BMW 5 Series, X3 and 3 Series Gran Turismo get EEV status incentives – prices up to RM39,000 lower

bmw malaysia eev 2a

BMW Group Malaysia has announced that three more CKD models in its range have received customised Energy Efficient Vehicle (EEV) status incentives from the government. They are the F10 BMW 5 Series, F25 BMW X3 and F BMW 3 Series Gran Turismo (3 GT). This follows similar incentives given to the 1 Series and 3 Series, announced in February.

“Today, I am pleased to announce that we have now received similar incentives for the BMW 3 Series Gran Turismo, BMW X3 and BMW 5 Series. We will be extending this benefit by the Malaysian government to our customers and we will be revising the prices for the vehicles lower,” said Han Sang Yun, MD and CEO of BMW Group Malaysia.

BMW-EEV-2-16-pricelist

Of course, with EEV status incentives comes a lower price, and on-the-road without insurance prices (with five years unlimited mileage warranty, free scheduled service programme, BMW Tyre Warranty) are up to 10.4% lower, and up to RM39k lower. The list above shows the before and after EEV prices, including those previously announced for the 1 and 3.

Introduced here in mid-2014, the 3 GT is available here as a 320d diesel and a 328i petrol, and prices are up to RM19k lower now. The F25 X3 LCI has been around since August 2014, and is sold as a 20i and 20d. Both variants are RM29k cheaper.

The F10 5 Series LCI range, which recently received 2016 model year updates announced last month, sees price drops of RM37k, RM38k and RM39k for the 520d M Sport, 520i M Sport and 528i M Sport, respectively. The 520d sees the biggest percentage drop in price today (10.4%) while the 528i’s price decline is the biggest in absolute terms (RM39k). The 2016 MY update saw exterior, interior and tech items added with no price increase.

Below are the latest price and spec sheets for all the models and variants involved in today’s announcement. Read more about February’s announcement for the 1er and 3er here. Stay tuned for more

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• On the road on Apr 25, 2016 at 3:29 pm

Nowadays saw a lot people were driving BMW, with this EEV incentive. Might see BMW more on the road. Hmm…

• Getah on Apr 25, 2016 at 3:36 pm

Finally the correct price for the x3.

• applegreen on Apr 25, 2016 at 8:39 pm

still far from 30% price reduction target. Should be around rm240-250k in year 2018 (dreaming)

• It’s a wonder how BMW managed to secure EEV status for there’s models after 1-Series and 3-Series… Mercedes Benz with their efficient engine also has not been granted like BMW.

• smarttess on Apr 25, 2016 at 11:30 pm

It seems to me that EEV status here is, in the usual Malaysian style, given preferrentially without much regard to actually meeting a clearl defined standard. In this case, my guess is that BMW’s “good fortune” is probably tied to encouraging them to assemble in Malaysia for ASEAN export.

• The difference is BMW Malaysia announce their EEV status and give it back to customer. Not some other manufacture keep the EEV status by them self and silently ambil untung by it I presume. Go figure your self why some hybrid Japs brand in Malaysia cost more then their normal model.

• Some Mercedes cars were granted EEV status last year. Example was C200 Avantgarde which was sold at RM268k initially for CKD model, and later revised down to RM248k.

• Gargantia on Apr 25, 2016 at 3:45 pm

Another big brand reduced price… some says GST will help high income peoples to balance with low income peoples… Now all low price items and goods increase price BUT seem that big item like this keep reduce price. Rich become richer, poor become poorer !!! Thanks BN supporters !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 6
    • Turun salah, tak turun pun salah…apa punye mentality….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
    • ducatiscrambler on Sep 08, 2016 at 12:23 pm

Brother, GST does not reduce the wage gap, income tax does. GST is a source of government revenue in which government can use in its expenditure. Why other countries with unemployment benefit whereas we don’t have? Because a certain segment of the population is draining off our welfare system. thanks to people who support the bumiputera policy i guess, worse than apartheid. At least people opposed the apartheid, whereas in malaysia we think it’s the norm. Hurr durr, ya’ll pendatang can gtfo of the country if you don’t like the country hurr durr

• In b4 ini semua salah Na… oh wait, its price down…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
  • revised car price on Apr 25, 2016 at 3:56 pm

It’s good that BMW qualified for the EEV, however this would only benefit the top 5% of Malaysia income earner, who are already rich, sad truth is 95% of the Malaysian still can’t even afford half of the 318i after EEV status. Why don’t you qualify some common brands like Honda, Toyota, Proton for the EEV status? This would really benefit the general Malaysian public.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
    • Jimmy on Apr 25, 2016 at 9:56 pm

Who said Najib didn’t grant the incentives to Honda/Mazda?
      Were the news disclosed or swallowed, together with the superfat incentives?

Are Jazz/City/Mazda3/CX5 supposed to be cheaper by a lot, if not by 30% ?

I hope this EEV incentives will be reviewed annually, and witheld/put to a stop if the distributors found to swallow the whole thing without significant price reductions.

One of the good ways to create competitions to bring down car price is to open up the market, and be more strict in auditing income tax/company tax to collect more money for the government. Imagine you have EUMW, MMW, NAJMW, CHIMW, INDMW and IBMW indepedantly selling Toyotas, and all are private companies.

When were the midlife facelifts for all these vehicles?

I teach you what. You can add a piece of sunroof to your brand new 55-series 5520dies launched in 2017 and increase the price to rm358 888 stated to be reduced price after EEV incentive, with original price 388 888.

The next Aiks-3 petrol will be priced at 368 888 with addition of colourful headlights and then reduced to 348 888 after EEV incentives.

• The EEV insentive is apply to all car brand. The question is, are the car brand give back the customer or just silently keep it by them self. Extra profit maa..

• anonymous on Apr 25, 2016 at 3:59 pm

Well, that’s a lot tbh. Sometimes I just wonder why is it just me or that EEV status is only granted to those premium badges…?

• Jimmy on Apr 25, 2016 at 9:57 pm

The mass market brands just keep quiet after receiving the incentives, true?

• anonymous on Apr 26, 2016 at 12:21 am

There’s this possibility.

• Why isn’t the government suing those who received the incentive but still jual mahal? Isn’t that against the rules? The whole purpose of EEV incentive is to make it more affordable for the people right?

• seancorr (Member) on Apr 25, 2016 at 4:02 pm

That’s wonderful news for potential customers and not so good news for the existing owners haha. Anyhow it’s a timely announcement as the GT is due for a LCI later this year and the 5er and X3 are born due for an all new model launch pretty soon too so what better time than to start clearing some stock!

• Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 25, 2016 at 4:06 pm

cos losing sales to merseelee

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
    • Jimmy on Apr 25, 2016 at 10:00 pm

Stock clearance from my company.

Please study the history, not the history of Lee Kuan Yew, of course.

Or you have never visited the Bavarian before?

• Joshua magendran a/l krishnan kavisamy on Apr 25, 2016 at 4:09 pm

Ayo ayo. Just bought last month. Kantoi like vw now. Got to do a picket la.

• Dongibab on Apr 25, 2016 at 4:13 pm

RV of used BMWs already so bad.
    Now gotten worse.
    Drop another 30%!! Hahaha.

#janji ditepati

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • DPCraft on Apr 25, 2016 at 4:33 pm

Now who will buy E200 & E250 when you can get a 528i @ RM378k

• Donkey M on Apr 25, 2016 at 4:35 pm

Thanks BMW… for screwing those who bought those cars earlier at higher price.

• BbalingBiru on Apr 25, 2016 at 4:37 pm

Sometimes we are made curious when some mainstream automakers able to quote very good fuel efficiency data, but end of the day got caught with efficiency test scandals. This is just like students getting better scores by cheating while some very good brains, scores just about the same with real hard works to pay…

• Jimmy on Apr 25, 2016 at 10:04 pm

It is a game.

It is business.

You are too naive.

As a kindergarden textbook to you, go and watch The Big Short.

Run some business, make some investments and learn.

• Guanyinmaaa on Apr 25, 2016 at 4:47 pm

When will mini cooper get EEV status ? they use the same engine with 118i

• Kerobok ikan on Apr 25, 2016 at 4:58 pm

Raise price with gst, currency depreciate and now discount with eev in fact price didn’t change a bit end of days

• tokmoh. on Apr 25, 2016 at 5:00 pm

http://paultan.org/2015/11/12/bmw-3-series-lci-launched-in-malaysia/

318i was RM 208,888 at launch. Suddenly become RM 219,800, then EEV “incentive” reduced to RM 202,800.

BMW penipu scammer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 1
  • Muniandy Periasamy on Apr 25, 2016 at 5:23 pm

BMW Malaysia is really a flip flop company. Pure lies.

When they announced the new EEV prices, all the old existing prices were JACKED UP. How come BMW? Government give you EEV status to pass on to the consumers. But all your BEFORE EEV prices, you jacked up. For example 320i was RM230k, now jacked up to RM249k. Then you kelentong to people and give Rm231k and say EEV.

Please don’t cheat Malaysians lah

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 3
    • Jimmy on Apr 25, 2016 at 10:11 pm

Najib you read this?

We appreciate your effort, but we are not getting real benefit.

Look at mass market, Najib.

You can test in 2018, price reductions through some shemes lasting one or two years, and see your vote percentage increase or otherwise. If not, no need to extend the schemes. Begin with the end in mind before doing that, make sure you do some studies first, masak-masak.

• RUsmah on Apr 26, 2016 at 1:27 pm

Look at Toyota poor sales. they jack up price for all models not long ago, foreseen a “EEV” excuses makes them selling on lower price.

• Aaron on Apr 25, 2016 at 5:27 pm

They playin’ with us

• kington on Apr 25, 2016 at 6:11 pm

Someone should shove this price list into UMW office. 528i for the price of an IS200t F-Sport.

• Salim on Apr 25, 2016 at 8:35 pm

Now bmw worried perdana almost come out.preve also gov say like bmw,perdana sure brings bmw to hell.need to lower price before all potential buyer buy perdana

• nabill (Member) on Apr 25, 2016 at 10:45 pm

Im jus curious, is there any real clear guidelines on how to qualify for EEV, or its made ‘vague’ on purpose to…. U kno…..!
    Sounds fishy, we are into april n only now they have been granted EEV status…

• still, I don’t see much incentive to own an outgoing 5 series model.

• jerry kam on Apr 26, 2016 at 10:20 am

Can’t believe your government is screwing all of you with your pants on. Google prices of BMW in US and Canada.

• paparadzi (Member) on Apr 27, 2016 at 12:23 am

I wonder if this EEV price reduction is only for CKD units, or is it applicable for future CBU models as well.