VIDEO: The Perodua Effect – mobility that is affordable

Getting up at five in the morning, rushing to get ready for work, hastily gulping down that cup of coffee, all in order to make sure you catch that RapidKL bus on time. Sound familiar? Well, with the Perodua Effect, what used to be your norm, can now be changed.

What is the Perodua Effect? In this 22-second video, the national carmaker says that it “makes mobility affordable for all”, and ensures that you have more time to start your day, because you matter most to them.

Perodua certainly have a point because the most affordable model it produces is the Axia, which starts at the RM23k mark (without insurance) for the Standard E MT. The car in the video is the higher-spec Advance Version AT that start at the RM40k point (also without insurance).

So, if you’re looking for better mobility that isn’t limited to what public transport can offer, maybe a Perodua car is what you need. Taking a trip down the years, Perodua has been doing so for quite a while now with models like the Kancil and Viva. What do you think of the Perodua Effect?

First Perodua Kancil

500,000th Perodua Kancil
Perodua Viva S-Series
Perodua Axia Standard G

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• and yes, you didn’t need abs on those low spec axia,myvi & alza

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
    • Betol tak? on Apr 27, 2016 at 12:21 pm

Perodua Effect = Proton soft loan Rm1.5 billion.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
      • Outoftopic on Apr 27, 2016 at 3:35 pm

Can you elaborate?

• Same L00 on Apr 27, 2016 at 5:13 pm

Why so many buy Perodua? Because Malaysians want CHEAP and RELIABLE car. Simple.

• WT Fuchhh on Apr 27, 2016 at 7:04 pm

Perodua cars are not cheap. Overpriced crap with huge margin, low safety, low quality parts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
          • Same L0rr on May 04, 2016 at 8:09 am

But still have good RV compare to Proton..

• Is either say, the public transport system sukx! Or, he is staying too far. But I dislike the ad, simply creating more pollution.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 5
  • Driver on Apr 27, 2016 at 11:04 am

ok

• Macamlah bawak kereta tak payah bangun awal. Ingat jalan tu clear ke? Pergi jam. Balik jam. Weekend jam.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 1
    • dugongx on Apr 28, 2016 at 1:53 am

Exactly! The real perodua effect is causing massive traffic jams everywhere so now everyone else need to wake up at 5am instead of 7am to drive to work. Imagine 1 rapidkl bus vs 50 kanicils

• Same 'Hailux' Loo on Apr 28, 2016 at 2:10 pm

Echoed… If 1000cc car it’s still tolerable, but 660cc kancil/viva, oh my god, damn slow even if you hantam full throttle looks like it will take ages just to reach decent speed (not speeding as it’s already out of question for any K-car), worse, the dumbf*#ks that hogging middle lane.

• question: how many Kancils did they sell in total?

• MyDear on Apr 27, 2016 at 11:18 am

Spot on~! Perodua actually teasing public transportation in Malaysia. Lol!

Government please take note. Again, public transport not reliable. Once/hour is not what people want. Make it 5/10 min cycle, than people will start using public transport again. And we can see, people running to get bus and train.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • Advertisement not accurate. Take public transportation wake up at 4AM (if and only if you can reach by public transportation). Drive own car must wake up at 5AM, go out at 5:45AM, reach office at 7AM and sleep in the car until 9AM.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • tokmoh. on Apr 27, 2016 at 11:29 am

Perodua out of touch with reality?

Why our great ministers ask us to wake up earlier? Same thing only la like that, take rapidkl or driving.

• BEST SOLUTION IS PUBLIC TRANSPORTATION..NOT OWNING A VEHICLE!!!bila la mentaliti kelas ke-3 kita ni nak berubah. negara maju pentingkan pengangkutan awam..kita di Malaysia pentingkan kereta.semua benda kereta.pandang kekayaan org tgk kereta..nak kawin dulu tgk mamat tu pakai kereta apa..nak tgk org tu berjaya ke x tgk kereta..orang naik public transport sume miskin2??yg ade kereta je kaya?lepas silap2 nak keluar rumah je dah sangkut jem.macam di sesetengah tempat skang.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 1
    • Apart from mobility, jenis kereta yang dimiliki digunakan untuk mengukur tahap kebijaksanaan orang. Kalau dia bawak kereta yang memang terkenal dengan kualiti yang buruk dan low resale value, tak payah lah kahwin dengan dia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 19
      • ni lagi satu mentaliti org malaysia..baru beli kereta..belum pape lagi dah pikir nak jual kereta tu balik.resale value..resale value..resale value.x boleh ke kereta tu pakai sampai hang kerepot??kalo pakai kereta tu sampai kerepot..x ke untung?ni x..baru je kereta keluar showroom..benda pertama duk pikir nak jual balik kereta tu nnt..jadahhh

• irizftw on Apr 28, 2016 at 5:35 pm

Kualiti yang buruk dan low resale value tu tipu je.

Asal ada safety, benda ni lagi penting and now got VDC in all variants summore!

• namanama on Apr 27, 2016 at 12:27 pm

Best solution is live closer to your workplace or vice versa.No matter where u live u still need a car,u cant rely on public transport all the time.How to bring your sick children to clinic in the midnight? Perodua is a good start for fresh grad,no doubt.Great fuel economy easy to maintain and cheap parts.Its just the ads that put the wrong point.Ride kapcai if you worry about traffic jams.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • peninsula jarkoon on Apr 27, 2016 at 11:31 am

Mobility that is affordable is small cc motorcycle aka KAPCHAI.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 1
    • namanama on Apr 27, 2016 at 12:04 pm

Win!

• BOYRACER on Apr 27, 2016 at 12:34 pm

Exactly.I use kapchai everyday to work.The car only use during weekend to bring family jalan2.Save money and time.No jam.

• Same 'Hailux' Loo on Apr 27, 2016 at 12:34 pm

Until all bloody hell Malaysian drivers removed from the road and thrown inside Kamunting and Simpang Renggam, it is so dangerous to ride a motorbike in Malaysia where many drivers here drive like jahanam. Of course, there’s quite a numbers of ‘tak sayang nyawa’ motorcyclist that need to book a casket and write their will first. Not to say all of the are bad, there’s some honest and careful motorcyclist also that deserve my respect (usually i will leave extra clearance space in between of them if applicable).

• Perlisian on Apr 27, 2016 at 11:34 am

Is Perodua promote more air pollution (as well as traffic jam) by taking advantage of our country bad public transportation service?

• The P2 Effect? That is unnecessarily sending more pipu to early afterlife or permanent OKU.

• bikers effect on Apr 27, 2016 at 12:27 pm

i think more like bikers effect nowdays in kl compared to last year. motorcycle queue coz jam at jalan bangsar everymorning.

• nabill (Member) on Apr 27, 2016 at 1:05 pm

Well,their consumers do fall for those ads…guys be smart n boycot them…

• cyber on Apr 27, 2016 at 1:31 pm

I own a Perodua car owner and I am not happy with Perodua.

There were very limited choices back then when I purchased the car and I will not go back to that route again – not with Perodua’s current philosophy of doing business.

As the automobile market leader that made so much profits every year, Perodua should take up more responsibility in reducing the number road fatality and accident in Malaysia.

Perodua should influence consumers’ behaviors and drive competition to the correct direction. They can start by gradually making safer cars, unfortunately safety features of the current generation of Perodua cars (i.e. MYVI) are pathetic – almost the same as they were 10 years ago.

Malaysian deserves to drive safer cars and our lives are as precious as your CEO’s.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • takNakP1 on Apr 27, 2016 at 1:40 pm

what a joke.
    The Perodua Effect = The No Choice Effect

• RedPlanet on Apr 27, 2016 at 1:41 pm

Perodua said “Mobility that is affortable”. I think back 19yrs ago. My mother own First Kancil 850, it still survive until today as we sold to our neighbor. My gf (now wife) used to own 500000th Kancil 850. Today, my mum drive Myvi 1.3SE, my wife drive Myvi 1.5SE, I drive Alza 1.5.

We are family of Perodua, not because we do not want change to other better quality brand, but because our income can’t afford any better car due to higher tax. Added on with lousy Proton quality, poor public transport system…these are the faith of many Malaysia car lover.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 9
    • nonama on Apr 27, 2016 at 2:35 pm

Well my friend..the “No Quality” title have been awarded to Perodua nowadays..Proton has improve very much in term of their build-interior..but not the transmission..the CVT sucks!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
    • Johnny on May 06, 2016 at 8:00 pm

Proton’s quality has improved massively over the years.It isn’t the power window era anymore.New Proton’s such as the Suprima S and the Iriz have 5 Stars Safety.One day,you or your loved ones will leave the world because of a stupid Perodua, then you will realise that Perodua’s are sh*tboxes

• DareYOU on Apr 27, 2016 at 2:31 pm

I dare all of you..go to Google..search for myvi or alza accident..u will be terrified.why am i saying this? There’s is a story behind it..TRUE STORY..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
    • Crashdummy on Apr 27, 2016 at 3:33 pm

Perodua is cheap for a reason. It has less components structurally to make it affordable. And therefore less strength in terms of safety. A small car have minimal crash zones to absorb the force of impact as compared to a bigger car.
      It does not help that these cars are driven by young first time buyers who drive them beyond what the car is designed for. The results is often tragic.

• Cool Council on Apr 27, 2016 at 8:17 pm

U can google any car makes, even BMW, Honda, Toyota and Mercedes, and find horrific accidents.

• ncapau on Apr 28, 2016 at 5:39 pm

p2 myvi alza axia got 5 star ANCAP like Iriz?

• I believe DareYOU means the survival rate after the crash. If you talk about horrific accident, every brand involved in accident. Heck even bicycle can involved in an accident. But the key point here is the survival rate after that..please understand peoples statement before making yours

• KennyFang on Apr 27, 2016 at 8:22 pm

Saying Perodua cars are cheap is only relative in the Malaysian context. Is the low spec MT Axia at RM23K or the high spec Axia at RM40K cheap? Only if you are a Malaysian who is deprived of buying world class cars at real world prices due to super high taxes.

• wong ban xu on Apr 27, 2016 at 8:41 pm

nice feel good

• Sparcov on Apr 28, 2016 at 7:44 am

No doubt Perodua made a better car compare to Proton. Proton is from Best –> Good –> Bad –> Worst –> Lost of direction.

While perodua is improving. The kancil (I have not encounter a single issue) during the 1996 when i bought

• global on Apr 28, 2016 at 5:41 pm

P2 only rebadges and assembles cars, not starts from scratch

• Same L0rr on May 04, 2016 at 8:20 am

Whatever.. rebadge or start from scratch, at the end, people buy the affordable, reliable car, good FE, low maintainance, good aftersale service & good RV..

• CheEpO on Apr 29, 2016 at 7:34 am

I dont know about u but whenever i drove my family members and friends perodua’s…i feel the feeling of driving a CHEAP cars..but it is actually cheap right..i dont know i should feel good about it or not..and at this point, i’m affraid to ask..