Volkswagen Malaysia offers free petrol to owners!

Thanks to Volkswagen : )
My lucky day to get full tank for FREE.

Posted by Aric Teoh on Friday, 22 April 2016

Good news! Volkswagen owners in Malaysia are now entitled to free petrol. You heard right. As part Volkswagen Group Malaysia’s brand gesture series, VW owners who fuel up at the Shell petrol station located along the NKVE highway (Damansara bound) will be provided with a free fuel up.

UPDATE: The offer of free petrol for Volkswagen owners has ended.

However, there’s a catch as this short-lived campaign will end tomorrow (April 23, 2016). To redeem your free fuel up, simply head on over to the aforementioned Shell station and point out your Volkswagen to the staff at the counter, that’s it. This stunt is the latest that emphasises the company’s tagline – Always by your side, where the company surprises its customers with various acts.

The first instalment involved providing a free carwash service to owners at 1Utama, while the second instalment saw owners being surprised with treats while stuck in traffic to liven things up a little.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Boboy on Apr 22, 2016 at 5:30 pm

Yup. Coz volkswagen malaysia does not have the support like they used to

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 37
    • james on Apr 22, 2016 at 6:00 pm

RON95? RON97? V-power Racing?

• Go there.
        Take free fuel.
        Bash VGM and Protest.
        Demand for 10 years warranty.

• Open Letter to VGM on Apr 25, 2016 at 8:51 am

Dear VGM, I noticed in PT’s facebook posting of this post, there are about 400 comments. Each and every comment is negative. Not a single comment is a nice or positive comment.

Can I ask you this, is 400 people here lying about VGM and VW cars here in Malaysia?

• Compensation for Malaysian Owners? on Apr 25, 2016 at 10:24 am

How is VGM going to compensate Malaysian owners for the falling or fallen RV?

• volkswagen sniper on Apr 22, 2016 at 6:06 pm

don’t cry cuz you haven’t get a free full tank.

• Open Letter to VGM on Apr 25, 2016 at 8:54 am

I spent an hour reading every single of the 400 negative comments in PT’s facebook posting on this topic. Something must be very very wrong with VGM in Malaysia.

• Mustafa on Apr 22, 2016 at 11:53 pm

People are fed up with DSG. Pay premium prices but your car judder, break down and kaput every month. No amount of free petrol, no amount of sweets given at traffic lights can compensate Malaysian VW owners for their sufferings of seeing their cars breakdown every month, the embarrassment of waiting by the roadside for tow trucks to come, the falling RV because of DSG and Dieselgate Scandals and super poor after sales the past few years. Malaysians still cannot forget that for a premium brand, one has to make appointments 5 weeks just to get a date. Then when you cross your mileage because of the 5 week wait, warranty becomes void! OMG!!!!! How can i estimate my mileage if i am at 5000km now, then get appointment date 5 weeks later?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 3
      • Sam baby on Apr 23, 2016 at 12:08 pm

Story creator. No life.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
        • Open Letter to VGM on Apr 25, 2016 at 9:00 am

I think this free petrol thing backfired big time. In the weekend everyone was talking about VGM and how to stay away from the brand. People were annoyed that only 25 cars were given free fills. 25 x RM100 = Rm2500. Small kacang puteh for the sufferings people go through.

VW owners are so angry with VGM. VGM themselves made their RV fall by doing firesales. How can VGM sell the Jetta and Passat brand new for half the price?

• VGM Pls Close Shop (tutup kedai) on Apr 23, 2016 at 2:27 pm

I don’t know what game they are playing. From free car wash to free sweets at traffic lights to now free petrol

People don’t want all this nonsense. VW owners want 3 things

1) 10 year Warranty on DSG
        2) Fixed Resale Value after 7 year Loan finished
        3) Free Courtesy Car and Tow Truck 8x a year.

VW owners are still facing problems with their DSG in Malaysia despite using mineral oil. Cars are juddering and breaking down. People buy RM200k car but have to stand in the hot sun waiting for the tow truck to come every other month.

How is VGM going to compensate the 21 anual leave that VW customers completely use to repair and fix problems?

In would be good if VGM also give a fixed trade in value after 7 years cause now, even used car salesman don’t want to touch our cars. Our 2nd hand value has become a joke. Passat 2014 used car dealers are offering RM80k or below. Some are even taking Rm70k.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 3
        • Are u owner? on Apr 23, 2016 at 7:49 pm

Are you vw owner? Or toyoxx sales man?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
        • camtakpro on Apr 23, 2016 at 9:39 pm

Drop everything!
          – Drop your second hand value
          – Drop your DSG warranty
          – Drop your courtesy car

• james on Apr 24, 2016 at 8:54 am

This is so true. Most annual leave spent to send car to SC. One issue took 3 days already (diagnose, repair, collect). Not to say transport issue yet. Is totally a disgrace!

• Same L00 on Apr 23, 2016 at 12:03 am

A few days of free petrol to con you commit to a RM100k no-RV DSG-problematic car. Come on…

• Muniandy Periasamy on Apr 23, 2016 at 3:05 pm

Used car dealers are now categorizing VW cars as same category as Alfa Romeo, Saab, Fiat and Citroen.

Infact, one used car dealer told me, even Lada, Russian defunct car, has more value than VW now.

I think people in Malaysia kena tipu and con big time if you own or are buying a VW.

• WT Fuchhh on Apr 23, 2016 at 12:09 am

Wat..lah. How about surprising poor little me with a free car instead.

• ucantcme on Apr 23, 2016 at 5:47 pm

i agree w boboy but why so many “unlike”s. Malaysians or the whole world never accept lemon cars.

• OMG…aimless & useless…puihhh

• Compensation for Malaysian Owners? on Apr 25, 2016 at 10:04 am

In overseas, VW is giving US$5000 as compensation to customers because of lost RV. When is Malaysia doing the same??

• tokmoh. on Apr 22, 2016 at 5:45 pm

Gimmick gileeeee hahhahahahahhhahahah

Useless give free fuel, then gearbox rosak, no need use fuel. Give free 5 years unlimited tow truck service is better

• seancorr (Member) on Apr 22, 2016 at 6:02 pm

Discount attracts buyers, just bring down the price or offer massive discount and your sales figure will go up but don’t forget to improve your after sales

• Petrodollar on Apr 22, 2016 at 6:10 pm

Can fill up with ron97? Free fill up then make sure ur tank is really almost empty then isi kaw2

• Tow-Truck-Association on Apr 22, 2016 at 6:42 pm

Hello all VW owners,

We will be stationed there too, with name cards and vouchers in case you need our service. Our current promotion is tow once, free next time (within 2 months).

Tow-truck Association President

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 3
  • gundam mama on Apr 22, 2016 at 6:53 pm

VW seems to be running out of idea, and running low in sales figure…

• now….that desperate? poor vw…..

• Guan yin maaaa on Apr 22, 2016 at 7:05 pm

Come on, customer demand 10 years manufacturer warranty on drivetrain, please dont give them stupid freebies. This is not a way to retain customer, please hire a better PR team. Shame.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • mr w205 on Apr 22, 2016 at 7:24 pm

They have to improve all their stupid services started from car showroom which are full of “sombong” salesman, lousy service centre , stupid gear box prob..bla..bla… trust is not something u can gain in a day… once banished… its almost impossible to gain it again.. nowdays VW owner no more “berlagak” with their cars.. not like 3-4 years ago…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • Ex VGM staff on Apr 22, 2016 at 7:32 pm

Nice touch. BTW, VGM should think more about stranded customers rather than those on the move. Of course they are happy.

• Desperate on Apr 22, 2016 at 7:48 pm

Amazing, looking at things that people do when they’re desperate. Volkswagen, maxis, and next astro maybe?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 34
  • Connedbyvw on Apr 22, 2016 at 9:36 pm

Hahaha

• Das Autar on Apr 22, 2016 at 9:45 pm

It’s Hoaxwagen indeed! No thanks!

• samelorr come answer!!!!!!!!! why proton don’t have this problem

• Edmund on Apr 22, 2016 at 10:28 pm

I was at the station an hour ago.. only limited to 25pax per day .. wasting my time

• VW user on Apr 23, 2016 at 11:32 am

That is amazing, after wasting everyone’s time, effort and money with all the bullshit service and issues, they think that by giving out *free 25pax x 2days x RM200 full tank (being super generous here) = RM10,000…. for a company that rips off their customers by the millions…. nothing more to say.

• contender on Apr 23, 2016 at 11:40 am

Are you sure ? VW Malaysia why have promotion like this when you kept at 25x per day ? Why PaulTan post did not mention limited to 25x per day ? Useless VW

• So many problems with volkswagen especially gearbox issue. Even with lots of rebate and free petrol, its not worth it.

• Diss-illusions on Apr 23, 2016 at 12:20 am

Good.. If only my car is not stuck at the workshop!

• Contifan on Apr 23, 2016 at 8:39 am

Well done VW….but also include a carrier for those in workshop with no gearbox. How do go to petro pump???

• Jobless on Apr 23, 2016 at 9:09 am

Its true, most VW drivers stopped “berlagak ” unlike last time…they started driving in a more “humble” way…but maybe tats becoz they cannot drive fast & furious anymore have to “jaga” the DSG gearbox hahaha

• Jobless on Apr 23, 2016 at 9:19 am

NKVE Damaansara bound (Shell & Petonas) is one of the worst congested toll plaza ever in KV..( about 3 lanes entering the toll, 10x + lanes at the toll, exit back to 2x lanes..many accidents, stopped using

• waters on Apr 23, 2016 at 10:00 am

How about surprising us all by buying back your cars?
    VW Malaysia hates their own cars so much that they won’t even take them for any decent amount of money. It’s like they can’t get rid of them fast enough

• People'sCar on Apr 23, 2016 at 10:45 am

How about selling much more reliable manual tranny VW cars in Malaysia in VGM next campaign?

• Iluvmk6 on Apr 23, 2016 at 11:23 am

This is the sixth year of driving a mk6 gti, and so far theres no problem. And today got free petrol from vw .thank you vw malaysia!

• Skull on Apr 23, 2016 at 1:46 pm

Just went. Offer finished already. Don’t bother going.

• thats why vw so confident doing this, most cars in wokshop, how to come fill..wakakaka

• Henry on Apr 23, 2016 at 2:08 pm

This stunt is the latest that emphasises the company’s tagline – Always by your side, where the company surprises its customers with various acts.
    ——————–

Owners will be even more surprise when it is time to sell their cars. LOL.

• Kuda bosan on Apr 23, 2016 at 6:18 pm

Ha ! I think this is their way of sweetening / pampering their Malaysian clients….. b4 they get sued for misrepresentation of their emission data… and had to recall ALL their cars sold…. like what’s happening overseas …. hehhehheheh

• Golf R owner on Apr 23, 2016 at 8:40 pm

The Car Judder.
    Gear Box Changed.
    Still Judder.
    & Still waiting for car. 1mth ++ total down time.
    Enuff Said.

• George on Apr 23, 2016 at 9:44 pm

just trying my luck…at nkve shell..the operator say only entitle for 25 cars…boo

• Kuda bosan on Apr 24, 2016 at 11:37 am

Congrats to all diesel vw owner…. just wait…. u get to trade off your vw soon by way of recall by vw… for their roll of misrepresention in their emission data… when their recall plans reaches Asia….

• Said NO to VW on Apr 24, 2016 at 2:25 pm

Free Petrol, Free Car Wash – will not redeem the damage that you done to your current customer.

Huge price discount advertisement by VW Msia is a complete stupid act! Devalued your own brand in the market till used car dealers reluctant to accept VW car trade in. Even if you decide to trade in VW car for a new VW car, dealer will be giving you unbelievable low trade in value.

Vehicle full of technical issues. Yes! not only gear box but all sorts of quality issues – free mobility is not a SOLUTION as customer financial, time loss and safety is much greater. When you @ showroom, pay a visit to after sales; you can see by your own eyes the amount of stranded vehicles in the yard with dust!

Warranty parts replacement require 1week or more to arrive @ service centre (from 3rd years onwards) – VW Msia “complicated” relationship with Insurance provider; Allianz giving hell of inconvenience to the customer! Great publication of 5years warranty but hell of ‘shit’ to make the claim – VW Msia thought their service ctr is ‘smell’ good to visit frequently but they not realised it’s STINKS!

Expecting to lodged a complaint to VW Customer Care will speed up the resolution? Oh yea, unless you still live in your dream world.. Reality world is cruel which completely FIT for VW Msia – Promise the moon and star when you purchase the vehicle, once you owned it, you be left alone solving the ‘shit’ on yourself. VW Customer Care will not response, yeah! I mean they will not care to constant follow up your complaint and update to you.

All you get from owning a VW vehicle are CHEAP PRICE, NO RESALE VALUE, FREQUENT VISIT SERVICE CENTRE, LONG WAITING PERIOD FOR WARRANTY PARTS, WAITING @ ROADSIDE FOR MOBILITY SERVICE…..

For all the mistakes and trouble you giving to the customers, your APOLOGY will not able to compensate the customers!

Anyone still not convince and thought I’m bluntly accusing the brand? Fact speaks louder – make a call to Consumer Association or National Consumer Complaint Centre (NCCC), they will tell you the amount of cases they received from customers on VW. Btw, I’m one of the “LUCKY” VW Owner that shed blood everytime I see my car.

You may have the renowned Automotive guy to head the VW Msia but shall you have a bunch of middle management (with the salesman mentality…yes! I meant it) to operate the company, expect the worst for the brand! – Dealer closing down, customers shying away form the brand and the next thing – brand exit from the market!

• okcomputer on Apr 25, 2016 at 11:46 am

This is very well said. I’m owning 2 VW cars and it’s like the worse and HELL in my live. This dude is 100% right.

• Give me free car also i dont want. I’d rather have a brand new myvi lol.

• alldisc on Apr 25, 2016 at 10:37 am

For free, I will take one. More than happy. Once broken, just leave it by the road side la

• Rabin on Apr 24, 2016 at 11:04 pm

Free fuel? Honestly if that’s the best VW caan come up with then they obviously have no idea about current issues that are faced on a daily basis by VW owners. A simple browse on their Facebook page would easily point out what VW owners need. Hint ( Its Not free Fuel). To customers considering a VW may i suggest slapping yourself silly, cross over to the other side of the road and buy another make. You will thank me for this small piece of advice. Very disappointed!!!

• Passat Owner on Apr 25, 2016 at 10:47 am

I am a Passat B7 owner. I am disappointed that VW is currently clearing its old stocks at heavily discounted prices. Brand new Passat B7 2014/2015 selling for RM116K and Jetta for RM88,888.

What will happen to the re-sale value of the car for the existing Passat owners?

• okcomputer on Apr 25, 2016 at 11:41 am

Damn it.. how to claim as my car already in Service center almost 3 months.

• okcomputer2 on Apr 25, 2016 at 12:37 pm

What model u driving bro ? and what the problem and which service center?

• Bernard on Apr 25, 2016 at 1:55 pm

Free is key word in Bolehland.

• kelvin on Apr 25, 2016 at 2:48 pm

I think Volkswagen should offer free mask to everyone. It is what people need instead of free fuel.

• Jobless on Apr 25, 2016 at 9:09 pm

Tis evening during rush hour saw one VW Jedda or Passal broken down just before the Sunway tol Pocong bound ahahaha