VIDEO: 2016 Subaru Forester facelift walk-around tour

Launched yesterday, the 2016 Subaru Forester facelift is set to be the brand’s best-selling model in Malaysia. It’s Subaru’s first mainstream offering (the slightly off-beat XV aside), gunning after the Honda CR-V, Mazda CX-5 and Nissan X-Trail crowd.

Now locally assembled, the Forester facelift is priced to take on its rivals head-on. The range starts at RM144,948 for the base 2.0i, going up to RM154,488 for the 2.0i-P shown here. Better yet, Motor Image is offering introductory prices of RM139,800 for the 2.0i, and RM151,800 for the 2.0i-P.

Prices aside, the 2016 Forester is very well equipped, especially the 2.0i-P, as you’ll find out in detail in our walk-around video. Safety kit is excellent as well, with seven airbags (including a driver kneebag) and electronic stability control offered as standard across the range.

Do watch the video above for full details, and check out our new car research website, CarBase.my for a closer look at the new model’s specifications.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Gargantia on Apr 15, 2016 at 7:56 pm

Good job Hafriz… keep up the good work ! Back to the car… on the price track CX-5 still the top choose.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 33
    • ming ming on Apr 15, 2016 at 8:28 pm

The list price quoted is very high but you will actually get much lower price when you sit down and nego. They will give extra discount.

• littlefire on Apr 15, 2016 at 8:56 pm

CX-5 base spec pricing wise yes, but safety & spec wise… Hmmm…

• Looks aside, cx5 handling is no where near the Forested!

• Xxxxxxxxxx on Apr 15, 2016 at 9:15 pm

Cx5 is a lady car.

• bongah on Apr 16, 2016 at 12:38 am

yup, that’s true…design wise, others hv a slide edge…but it wouldn’t hurt to invest a bit for the extra safety features n reliability in the long run

• ming ming on Apr 16, 2016 at 10:52 am

Price wise no issue. The quoted price and the actual price the dealer give you are two different thing. Just make sure you know how to bargain till you get the price you want.

• Muniandy Periasamy on Apr 16, 2016 at 11:19 am

Better for Subaru to close shop like Suzuki. No market. Sales so low. People who buy also cry cause Subaru got no RV. Buy today RM144k, next year sell RM70k also susah. Put in Mudah for 6 months also nobody calls you.

It is like selling an Alfa or a Saab or even a Suzuki. Nobody calls you at all when you advertise in Mudah.

The Forrester cannot challenge Honda CRV, Nissan X Trail and Mazda CX5. Buy any of these cars, next year you sell also, no need to top up your loan. RV so good, hardly drops 10%

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
    • policeman on Apr 16, 2016 at 6:35 pm

Hafriz, do some sit-ups and go for a jog daily. Kurangkan KFC & McD.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
    • Danny on Apr 18, 2016 at 8:49 am

We came here for the ladies :-P~~

• This is much better than CX5 4wd. The CX5 4WD costs more than 170 and has less equipment and drive quality is inferior. Sportage and CRV 4 WD are less expensive so can be preferred.

• Albert on Apr 15, 2016 at 8:09 pm

Fellow Victorian En.hafriz,
    Kindly ask tan chong why no price reduction cos our Ringgit has strengthen to rm3.8/dollar compared to rm 4.4/dollar earlier?
    15 percent should be the reduction.
    When bastards(car distributors) set prices,they have no morals.Just MAXIMIZE PROFITS especially UMW.
    RECALCITRANT,SHAMBOLIC,HORRENDOUS LIARS.

• sorry, won’t buy such suv without rear air-cond vents

• Usernameforcommenting on Apr 15, 2016 at 9:23 pm

Stuck at pix #2. Owh my,…come to papa…

• Rm211k to Rm145k. 31% down.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 13
  • It is too pricey… For me, it’s the Nissan X-Trail (much bigger size) and cheaper!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 25
  • seancorr (Member) on Apr 15, 2016 at 10:26 pm

I don’t dig it’s looks

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
    • chaos on Apr 16, 2016 at 10:48 am

looks horrible, wont even consider it

• Same L0rrrr on Apr 16, 2016 at 11:57 am

Sushi is still better than your recond sausage

• eh eh on Apr 17, 2016 at 10:42 am

Sushi is good but avoid Toyota.Full specs still not fully equipped.Must buy safety package some more! CRV,CX5 is better RV.But Toyota don’t have model to fight other sushi too.Fortuner? Lol.Drink fuel faster than a fat guy peeing.Anything sushi but UMW

• Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 16, 2016 at 12:55 am

needs STI bodykits

• Alternatively, the all new Hyundai Tucson is just a value for money SUV, it has all the latest gadgets, very quiet cabin, and high safety rating too…just to compare with CRV, CX-5 and this Forester..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 26
  • skatax on Apr 16, 2016 at 11:35 am

CX-5 ftw!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
  • takNakP1 on Apr 16, 2016 at 3:01 pm

those that choose Subaru over others Japanese brand most likely is for the boxer engine & symmetrical AWD that is unique.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
    • nabill (Member) on Apr 16, 2016 at 5:14 pm

I highly doubt real buyers actually kno wat boxer engone is.. Ur giving them way too much credit!
      Most likely its sting different, n its Japanese so reliability is a given

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
      • Clark Kent on Apr 17, 2016 at 11:09 pm

These are not rocket science to be understood, the knowledge of the boxer engine can be learn from so many sources nowadays; we no longer live in stone age my fren.

Agreed with you that there might be customers who are ignorant enough to invest 150 grand or more on a vehicle which they don’t even bother abt the state of art of the technology.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • markgoh on Apr 16, 2016 at 3:57 pm

if XT price mark at RM150K….

• subarus are great utility machines, reviewer forget to put up few pointers of it being a subaru, roof load capcity of more than 600kg plus tow capacity of 1600kg, symmetrival drivetrain not any transverse low cost nonsense, rear double wishbones..drives excellent on road and off..if all that matters to you then forester beats the rest..the fc on these things with constant awd is darn good

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
    • Matter on Apr 16, 2016 at 7:17 pm

Still doesnt hide the fact that one of the ugliest SUV in the market. Besides if you lookinh for massive loads, why not get a pick up? SUV is projects image nowadays. More image than utility

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 21
      • bongah on Apr 16, 2016 at 10:57 pm

yep, image is more than utility…it’s like having a really nice hammer, instead of using it, u put it in a glass shelf n brags about how nice ur hammer looks…yeah, image…

• You've got the "look" on Apr 18, 2016 at 5:43 pm

Subarus are function first, then form. I kinda like it coming from a different starting point. Makes it almost one of a kind.

Besides, when you’re driving it, you can’t see the outside… so, why worry about the looks? It’s only when you park it and get out of it, then you and other people see it. IMHO, if image is more important than drive, then you should look elsewhere.

• Sammy Loo on Apr 16, 2016 at 7:45 pm

This is the only brand I felt a threat to Toyota.

Subaru’s symmetrical AWD and Boxer engine combination are second to none. Definitely they are not a perfect car, Subaru lacking on design and interior design, that’s the reason most Subaru buyers are all about the engine and AWD system.

The Forester XT is definitely a better car compared to Audi Q5.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 3
  • pickup truck is a commercial vehicle with body on frame chassis, has much better load capacity but not everybody wants a pickup truck..matter could even be more sarcastic by suggesting a 5 ton lorry. looks wise i think its a matter of taste, a nicely modded forester can looks quite muscular especially the xt..could be a great off roader with its 9in ground clearance yet do over 200kmh in comfort on road..wish i could afford an xt..toyota already owns majority in fuji heavy

• Ah Beng on Apr 17, 2016 at 7:38 pm

Hafriz. ..

U got talent no doubt….

But pls do urself a favour and lose some weight. Esp ur now on TV.

• Rusmah on Apr 18, 2016 at 9:00 am

Subies forester is north American & Canadian favourite mini SUV.

• Sgt Scoop on Apr 18, 2016 at 11:08 am

I want to thank Najib for delivering on his promise to reduce car prices by 30%. He is truely a great leader!

• sepul on Apr 18, 2016 at 11:40 am

I disagree to those who said Forester is ugly. More like undesirable is the best description to its styling. But not ugly, definitely.

MI should have put the proper touch screen head unit found in the XT into the lesser Forester, and the window controls should have been the newer fully illuminated version. Same goes to XV.