Lexus LX 570 with roof chopped off – RM1.4 million

The Lexus LX 570 is by no means a “compact” car, not in the slightest of words. As the flagship SUV in the Japanese carmaker’s line-up, the third-gen (J200) LX 570 certainly cuts an imposing figure at first glance. But, that doesn’t mean it can’t be remodelled into something a little more “fun.”

If you’ve ever wondered what would happen if you remove the top off of the SUV, UAE Sale shares the same sentiment, and here’s its custom creation. This isn’t just a showpiece either, as you can buy a chop top LX 570 for a reasonable sum of 1.3 million United Arab Emirates dirham (RM1,416,761).

For that money, you’ll get a unique vehicle that is not only a sight to behold, but has zero km on the clock. You’ll also get the 3UR-FE 5.7 litre V8 petrol engine, which outputs 362 hp at 5,600 rpm and 530 Nm at 3,200 rpm. It’s paired with an AE80F eight-speed automatic transmission with full-time all-wheel drive.

Lest with forget, the lack of a roof also means that ample amounts of sunshine will beam down on the passengers, who will still be surrounded by luxuries like leather seats and a dual-screen rear entertainment system. And, you can attach a soft-top should the weather be a little less accommodating. Sounds like one heck of a deal, yes?

With the introduction of this roofless LX 570, could we see the resurgence of the drop-top SUV? Land Rover already has the Range Rover Evoque Convertible, and many years ago, Nissan introduced the Murano CrossCabriolet. Sounds like a good trend, don’t you think?

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• ganni on May 09, 2016 at 12:07 pm

1.4mil dirham but when it comes to malaysia the price will be different anyway..not really convince on the idea though..this car is meant for a luxury SUV..when it did chopped of the roof, this big guy looks like nothing..only my point of view then..anyway nice try by the lexus…

• Roadside stranger on May 09, 2016 at 12:16 pm

Lexus Malaysia/umw is making joke to Malaysian with their crazy selling prices.

• ganni on May 09, 2016 at 2:01 pm

advise you read the article first before making joke of yourself..

• Top Gear did it first

• Huehue on May 09, 2016 at 12:33 pm

You can get a new gtr instead of this weirdo unlogically expensive car

• Joker on May 09, 2016 at 3:01 pm

GTR is for youngsters and those who are seeking for driving pleasure. This LX570 is meant for comfort where tycoons can sit inside dealing business. Sit one before you talking about logics.

• nabill (Member) on May 09, 2016 at 12:34 pm

Whats next, a pickup ferrai 488GTB??

• Batak on May 09, 2016 at 12:35 pm

Leather seats and sunlights doesn’t go well, unless you weren’t planning to have any kids.
    It is also a nice way to get sands inside your car.

• Muniandy Periasamy on May 09, 2016 at 12:39 pm

Arabs are like the abang abang here. When got money, spend like crazy on stupid things and NEVER save, then when oil runs dry and oil price collapse, all cry got no money, help lah, bank soft loan lah etc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • thepolygonal on May 09, 2016 at 12:40 pm

Useful for parading VVIPs in the city during Merdeka or any other official functions.

• argh…my eyes. my eyes…

• Milo tin chopped roof cover still cost 1.4 million, hahaha

• I think use money buy milo tin 2 tone colour is better choice, agree?

• albag on May 09, 2016 at 1:35 pm

to me that’s a humiliation to a macho SUV, making it look like a clown now

• Kancil Hybrid on May 09, 2016 at 1:47 pm

Can someone here make Saga convertible please.

• RavenAii (Member) on May 09, 2016 at 1:56 pm

SUV was intended for going offroad. Nowadays you’ll see almost no people who bought SUV will drive it off-road. The fact they even chopped off the roof makes it more unpractical to be called an Sports Utility Vehicle; should be Show-off Useless Vehicle.

• Hmm... Much Hmm... on May 09, 2016 at 8:27 pm

Most SUV nowadays isn’t even fit for actual off-road. The jokes is the 2wd SUV (AWD is worse), and the worst part is manufacturers are actually turning those Jacked-UP Station Wagons/hatchbacks as SUV’s (so much for modular platforms). Proper SUV used to have a very high ground clearance even before any modifications, proper transfer case, proper differentials… nowadays even a heavily modified SUV get stuck in ditches…

• RavenAii (Member) on May 10, 2016 at 3:25 pm

Yes that’s true. Most proper SUV that are capable to go off-road well usually built on a body-on-frame construction paired with depended rear suspension and proper 4-wheel-drive system. These type of vehicle could go on rough terrains easily and carries heavy cargo with no problem. However SUV (or probably should be called Crossover as it based on a car platform) nowadays are built on uni-body construction to offer better on-road ride quality but greatly reduce the capability of the vehicle to go off-road. Heck even some manufacturers offered their Crossover with independent rear suspension setup which make things more complicated. The fact most of this Crossovers are only equipped with all-wheel-drive system or even only two-wheel-drive (in which I guess not worth to buy), owners need to be very careful if they ever want to step into the dirt.

• I need a vomit bag

• Jimmy on May 09, 2016 at 5:19 pm

1. The designers have no taste.
    2. The buyers have no taste.
    3. Mazda grill is better than Infiniti which is better than Lexus (Lexus spindle shares some similarity with Infiniti, one of them is copycat pirate?). The worst is Acura’s grill, of course.

• Hmm... Much Hmm... on May 09, 2016 at 8:37 pm

Somehow I think they forgot about safety… I can picture it in my mind now, open youtube as someone posted a video of the rear billionaire passengers get flung 40 feet into the air as the car barrel rolls down a highway because another billionaire driver was happily drifting the massive truck, and then their hot model gf’s get flattened by the truck as they slip out of the car while barrel rolling… Oh the gore, oh the blood. Wait a second, there’s already one https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AaNlvRAT4-U
    and there’s more…

• Easy for headshot by assassins in Arab world. LOL!

• sukasuki on May 10, 2016 at 3:18 pm

1.4m n dat ghetto velcro fittings? just wow