SPYSHOTS: G01 BMW X3 shows us its new interior

BMW X3 1

BMW is hard at work developing the next-generation BMW X3 (codenamed G01), and as we can see from several sightings of the SUV, it will benefit from improved exterior styling. With this latest batch of spyshots obtained from our spy photographers, we now have a first look at the probable interior changes as well.

Based on the shot of the prototype X3’s cabin, the German carmaker has replaced the previous F25’s dashboard with a brand-new one. The iDrive screen is no longer encased within the dash, and is now a larger, free-standing unit instead. The air-con vents have been reshaped to be larger as well, while new climate control switchgear is seen beneath the coverings.

For the driver, the new steering wheel appears to resemble the one found on the G11 7 Series. On the centre console, the gear selector adopts a matte black design instead of the current F25’s silver surface. The iDrive dial also gets a matte black top rather than a glossy black one. More interestingly, the instrument cluster appears to be a half-analogue, half-digital unit, similar to what we saw on the upcoming G30 5 Series.

On the exterior, there is still a considerable amount of camo seen on this prototype, similar to previous G01 test mules we posted. The all-new X3 appears to drop its “box” look in favour of more curves. A new kidney grille, reshaped A-pillars and a sloping roofline are noticeable changes here.

The G01 X3 will be underpinned by the same modular rear-wheel drive platform used on the G11 BMW 7 Series – called Cluster Architecture (CLAR). This translates to a lighter vehicle, thanks to the platform’s usage of carbon-fibre reinforced plastic (CFRP).

Power options will include BMW’s TwinPower Turbo petrol and diesel engines, while transmission pairings will possibly see a six-speed manual and an eight-speed auto gearbox, with two- and four-wheel drive options. A plug-in hybrid and high-performance M variant could also be on the cards as well.

GALLERY: G01 BMW X3 M prototype

GALLERY: G01 BMW X3 prototype

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Muniandy Periasamy on Apr 29, 2016 at 5:24 pm

Why waste money buying a BMW? Our Ministers already said, Proton is at par or even better than BMW and Volvo. We must syukur our Proton is so high standard.

Our Ministers already said our local Universities are at par or even better than Oxford University of the UK. So, our Proton engineers are super brilliant and surely they are giving us top quality engines.

Syukurlah

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 7
    • Give it a rest.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 39
      • Go easy on him. His boss told him to do penance by posting 10,000 bashings, as punishment for mis-firing on his own team in the article about Azmin’s new road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 39
        • Periasamy with his childish comment

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 38
          • Pls Keep Blog Clean on Apr 30, 2016 at 11:04 am

john, albert peria, boring samy, rewq, red, shame are all ONE person. Please keep this blog clean. We are fed up with your instigations.

• Albert Peria on Apr 29, 2016 at 6:40 pm

Yes, yes, we all know Toyota is the best. How come the sales still so bad, Albert?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 35
      • Albert Yong is becoming the new Sam Loo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 36
        • Shame on Apr 30, 2016 at 5:42 am

And he replies to his dupes comments. Pathetic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 37
          • He replies with his multiple dupes: Albert/ Albert Yong/ George Abdul/ other less used ones.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 34
          • Pls Keep Blog Clean on Apr 30, 2016 at 11:08 am

john, pls keep this blog clean. We are fed up with your troll behavior.

• Are you sure John? on Apr 30, 2016 at 11:23 am

Are you sure John it is not you with the Dupes? Looks like you!

• childish john, tak habis habis! Writ something useful bro

• Johan on Apr 30, 2016 at 11:57 am

pretty obvious from the likes and dislikes who is the dupe champion. Kipidad john, everyone can see through you

• Hamidi on Apr 30, 2016 at 11:35 am

john replying to yourself sounds cool doesn’t it?

• Low class politician on Apr 29, 2016 at 10:51 pm

Why keep copy and paste your comment. Please brother, this is car blog, dont bring your nonsense politic here, find a life.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 30
  • policeman on Apr 29, 2016 at 5:25 pm

Just launch this junk. Tak habis-habis spyshot.
    Nobody cares anymore.

• Wannabishi on Apr 29, 2016 at 7:58 pm

This is a spyshot people actually care about unlike that local wannabe car maker

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • seancorr (Member) on Apr 29, 2016 at 5:27 pm

I hope they put some polish metal to the air vents as it looks too dull and add some leather to the transmission tunnel area as well as the dash area to make it more posh.

• I failed to see, what so “new” about it?

• Looks like BMW is ditching the black plastic buttons with metallic buttons

• Dr Rif on Apr 29, 2016 at 10:43 pm

So tired of seeing car companies sticking screens up like that on dashboard – shows lazy design

• Warren Wong Yee Ket on Apr 30, 2016 at 12:51 am

What’s new? New interior design that looks exactly like every other BMW interior?

• J BMW on Apr 30, 2016 at 4:10 pm

Past BMW X1 and X3 are often models which carried older interior design, mainly a normal facelift and exterior updates to make it soldier on for a few more years. Look at the current X3, out the outside, the design is new, inside, it’s a mixture of past bmw elements.