Perodua Myvi Advance receives new two-tone colour scheme; SE and Advance get rebates of up to RM3,800

It’s official – Perodua has announced that its popular B-segment hatchback, the Perodua Myvi, will now receive a two-tone colour scheme for the range-topping Advance model, as well as lower prices for both the SE and Advance variants for a limited time

From tomorrow until June 5, the SE will be RM3,800 cheaper, retailing at RM46,168 for the manual version and RM49,168 for the automatic, while the Advance will be priced at RM54,318 (a RM3,650 rebate). The two-tone Advance will be RM800 more expensive at RM55,118; all prices are on-the-road with insurance.

As we’ve seen in the earlier leaks, the Myvi Advance gets a new Ebony Black top to go with the Electric Blue paint scheme. The gloss black finish covers the roof, cant rails, A-, B- and C-pillars, door mirror covers as well as the rear number plate garnish. New door visors, currently an option, are also fitted here.

2016-Perodua-Myvi-prices

The whole thing does give off a look that’s rather reminiscent of the new 2016 Toyota Passo Moda, which is available in a similar colour scheme – a hint of what’s to come for the next-generation Myvi, then?

No other changes have been made, so the Advance retains the same amount of kit, including leather upholstery, a leather-wrapped steering wheel and gearknob, PVC coil mats, a touchscreen navigation system, a reverse camera, dual airbags and ABS with EBD and brake assist. The existing 102 hp/136 Nm 1.5 litre 3SZ-VE DVVT four-cylinder engine has also been retained.

Additionally, Perodua has also revealed that the 1.3 Premium X and Premium XS variants will be discontinued, as part of a rationalisation of the lineup due to “market demand.” Those looking for a cheaper Myvi will now have to be content with the base 1.3 Standard (the one without ABS, no less), priced at RM40,862 for the manual and RM43,862 for the automatic.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• rosmah on May 06, 2016 at 10:44 am

Eh wait, just tukar paint job, cheaper price? HAHAHA iklan macam mahu facelift. Maybe P2 want to move stock for ‘newly designed and engineered by P2’ Myvi?

• hahaha on May 06, 2016 at 11:57 am

wwwwwww!!!! so special!!!!!
      nail gatal nak kereta baru nih!

• OMG…damn it,why make the Myvi uglier with two tone colours? The attract ppl only the discount only.

• Hvannees on May 07, 2016 at 11:55 pm

Refer to the price. It should be just 400 more expensive than regular advance.

• sick&tired on May 06, 2016 at 10:50 am

fuh!! two tone color! can consider as new model!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • Muniandy Periasamy on May 06, 2016 at 11:09 am

Too many Perodua cars meet accidents in a year due to lack of VSC. Infact, thousands die in accidents that could have been prevented if Perodua put VSC in their cars.

Adding VSC is hardly RM400 in a car. But to Perodua, the human life is not worth RM400. They rather untung the Rm400 than see the buyer of their cars safe and secure.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 4
      • Malaysian admit to join moving to coffin program offer by Toyota and Perodua

• Where is Najib's Promise? on May 06, 2016 at 11:35 am

I just passed the kampung and everyone shouting cukur cukur cukur because of this RM3800 discount. the one leading the group is john aka albert peria aka boring samy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
      • If i did not kiss Najib’s ass, you think you would have a cheap VSC car like Iriz? So, cukurlah and hail Najib for janji ditunaikan

• Not like anybody gonna praise Najib for price down, so im just gonna say Iriz is starting to bite Myvi on its fat ass rump of a backside. God kompeni better watch its rear too. P1 is coming. Fast.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 22
    • Mozilla Chrome on May 06, 2016 at 11:01 am

Emmm…no?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
    • Iriz? You mean the one that supposed to be a game-changer until you got to borrow 1.5bil from the gov?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 11
    • Muniandy Periasamy on May 06, 2016 at 11:16 am

Pity the buyers of Perodua cars. They usually have no choice but to buy a Perodua due to lack of financial capacity.

But Perodua aka crony UMW aka crony Malaysian Government takes advantage of these people. Punishing them by not giving VSC, 2 airbags and some cars, no ABS.

Yet, these people will say syukur and vote for BN. All of us know of a family member who has died in a Perodua. Could that accident be prevented if the car had VSC?

Saving Rm3800 won’t pay hundreds of thousands of ringgit in hospital bills if you survive an accident due to lack of ABS and VSC

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
      • Oh how desperate trying to associate BN with Perodua. Proton got 1.5 bil from the BN gov, not Perodua, remember?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
    • 1.5 billion bailout on May 06, 2016 at 11:21 am

Ya, Perodua has to scare of a kompeni that needs 1.5 billion bailout.

• Where is Najib's Promise? on May 06, 2016 at 11:22 am

Perodua, people thought your Kelisa with yellow and black roof was a joke. Give people safety features please.

Your boss Najib already promise the rakyat 30% reduction in car prices. As a national car maker, you should start first reducing your car prices before others start to follow. Reduce RM3800 is still not 30%. Also, no ESC, no ABS in your cars.

Do you know why you have done well the past 20 years? You have done well merely because MITI has jacked up the prices of all other cars by RM30k that we Malaysians are forced to buy your car, being the cheapest.

But your car has ZERO safety features which puts of lives and our family in constant danger. We can only pray that we don’t meet an accident. If that happens, we are dead on the spot. Until today, still no VSC. VSC is now basic and compulsory in any car in Europe.
      Again I tell you, please don’t compromise on yours cars. You have done well in sales but at our detriment and at the expense of our safety. We are no more your guinea pigs Perodua. Give us cheaper prices as well as VSC and more airbags.

People always pick and condemn Proton but you too have got all the Protectionism like Proton. Yes, Proton may have sucked tens of billions to stay afloat, but you Perodua, though you have not sucked that much, you have benefited from MITI protectionism.

Honda for instance was about to sell their Honda City for RM50k. But this proposal was shot down by MITI. How do I know? Well I used to work for Honda at a very high level. We used to negotiate with MITI. But MITI was always demanding we increase our prices.
      Surprising why MITI is asking us to increase our prices. What else? It is to protect Proton and Perodua.

Your cars, still can be reduced further and improve safety features. We are overpaying you as you have still not reduced your car prices by 30% as promised by your big boss Najib.
      You are still screwing the lower income people. The big guns in Perodua Boardroom all earn 6 figures per month so they don’t know about the man on the street who still earns RM900 per month. People say, even with RM10k is hard to live in KL. Can you imagine somebody earning RM900?

We tend to blame Toyota and Honda for high prices but let us assume they are for the middle class and Perodua is for the middle lower and lower income people.

Perodua is still very pricey and burdensome for the lower income.

Don’t be proud Perodua. Lower your car prices Perodua.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
  • tokmoh. on May 06, 2016 at 10:59 am

inb4 Subaru SA John come bangga la Forester drop price 31%, janji dicapati.

• Some say im subaru SA, n some say im P1 SA, but I say im at least better off being either of those than toyota SA Sam Loo aka Albert aka Albert Yong aka George Abdul aka RBA john aka Samy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
      • tokmoh. on May 06, 2016 at 11:56 am

Relax bro, acah2 je :)

Adds entertainment in paultan. This is internet, no need to be serious #kipidap #dungibap

• No problemo. I just like to pry open these lazy bum keybod warriors eyes cuz they keep harping about being forced to buy overpriced toyota coffins cuz ini semua salah Gov.
          Theres alwiz better valued options like Forrester or X-trail or CX-3/5 if they actually stop being lazy MY pipu and look for it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
  • For those who bought 1.3 and 1.5 se. Can cry at bed jor.
    Now cheaper than 3, 800, ,add in salesman discount.

• tokmoh. on May 06, 2016 at 12:00 pm

But myvi have given rm3k discount for some time edi, at least since year end discount last year.

Cukur la harga myvi turun.

• chowhai on May 06, 2016 at 11:04 am

I’m willing to wager that with the cheaper price, the kit count will be reduced

• samlu1 on May 06, 2016 at 11:13 am

Where is Najib’s promise to reduce car prices? Double whammy. Sell Hilux so expensive to Malaysians but strip all the safety equipment in this car. VSC pun tak ada.
    Najib promised us 3 years ago that car prices will come down by 30%. Next election is 2018.
    The problem in Malaysia is that, most car companies are indirectly owned by the Government of Malaysia. Go and see each car company, it is the Government or a GLC which is the majority shareholder. This UMW is classic example. Majority owned by Government.
    So, the Government got no incentive to reduce car prices at all to ease the burden of the rakyat. The Ministers have a wonderful life. Each Minister swims in tens of millions of ringgit, if not billions. Although their official gaji is RM10k to RM25k, somehow, the Ministers have tens and even hundreds of million of ringgit.
    They don’t know how the average Malaysian suffer. Lately every household is complaining that their TNB bills are RM500 to RM1000. Food is so pricey. Petrol is so high for an oil producing country. Even our Internet is one of the most expensive in the world.
    Our Ministers don’t know how we suffer. They tell us to tanam jagung and tanam kangkung. Then even our PM has told us, don’t worry, can buy whole chicken for RM1. Infact, he said RM1 for whole chicken is sold everywhere in Malaysia and Najib himself buys this RM1 whole chicken to eat.
    I have travelled all over Malaysia looking for this RM1 whole chicken. Can anyone here help me find this RM1 whole chicken please?

• No one care about your VSC. Proof look at VSC car like Proton. Not selling. Anyway you sure Proton didn’t remove the VSC from their car like what they did with the tether lock?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
      • About as sure as P2 din wrench out DVVT from viva engine n put into axia, oh wai….

• Nancy on May 07, 2016 at 3:37 pm

Oh…. my chicken…..!!!

• Ollie on May 06, 2016 at 11:20 am

This two tone thing – JPJ approved?

I have a question – Myvi is an OK car. Reliable, fine. So people are happily buying it non-stop with no complaints.

But it can’t compare to any small car from anywhere, not a Daihatsu, Kia/Hyundai, VW, Peugeot/Renault, Suzuki, Ford, whatever. Ford Fiesta is basically a direct competitor to a Myvi in any other market. Myvi can’t even come close in any way shape or form.

My question is why are people so happy with having no options and being forced to buy a car?

• 2 tone have been there since kelisa era. Mini oso uses 2 tone.

As to ur question, maybe pipu happy to have car cuz if they support public transport, means they support Najib?

• Nearly more than a decade since their first launch of the Myvi, Perodua is still selling vehicles without Traction Control and Electronic Stability Control, not to mention ABS-less vehicles! Joke of the decade.

• Caring on May 06, 2016 at 12:42 pm

Myvi sales are greatly reduced after introduction of Iriz. That is why Perodua have to scale down the Myvi model line and reduce price.
    Not many people know that because official statistical report ALWAYS report TOTAL number of cars sold by Perodua – which indicated an increase. But the increase is mainly the cheaper model Axia. You could see it on the street, there are very few Myvi newest facelift model around.
    Myvi sales has plummeted due to the fact that Malaysians are now more aware of safety, and rather choose Iriz over Myvi due to better safety rating (Iriz – 5 star and with VSC, Myvi – 4 star and without VSC). Axia – although not safe but still selling like hot cakes – purely because it is damn cheap. My advice to Perodua – you better buck up and make safer cars for Malaysian, if not, your sales of other model (apart of Axia – cheap model) will be greatly reduce by demand. Then, it will be too late, and Perodua will become champion of cheap car seller i.e. Axia. No doubt, Perodua will still remain as the No.1 car seller in Malaysia in terms of volume, but the big chunk of volume of its sales is only cheap Axia. Not a good long term strategic move for a company.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
    • Myvi’s sales is being cannibalized by it’s own Axia! Iriz doesn’t even create a small dent on their sales to begin with. I believe their target by lowering the Myvi price, is to sway some buyer that intended to buy the top range Axia. And also, an adjustment getting ready to slot their sedan slightly above the Myvi pricing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
      • I see more iriz on the hiways than myvi lagi best, lagi facelift, lagi gila

• It’s both.

Axia, especially the top line, is priced too closed to Myvi.

And no one can say that Myvi is not affected by Iriz.

I can confirm that there are few persons around me who opted for Iriz instead of Myvi.
        Having said that, it’d be of course a dent in Myvi sales.

• Sadist on May 06, 2016 at 12:54 pm

How sadistic..they should have discontinued their no-ABS entry level Myvi instead of the Premium X & XS.

This is just nothing more but marketing/business strategy..so that people can opt for the 1.5L variants.

• FIST (Member) on May 06, 2016 at 12:57 pm

Overpriced crap

• Pintaras on May 06, 2016 at 2:26 pm

Still Iriz 1.6 MT better than gearup

• Do Perodua customer really need these fancy paint and body-kits upgrade? Why wont Perodua just maintain the basic look of the car and channel all the cost of these useless accessories to well equip their car with better safety equipment. The ABS is the, the EBD is there for some of the model. Why can’t they just include the VSC and more airbag and cut all the crap body-kits and extra make-up for the car?

• Sewel on May 06, 2016 at 3:44 pm

Paul walker aka fast 7 died in porsche..talk about abs vdc meh??

• movingcoffin on May 06, 2016 at 4:30 pm

Ok ok so you wanna say that dun need to have seat belts too? Lol

• If drive like hantu, of coz all the safety kits will not help la. Bawak kereta kebal pun jahanam if drive like no body business.

• Cina Gila on May 06, 2016 at 9:56 pm

Malaysian be like:

Myvi baru – Xde VSC, Coffin car, booo and whatsoever..

Iriz – Mahal, CVT proton tak bagus, proton tak laku bla3..

So nak mcm mana lg? U guys complaining ape u guys dpt? Org lain juga yg untung..Complaint la mcm mana pon Perodua terus no.1 juga. Mcm cina berniaga penipu, apa diorg kisah? yg penting diorg lagi kaya drpd Melayu and conquer Tanah MELAYU!

• Oh no.. on May 07, 2016 at 1:05 am

Perodua and toyota sama ja… lebihkan gaya… hilang smua safety. kalau ada pun yg full spec . aa yo yoo

• Saga still better

• this car is fail..no more safety car..ugly