Michelin Pilot Sport 4 – takes on CSC 6 and Eagle F1

Michelin Pilot Sport 4

The Michelin Pilot Sport 4, which will take on the Continental Sport Contact 6 and Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3, has yet to make its debut in Malaysia. However, the performance tyre has already gone on sale in Europe.

Among the highlights of the new tyre include “Dynamic Response” technology, where a hybrid belt of aramid and nylon helps provide better directional control. The high density, tension resistant and lightweight fibre, which is five times more durable than steel, ensures centrifugal forces at high speeds are perfectly controlled and the tyre contact patch remains constant, even at high speed.

The Pilot Sport 4 also gets an ultra-reactive tread pattern design as well that is inspired by the company’s experience in motorsport, including Formula E, the World Endurance Championship and the World Rally Championship, just to name a few.

It also adopts a new compound with specific functional elastomers that improve the distribution of the silica within the rubber mixture and reinforces its action to ensure maximum wet grip and braking. For the former, wide and deep longitudinal grooves ensure a high level of water drainage while rolling over wet roads.

The Michelin Pilot Sport 4 comes in three sizes – series 35, 40 and 45 – accommodating wheels sized 17, 18 and 19 inches. However, certain sizes are due later, either in 2016 or early 2017, depending on market. The Pilot Sport 4 is positioned below the Pilot Super Sport.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• No idea what the video suppose to show. Somemore no sound

• Wei Yet on Apr 29, 2016 at 11:58 pm

pleaseeee come to Malaysia soon! I’m currently using ps3 for my persona now n boy its a winner!!! its plush and agile on the road + I don’t need to worry on wet roads. you just couldn’t go wrong with ps3 (except for fast tyre thread wear). hope this successor solves that niche problem (tyre wear)but still be awesome! go Michelin wooooooo!

• potato on Apr 30, 2016 at 10:24 am

PS4 smallest size is 17″, your persona is default 15″, assume you went 1″ up to 16″, still not 17″.

What is the difference between PS3 & PS4? Does it replace PS3 or is one level better than PS3? How about wet performance? Better?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
      • Wei Yet on Apr 30, 2016 at 10:59 am

well I’m using PS3 on 195/55/r15 on stock persona rims. Don’t know much bout PS4 but the tyre size starts from 205/45/r17.. I might have to change my rims to upgrade to the superior PS4. As for the differences between PS3 and PS4.. well PS3 is not actually the true successor to the PS2, more like a successor to PE2 (pilot exalto 2) available in overseas. PE2 is more of touring tyre than max performance tyre (hence the plush ride). PS4 is the true successor to PS2 using the tech from PSS. Trust me the grip on PSS will blow your mind! got it on my other ride (ASX on 215/45/r17)

• funnyman on May 02, 2016 at 11:41 am

lol. persona install ecopia can already lor. ps3 of course good because is overkill for persona.

• Lembu Jinni on Apr 30, 2016 at 1:06 am

Be patient, as PS4 production at Thailand factory soon.

• Ong Chee Boon on Apr 30, 2016 at 11:00 am

Seems great. Btw i am using PS3 225/45/R17, a bit tyre noise on 120km/h thats all. Grip is solid, even on wet roads i feel very stable and comfortable.

If possible would like to try 18″ PS4 on the next replacement! (will cost a bomb though)

• For best balance in terms of dry road performance, wet road holding, response, road sound, and durability; go for XM2 (or is it 3 now?). Its cheaper than PS3/4 although more expensive that its competitors that performs lesser in one way or another. My Gen2 went from XM to XM2 and now thinking of XM2 again (or 3) when its time to replace.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
    • nabill (Member) on Apr 30, 2016 at 1:46 pm

XM Series is different category compare to ps3/ps4 la , XM series mainly to replace ur stock tyre , there no performance associated with it …

• Yes there is. Dry roads r definitely grippier than stock but wet road performance is incredibly better. i can go thru puddles at hi speed w/o fishtailing like on stock rubber.

Performance wise is of course not on par with PS but its more durable to last 3~4 years easy. So if u wan equal balance of everything, XM series is right for u.

• Bob_B78 on May 01, 2016 at 10:05 am

I got xm2 as stock on my car and i can tell you it has mediocre/low grip in the wet. I live in an apartment and if there is water on the floor in the multi storey car park, i need to drive very very slow to avoid sliding. The compound is hard therefore treadlife reach 60k easily. This tyre is recommended for improved fc but does get noisy once the tread goes thin. Initially i plan to switch to ps3 but end up getting re003 instead for it is much newer than ps3. I would prefer more grip and less noise over better fc and long treadlife.

• potato on May 08, 2016 at 9:28 pm

I don’t know about original PS2, but based on what i hear, PS3 is a balance between Dry & Wet performance, while PS2 is mainly for superior Dry Performance, so i don’t know if PS2 or now PS4 will perform better on wet roads than PS3.

• Meganr on Apr 30, 2016 at 11:42 am

Michelin tyres always perform well on the roads but the y always don’t last as long as others .

• Softer compounds have better road performance but sacrifices durability. This is also vice versa for harder compound tyres. For best balance (performance dry/wet & lasting), go for Mich XM series.

• CheapoHonda city on Apr 30, 2016 at 2:28 pm

Good, now those cheapo honda city cant use it so easily since it start of 17 inch

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
  • Nissan on Apr 30, 2016 at 3:05 pm

Wander why performance tyre don’t have smaller size like 14″? Smaller car with smaller wheel need no presicion in handling?

• tokkok on Apr 30, 2016 at 9:27 pm

so that those god car would not get this tyre mistaking it for god tyre then speed and harm other road users

• Well done michelin I am going to upgrade to this if available in malaysia soon

• 'UMW TOYOTA on Apr 30, 2016 at 7:51 pm

im using silverstone AT117 but with BFG MT tread for my hilux 2door

• passion on Oct 24, 2016 at 11:32 am

i am using it. its awesome in dry and wet. very comfortable too. the side wall looks good as well.