2016 Ford Ranger gets five-year warranty until June 30

Ford Ranger 2.2 XLT AT-01

Those looking to purchase a 2016 Ford Ranger will be able to enjoy a limited-time extended five-year/200,000 km warranty. The offer, valid from now through June 30, is available for the Ranger 2.2 XLT and 3.2 XLT, including both manual and automatic variants.

Customers who purchase and register any of the four Ranger XLT models by June 30 will receive the standard three-year/100,000 km manufacturer’s warranty, plus SDAC’s Extended Warranty Programme which comprises of an additional two-year/100,000 km coverage.

“We’re working hard to make sure all customers have a great ownership experience, and we’re pleased to offer those who purchase and register a Ranger XLT from today until June 30 added peace of mind by providing them the SDAC extended warranty programme at no extra cost,” said Syed Ahmad Muzri Syed Faiz, MD of Sime Darby Auto Connexion.

The Ford Ranger 2.2 XLT MT is priced at RM102,268, going up to RM109,688 for the automatic variant. Meanwhile, the 3.2 XLT MT is listed at RM111,808, with the automatic version going for RM119,238. All four variants now also get a reverse camera fitted as standard.

Ford Ranger facelift, 2.2 XLT

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• seancorr (Member) on May 10, 2016 at 6:49 pm

Why don’t they just follow the rest and offer 5 year warranty to the whole lineup? Even the sakai UMW finally made their move.

• jason on May 10, 2016 at 7:26 pm

If I am not wrong, all ford cars in Malaysia are with 5 years warranty except Ranger. So that’s why they add this in for Ranger

• U r right Jason. It is normal that pick up trucks have max 3 yrs warranty due to it being a commercial vehicle where the usage could be different from those private cars

• gonggok on May 10, 2016 at 6:53 pm

Nice offer by Ford/SDAC, but they need to do something about the high servicing charges at their service centres and the frequent lack of parts causing long delays for repairs.

• Still Toyota better. Those who bought Ford cars for looks and specifications sure regretted. They can join VW owners in the loser club

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
      • wayang on May 11, 2016 at 12:27 pm

People here very clever to recommend car one
        All “expert”

Car A 6 airbags ABS EBD VSC RM100k
        Car B 4 airbagw ABS EBD VSC RM100k

Recommend car A
        Load their keyboard with plenty of ammo and start shooting at Car B on the internet about “safety” and ask people to boycott car B
        Claim Car B cuthroat and greedy
        ;)

Spec is life and death matter you know?
        More than services or quality

• yeah i’ll sure regret if i bought T/H instead of my focus. imagine living a boring life and driving tin kosong everyday. yuck

• SDAC oh SDAC…..tak payahlah release info on your insincerity….time-limited extended warranty? Come on lah…its 2016 already.

• increase price and give extra waranty? back to square ma….be honest la SDAC, u want to boost and achieve the mid year target, right? Do u know why your car can’t sell? In fact, i want to buy the wildtrak last week, but malacca ford dealer ( blood sucker ) only want to trade in my focus 50% less than market price, FXXX u la…that’s why malacca ford dealer only manage to sold 1 unit of mondeo till now…lol…god bless u

• contradiction on May 11, 2016 at 1:33 am

You bought focus, now you want wildtrak and you told us ford cars can’t sell.

• if ford can trade in 10-15% lowest than market, i will agree. But 50% lowest, no way! ford is good car to me, the problem is the dealer, not the car….anyway, i booked Navara VL already

• PoorService on May 11, 2016 at 8:40 am

Ford needs to have more service outlets in all major towns in Malaysia, pronto.
    I wanted to buy a Ford Ranger Auto 2.2 when it was launched from a dealer in Shah Alam, Section 15, but I was told to wait at least 6 months. I was also told there is no service centers in Shah Alam.
    Now that I have a better alternative, I will get a Toyota Hilux, where the service center is nearby in section 15, plus easy to get and cheap spare parts everywhere. Including small towns.
    And yes, I have an office-mate with a Ranger 2.2 Manual – he said the spare parts are expensive and the service is poor. He is regretting it now.
    In all honesty, Ford Ranger is better looking than the new Toyota Hilux, but then for a pick up truck the looks must also match the real capabilities.

• wayang on May 11, 2016 at 12:22 pm

But but but, the people here all kondem toyota

People here compare spec and price only
      The rest negligible because they keyboard warrior only, never think of ownership of a car encompasses services as well
      Ask them buy toyota, say expensive, no spec, no safety, old tech
      Go buy cheap, high tech, high spec cars complain no reliablity, no service centre, no spare parts, expensive spare parts

Wait till that Muniady Pariahsamy share some of his wisdom with you ya

The best complaint I saw from this car blog is ppl complaining hilux not stable at speed over 160kmh and describe how dangerous that pick up is

• Really on May 11, 2016 at 9:29 am

If you are talking about low maintenance and affordable spare parts, I am sure the D-Max is better than any other pickups. The original spare parts for Hilux are expensive. The reason people say Hilux spare parts are cheap is because of the abundance of imitation parts available in the market.

Ford has some good products but is still hampered by its aftersales department. SDAC should spend more on parts inventory for their popular models to reduce waiting time and parts prices.

• Azurre on May 11, 2016 at 1:57 pm

Probably under pressure by what is offered over at UMW for their Hilux.

That aside, Toyota still have a big edge in terms of service support, aftersales and aftermarket parts due to our close proximity to Thailand. I believe ease of mind is a big thing for buyers in this segment