Honda Accord Hybrid Thai teaser – Honda Sensing!

Honda Accord Hybrid Thailand teaser

Honda Thailand has teased the arrival of the new Honda Accord Hybrid on its official website. The updated hybrid D-segment sedan only recently made its global debut, packing a more powerful and fuel efficient hybrid powertrain. It also gets the facelifted Accord’s looks as well.

As far as exact specifications are concerned, the website doesn’t provide much information. However, we can expect a 2.0 litre four-cylinder i-VTEC Atkinson-cycle petrol engine under the hood, along with Honda’s two-motor i-MMD hybrid system. The US-spec model has peak system output of 212 hp. The Accord Hybrid boasts a fuel economy rating of 20.4 km/litre under the US EPA test cycle.

More interestingly, the Thailand-market Accord Hybrid looks set to come with Honda Sensing, the carmaker’s suite of safety systems. This includes Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC), Collission Mitigation Braking System (CMBS), Road Departure Mitigation (RDM) with Lane Departure Warning (LDW) and Lane Keeping Assist System.

As mentioned earlier, the Accord Hybrid adopts the facelifted Accord’s looks. Based on the teaser image, LED headlamps will be part of the visual enhancements, along with blue accents and ‘Hybrid’ badging. However, the wheels don’t appear to resemble that on the US-spec model. Expect the interior to mirror the non-hybrid Accord facelift as well.

Now that it is confirmed that Thailand will indeed get the new Accord Hybrid, what about us here in Malaysia? No word on the matter yet but we do know that the facelifted non-hybrid Accord will be offered here soon, along with the tenth-generation Civic. Would you want Honda Malaysia to introduce the new Accord Hybrid here? Would make a good rival to the Toyota Camry Hybrid, wouldn’t you say so?

GALLERY: 2017 Honda Accord Hybrid (US market)

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Muniandy Periasamy on Apr 28, 2016 at 5:28 pm

In overseas Hyrbid is so cheap. I just came back from Australia, every teksi there is a Camry Hybrid. Teksi driver told me, Hybrid cars dirt cheap.

I wonder what happened to the Bogus MAI and Madani with their EEV push. Last time said Government moving towards EEV and all that goreng. Now, no news.

This accord will be priced at same level as Camry Hybrid at RM175k. How many Malaysians can afford RM175k?

Wahai Si Najib, where is your 30% promise? 3 years already people waiting for your 30% price reduction in cars. How many people got money to buy RM175k in Malaysia si Najib?

Najib thinks RM175k is so cheap and very affordable to Malaysians

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 36
    • Subaru Forrester from Rm 211k to 145k. 31% price down. Beli jangan tak beli.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 15
      • Especially near construction area. Got so many our lanes here drawing in yellow and white color at the same time, I cannot imagine the lane-change prevention can even analyze.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
      • Operation Manager on Apr 29, 2016 at 2:48 am

By HOW the reduction applied? Coud pls itemized & measured, WHICH tax & duties, from HOW MANY to HOW MANY?

• najib on Apr 28, 2016 at 6:31 pm

Fellow Malaysian, please be grateful. Government have given you free school, free healthcare, free a lot of things. I can see many of you folks still pouring into shopping malls and cinemas during weekend…its a proof that you got money maa….so pay a bit more lah for the car to help government. after all you voted for me and my party isn’t it…. hehehe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 15
      • Sarawakians supports u for building Sarawak Wangan sen. Just make sure can drive 300kmph end to end.

• Wuhu, going to buy this & put on Porton logo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 9
  • honda on Apr 28, 2016 at 6:32 pm

Yeah Honda Malaysia please bring the hybrid accord into Malaysia. If Toyota can with its Hybrid Camry, why can’t Honda Accord? But make sure you bring all the Honda Sensing as well la..otherwise might as well just drop it out.

• Albert on Apr 28, 2016 at 6:53 pm

I was at Toyota service centre today.pathetic.
      U can just drive in to service your car without prior reservations.
      a year ago,u get scolded for not making reservations.
      Toyota salepeople extra friendly now cos buyers have migrated to Honda where the product range is mesmerising.
      Honda Malaysia,well done.Do you have vacancy for Sam Loor? Dont talk about his 5th Lexus.It is a myth now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 7
      • camtakpro on Apr 29, 2016 at 8:46 am

Toyota has less cars to service because most of it had accident due to lack of VSC. That’s why you don’t need reservation.

Smart tip: A RM30k second hand Avanza is as safe as 165k Camry 2.0G. And it is bigger too!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
        • Tototo on Apr 29, 2016 at 10:07 am

Avanza xde turbo. Boring

• camtakpro on Apr 29, 2016 at 11:07 am

lol. K3VE turbo don’t have? Where are you man?

Anyway, why ask for turbo when Camry also don’t have.

• Aiya, pay more laa, why complain, 20 years aredy maa.

Else how the cronies become multi millionaires…pay pay pay

• banyak cantik kau on Apr 28, 2016 at 9:54 pm

Kt cni tak payab nk complain sgt. Ade duit beli, tkde duit jgn bising. Duduk diam2. Ko igt org beli kete bmw tu buat bising2 ke sblm bli.

• ada duit sikit ,beli honda saja,tadak duit beli produa,but never consider proton keke,beli diam saja

• Goldie on Apr 28, 2016 at 11:10 pm

Competition leads to improvement in quality/kits and discount benefitting buyers. Hybrid is drivetrain of the future. New Accord looked better than current Camry so Toyota will lose sales but then they will improve when they launch the new Camry, then Honda will counter with midlife update. So at any one time buyers will have a choice. Only shame is no road tax discount even though the car sips as much fuel as a 1.6 car. Should consider this to encourage more to switch to hybrid to save the environment. So Honda must bring in Accord hybrid. Maybe 4 years later I will switch to Honda.

• Toyotacheater on Apr 29, 2016 at 10:13 am

Even 2.0l equivalent power 1.6 campro turbo sips fuel like 1.6l

You prolly been cheated by toyota . Lol

• Honda Malaysia rulez on Apr 29, 2016 at 8:38 am

The Accord Hybrid will most probably be introduced in Malaysia, but with certain features removed to reduce cost:
    i.Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC),
    ii.Collision Mitigation Braking System (CMBS)
    iii. Road Departure Mitigation (RDM) with Lane Departure Warning (LDW)
    iv. Lane Keeping Assist System
    v.. 2.0 litre four-cylinder i-VTEC Atkinson-cycle
    vi. Honda’s two-motor i-MMD hybrid system
    vii.‘Hybrid’ badging

• Honda Malaysia always late than other peers in Asean. Probably we have to wait another year to get their latest model.

• paparadzi (Member) on Apr 29, 2016 at 10:24 am

I’ve been driving the Camry Hybrid for the past year, and is quite happy with it. However UMW deleted so many niceties and convenience equipment from the car making it less high-tech than it should be. Another problem is the 2.5 liter engine which means an unnecessarily higher road tax.

If the Honda Accord Hybrid comes with 2.0 engine and enough high-tech accessories it should be more desirable than the Camry Hybrid. The i-MMD technology is much better than the previous IMA technology used in the Insight and CRZ.

• Bustard on Apr 29, 2016 at 5:43 pm

We are a loser. Only get 3rd world standard cars, syiok sendiri MyVI