Hyundai Elantra, Kia Picanto bag 5-star ANCAP rating

In the Australasian New Car Assessment Programme (ANCAP), the 2016 Hyundai Elantra and the Kia Picanto have both scored a five-star crash safety rating. Overall, the Elantra gained a total score of 35.01 out of 37 points, while the Picanto obtained a 34.26 score out of 37 points.

In Australia, the Elantra comes standard with dual frontal, side chest and curtain airbags. To break it down, the sedan obtained full marks for side-impact crash test, pole impact test and seat belt reminders. The sedan however scored an ‘acceptable’ pedestrian protection rating as tests revealed that the base of the windscreen was an area for safety design improvement.

“Advanced safety assist technologies are unfortunately lacking on the Elantra, and Hyundai – along with other manufacturers – should step up and include technologies such as autonomous emergency braking (AEB) on all models,” said ANCAP CEO, James Goodwin.

As for the Kia Picanto, it also comes standard with dual frontal, side chest and curtain airbags. It scored a 15.12 out of 16 for frontal offset test, a 14.14 out of 16 for side impact test, and full marks for the pole test.

Overall, whiplash protection was rated ‘acceptable’, while pedestrian protection came in at ‘marginal’. “The Kia reinforces that safety should not be restricted by budget with the Picanto providing an affordable five-star vehicle choice,” Goodwin concluded.

GALLERY: Hyundai Elantra

GALLERY: Kia Picanto at the 2015 IIMS

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• Muniandy Periasamy on May 06, 2016 at 5:28 pm

See where hyundai is. Both Proton and Hyundai started around same time. Hyundai started mabe 10 years earlier than Proton. Today, Hyundai sells 9 million cars worldwide whilst their cars are winning awards

Proton sells 100,000 cars per year and 90% of those cars are sold to Government departments and ministries and enforcement authorities.

Why the difference between Hyundai and Proton? Very simple. Hyundai workers work hard, focussed on their work and diligent in their work.

Proton workers are relax, lepak, makan nasi lemak, rehat 8x a day, minum teh dan makan kuih lapis in kantin 8x a day.

See the difference?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 6
    • Muhammad on May 06, 2016 at 5:34 pm

Yes Proton is really a garbage failed company. Thanks to that senile old man 32 million Malaysians pay through their nose every month to drive Vios and City

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
    • Saitam on May 06, 2016 at 5:45 pm

I have seen alot of Proton bashing on this site. but rarely I seen along the line of your argument that says the worker is lazy.

The culture of the company needs to be nurtured by the top management. nobody wakes up everyday with the mind of lets go and screw the company.

Performance management, is one of the expectations of a manager. Sadly, not many knows how.

• Yeah. P1 bashers will now say ANCAP sudah kena dedak by Hyundai/Kia. That why their cars got 5 star ANCAP just like Preve/Suprima.

• Hyundai and Kia are actually good products. It is unfortunate that the dealerships for both the brands are the weak link and spoil the ownership experience.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
    • Heaven on May 06, 2016 at 8:35 pm

I couldn’t agree more. I was contemplating getting a Kia, but decided against it for the very reason you mentioned. Kia and Hyundai should open up their horizons with better qualified dealers and authorized service providers.

• Mana Janji Najib nak bayar habis hutang 1MDB? on May 06, 2016 at 6:16 pm

what if i kimchi can make the car drink less petrol. then will be a good car.

• Kimchi shud bring their excellent crdi currently selling in europe/australia instead to msia…very low fuel consumption compared to any japs petrols….plus huge amount of torque too!!

• Ong Chee Boon on May 07, 2016 at 12:46 am

I am one of the Kia Picanto 1.2 MT owner here. Yes i have mentioned it in the past but just wanna put out a simple review on this little car here.

From safety aspects (sticking to the topic), i got:
    1) 6 airbags (in one A segment car!) Shame on all japanese marques except Honda
    2) ABS
    3) EBD
    4) FIVE (5) Three-point seat belts (Yes i know it is a bit cramped for 3 people at back, but yeah you get 1 seat belt for each passenger)
    5) Child safety lock for doors
    6) ISOFIX for two rear passenger seats
    7) And most importantly, VEHICLE STABILITY CONTROL. (VIOS NOPE, Almera NOPE, Myvi NOPE, Axia NOPE, Suzuki Alto and Swift NOPE)
    8) 5 STAR ANCAP as shown above.

Cruising at high speed very stable due to heavier chassis and sturdy build. Coupled with manual transmission, it may not give you the “hot hatch” feel (hey its a frugal cheap car), but you can actually have some fun driving it. Handling so-so, steering feedback so-so only (compared to my golf though XD)

Fuel consumption: 33 litre for 440-480 KM, depending on my driving mood. I know Kia is bullshitting its 21km/litre in-house FC, but 15-16km/litre for a petrol 1200cc engine, that is quite impressive for me.

My few gripes?
    1) MT offers 14 inch rims only, so i plan to upgrade to 16-17 inch to increase highspeed stability and road grip.

2) If it is possible, i want to slap a mini turbo or supercharger into its engine bay to increase its weak HP and Torque. (That’s a BIG if.)

3) MT only offers a simple radio as infotainment only.
    4) No fog light (not that it matters anyway) BUT, it has LED Daylight, really value for money.

5) Clutch pedal feedback still needs some improvement.

Aside from that, never regretted buying this Kia Picanto! Don’t worry about the spare parts, it is increasingly available, and not that expensive already. Service is quite decent, though still not as good or fast as Toyota. (As if Toyota genuine parts are very cheap nowadays, meh )

TLDR? Get a car with great safety rating. Who knows it might mitigate serious injuries to you or your loved one, or even save your life.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • nabill (Member) on May 07, 2016 at 1:06 pm

16-17 is an overkill for a small car…go 15′ but please dont save up on tyres , get some proper high grade tyres n u will be fine…

• Ong Chee Boon on May 08, 2016 at 1:28 am

Yep, definitely will do, currently my golf has all 4 michelin PS3. Great quality and reliability

• sambal chicken on May 09, 2016 at 8:30 pm

Just drive the car as it means to. Please don’t waste your money on changing your rims. Change to better tyres instead.

Don’t try modding your car engine or put supercharger or whatsoever. For christ sake, it’s a 1.2 engine and it’s never meant to take higher pressure. Save your money for better car.

I have been thru car modding scene and looking back, it’s a waste of money. No matter how you mod, you still can’t beat a proper car built from factory.

A lot of folks forgot when you start modding, reliability is always questionable unless you know what you are doing. Ride can become harsher till your grandma complains and loud noise that will give you migraine.

So, enjoy your car for now, save your mod money and buy better car in 3 to 5 years time.