2016 Toyota Vellfire 2.5, Alphard 3.5 and 3.5 Executive Lounge confirmed for Malaysia – full specs

Alphard-Vellfire-Leaflet_front

Earlier this year, UMW Toyota Motor announced that the new Toyota Alphard and Vellfire will be coming to Malaysia. Now, the company has announced that interested customers can now register their interest for both MPVs, which are adapted to its local surroundings, unlike grey import units. This includes a manufacturer-backed warranty of five years (unlimited mileage).

Starting with the Alphard, two variants will be offered – Alphard 3.5 Executive Lounge and Alphard 3.5. Both are powered by the same 3.5 litre 2GR-FE V6 engine that provides 271 PS at 6,200 rpm and 340 Nm at 4,700 rpm. Drive is directed to the front wheels via a six-speed automatic with sequential shifter.

As for the Vellfire, only a sole Vellfire 2.5 variant will be available. The MPV gets a smaller 2.5 litre 2AR-FE Dual VVT-i four-cylinder petrol engine here, with output rated at 180 PS at 6,000 rpm and 235 Nm at 4,100 rpm. A CVT handles power delivery to the front wheels.

On the exterior, both the Alphard and Vellfire, regardless of variant choice, come with 18-inch alloy wheels (with 235/50R18 tyres), auto levelling LED headlamps (with cornering lamps and LED DRLs), a rear spoiler with integrated LEDs, fog lamps (front and rear), sunroof and moonroof. The only thing differentiating the two models is the contrasting looks as you can clearly see. Both models also get the standard look, and not the more aggressive-looking Aero exterior package available in Japan.

Alphard-Vellfire-Leaflet_back

Inside, both the Alphard 3.5 and Vellfire 2.5 carry almost identical equipment. Leather upholstery is used on the seats (beige on the former, black on the latter). The front seats are both powered, with an Ottoman for the passenger. As for the second row, both get a pair of captain powered seats (with Ottoman).

Elsewhere, a 7-inch DVD-AVN touchscreen infotainment system is fitted on both variants as well. The unit features a navigation function and is paired up to eight speakers. For the driver, a four-spoke, leather-wrapped, multifunction steering wheel can be found (brown wood grain for the Alphard 3.5 and black wood grain for the Vellfire 2.5).

The Alphard 3.5 Executive Lounge however, get significantly different kit list instead. For starters, the seats are now lined in more premium semi-aniline leather (available in beige or black). Passengers in the second row will also get to experience VIP powered seats that not only come with a more elaborate Ottoman function (telescopic length change and power lift up) but also seat air-conditioning.

Up front, the headunit is upgraded to an 8-inch DVD-AVN system, with a 17-speaker JBL sound system instead. The driver also benefits from Toyota’s electro multi vision (EMV) display and a VIP wood grain steering wheel.

Shared interior equipment on all three variants include an Optitron instrument cluster with a 4.2-inch TFT multi-info colour display, reverse camera, smart entry and start, front and rear automatic air-conditioning (with Panasonic nanoe filtration technology) and 50:50 split-folding last row seats. Power doors and boot are standard on all variants.

Safety kit is identical here as well with seven airbags (front, front side, curtain and driver knee), VSC, traction control, ABS, Hill-start Assist and parking sensors (front and rear). Colour options include Luxury White Pearl, White Pearl, Silver Metallic and Black for the Alphard, while the Vellfire can be had in Burning Black (deep purple), White Pearl, Silver Metallic and Black.

As mentioned earlier, both models are adapted for Malaysian use (unlike grey market units), so issues like a navigation system that doesn’t contain Malaysian maps, and Japanese radio frequencies won’t creep up on buyers. Even the side mirrors are slightly larger for the Malaysian market.

More importantly, UMW Toyota has ensured that the Alphard and Vellfire are now catered for Malaysian weather and road conditions with proper tuning of the cars’ engine ECU. For now, no prices have been divulged to us, but would you be interested in the new officially imported Alphard and Vellfire?

GALLERY: Toyota Alphard (Japanese market)

GALLERY: Toyota Vellfire (Japanese market)

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• CannotMove on Apr 27, 2016 at 12:53 pm

Gerard Lye,

i think there’s a slight mistake on the following paragraph.

3.5 litre 2GR-FE “four-cylinder” V6 petrol engine.

you’re welcome !

• Typo – four-cylinder V6 petrol engine?

• Jimmy on Apr 27, 2016 at 10:06 pm

1. A Toyota is a Toyota. You must possess good luxurious vehicles first before you spend this amount of money on Toyota. I know some people bought two or more brand-new Alphard from UMW, I bought one only, V6.
      2. Good luck to 2.5L
      3. For those who want comfort, there is Teana. For those who like to drive, there is 318i and Passat. These are less than half the price of this huge creature.
      4. If only Serena had 6 airbags. At less than half the price, thumbs up for Nissan.
      I won’t recommend any vehicles with two airbags walaupun ada ESP.
      5. Where are those new active safety gadgets?
      6. Your Harrier also share similar problems. Perhaps there is no discerning customer in Malaysia?
      7. One day, I may purposely purchase a Lexus to see how really good Toyota Motor Corporation (Japan) is.
      8. One thing good about buying recond Alphard: you can ask for an invoice of 148,888 when the actual deal is 198,888. Your company save tax, you save tax every year.
      This, you cannot get from UMW.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 2
      • Jayden Tan on Apr 30, 2016 at 11:47 am

Point No.8
        ~ haha, i never know this can be done!! So my Vellfire will soon in my stable.

• Kancil Hybrid on Apr 27, 2016 at 12:59 pm

Better than the new 7 Series.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 50
    • Corren on Apr 27, 2016 at 1:24 pm

Better than Mercedes S class too

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 35
      • Hellfire on Apr 27, 2016 at 2:28 pm

Sadly no better than Maxus G10.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 5
        • Kancil Hybrid on Apr 27, 2016 at 3:01 pm

Correct. G10 is turbocharged. Got blow off sound. These Toyotas don’t have.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
          • Woohoo on Apr 27, 2016 at 4:16 pm

And Maxus G10 is 3times cheaper. Only 136K^^

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
          • Kancil Hybrid on Apr 27, 2016 at 4:40 pm

Correct. Can put VR4 intercooler some more.

• Gaya Muthu on Apr 27, 2016 at 5:31 pm

Brader can elephant glue Lexus badge.

• mom drive s vellfire ,papa drive s class….so the person who drive s class probably have vellfire also…

• Have you ever ride on Mercedes? Let alone a class. Try it and your comments will differ

• contender on Apr 27, 2016 at 1:12 pm

Definitely better than the grey import ones but pricing is the issue here. Factory warranty and piece of mind …brand new. Price it right so that AP car importers will have to lower their sky high pricing for the unwanted cars from Japan. The recond ones with tampered mileage, plus dubious history, airport taxi, rental fleet, hearse carriage, etc etc

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 2
    • I prefer buy grey imports….you can get more spec for a less price…cheers!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 43
      • And the possiblity of it with a history as a hearse… Front page news – hysteria in car!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
      • gery imported new vellfire is flooded around subang and puchong area …..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
  • FiQz AhmaD on Apr 27, 2016 at 1:37 pm

Imagine looking at that front face at your rear view mirror. Specs looks very good for a Toyota. Definitely will give those grey importers a run for their money

• TheDean on Apr 27, 2016 at 1:43 pm

“Oooh look I have a BIG mpv and I’m VERY rich”….. This will sell well in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 1
  • seancorr (Member) on Apr 27, 2016 at 1:45 pm

No mention of the surround view cameras or even a reverse cam? What about the driver assistance package?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • All DAP members alredi ban Alphard/Velfire cuz killed their dear leader No.2, only useful for moving coffins

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 39
    • Yippie on Apr 27, 2016 at 4:29 pm

Ya rite.. me n frens always call these “goon choi che”. Coffins van.

• Donkey J on Apr 27, 2016 at 5:56 pm

john, you are next.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
      • No problem for me cuz i get a mile long procession, all expense paid trip to afterlife by dear leader, nice plot in nirvana, eulogies, anthologies, chronologies, and pipu wud remember if no me, it wud be a Daddy And Pinhorn party

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • speechless on Apr 27, 2016 at 2:35 pm

Never understand m’sian car buying consumer….how can you buy a Van and feels proud driving it or even being driven in it??

All this Boxy minivan are dead in most developed countries, soccer mum wont be caught/seen in one, they drive SUV nowadays!

I wont get caught driving these Van / Box… this box shout to the world that u’re OLD!! no style at all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 36
    • ToHellWithImperials on Apr 27, 2016 at 3:35 pm

Nop, more like independent to world. Not the typical “oh-i-dont-know-what-to-choose-because-im-so-dependent-I-should-just-follow-the-mainstream”. Get your redneck ass elsewhere. PS. Its called football, not soccer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 9
      • Yippie on Apr 27, 2016 at 4:34 pm

Tasteless dude go for the van. Mobility personal van MPV as known in USA. Soccer n football is valid dude. American english n British english is slightly diff. Sweet in one candy in another. Taxi in one cab in another. Cheers english teacher.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
    • Muzamir cheebailu on Apr 27, 2016 at 4:38 pm

Sour lah you budak. Try the vellfire baru you talk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • Benson on Apr 27, 2016 at 7:20 pm

Because they can afford it. Jealous much?

• Rulered on Apr 27, 2016 at 7:29 pm

There are actually people who buy this because they have a big FAMILY, so don’t generalize. Boxy car are more spacious, it’s a fact, which mpv with sloping roofline is spacious tell me.

• I like coffee you like tea , old or young is depends our little wallet.

• Hybridalmost on Apr 27, 2016 at 2:41 pm

Why they are not bringing in the 2.5 hybrid?

• NaJamin on Apr 27, 2016 at 2:59 pm

but that is still not yet show the pricing.

• hahaha on Apr 27, 2016 at 3:10 pm

will the 2.5 be slightly underpowered for such a heavy car like this?

• Indeed. The 3.5 would be a better bet. Most Vellifre owners who opted for the 2.4 suffer poor consumption rates and a strained gearbox.

• Muzamir cheebailu on Apr 27, 2016 at 4:39 pm

Are you owner?

• crash on Apr 27, 2016 at 9:36 pm

You’re definitely not an owner of a Vellfire or Alphard. Those 3.5L ones are the more problematic ones with their 6AT gearbox. The 2.4L ones are running on CVT virtually no issues. Underpowered or not it depends how you define it . This is a huge people mover, not a race car. But once it gets going, the power is acceptable. City driving for Vellfire 2.4L is around 8.5KM/L . Bear in mind, this is a huge vehicle. Dont compare with a small sedan.

• stasta on Apr 28, 2016 at 12:55 pm

if a harrier can be equipped with 2.0 , i dont see why alphard cant make do with 2.5.

• Ameeru Tanggabatu on Apr 27, 2016 at 3:12 pm

This car is more about comfort and practical for me over long distance journey. Have never been about showing off or boasting any status. For a relatively young family, I find it much more practical to carry my family and parents around for either outings or visits. Will not be my routine car due to the size. The only issue will be the pricing because, I might just opt for a good, cheaper recond or secondhand model.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 3
    • Yippie on Apr 27, 2016 at 4:39 pm

Nop. Brother bought recond vellfire n i chose S400h. The van rebounds n float too much on our highway road and leaning quite obvious during bend at highway speed around 120. Good for city in the middle row with space. But the door is too thin feel like they wanna maximize space, not soo safety. Continental if u want it all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 28
      • ae101 on Apr 27, 2016 at 6:01 pm

Try sandwich 7 adults in your so call s400 and tell me how they feel. Sohai betul la you takrak paham what people was trying to comprehend.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 3
  • Will buy these to add to bangbus collection.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
  • Modulo88 on Apr 27, 2016 at 3:51 pm

I have been waiting for this to come. Does it have powered tail gate ?

• No way am i going to be caught in one…yeap agreed to the guy comments..this box van sure spell OLDMAN!! kekekekekeke…guess most msian youngster have the prev american generation youngster dislike of minivan, guess its repeating here

• Oldsmobile on Apr 27, 2016 at 5:23 pm

Oh dear ugly van for old people …horror looking box van

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 17
  • Aaron on Apr 27, 2016 at 6:07 pm

Why didn’t they mention about the Toyota Safety Suite? :(

• thepolygonal on Apr 27, 2016 at 6:18 pm

SLC for me, S-Class for the family, GLC for my wife,
    Vellfire for my driver.

• WT Fuchhh on Apr 27, 2016 at 7:00 pm

Damn !! Why can’t P1just copy this for new Exora.

• agreed wt most comments, hideous looking Box Van….get an SUV (porsche Cayenne/Macan, Q5/Q7, Toureg, Range Rover/Discovery, X3/X5) instead of this Box Vans….more stylish, Young & sporty.

Yeap, these van just plain spell OLDMAN inside…kekekeke…sort like intel inside logo

• tokmoh. on Apr 27, 2016 at 9:52 pm

Volvo XC90 > all

• SUV is cold… However Box Van still got its value, it is easier and safer for old men to get in and out compared to SUV with higher ground distance…

• Head Hunter on Apr 28, 2016 at 12:09 am

Yes Please. I want the 3.5 Exec Lounge Alphard thank you very much. Can bring my wife and kids with my parents enjoying the Ottoman seats. Kuching to Miri or even KK in comfort. A departure from the current Pajero Sport.

• Ikan bilis on Apr 28, 2016 at 5:05 am

Umw last effort , but mpv already used mainly by single digit plate speeding in highway now…ordinary people won’t spent such money in these cars now..

• ganni on Apr 28, 2016 at 12:12 pm

so funny to read all those mpv haters comment in here..imagine if u have a 5 children and u’ve plan for vacation trip..of course u are not going for the merc s class or other car that mention here…then, if u have the money to spend in a big van, because this will gv more space to u and your family..would u go for nissan serena (and equivalent) or honda oddyssey (and equivalent)???? im not talking about the handling or luxurious..omit that point…
    most of the big families will go for the big van..maybe some of them will opted for the hyundai starex or merc v-class…please be realistic when u are commenting ppl..dont blindly bash to the cars that are not in your favor..cheers

• Edden on May 30, 2016 at 1:41 pm

“imagine if u have a 5 children and u’ve plan for vacation trip” I will choose Volvo XC90. its big, plenty of spaces & luxurious.

• CheaperMPV on Apr 29, 2016 at 11:31 pm

“Even the side mirrors are slightly larger for the Malaysian market” <– Any idea what is the purpose?

Anyway, most of the drivers for these cars will not need it, they just turn as they like just because they think they are bigger.

• pikachu on Apr 30, 2016 at 10:20 pm

Please bring the more affordable 7-seater Toyota INNOVA to Malaysia 1st.

• Andrew on May 04, 2016 at 1:49 pm

It is so funny seeing people complain about how crap the Alphard drives or how big it is.

Yes, we drive SUV’s in first world countries. I drive a Q7 in Australia and would not swap it for any other car for what I need. I have to do the driving myself and yes, a Euro SUV will drive better than any large car on the market.

But when I’m back, nothing beats being driven around in an Alphard. Easy to get in and out of, comfortable and spacious.

I’m not sure if most of you realise that a large number of Alphards on the road are being driven by drivers.

• Anonymous on Oct 12, 2016 at 12:16 pm

Why isn’t there a Vellfire 3.5litre variant?