2016 Jaguar XF launched in Malaysia, from RM450k

Jaguar XF Malaysia-2

Teased in March and earlier this month via its Facebook page, Jaguar Land Rover Malaysia has finally launched the new Jaguar XF in the country, and the car makes its local debut in two variant forms, the XF Prestige and XF R-Sport, priced from RM450,000 and RM460,000 – almost on-the-road (well, there’s no road tax and rego), without insurance – respectively.

The second-gen XF made its debut at the 2015 New York International Auto Show (NYIAS) last March and began going on sale later in the year. The new car – which measures in at 4,954 mm long, 1,987 mm wide and 1,457 mm tall – is lighter, more spacious, more powerful and more fuel efficient than its predecessor, which has been around since 2007.

Styling cues – inspired by the smaller XE – include a prominent front grille, slim headlights and an F-Type-inspired rear end. The new car also features a glasshouse that stretches further back that allows it to retain its characteristic coupe-like roofline, but had improved on the outgoing modelís lack of rear headroom.

Although the new car is seven millimetres shorter and three millimetres lower than the old one, the wheelbase is actually 51 mm longer at 2,960 mm, providing what Jaguar says is class-leading rear space.

Jaguar XF Malaysia-5

Numbers-wise, row-two occupants gain 15 mm more legroom, 24 mm more kneeroom and up to 27 mm more headroom. Weight-wise, it’s up to 190 kg lighter than the first-gen model, variant-dependent.

Some interior elements – notably, the dashboard – also share the same design styling as the XE, which was launched here in January. The novel swivelling centre vents have been replaced with more conventional units, though the ones on the side have been retained.

As standard, the Malaysian XF comes with an eight-inch touchscreen for its new quad-core InControl Touch Pro infotainment system as well as a five-inch instrument panel display with analogue dials – the new 12.3-inch TFT LCD virtual instrument cluster, taken from the XJ, is available as an option. Also standard fit is an 80-watt Jaguar Sound System.

Both XF variants – which tip the scales at 1,590 kg – are powered by a 2.0 litre i4 turbocharged and direct-injected petrol engine offering 240 PS at 5,500 rpm and 340 Nm from 1,750 to 4,000 rpm, and the mill is mated to an eight-speed electronic automatic transmission with Jaguar Sequential Shift.

Standard equipment includes bi-xenon headlamps with LED J-Blade DRLs, two-zone climate control, JaguarDrive Control, 10-way adjustable front seats and cruise control. Both rear-wheel drive models come with All-Surface Progress Control (ASPC), a sort of low-speed cruise control that ensures optimum traction in adverse conditions.

The Prestige variant features items such as 17-inch lightweight 15-spoke wheels, perforated leather seats, metal scuff plates with Jaguar script and a multi-function soft-grain leather steering wheel.

Dedicated bits on the XF R-Sport include a sport suspension, 18-inch Helix 10-spoke wheels and a R-Sport bodykit. Also on, an R-Sport branded multi-function soft-grain leather steering wheel and R-Sport branded metal scuff plates.

As for safety kit, the Malaysian-spec XF comes equipped with six airbags, DSC, traction control, brake assist, a rear-view camera and rear Isofix mounts (two, outer seats) – according to the folk at JLR Malaysia, buyers can tick the box for an optional safety pack, which includes items such as Lane Keep Assist and Park Assist.

The XF is available in 10 exterior colours (two as-standard solid paints, and eight optional metallic shades), and buyers can pick from six optional wheel choices, in 19- and 20-inch variations. The car comes with Jaguar Care, an exclusive programme that comprises a five-year warranty, five-year servicing and three-year roadside assistance.

Browse the full specifications and equipment of the XF variants on CarBase.my.

GALLERY: Jaguar XF Prestige GALLERY: Jaguar XF R-Sport

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Looks nice… but not RM450k nice.

I find that Jaguar has lost the its glamour since they decided to depart from its “classic” look.

It is just too Ford Taurus looking.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
    • OMG…ugly …pricing also ugly…except the model is nice …hehehee

• hahaha on Apr 26, 2016 at 4:42 pm

should have priced it closer to 370-400k to rival e class/5 series… then it’ll be interesting.

but jaguar has always been a little premium and not a massive volume production brand.

• Jholok on Apr 26, 2016 at 4:42 pm

Why do u need a Jag? when Perdana is better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 17
  • FIST (Member) on Apr 26, 2016 at 12:20 pm

very niche market with those prices

• High Class Car with Low Class Distributorshp on Apr 26, 2016 at 3:04 pm

High class car with low class service. Only 1 place to service, Glenmarie. At the service centre, got no place to sit. You can stand and watch your car being serviced through a glass panel.

No coffee. No water also. Yes, I am not joking. Coffee machine got but rosak. Water also tak ada. Sometimes you get Hwa Tai biskut but most of the time, nothing.

This is what you call pariah company given the dealership.

One may argue it is for drivers to take their bosses cars in but come on, Jaguar owners like to be treated with some class I am sure and the bosses want to drive their car in for service.

Very very low class service. My advice to Jaguar UK, please withdraw your dealership and open yourself here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 5
      • Crown King of Depreciation on Apr 26, 2016 at 3:42 pm

Don’t waste your time buying new. Wait one year and you can buy this car for RM250k. In 2 years time, you can get this car for RM180k.

Jaguar is the Crown King of Depreciation.

• Turbo on Apr 26, 2016 at 7:37 pm

That is really terrible, the manager must be fired.

You just go to Mercedes showroom nearby in Glenmarie and enjoy their ice-cream bar. Then trade in your Jag for the new E-class

• Rhys Millen on Apr 27, 2016 at 9:49 am

There is an alternative place to service your vehicle at Federal Highway between Kia and Mazda.

You might want to give it a try.

• This is a Ford on Apr 26, 2016 at 3:19 pm

Only people who don’t know about cars buy Jag. It is purely a Ford. Open the Jag up and you will see, it shares nearly every part with a Ford Mondeo. And in UK, Ford Mondeo is considered low class car.

Pity Malaysians. Just tampal a Jaguar logo on a Ford, they get excited and think it is pure British luxury

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
      • PurpleRain on Apr 27, 2016 at 9:37 am

You got it wrong ‘this is a Ford’. The new XF is a complete new build up. New Jaguar Ingenium engine.

• Therealbmw on Apr 26, 2016 at 12:35 pm

Retarded pricing for an ugly car. Better off with a 330i sport

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 6
    • Where is Najib's Promise? on Apr 26, 2016 at 3:08 pm

In UK brand new RRP is 26,000 pounds. My friend says after bargaining, can get this car even at 23,000 pounds brand new. So, if UK dealership can sell at 23,000 pounds and still make untung, I think the cost price of this car will be about 20,000 pounds or less.

Let’s assume its 20,000 pounds. sisma will get it at country distributor price of say 17k or 18k pounds. That works up to RM100,000.

Here we pay RM450k for a Rm100k car. Syukurlah Malaysia masih aman dan damai!

Where is Najib’s Promise to reduce car prices?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 7
      • In SG, price will be 450k SGD! And thats w/o COE! U need to add 3X more! Then lifespan for this car only 10 years before need to scrap! Somemore need to add GST, ERP, and ‘donation’ to PAP!
        Owning one alredi cekik myself, then to drive it need to double cekik myself, then later to replace it need to triple cekik myself!

MY can syukur own the car for 30 years no problemo!

• TheOne on Jun 14, 2016 at 7:04 pm

Xf isn’t £26 k you lying dipshit ! It starts from £32 300 !( cheapest/entry level 2 litre diesel) ! Only XE which starts from £26 k

• seancorr (Member) on Apr 26, 2016 at 12:48 pm

Another model from JLR which is dead on arrival no thanks to its insane price especially when the 5 series now starts from 317k and for 450k they are still using xenon lights and 17 inch rims?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
    • Warren Wong Yee Ket on Apr 26, 2016 at 2:39 pm

I’m sorry but Xenons are still brighter than LED.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
    • MeToo on Apr 26, 2016 at 2:50 pm

If its all about accessories then everyone should buy the Camry instead of BMW/Merc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • JB_KIA on Apr 26, 2016 at 12:59 pm

Good. Very affordable. Now anyone can drive a Jag!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
  • Jimmy on Apr 26, 2016 at 1:16 pm

English luxurious vehicles without light-coloured/white upholstery and wood decorations are just not enticing.

I think the British Royal families have Range Rover and Jaguar; I saw in newspaper.

• alldisc on Apr 26, 2016 at 1:18 pm

No more diesel? They are the best ones. The 2.2 litre four also used by Peugeot and the 3.0 v6 with 600Nm of torque

However I just like to wish all the best to Jaguar.

• Jimmy on Apr 26, 2016 at 1:19 pm

Show your best in your showroom; don’t show a Jaguar in orange colour and green upholstery, for instance.
    Your boss likes black/grey interior, ya? And I presumed he put dark grey/brown tiles in his garage.

• anonymous on Apr 26, 2016 at 1:39 pm

Nice car but the price is not justified by the equipment provided standardly. This car competes with 528i. 450k onwards but gives you a 80-watt sounds system? 5 series is giving 600-watt mate.. With this price, those optional like lane assist and park assist should be included together. And I personally don’t like this centre console design, looked a bit dull and outdated for me.

All in all, only real Jaguar enthusiast (with $$) and cronies are gonna buy them…

• seancorr (Member) on Apr 26, 2016 at 2:29 pm

Furthermore the steering wheel looks huge plus the 528i is now under 400k with its new EEV price.

• stasta on Apr 27, 2016 at 9:56 am

it is 800 watt not 80 watt. typo.

• Hassan Sani on Apr 26, 2016 at 2:24 pm

All Jaguar and Land Rover products seem to be overpriced in this country. With such pricing strategy, they can only sell in small numbers in comparison to the establishment(BMW and Merc).

Equipment and engine performance seem to be second best compared to the equivalent BMW on offer.

• In the end….bmw merc and audi are better than this :)

• Warren Wong Yee Ket on Apr 26, 2016 at 2:40 pm

In the end, whatever complains you guys have towards the car doesn’t matter, because it’s a JAG.

• kereta_lembu on Apr 26, 2016 at 3:57 pm

I believe the modern crop of Jags have lost their identity. While being modern is of course needed, but they have changed it so drastically that it doesn’t look very British anymore. Looking at the comments about it being over priced and under equipped compared to a BMW or Merc, it will definitely hurt its sales. After sales is also very important to gain user confidence in the brand here. I love jags but for the money, its just not worth it here.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 26, 2016 at 9:10 pm

the interior needs a serious upgrade…looks too plain

• Huehue on Apr 26, 2016 at 11:51 pm

Interior look so boring