VIDEO: 2016 Toyota Hilux M’sian TVC – going beyond

Following the official launch of the new 2016 Toyota Hilux in Malaysia, the first promo video for the pick-up truck has been released by Toyota Malaysia. If you suddenly get the urge to pick a Hilux up (pun intended) after watching the video, check out our launch report to get the low-down on which variant is the right one for you.

The 40-second video isn’t short of excitement, with the Hilux transitioning from one locale to the next. It doesn’t matter if the pick-up is at the beach, in the jungle, on rocky terrain or even in the confines of the city, the Hilux certainly does not look out of place, as depicted.

Of course, this trait is supported by an enhanced platform, which it shares with the new Fortuner as well. Toyota’s two new GD turbodiesel engines – in 2.4 and 2.8 litre guises – also provide the grunt necessary to handle most situations. The new Active Traction Control (A-TRC) system on the 2.4G A/T and 2.8G also steps in when it senses a loss of traction, useful when on slippery terrain.

The cabin also gets a significant bump up compared to the older model. It may be utilitarian in nature, but it comes with plenty of nice equipment including an Optitron instrument cluster and a Camry-style 4.2-inch colour LCD multi-info display, leather seats and a six-speaker DVD infotainment system with a 6.1-inch touchscreen (depending on variant).

Interested? Well, prices start at RM89,900 for the sole single cab offering in the range, while double cab versions start at RM91,900 and go all the way up to RM133,900. All prices mentioned here are on-the-road, inclusive of insurance.

We’ve already had a brief go in the new Hilux and Fortuner. After viewing the newly-released promotional video and reading through our review of the new Hilux, will you be interested in picking one up (pardon the puns)?

GALLERY: 2016 Toyota Hilux 2.8G

GALLERY: 2016 Toyota Hilux 2.4G
GALLERY: 2016 Toyota Hilux official images

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• UMW TOYOTA on May 06, 2016 at 5:34 pm

hilux best pickup

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 28
    • Muniandy Periasamy on May 06, 2016 at 5:57 pm

OMG, the normal models don’t even have VSC. Only high end model got VSC. Malaysian lives not important UMW? In Europe, VSC is compulsory by law. Even cheapo car like Fiat Panda must have VSC. VSC only cost RM400 to put into this Hilux. Acording to UMW, human life is not worth the RM400. They rather untung lebih.

In Malaysia, UMW is Government owned. They think they can do anything. Sell ZERO safety cars at exorbitant prices that risk our lives. UMW knows we got no where to complain to cause no Malaysian dare to complain or take a court case to sue UMW for selling cars without basic safety equipment. Judge will automatically throw the case into tong sampah.

Please UMW, Camry RM160k also got no VSC. This Hilux also, no VSC. We desrve better UMW.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 17
      • MY Gov now abandoning umw toyota like hot coal, ever since it became DAP crony. Their agencies now go for Navaras, x-trails, rangers, everests, colorados,d-maxs.

toyota is going down. Hard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 14
        • UMW is a subsidiary of PNB (permodalan nasional berhad) which is an investment arm belonging to MY govt. In short, UMW is the government.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
    • Really on May 06, 2016 at 10:36 pm

Yeah, the best at being a rip-off. Tell me which RM 100k new car at this age still comes with manual windows, manual side mirrors, steel wheels with plastic covers and no factory-fit alarm?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
  • Leafable on May 06, 2016 at 6:02 pm

This make farmer look cool. Make everyone else who bought this looks like farmer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
  • The video is so cringe-worthy. Doesn’t explain why the dam range is so overpriced and underspecced.

But who cares. The people who buy this probably have Toyota logos tattooed on their foreheads.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 10
    • People who buy TOYOTA where got taste want…..Alots of uncle still think driving a CAMRY is on par with Mercedes le.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 17
  • Sammy Loo on May 06, 2016 at 8:19 pm

Booking for Hilux is crazy, 2.8G waiting period is already 3 months…

• BAMyouhaveAIDS on May 06, 2016 at 9:16 pm

Iriz is better than this

• Only time will tell if this high specs hig price approach will work in Malaysia. Dont be surprised that people are willing to pay to get those features on the 2.8.

• The saint on May 07, 2016 at 9:59 am

Something wrong with the rear wheel

• david on May 07, 2016 at 10:22 am

UMW still using the same marketing technique on the model specifications and short changing on active/passive safety systems. Toyota get some reality check on your products. I used to buy your vehicles until I saw some lights in others.

• Josh Ling on May 09, 2016 at 3:26 pm

I think I saw the same thing before. this TVC looks similar to the Prius one, also jumping from one terrain to another terrain.

• Landcruiser 2 on May 09, 2016 at 4:42 pm

After owning the Landcruiser ll for over 12 years and using it for many offroading, my comments are as follows;
    1. The fuel tank is now moved from where the spare tyre is now moved in front of the rear axle. In the Landcruiser, the fuel tank usually scraped against the ground when going down a deep V terrain. This could puncture the tank.
    2. From the pictures, I cannot see any hook points on the rear frame. Is it hidden in the rear bumper? Front hooks?
    3. With more modern amenities, means more complex electronics/electrical system. This is fine for urban use, but could be a source for trouble if you go across a deep river and water reaches your electrical systems/black boxes/ ECUs, etc.
    4. There is no indication of fording depth/height. The new Ford Ranger is 200mm. Toyota Hilux?
    5. Does Toyota offer any standard accessories for offroading? Eg, winches, snatch straps, chains, etc?