2016 Honda Civic 1.5L Turbo and 1.8L NA open for booking – six airbags confirmed for all variants

More info on the upcoming 2016 Honda Civic in Malaysia. Following the reveal of a dedicated Ride The Dream teaser website, we now have more promotional material for the tenth-gen model, and it appears that a non-turbo version will be available to Malaysians as well.

The naturally-aspirated mill here is the familiar 1.8 litre i-VTEC four-cylinder that puts out 141 hp at 6,500 rpm and 174 Nm at 4,300 rpm. It will join the already-known 1.5 litre turbocharged four-cylinder (173 hp/220 Nm), and should be paired to a CVT as well.

As for equipment, the new leaflet reveals that all variants of the Civic will come with six airbags and eight-way powered seat, which is good news for buyers, who may feel that they will be shortchanged by going the NA route instead of the turbo option.

Thai-spec Honda Civic Turbo RS

Also available on the Civic is remote engine start, walk away auto lock, an electric parking brake, auto brake hold, VSA electronic stability control and LED headlamps (with LED DRLs). Unlike the above-mentioned items, not every variant will get all this kit.

Nonetheless, it certainly is good news that Honda Malaysia will not compromise on safety when it introduces the all-new, tenth-gen Honda Civic here. We have been invited to sample the new car in Thailand recently, so expect our review of the C-segment sedan here.

What do you think of the specifications of the Malaysian-spec 2016 Honda Civic so far? Do you prefer it over the Mazda 3 Sedan, Toyota Corolla Altis and Ford Focus Sedan? How much do you think it will cost?

GALLERY: 2016 Honda Civic Turbo RS in Thailand

GALLERY: 2016 Honda Civic 1.8 EL in Thailand
GALLERY: 2016 Honda Civic 1.8 E in Thailand
GALLERY: 2016 Honda Civic with Modulo accessories in Thailand

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Leafable on May 06, 2016 at 6:03 pm

Well done Honda. 6 airbags as standard. This is the way forward.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 333 Thumb down 21
    • Jer Clarkson on May 06, 2016 at 6:25 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 242
      • Bob_B78 on May 06, 2016 at 7:43 pm

Perdana is a different segment……. compare apple to apple ok?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 100 Thumb down 7
        • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 124
          • Muzamir cheebailu on May 07, 2016 at 10:56 pm

what a joke, you call this luxury car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 21
          • john otak batu on May 07, 2016 at 11:50 pm

Game over Proton

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 97 Thumb down 7
          • Muniandy supporter on May 08, 2016 at 11:31 am

I fully support what my boss said. He has been suffered with his proton for many years same like what others suffered also.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
          • More like game over toyota, not p1

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 14
          • Proton cannot game over want, only ask for billions more from G. More games for the rakyat to PAY

• To me, Perdana is more luxury than the S Class LGE is chauffeured around. I’m proud of Proton now can go toe to toe with the Germans

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 39
          • @GSC
            YOu forgot p1 paid gomen more than its loss

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
        • Muniandy Follower and Fan on May 07, 2016 at 2:29 pm

Everyone here getting excited about the 6 airbags. That is the new carrot being dangled to people and all so excited. But everyone here, in their excitement, forgot about the car price.

You can have even 100 airbags also in the car, if the car is priced at RM140k to RM150k, how many Malaysians can really afford it?

And why is it exclusive to the rich and wealthy that they get to enjoy safer cars (with 6 airbags) and the poor and mediocre person like myself, who cannot afford to cough out RM140k on a car, is unable to own a car with 6 airbags?

Is this fair to Malaysians? We as Malaysians should wish for all and everyone in Malaysia to enjoy cars which are safe and which give us ESC, EBD, ABS and 6 airbags as standard.

We as a country should aim for this goal. Irrespective of race, religion and financial status of a person. Everyone deserves to be safe and everyone deserves a car to have decent safety spec, namely 6 airbags, EBD, ESC and ABS.

6 airbags SHOULD be compulsory and a LEGAL requirement and not as a carrot to dangle to get buyers excited.

This is where our Government has failed its people. The Government should be pushing ALL car manufacturers to ave EBD, ESC, 6 airbags and ABS as STANDARD in all cars sold.

Remember, safety is like water and air. It should be the basic RIGHT of everyone in Malaysia. We should not be paying RM140k for 6 airbags.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 101 Thumb down 27
          • Get a Honda City for RM90k.Stop whining.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 21
          • Tiger74 on May 07, 2016 at 7:05 pm

Is it fair for rich people having better insurance coverage when they are rich and able to pay more premium?

Is it fair to the poor group if all range of cars to have 6 airbegs until Axia price reach RM50 over but poor group not afford to buy?

Is it fair that people born from rich family and got every luxury stuff?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 14
          • @Tiger74
            Learn about true life kid, this is not the country where you get all things regardless you are poor or rich.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
          • Henry on May 08, 2016 at 12:21 am

Whoever told you life is fair?

• Dear Leader and all the other oppolitikus, as long as u willing to Bersih for them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
          • tiger if you think that it’s not fair then work harder. why do you think people become rich? even drug lords have to go through so many hardships. well except for politicians. so it’s just fair that they get better privileges. what you’re barking for isn’t justice but equality. and that’s BS.

• Loler on May 08, 2016 at 1:42 pm

Tiger is primary school child. He has no idea why his parents cannot afford a car even a kancil , lol

• john otak batu on May 08, 2016 at 5:37 pm

Instead of giving RM1.5B to Proton, why not distribute it to the poor?

• wayang on May 08, 2016 at 10:22 pm

No wonder you cannot afford 140k car
            Your mentality already show you are not capable of such wealth

Like a child crying because he is hungry and nobody fed him milk
            While it is acceptable for a child, its definitely not acceptable for an adult
            Because as an adult if youre hungry you should go find food and feed yourself

So the first step for you is to grow up
            The rich did not get rich overnight and certainly did not get rich by spamming on the keyboard complaining about unfairness in life on the internet demanding things to be free for them

Since youre on fairness, so you think its fair for car manufacturer to forked out 6 airbags for free or subsidized heavily out of their pocket?

Ask you to pay for 6 airbags you say not fair, but ask some one else to pay you call it fair
            How screwed can your mentality be?

Or perhaps you are brought up to be like a thief or without a backbone?
            Ask you you to work hard to afford basic necessity you say not fair, come from some one else pocket you call it fair, if thats not thievery i dont know what is thievery anymore

Stop whining for free breast milk already, I know breast milk is a necessity in life but that is necessity for babies not adult.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 36
          • Greedy monkey on May 09, 2016 at 3:03 am

Only eart prince get 6 airbags

• jji22 on May 09, 2016 at 8:33 am

In China also got protektion, foreign automakers have to JV later kena conned, is it fair?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
          • Avengers on May 09, 2016 at 11:37 am

You mean in China, Proton kena conned? Then it is fair as it conned Malaysia for 30 years

• Bersatu on May 09, 2016 at 2:51 pm

After taking RM1.5B, it is only fair that Proton contributes back by giving 15% discount to the bumis

• What is wrong with Perdana? Be proud of our national car. Don’t be like RBA and Party Hard and just want Toyota only. Even if I kena lottery also, kena RM20 million also, I will suppork Perdana. Saya bangga dengan kereta nasional saya!

Malaysians are bunch of ungrateful dogs. Always complain about car prices too. Let me tell you, car prices are cheap in Malaysia. If you work hard like me, you can afford any car. the problem with many people complaining about car prices is that they are lazy. You are poor because you are lazy! work hard!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 93
          • Tiger74 on May 07, 2016 at 7:08 pm

Why so proud with national car? I feel shame as our automotive technology is far behind Japanese and Korean after how many years of development.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 12
          • Far behind?
            Civic scored more in NCAP test coz the hardness of steel sheet is not counted, if it is, Preve won any time any day with more HPF parts.

And now 2016 only comes the turbo civic while preve got turbp years before, not to mention got more torquey engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 13
          • “After so many years of development”

Lol bashers are always coming with childish comparison between multinational and small player company.

Please ask your parents about it ok?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
          • Tong Sampah on May 08, 2016 at 8:06 am

cronies like you need to work?

• Jobless on May 09, 2016 at 4:15 pm

Learn to speak dialect for better chance to get work. Sure aah?

• I thought no Civic article today …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 24
        • Operation Manager on May 06, 2016 at 9:45 pm

Jetta 1.4TSI 240Nm rm90k, Mazda3 2.0 210Nm rm106k

• john is otak batu on May 07, 2016 at 12:28 am

I thought no john around today…damn, this blog will B better without him!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 12
          • You jelly i drive Proton?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 31
          • U jelly that u based ur nick on my nick?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
          • AutoFrenz (the original) on May 07, 2016 at 2:59 pm

Better buy Proton. Jepunis is crap. Only bodoh people buy Jepunis and lagak. This Civic got no RV. Junk car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 40
          • Same 'Hailux' Loo on May 07, 2016 at 10:54 pm

Better buy Toyotaik. All other car brands are crap. Bodoh people buy other brand and lagak want to be different but ‘hailat’ miserably. All other cars got no RV and junk car. Toyotaik got best RV and ‘lagi the best’ car in the universe (words of wisdom from UMW Toyotaik sales advisor, not me or any one of us except Same Loo)

• You're funny on May 06, 2016 at 9:38 pm

Haha….you mean Accordana

• Anti copycat on May 06, 2016 at 10:30 pm

Funny how you brag on a copy-paste product. You mean HONDA ACCORD that has better specs & ride. As a Malaysian I am unable to confess proton is a car maker.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 20
        • DonkeyKong on May 07, 2016 at 6:48 am

As a Malaysian you’re proving yourself to be an uninformed dumbass

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 32
        • Topkek on May 07, 2016 at 8:27 am

Go and learn about about rebadging, even.yourbworshipped car maker toyota does it. P2 assemble car not make cars since years do you call it maker?

If yes then topkek

And oh the handling..dun dream your jepunis hideous cars can beat p1

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
      • OMG... on May 07, 2016 at 9:39 am

OMG…Spend more than 100K for P1 car…not worth it…the perdana interior copy old accord 1…yucks…RV also yucks..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 12
        • nomnom on May 07, 2016 at 8:44 pm

You must be new kid not knowing anything about rebadging.

Even Toyota still does it!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 17
          • mamasan on May 08, 2016 at 9:33 pm

Rebadge pun rebadge platform barulah, rebadge platform lama buat apa? Benda org lain tak mahu Proton guna duit rakyat untuk beli. Bodo

• RavenAii (Member) on May 09, 2016 at 12:19 am

Perdana should be compared with same segment such as the Honda Accord, Nissan Teana, Mazda 6 or Toyota Camry. As for this post, the Honda Civic(standard 6-airbags and VSA) should be compared against the Proton Preve(which also has 6-airbags and ESC as standard since 2013 update), Toyota Corolla Altis(equipped with 2-airbags and no ESC), Mazda 3(6-airbags and DSC), Nissan Sylphy(also standard 6-airbags and VDC), Volkswagen Jetta(6-airbags and ESP) and Ford Focus(this I have no info).

• Beware! Dont be murdered by Honda airbags.

And they got 6 now!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 47
      • Really on May 06, 2016 at 10:05 pm

You been living under a rock for the past year, is it? Carmakers are not using Takata airbags anymore.

• Tiger74 on May 07, 2016 at 7:11 pm

Read the news properly, not only Honda is affected by the airbeg issue but most of car makers

• mr w205 on May 06, 2016 at 10:57 pm

Pastu 1.8 civic harga rm125k…. semua bash balik.. more equipment..more Rm la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
    • YeapyEvo on May 07, 2016 at 1:43 am

Still using that Takata killer airbag?

• Seriously? on May 08, 2016 at 1:55 pm

6 airbags = 6 time bomb? Good luck Honda users, you want want the inflators to flatten your lives just like that? Think beyond safety… so many cases recorded with Honda not only in Malaysia, but also the states….

My only advise is… be sure what DRB Hicom is trying to offer here…

• wayang on May 08, 2016 at 10:24 pm

Sorry la, Malaysian very cheap one
        For example one manufacturer quote 6 air bags for RM6 another 6 airbags for RM12

They say the other more expensive is a rip off
        They dont know what is quality, everything cheap can already.
        Just like alot of handphone exploding cases now adays, cheap can already

• RavenAii (Member) on May 09, 2016 at 2:15 pm

You sure really catch-up with negative news and close your eyes for positive ones? Honda already done recalls for the old models equipped with Takata Airbags had a replacement. Toyota also used Takata, same goes to Mazda and other car brands. The fact that recall already been issued, the ones to be blamed is users who usually think sending their car for update is useless and wasting their ‘valueable time’.

• seancorr (Member) on May 06, 2016 at 6:06 pm

Lead the way Honda Malaysia….hopefully with VSC bundled together

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 107 Thumb down 4
    • Muniandy Periasamy on May 06, 2016 at 6:28 pm

Don’t be like Toyota. VSC is an option. Even for their RM160k Camry and their RM200k Fortuner!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 103 Thumb down 3
      • Just get my hand on the specs for all variants. You will be impressed when you look at the spec for baseline 1.8. Can’t even call it basic anymore. Even 1.8 comes with rear aircond, 7 inch lcd, auto aircond, remote engine start, autoheadlights, smart keyless entry, handsfree telephone and cruise control. Amazing isn’t it?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 92 Thumb down 2
        • But i can get it in preve except keyless entry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
          • Tiger74 on May 07, 2016 at 7:12 pm

You also got the shameful logo “Proton”. LoL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
          • Nosushi on May 07, 2016 at 10:05 pm

Jepunis badge more shameful, ady killed people and massive recalls all over the world.

• At least he din get salesman bollocks that RV and almighty T badge will protect him from accidents and injuries.

• Notakata on May 08, 2016 at 8:27 am

Am driving jepunis car. Dun know where to put face now even my dog scared to get in coz of takata airbags

• I’m not sure if Perdana is a local or jepunis car?

• Ah! I think Perdana is like Banana, yellow on the outside but white on the inside, but in this case is black on the outside

• CivicX on May 07, 2016 at 9:03 am

With your on hand specs..just want to know does civic come with lanewatch

• OMG... on May 07, 2016 at 9:43 am

OMG…that not enough unless VSC & HA available for all variant.

• pokmang on May 07, 2016 at 2:54 pm

good if the truth as u mentioned, most of the new 1.8 NA civic potential buyers are the preve ‘leaked turbo’ victim…the trauma still there

• vtecbocor on May 07, 2016 at 9:18 pm

Then there will be leaked turbo civic victims leter, lol

• rchoo on May 09, 2016 at 7:49 am

Be proud of it? at what price, at 140K, others can offer lot better at significantly cheaper price.

• RavenAii (Member) on May 09, 2016 at 2:19 pm

It is equipped as standard throughout the lineup. Honda’s VSC is called VSA(Vehicle Stability Assist). Other brands have different names but it work the same way as standard VSC(Vehicle Stability Control).

• Mana Janji Najib nak bayar habis hutang 1MDB? on May 06, 2016 at 6:09 pm

if year end, sure some discount. better wait since is mid of year oled. lets wait year end sales

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 19
    • Sammy Loo on May 06, 2016 at 8:06 pm

This is a sushi car, by year end the waiting period will be 3-4 months.

Unlike the kimchi, launch and hardly sell. Just look at the Rio Sedan, 6 airbags sitting in the popular B-segment which most of the sales are but still hardly sell any unit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 11
    • new launching car usually no discount and low trade in…wait for few months or new competitors launch, then u will get better deal

• Aaron on May 06, 2016 at 6:09 pm

Whereas for the altis, six airbags is an optional extra for the range topper:(

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 3
    • Sammy Loo on May 06, 2016 at 8:02 pm

6 airbags? No, the Altis is coming with 7 airbags for the additional price. Toyota doesn’t go 6, it is either 2 or 7.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 27
  • nabill (Member) on May 06, 2016 at 6:18 pm

Altis is crying in that dark corner alone…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 140 Thumb down 3
  • I rather have VSC than 8-way power seat.

• Like finally Honda takes the right moves. 6Airbags as standard. Comfirm VSA is across the range too since 8th gen VSA is standard across the range. Well done

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 1
  • anonymous on May 06, 2016 at 6:26 pm

Really anticipated for the pricing of the turbo variant. It is really a good buy considering overall aspects Honda offered. I checked out its century sprint on YouTube, it took 7.0 to 7.2 sec to reach the mark, similarly to the German compact executive sedans already. LED headlamps, LED turn signal, electronic instrument cluster. Hopefully, it comes w a set of premium speakers too!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 1
    • KennyFang on May 06, 2016 at 10:32 pm

7.0 to 7.2s for century sprint for a 173hp/220Nm engine pushing a car the size of the Civic? In your dreams!

I don’t know what youtube video you have been watching but the stock 1.5L turbo isn’t going to get this figure. I expect it to be 8.x sec but keep dreaming!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 22
      • https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MeZ5uGEjrmk

• anonymous on May 07, 2016 at 4:28 am

dude, I felt pity for your Wi-Fi that you signed couldn’t afford to stream videos online but you know what? At least you can still load paultan and reply my comment.

• Speedster on May 07, 2016 at 8:46 am

Those numbers are different when done on different road and place

• anonymous on May 09, 2016 at 11:51 am

Can be true because there’s no actual test on our Malaysia road yet. However, I do believe it wont vary w a big difference since the car is technically the same. I dont know how much fuel plays the roles in creating those performance figures now.

• KennyFang on May 07, 2016 at 12:45 pm

Dude, I feel pity for your gullibility that you believe everything you come across on the internet. The 1.5L turbo civic with its puny turbo boost cannot do the century sprint in 7.x sec. Time will prove I’m right and your absolute naivety. An unverified video doesn’t prove anything.

• Fast and Furious wannabeessss on May 07, 2016 at 2:43 pm

Well it’s a good thing with this century sprint, but I can already foresee a lot of Ah Bengs and Ah Lians tailgating people in their new civics with huge spoiler thinking they drive a super sport car. Beside the huge spoiler their civics would also have one white strip or two, running from the front bonnet to the exhaust.

• Long live Honda! Long live P1! Long live Mazda!
    Pegi mampus toyota! Coffin-kan P2!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 95 Thumb down 18
  • Lets give a moment of silence to the passing of Altis.
    Now wheres my shovel?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 102 Thumb down 6
    • Sam "Hailat" Loo on May 06, 2016 at 7:58 pm

Wait until the shovel gets spanked onto your face by car-jackers… This Civic is gonna be hot on the list for thieves…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 35
      • This Civic is now keyless. Without it, its not going anywhere, whereas ur Hailat & Misfortune is still thieve favourite thanks to its very basic security and perceived RV. But do u know that here in SG, RV means Recyclable Value? Thats how much we think about ur RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 11
      • john is otak batu on May 07, 2016 at 12:35 am

huh???!!!jack Japanese car???car thieves like u better shot by your own boss! after u have left out the German & Italian race car! :P

• Where is Honda LaneWatch system ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
    • YEA, WILL BE A LITTLE DISSAPOINTED IF LANEWATCH IS NOT IN CIVIC,WILL BE SUCH AND AMZING CAR WITH THE COOL SAFETY FEATURE RIGHT?

• Your shovel is on the way, the all new Civic 1.5 RS Dohc TURBO

• albag on May 06, 2016 at 6:56 pm

6 airbags??? make sure these airbags are not flaw though… still using Takata airbags???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 46
    • Aero (Member) on May 06, 2016 at 8:01 pm

I believe Honda Malaysia/ HMSB uses airbags from Malaysia-based Autoliv-Hirotako/ AHSB. They also supply airbags to Proton (101% confirmed) as well as Toyota and Perodua (not 101% sure). Sadly, they don’t have their own website. MBM Resources has a stake in AHSB… that should explain the Toyota/ Perodua connection.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 4
    • Sammy Loo on May 06, 2016 at 8:07 pm

Did you read news? Don’t just read one part and forget the follow up. All major Japanese manufacturers dropped Takata since last year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
  • Good news indeed for the buyers. Hopefully the other car makers follow suit unless some higher-ups decide to make even more money and throw spanner in the development. It’s hard to be the good guy in this dog-eat-dog world.

• I’ll HAPPILY eat back my words about Honda skimping on airbags.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • Game over toyota

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 2
  • policeman on May 06, 2016 at 7:36 pm

I was driven in one of these in Thailand last month.

The interior is just horrid. The plastics are really low grade and you can hear creaks when you push against the dash panels. They’re hollow as well.

Road noise was terribly loud. Even Preve wasn’t this bad.

In these aspects, the Civic loses out to Corolla and 3.

• kzm (Member) on May 06, 2016 at 7:39 pm

So sad for Thais..they they launch first but oni got 2 airbag. If want 6 airbag need to go highest spec..

• Ya ya. Bashers will say ini semua salah P1/ BN/ UMNO/… oh wai…did u say tomyam?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
  • Aero (Member) on May 06, 2016 at 7:49 pm

Excellent news, 6 airbags as standard is very reassuring to hear. Too bad VSA/ ESC is not standard… or is it ?

The fact that it will be CKD-fied here at HMSB’s Malacca plant is already praiseworthy, very few people will appreciate this but trust me, this is a very special case.

I strongly believe that the new Civic FC will bring back the good old days of Civics, back when the Civic was desirable…. If not the EG/ EH, or EK/ EJ, certainly the FD… let’s just forget the FB even existed. haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
  • The steering looks big.. or just the angle of the photo..

• Heaven on May 06, 2016 at 8:16 pm

Good job Honda Malaysia for the commendable number of airbags! Next, if you can fix the fugly rear for the facelift version in 2 years time, you will have me as a eager customer.

• Muhammad on May 06, 2016 at 8:27 pm

Price from RM150k. Honda (Proton) Accord (Perdana) from RM110k for the 2.0L

• TherealCivic on May 06, 2016 at 8:47 pm

Bye bye KiA & Hyundai , u tried your best but your best was not good enough. Pls go back and sell your junk in Korea.

This Civic is just gonna blow those 2 Korean wannabes back to Korea!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 13
  • markgoh on May 06, 2016 at 8:51 pm

pls with good build quality…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
    • mr w205 on May 06, 2016 at 11:01 pm

Even accord not really good quality.. rattling dashboard.. squeaking sound during braking .. just sold my 9tg gen accrod to my sister in law..

• Industry-insider on May 06, 2016 at 9:14 pm

honda malaysia just shifted malaysian consumer attention away from the fact they cut cost by not having honda sensing

• I will wait for the facelift, hopefully by then Honda sensing is made compulsory here

• theman on May 06, 2016 at 9:30 pm

Rest in Junk Scrap Metal pieces Toyota Corolla Altis in Malaysia.
    This New Civic will eventually flood the whole of bolehland compared the the previous hideous 9th generation. It will outsell and outmatch the Altis in terms of sales performance. Great Specs too. Bye2 Sam Loo. LOL

• THis surprises me , 6 airbags standard across the range while Powered seats as well. I must praise Honda Malaysia for this. Well done Honda!

• carcharger on May 06, 2016 at 9:44 pm

… Therealcivic… You just wait and see the coming Elantra sport 1.6 Tgdi, 204 hp…

• takNakP1 on May 06, 2016 at 10:19 pm

very likely above 130k.
    anyway is a winner approach that touch majority car lover’s heart

• Where is Honda Sensing?

• Hondaowner on May 06, 2016 at 10:59 pm

engine bay for 1.5 turbo is a total dissapointment. champion of messiness

• Put me in the list is you will have a paddle shifter.

• No honda sensing?

• KL Has Fallen (2017) on May 06, 2016 at 11:34 pm

the interior looks cheap for 2016 standard…pass!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • CrazyMobilo on May 07, 2016 at 12:42 am

UMW can go bang dodols afta this la!!
    Good Job Honda! Placed my booking ready!!

• Harry chau on May 07, 2016 at 2:45 am

With Takata airbag issues still unresolved till today whereby 13 victims had been killed globally, better stay away from purchasing any of this new or old Honda or Toyota cars at this moment.

There is a saying “Prevention is better than cure”.

No any honda car for the matter is not my cup of tea anymore cost sub standard Takata airbags were to be installed once again.

Me and my friends confidence level is zero on honda cars right now and we do not wish to be a victims killed by Takata airbags installed in honda cars until the airbags are proven to be safe once again.

Let wait for more reports globally then .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
    • Takano on May 07, 2016 at 8:49 am

Dude. Honda don’t use takata anymore

• Why limit yourself to Honda and Toyota only?? Don’t forget that BMW, Ford, Ferrari, Mercedes, VW and a few other manufacturers were also affected by the Takata airbag recall. On another note all the affected manufacturers announced that they have stopped using Takata airbags so all the new cars since the beginning of this year is not using Takata airbags anymore.

• mason on May 07, 2016 at 10:08 am

do u think car manufacturer will be stupid enough to continue to use takata faulty airbag after such a big issue? i bet car manufacture already setup a team to focus on airbag segment to assure 0% error. so it is safe for sure.

• Nooraidah on May 07, 2016 at 7:55 am

The proton senile old man Mr M will cry when this Honda beauty launched starting from RM104k. His Accordana starts from RM120k for the base model. Good luck senile old man and your proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 15
  • UMW TOYOTA on May 07, 2016 at 8:15 am

6airbag = 6kills..prefer vios 2airbag..atleast less kills

• heybadigol (Member) on May 07, 2016 at 8:52 am

After comparing the US/Canada, Thai & Indonesian Civics (online of course), just realised that our Indonesian friends actually get rear AC vents in their Civic. Whereas neither US/Canada & Thailand (which is HQ for Honda ASEAN) has them. This is quite interesting, as it meant Honda Indonesia had to re-engineer a bit the front armrest area to accommodate those vents. Of course, the addition of the rear AC vents does mean slightly less legroom for someone sitting in the middle rear seat, as the vents has to go somewhere, and that goes behind where the front armrest area/storage ends. But its not too cramped for the rear passenger. And the design of the rear AC vents is quite nice looking too, so it does not look like an after-thought.

If Indonesia can add rear AC vents, does that mean Malaysian can get them too? But judging by lack of any promotion or marketing of rear AC, I kinda doubt this. But we’ll find out soon enough in June when the new Civic gets launched here.

• There is rear airconds. There are way too many other exciting features hence perhaps it’s not important

• assembled in thailand?

hmm…so should be priced closed to the recent facelifted focus which is from thailand too.

• Car lover on May 07, 2016 at 10:32 am

The more u get, the higher price u pay. I thk shld be around RM130k for NA & RM145k for Turbo. Any contest for price guessing?

• 1million on May 07, 2016 at 10:11 pm

Better buy property

• ganni on May 08, 2016 at 7:16 pm

yeah..u are right..be smart..buy property is better..buy property first n if u can afford this car why not???

• 1million on May 09, 2016 at 11:31 am

No because car RV will go down, property always up

• ganni on May 09, 2016 at 10:07 pm

that is a typical answer and information..some ppl hv desire..if they bought a few properties..why not they spend money for their fav car??

• Gerrard Peter Wai on May 09, 2016 at 3:23 am

Yeah right, as if property is priced reasonably by all those greedy developers here.

• rchoo on May 09, 2016 at 7:56 am

Better buy Jetta at 88K and 408 at 86K lah. Similar performance and features at significantly lower price. I think at that price can get another MYVI for free. Ha ha..

• Should thanks to korean cars at least.. As without their good full specs previously, malaysians will still be having downgraded malaysian specs till today.. That goes to all sushi cars…

• Shud thank P1 as well

• john otak batu on May 08, 2016 at 5:17 pm

Should thank BN as well

• Yeah, why not? Party Hard only supports overpriced underspec moving coffin toyota. So we shud kuburkan toyota/P2/Party Hard.

• john otak batu on May 09, 2016 at 12:07 pm

At least Party Hard supports kempen turunkan harga kereta, what did BN do with the janji to reduce car price for 30%? You want to tell us about the Subaru again or tell us by giving billions more to Proton so that crony vendors can keep their jobs? If not for BN, P1 has long been dikuburkan in its own coffin and we can all Party Hard

• Ifuria on May 07, 2016 at 11:27 am

Wonder if the defective airbags issue will be rectified in this new model. Safety first but safety killing you is not the way to go. Other specs looks decent though

• This gen of Civic is great car.
    Is EEV comes during launch or later?? Later on the 1st batch buyer cry if EEV qualified later and gets 10k cheaper.

• I'm just saying on May 07, 2016 at 12:08 pm

Prices and safety features are very significant for a car in our country nowadays. If civic want to outsell it’s rivals, it must meet the above criteria. Since the safety features are quite acceptable, the price must be affordable. Honda should focus more on selling the car in a large volume. If the price is too high, surely it will affects the sales. In my opinion, the 1.8L variant should be selling at below 120k and the 1.5L turbo variant should be selling at not more than 132k.

• I am buying 10 as company cars for staff use!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • BeemerFreak on May 07, 2016 at 2:50 pm

Kudos Honda….lets wipe out and finish Toyota.

• Ben yap on May 07, 2016 at 5:09 pm

jetta faster or civic1.5 turbo?

• Jetta-Man on May 07, 2016 at 5:52 pm

I think this new Civic can tapau my Jetta lah.. Aisehhh. It’ s time to remap ini macam. Kudos to Honda. Welcome to fun driving experience.

• samtowtruck on May 07, 2016 at 9:20 pm

And prepare for tow truck service membership

• Henry on May 08, 2016 at 5:10 pm

A Jetta will “tapau” itself into the service centre. You don’t need Honda to do that.

• ayamxxx on May 07, 2016 at 6:30 pm

Well depend on driver.

• FIST (Member) on May 07, 2016 at 7:05 pm

I’m guessing jetta, it has both supercharger and turbocharger

• Ex boy racer on May 09, 2016 at 3:31 am

Whatever it is don’t race on public roads and become a nuisance and danger to other people. Don’t test your airbags at other people’s expense

• rchoo on May 09, 2016 at 8:01 am

Jetta is faster because of the significantly higher torque at low rev. Better pickup and acceleration at overtaking manoeuvre.

• contender on May 07, 2016 at 5:58 pm

6 airbags good move but are they from Takata airbags where already 2 deaths Honda City Takata airbag. So more airbags may not be a good thing …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
    • wayang on May 08, 2016 at 10:27 pm

Dont say like that
      Malaysian very kiasu one
      Even if 6 airbags is from takata they also want
      Because same price less airbag they cannot accept
      Quantity more than quality, because of quantity they die also nvm one

• me me me on May 07, 2016 at 7:46 pm

TAKATA Airbags recalls waiting list

• Proton, please rebadge it with all safety features asap. Thank you.

• wiraturbo on May 07, 2016 at 9:51 pm

People gives 6 airbags & power seat for all variants, whereas one gives DRL & bodykit, pity their SA… LOL

• I_Miss_You_by_Blink_182 on May 07, 2016 at 10:38 pm

Where is Honda Sensing that many other countries offer for Civic and even the new facelift 2016 Accord for only USD1k (RM4k)? Honda Malaysia, did you know that 6 airbags and VSC are STANDARD safety features not meant for advertisement? Not to mention your latest 2 death cases due to Takata airbags and now you are promoting the 6 airbags as a ‘new’ safety feature. Am not sure if it’s Honda Malaysia’s decision or the pathetic government imposing these on Honda’s new Civic to reduce competition in the safety category. Damn, these cronies are risking other people’s lives for their own profit.

Give us the Honda Sensing package or you’re cheating rakyat’s money when overseas models get them! Lane Departure Warning (LDW), Lane Keeping Assist System (LKAS), Road Departure Mitigation (RDM), Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC), Forward Collision Warning (FCW), Collision Mitigation Braking System (CMBS).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 6
    • Rohan on May 09, 2016 at 1:03 am

Real driver use manual….real driver no need all this…real driver must have control all.no need help like stupid need helo to drive supercar

• Jaychao on May 08, 2016 at 2:38 am

Honda=Drb Hicom
    Proton=Drb Hicom
    Hehehe….bonus bonus

• chocobo7779 on May 08, 2016 at 10:42 am

I actually contacted one of Honda SA and I got some info on the new Civic:

1. Comes in three specs – 1.8, 1.5 Turbo and 1.5 Turbo Premium.

2. All variants (yes even the lowest one) come with six airbags, VSA, cruise control, touch screen head unit with reverse camera and power seats.

3. Prices starts from RM115K to RM135K.

4. LED headlamps are only available for the 1.5 Turbo Premium.

Judging from the preliminary specs, this looks like it can even put the entry-level Accord to shame when it comes to equipment levels.

• camtakpro on May 08, 2016 at 8:18 pm

Bye bye Jetta, Golf, Altis, Focus, 308, Mazda 3, Accord, Camry, Teana…

• ganni on May 09, 2016 at 12:16 pm

i can smell this new civic will be flooded in Malaysia road in future..and maybe potential accord buyer will consider on this civic as well..

• Badguy on May 08, 2016 at 1:21 pm

With this new civic and other models. Honda may maintain top seller again for non-national carmaker

• cendol (Member) on May 08, 2016 at 2:29 pm

What is the indicative starting base price?

• civicx on May 09, 2016 at 9:41 am

where is lanewatch!!??

• vodka on May 09, 2016 at 10:08 am

Colors offered:

1) White Orchid Pearl
    2) Dark Ruby Red Pearl
    3) Lunar Silver
    4) Modern Steel Metallic
    5) Crystal Black

Hope HM will offer more exciting colors in the months to come like Rallye Red/Carnival Red, Cosmic Blue Metallic and Brilliant Sporty Blue Metallic and launch it together with a higher spec RS version as well!

• Honda Sensing? on May 09, 2016 at 10:50 am

Where is Honda Sensing? Already super-duper late launch, bila launched, tak ade sensing pulak. Even Thailand’s Civic gets it. Safety of drivers and passengers is not that important in our country apparently, what sad state malaysia is becoming..

• matjava on May 09, 2016 at 3:49 pm

Should I pick 1.5 turbo CIVIC or 1.5 turbo FORD FOCUS?

• Damian DC on Jul 08, 2016 at 6:08 pm

Don’t bother with this car, at least not yet. Just got mine and the AC is broken and after spending 4 hours barely a week into owning the car, they still can’t figure out the problem.