’t mind the compact steering wheel, I think it contribute to a better road handling. When is it going to launch? Est price?

• so its gona be priced around rm150k rite?

• rchoo on Apr 14, 2016 at 11:35 am

I don’t think so, if it is 150K, then might as well buy the 508.

• rchoo on Apr 14, 2016 at 11:47 am

You guys complained so much, IMO I guess the current VW Passat 115K, VW Jetta 88K and Phase out Peugeot 86K are the current best deal in town. Don’t even need to look further.

• superdriver on Apr 14, 2016 at 6:34 pm

Agreed.Noticed alot of people bought the current 408.Best driving experience ever.Totally worth it!!

• Victor on Apr 17, 2016 at 2:34 am

Passat and Jetta getting a lot of complains too. People are hard to please. Until we find a car with reliable engine, great interior and exterior, fun to drive, abundance of inexpensive spare parts, good fuel consumption, good rv, great after sale service… Only if we can find all the great stuff in one package at this price otherwise don’t complain it’s a matter of give and take.

• Fitri on Apr 16, 2016 at 11:56 pm

To those protecting the name and brand. Good for you that you’ve never faced any problems with your car before. But coming from someone who owned the latest 308 THP only for 2 months and selling it off after, you cannot blame me for having so much hate towards this brand. I had the worst 2 months owning this car. Was literally in and out of the service center glenmarie everyday. And mind you, that was a brand new car and so called “new model”. This brand is rubbish. I advice you to stay away. It is just not worth it.

• GTi-R on May 25, 2016 at 8:43 pm

Lie detected!

• The review was 308 last model was made not for tropic cond. Heat. I forgot 1 item that usually he had to replace .there is one bro who suffer. But he pocket is thick. Working for citibank. He pull it into workshop raise the bhp to 210 . He smile now all the way.

• bobby on Apr 18, 2016 at 1:50 pm

keen to owe a peugeot new car. budget is 150k.any advice from the previous peugeot car owners pls..

• intermilan on May 31, 2016 at 11:36 am

Published estimated price RM145K.
    So probably its RM143,888 OTR.
    Official launch should be in no time from now.

Unfortunately, this means it will share the same launching period with the Civic which slated to command much lower OTR price (cheaper but not necessarily better).

Civic OTR price is estimated to start from RM118K for 1.8L up to RM138K for 1.5T premium.

There’s a slight price increase from current Civic but this is to be expected.

The 408 will be largely ignored if launch in the same period as Civic.

• cuckoo on Sep 27, 2016 at 11:03 am

Hey guys..how about the quality of this car brand..is it reliable for at least 6-7 years ahead??for no major issues…anyone?