VIDEO: Honda Civic 1.8 NA vs 1.5 Turbo on Thai track

This is not just another product video of the new Honda Civic, but one that sees the 1.8 litre naturally aspirated engine variant go up against the new 1.5 litre turbocharged version on track. OK, it’s more choreographed driving with each car taking turns to be the leader than actual racing at Thailand’s Buriram circuit, but it’s still good to see the cars in motion, in both day and night.

It’s not real racing, so we don’t know for sure how the 1.8 NA with 141 hp and 174 Nm will measure up to the 1.5 Turbo with 173 hp and 220 Nm on the road, but the car with forced induction should be an easy winner. As seen in February, a stock US-spec Civic Turbo CVT will beat the previous-generation Civic Si with a 205 hp 2.4 litre NA engine. Even with ECO mode on.

We got up close with the new Civic at the Bangkok Motor Show last month, detailing the specs of each variant available there (1.8 E, 1.8 EL, Turbo, Turbo RS) plus Modulo accessories, with live pics from the show floor. Here’s a recap.

Civic-Thai-Duel

On the outside, LED DRLs, LED tail lights and 16-inch alloys are standard across the board, with the 1.8 EL adding on fog lights and chrome door handles. The Turbo and Turbo RS get 17-inch wheels and dual exhausts (which are hidden from view, by the way), while the top RS boasts LED headlights, LED fog lights, a sportier front bumper and grille (gloss black bar connecting the headlights) and a rear spoiler.

Inside, keyless entry and push start comes standard on the base 1.8 E, along with Engine Remote Start which debuted on the Thai-market Accord facelift. Also fitted are auto air-con, multifunction steering wheel, electronic parking brake, a five-inch central display and Bluetooth. Beige fabric seats with a grey centre stripe, too.

The 1.8 EL adds cruise control, auto headlights, Walk Away Auto Lock, an eight-way powered driver’s seat, leather, a TFT LCD instrument display, seven-inch touchscreen infotainment system with Apple CarPlay and Siri Eyes Free, eight-speakers and a reverse camera.

Honda-Civic-Thai-Grades

Turbo variants get all the above plus auto wipers, four-way powered passenger’s seat and dual-zone climate control. The Turbo RS further nets one an auto-dimming rear-view mirror, steering wheel paddle shifters and alloy pedals. Honda has also developed a range of Modulo accessories for the Civic, which you can view in detail here.

Standard safety kit includes dual airbags, ABS with EBD and BA, VSA and Hill Start Assist. Only the Turbo RS gets side and curtain airbags (for six in total), a front passenger seat belt reminder and Honda LaneWatch. Prices range from 869,000 baht (RM96,175) to 1.19 million baht (RM131,683).

The latest Civic was launched as a sole 1.5 Turbo variant in Indonesia this month, priced at Rp. 475 million (RM140,177) in the Republic. There are some slight changes from the Thai Turbo RS, which you can see here. Next up is Malaysia. We’ve already seen the new Civic on test and in the classifieds, so the local launch should be just around the corner now.

GALLERY: Honda Civic Turbo RS, Thai-spec

GALLERY: Honda Civic 1.8 EL, Thai-spec

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Kancil Hybrid on Apr 21, 2016 at 5:14 pm

Try test dengan Suprima S la woi kalau berani..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 51
    • carlist on Apr 21, 2016 at 8:45 pm

Can stop posting anything Civic-related news?

What so special about this? It’s a super normal ordinary C segment sedan with 1.5 Turbo with 173 hp and 220 Nm only.

There are millions of the car better than this! What so exciting? Cukuplah! Bosan dah!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 48
    • Pinky on Apr 21, 2016 at 8:48 pm

The buttock of this Civic is terribly ugly. The front is nice but the back just ruined everything.

Tbh, it looks even uglier than an almera. Maybe some of you would feel that the butt is nice, but it’s a big NOPE from me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 24
      • DPCraft on Apr 21, 2016 at 10:37 pm

Nope still better then Almera. The back looks nice when in the dark, the led bars lit sleekly.

• Annoynimouse on Apr 23, 2016 at 1:18 pm

Absolutely agree with you there… It’s butt ugly.

• Proton Tubro with Flying-Singh better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
    • dr m pamper on Apr 22, 2016 at 6:37 pm

Proton suprima pampers mau masuk sepang cannot roll down window. Have to open door coz power window break down.

• Operation Manager on Apr 21, 2016 at 5:19 pm

Thai 2016 Honda Civic from *RM96k

• 318k at SG. And haven include COE yet. Syukur masih aman but have to walk to Jurong/Tuas areas.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
  • Industry-insider on Apr 21, 2016 at 5:26 pm

ecomode will be useless in full throttle. aiyo apa ni paultan editor

• Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on Apr 21, 2016 at 5:28 pm

Sound like both engine not much different in the race of this video. Why pay more to buy 1.5l turbo?

• policeman on Apr 21, 2016 at 6:09 pm

Not a day goes by without a Civic article.

• Later somebody will accuse PT of kena paid by Honda like last time with P1. Bashers will be bashers

• policeman another otak batu on Apr 22, 2016 at 9:18 am

Then, stop visiting this blog & go to others.. nobody forcing u keep reading this blog…another “OTAK BATU”

• At least honda doesnt keep insisting that this civic will be a game changer

• Jajja on Apr 21, 2016 at 6:44 pm

I think VTEC 1.5 turbo Is too overhype. Already bosan. Like too overated. Wake Up guys. IT Is Just a 173 hp engine. Continental cars already done that several years Ago. Even VW 1.4 TSi 160 PS 240NM pair we with dual clutches seem can easily tapau This civic. Not to mention peugeot 1.6THP engine that can produce 208hp. See peugeot 1.6 thp 208 hp, did This engine too overhype?

Not to mention upcoming Proton 1.5 TGDi that can churn out 180hp 250NM. So what’s up? Keep calm and no need this track video on a civic CVT!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 19
    • Kancil Hybrid on Apr 21, 2016 at 8:51 pm

Correct. Even new 1.5 Ecoboost got 180 hp 240 Nm.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
    • john is otak batu on Apr 21, 2016 at 9:48 pm

market launching date? Demo/Display model?
      Empty talking…. sendiri cakap sendiri syiok over & over again. BTW, this potong is still in ICU..power of daydream!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
    • Jepunis pipu on Apr 22, 2016 at 12:00 am

But where all this conti super turbo ended up? Side of the road! Mechanical problem everywhere.haahahaha

• Alex Lam on Apr 22, 2016 at 1:22 pm

What these Japanese are famous for is reliability. And when they do a recall, issues are remedied. I am sure u’ve heard VW 1.4 tsi ended up changing gearboxes or clutches several times and also the Ford’s Fiesta and Focus titanium. Honda may be copying these Europeans but most likely perfected it. I am waiting anxiously for this vehicle to arrive at the showroom and I will definitely test drive the car. Good job to Paultan.org and team to give me the latest local updates!

• yippi33 on Apr 22, 2016 at 8:58 pm

Honda is not that reliable believe me…only a civic owner will know this..go ask all the EG EK owners..every month go to workshop..sparepart not that cheap wooo..still high because of so called “demand”..its just people perception..you’ll know it when you own one…toyota is the reliable one..but its because they use 100 years old dinosaur technology but proven…good luck with the turbo engine..

• 0.37 rs VTEC turbo engine..really?

• The Civic Turbo will easily be the best C-segment Asian sedan when launched in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 12
  • What a lame video…

• BNaik on Apr 22, 2016 at 9:41 am

potong lai potong ki, what the message try to tell us on the video? 1.5 turbo same as 1.8 NA?

• Thaiboy on Apr 21, 2016 at 8:58 pm

This all new civic is the best buy u can choose 1.8 sohc or 1.5 dohc turbo engine

• Car Council on Apr 21, 2016 at 10:48 pm

Subtle copy of Volkswagen XL1’s backside..
    Still ugly though.

• Not race guys, its just ‘iklan’ honda civic lol!

• applegreen on Apr 22, 2016 at 9:20 am

After launching in malaysia we shall see a better, proper race video from PT team. I bet the winner is not the civic 1.8 or 1.5 turbo, but the flying sikh!

• and then everyone starts buying one of these, and they all look so common on the road. Boring….

Get a Subaru XV instead.

• john is otak batu on Apr 22, 2016 at 11:32 am

Subaru not unique enuf U can buy Fiat or Alpha Romeo…they r truly unique instead

• Thaiboy on Apr 22, 2016 at 11:44 am

If u’re young at heart and like the design buy the dohc turbo, it certainly had the power and a racy engine note to keep u entertain, this car is out on the road for sometime already do u think a false advertisment could go on

• what’s the point of this video???

• sabahan on Apr 22, 2016 at 1:29 pm

I am more keen on the drving feel, fuel economy instead of performance. I dont have chances to rev my car till redline on my hometown road….

• Cheung on Apr 22, 2016 at 2:10 pm

by looking at the engine specifications of the 1.5 T the torque and power was way better than the current civic 2.0

will test drive the turbo version once is available for test drive and decide whether to buy this car or not

price is not an issue

• Honda "delighting you always" on Apr 22, 2016 at 5:35 pm

Hello lmfao, what happen to the interior…. Kinda low class

• Warren Wong Yee Ket on Apr 23, 2016 at 8:38 am

I expected a proper vs race, not this stupid ad. Misleading title.

• Annoynimouse on Apr 23, 2016 at 1:21 pm

Everybody turbocharge nowadays. But don’t expect an Evo kind of performance. These ones are only for fuel economy with slightly higher low-end torque. Will be missing the high revving NAs but if you need to turbocharge to save the earth, then so be it.

• Nissan on Apr 24, 2016 at 5:22 pm

This will dominate the C segment market again! Sadly Nissan Sylphy is a failure here, can’t even find it in the recent roadshow at 1U.

• Ollie on May 05, 2016 at 2:55 pm

But why so ugly?