Honda Malaysia confirms two Takata airbag ruptures in April, May 2016 – official statement

honda-city-2003

Honda Malaysia has confirmed that the Takata single stage (SDI) driver’s airbag inflators ruptured in two crashes in the country that occurred in April and May this year. Both crashes, unfortunately, involved fatalities.

In the April 16, 2016 crash that took place in Sabah, the driver’s airbag inflator ruptured in the crash of a 2006 Honda City. The vehicle involved was included in a recall to replace the defective airbag that Honda Malaysia announced on May 21, 2015.

As for the second case, the driver-side airbag of a 2003 Honda City ruptured in a crash that occurred in Kedah on May 1, 2016. Similar to the April 2016 crash, the vehicle involved was also included in a product recall that was announced on December 8, 2014.

Both cases have been confirmed during an inspection with the Royal Malaysia Police. Honda Malaysia will communicate with representatives of the drivers’ families in an effort to resolve their remaining concerns. No names will be released in respect of the families’ privacy.

The unedited statement from Honda Malaysia is provided below:

Honda has confirmed that the Takata single stage (SDI) driver’s airbag inflators ruptured in two crashes in April and May respectively in Malaysia. Both crashes resulted in the tragic deaths of the drivers. No official cause of death has been yet determined for either case. Our thoughts and deepest sympathies are with the families of the drivers during this difficult time.

1) A crash on April 16, 2016, in Sabah state

Honda has confirmed during an inspection with the Royal Malaysia Police that the Takata single stage (SDI) driver’s airbag inflator ruptured in the crash of a 2006 Honda City on April 16, 2016, in Sabah state. The vehicle involved in this crash was included in a Malaysian Product Update (recall) announced on May 21, 2015, requiring replacement of the SDI inflator of the Takata driver’s front airbag.

2) A crash on May 1, 2016, in Kedah state

Honda has confirmed during an inspection with the Royal Malaysia Police that the Takata single stage (SDI) driver’s airbag inflator ruptured in the crash of a 2003 Honda City on May 1, 2016, in Kedah state. The vehicle involved in this crash was included in a Malaysian Product Update (recall) announced on December 8, 2014, requiring replacement of the SDI inflator of the Takata driver’s front airbag.

Honda is communicating with representatives of the drivers’ families in an effort to resolve their remaining concerns. Out of respect for the families, Honda will not provide any personal information.

It is imperative that vehicles owners check if their vehicles are listed as part of any product recalls by Honda Malaysia by referring to the official product update page, here. The page will also guide you on how to look for your vehicle’s VIN number, which is required to check if your vehicle is affected.

Customers can also check their vehicle’s product update status by calling Honda’s Toll Free number at 1-800-88-2020 or visit any authorised Honda dealer.

Screen Shot 2016-05-04 at 9.50.41 PM

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• OMG! How many fatal cases more from Toyota/ Nissan/ Mitsubishi/ Mazda?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 13
    • idiot john on May 04, 2016 at 6:01 pm

dont worry, it’s much lower than your beloved Proton & Perodua..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 50
    • Albert on May 04, 2016 at 7:44 pm

Tokok John,
      Do you know TAkata uses AMMONIA NITRATE as the ‘EXPLODING’ force to deploy the airbags.
      Ammonia nitrate is the chemical they use in quarry blasting operations.
      I wonder what chemical compound Protong use in their range of vehicles,to deploy airbags.Is it C4 ? Aiyah..yah be careful when u buy a protong.
      It may be more potent than ammonia nitrate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 51
      • P1 uses the chemical called Autoliv and its came from Sweden. Haven kirr anyone yet.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
      • sohai albert +idiot john on May 04, 2016 at 8:54 pm

Proton using autoliv is united state airbag, don’t sohai kia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
    • Heaven on May 04, 2016 at 7:53 pm

How about showing a little compassion and respect for the deceased’s family.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
    • Yippie on May 04, 2016 at 8:42 pm

I wonder why the big hype over so call dieselgate of vw when those so call reliable japanese is causing death actually with time bomb infront of your face whenever u r driving.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
      • movingcoffin on May 05, 2016 at 8:45 am

I wonder why bash improving p1 in safety while worshipping moving coffin jepunis cars?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
  • Submarine on May 04, 2016 at 5:32 pm

The problem with Honda is their speed with which they cope with the replacements. The waiting period is too long for an appointment to get the inflator changed, hopefully no more lives lost until HM finally gets each recall changed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
    • policeman on May 04, 2016 at 7:18 pm

No, that’s not the problem.
      The problem with Honda is that they make horrid cars. Flimsy plastics all over, bad soundproofing, unreliable electrical components and lousy gearboxes.

But it’s still the pride and joy for so many yuppies out there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 29
      • Jimmy on May 04, 2016 at 10:46 pm

Tiada untung duit, so, sambil lewa lah; biar orang atasan yang khuatir, tak apa. Betulkah?

When it comes to recall, or warranty claims, …..

When you make full payment in advance ….

Do people who buy Honda/Nissan/Toyota intend to or have the ability to purchase car every one to two years? So tak apa lah. Bisnes sekali cukup.

Mercedes/BMW owners are different, you get their hearts, you get more money; many of them can buy cars every single year without miss.

650k + 330k in 2016. Seen before? And it is just Jan-April 2016.

• RavenAii (Member) on May 05, 2016 at 4:31 pm

Not so sure about newest models but currently have the facelifted version of the ES Civic. Sound proofing is great, electrical components are good, gearbox is not bad but could’ve been better, and about the plastics, yeah too much plastic compared to the leather interior of EF Civics. Way better compared to Corolla though.

• camtakpro on May 05, 2016 at 8:25 am

Don’t say Honda. Toyota just diam saja.

• nabill (Member) on May 04, 2016 at 5:33 pm

If we have proper consumer protection laws n tribunals, they wd be sued like no tmr..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
  • Sam Loo says jangan persoal jepunis quality. It is godlike, even when sending pipu to early afterlife.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 8
  • sepul on May 04, 2016 at 5:40 pm

Sad news then. As consumers we must alert on any recalls involving the cars we drive. We can deduce that the owners of the affected cars did not check with Honda whether their cars were included in the recall which was announced a year before the crashes happened.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • Plainbullshit on May 04, 2016 at 6:19 pm

Most of the Malaysian memang “ada tak apa punya” attitudes. That’s why this happen, you’ll be amazed how minimal the amount that Honda Malaysia managed to complete the recall. I would say previously both Honda and Malaysian didn’t take the recall seriously.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
    • Shaekey on May 05, 2016 at 9:53 am

From my experience, Honda has very good communication with their customers. They have database of their car buyers and they send periodical newsletter and also other communication through mail. However, they only have database of their customers who bought their car new. This does not include 2nd car buyer. Thus it is possible that any communication about the recall only goes to the original buyers which already sold the car to somebody else.

Some of these 2nd hand car buyers don’t even know about the recall and they suppose to bring their car to Honda service center for inspection and defective item replacement. This is especially true if they never bring their 2nd had car to Honda authorized service center but rather only to a generic car workshop.

• saladin on May 04, 2016 at 6:56 pm

I got my honda jazz 2005 airbag inflator replaced last january. After receive official letter from HM it took about 1 month for service center to set the appoinment. I tot everthing was ok when they service until i found out they didnt properly reinstall my battery bracket. That was honda bangi. Careful guys..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
    • can u advice how do you find out whether they hv it installed properly? do you mean the replacement air bag inflator or the battery bracket or are they located at the same place?

• Heaven on May 04, 2016 at 7:58 pm

It’s time to introduce Lemon Law in Malaysia, Mr. Transport Minister.

• Littlebear on May 04, 2016 at 7:59 pm

The main problem is that it will take months before a vehicle can get a replacement airbag. I need to wait for 6 months before getting replacement this June 2016.

• Heaven on May 04, 2016 at 8:02 pm

How many more fatalities before Honda Malaysia takes the airbag recall seriously?

• Tiger prawn on May 04, 2016 at 8:33 pm

The poblem here is tat our agenciy and ministriess only responded by giving statements after foreign agencies discovered tainted food products or defective products..perfect example was the recent prawn issue ..wat they doing everyday me dunno

• BAMyouhaveAIDS on May 04, 2016 at 8:56 pm

If this was a Proton, BAM! i guarantee you there’ll be a havoc here. Malaysian mentality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
    • The bashing wud be over 9000. I garenti

• camtakpro on May 05, 2016 at 8:27 am

If this was a Proton, everybody is safe, because car is parking in service center.

Oops, that is for VW. For Proton probably they forget to fit in the airbag.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
  • Megane on May 04, 2016 at 8:58 pm

Honda – The Power of Dreams .lol

• honda mmg best on May 04, 2016 at 10:44 pm

in sabah…
    http://www.bharian.com.my/node/144359

PAPAR: Seorang wanita maut dalam kemalangan jalan raya di Jalan Kimanis-Keningau di sini, apabila kereta dinaikinya dipercayai terbabas, pagi tadi. Nida Fathin Ajis, 30, dilaporkan meninggal dunia akibat cedera parah, manakala suaminya yang memandu, Abdullah Shamsul Mokti, 30, bersama seorang kanak-kanak berusia setahun cedera. Nahas kira-kira jam 10.45 pagi berlaku berhampiran Kampung Penampang Baru, Kimanis, dekat sini. Ketika kejadian, mereka dalam perjalanan dari Keningau ke Kota Kinabalu. Ketua Cawangan Pusat Gerakan Operasi Jabatan Bomba dan Penyelamat Malaysia (JBPM), Khatizah Rahaban, berkata bomba tiba di lokasi kejadian jam 11.10 pagi tadi selepas menerima panggilan pada jam 10.53 pagi. “Kemalangan membabitkan sebuah kenderaan jenis Honda City yang terbabas. “Nahas membabitkan tiga mangsa dan seorang disahkan meninggal dunia di tempat kejadian oleh pihak perubatan. Dua mangsa lagi cedera dan dihantar ke hospital,” katanya.

Selanjutnya di : http://www.bharian.com.my/node/144359

• krs189 on May 05, 2016 at 8:06 am

shhhhhuuu…..move along… this is Honda not Proton….move along… shhhhhhhuu

• Fucukyongtaufoo on May 05, 2016 at 8:43 am

Why don’t Honda get JPJ help to trace current owners and proactively get the airbags replaced? After all this is matter of life n death.

• sulaiman zainudin on May 05, 2016 at 10:14 am

This is a tragedy ! The car maker & people in authority must be held responsible. The Takata airbag issue is already known for years now. Why let people drive them. Vehicles with Takata airbags must be grounded already or retrofitted immediately. We cannot blame drivers !!
    In Malaysia even the big car makers including Europen one cheated us !! believe me.

• autodriver (Member) on May 05, 2016 at 10:25 am

airbag supposes to save life but now it turns to kill people.

It is sad that honda is using takata airbag in most of their models. Hopefully Honda can resolve the airbag issue and bring back their reputation.

• zulkefle hashim on May 05, 2016 at 11:17 am

I think Honda does not done enough to ensure the car owner aware and take necessary action to replace the defective or problem parts. It is happen to me for my Jazz where I have not been notified until two days ago I visited the Honda website and seen the page to check whether my car have some part affected (battery, CVT or Airbag). After entering the VIN no then only I got to know the battery need replacement. What happen if the owner does not visiting the Honda webpage?

• the deceased is a person i know. this just frustrating to begin with. its not their control. it is also served a reminder to other people. dont be sarcastic much, just go and get the airbag fix/replace.

• Budin on Jun 26, 2016 at 8:54 pm

here the latest one (as of 26/6/16)
    Woman dies in minor traffic collision

“PETALING JAYA: A seemingly minor collision between a Honda City and a Mercedes-Benz along Jalan Teknologi 3/1, Kota Damansara here, resulted in the death of one of the drivers.

Sungai Buloh Fire and Rescue Department Senior Officer II Rosdi Hainan said that the driver’s airbag was found ruptured and that she could have sustained injuries to her chest from material protruding from the centre of the steering wheel..”

http://www.thestar.com.my/news/nation/2016/06/26/minor-collision-woman-dies/

• jrd fan on Jun 26, 2016 at 10:33 pm

ppl just concern about rv…Takata kills?who cares?money more important