Extra Gear announced as Top Gear spin-off car show

Top Gear Extra Gear

Need more Top Gear in your life? BBC’s got you covered with a new spin-off show – Extra Gear, which will bring you behind-the-scenes content, plus exclusive new footage, interviews and specially recorded films.

The show will be presented by Rory Reid, who is one of the seven members in the new Top Gear squad. Not sure who he is? Well, look him up at his previous position as editor-in-chief and presenter at Recombu, where he has amassed a dedicated following. Suffice to say, he isn’t a rookie when it comes to presenting.

On the official Top Gear site, Rory says, “the Top Gear fans are some of the keenest in the world and with this show I’m giving them a chance to really get a peek behind the curtain. I’m looking forward to showing them how the show is made and what goes on behind the scenes, giving viewers a different perspective on some of the coolest cars on the planet.”

Sounds interesting and why wouldn’t we want more Top Gear? Series 23 of the main show will air in the UK pretty soon (May 22, 2016), and with the yet-to-be-named Amazon Prime car show, starring former TG hosts Jeremy Clarkson, Richard Hammond, and James May, in the pipeline as well, it’s an exciting time indeed.

Extra Gear will be filmed each week at the Top Gear studio immediately after the main show, and will be broadcasted on BBC Three, right after Top Gear has aired on BBC Two.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• EXtra gear? Oh, just call it CVT. Easier to pronounce.

• Muniandy Periasamy on Apr 27, 2016 at 6:20 pm

In Malaysia, we should also have our own Top Gear. We should call it Gostan Gear and we should get Proton management to host the show.

It will be suitable for Proton cause everything about the company is on Reverse Gear.

• Calling ESC, TC, HPF, 6 airbags, turbo engine, 5 star ANCAP as backwards? Dude, pls share whatcha smoking.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
      • comeonlah on Apr 27, 2016 at 10:03 pm

Yes, those items you mentioned are now considered backwards. Please look at what others are now doing. Lane watch, auto brake, auto steer.

• And u must be thinking that non-DVVT engine is millennium ahead. Topkek

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Apr 28, 2016 at 12:13 pm

Yes mr paria…nothing is good enuff for u rite. .must condemn everything…dont u feel tired of living…pity u…

• Shud call Befrienders to help him before he takes the plunge. Anybody knows which toyota showroom he works in? He goes by the name Sam Loo

• RedPlanet on Apr 28, 2016 at 4:20 am

Still, I fell missing something compare to the past. The words of excitement about the car was not there (althought a car is just a car!)…