Shell Helix launches first-ever engine warranty programme in Malaysia – claims up to RM15,000

2016 Shell Helix SHEW launch -2

Shell Helix today launched Malaysia’s first-ever engine warranty programme that covers engine damage caused by lubricant failure. Allowing for claims of up to RM15,000 for Shell Helix Ultra users and RM8,000 for Shell Helix HX7 users, the warranty covers engines using the afore-mentioned lubricants in vehicles up to 12-years old, or with a mileage of 200,000 km, from the vehicle’s manufacturing date, whichever comes first.

Dubbed SHEW – for Shell Helix Engine Warranty – the programme covers the cost of repair or replacement of 15 engine components that may fail should the Shell lubricants fail to provide proper lubrication and protection. To enter the programme, a vehicle owner has to complete an oil change at any authorised SHEW workshop, and the workshop personnel will complete the registration. Any vehicle, registered in Malaysia, which is a maximum of eight-years old or less, with a mileage of less than 100,000 km, is eligible for SHEW.

2016 Shell Helix SHEW launch -1

Owners who prefer using third-party workshops for their vehicle lube changes can purchase Shell Helix Ultra or Helix HX7 from any Shell petrol station and complete the registration process on their own via the SHEW customer hotline or the self-register online on the Shell Helix website.

The warranty remains in effect for as long as a Shell Helix lubricant is used in the vehicle, and the lube is changed every six months, or according to the vehicle manufacturer’s recommended service intervals. SHEW also provides reminders to registered Shell Helix users for oil changes.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• I Used helix ultra in my Suprima S for 60k KM major service. Wow Just wow. Engine so quite, responsive, smooth. Very different and i find my FC Is improving. Btw , i Love my Suprima Blow off sound when i press abit then release. Got zhushh sound. 100% stock car but no idea how on earth it got Blow off sound.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 40
    • UMW TOYOTA on May 10, 2016 at 7:29 pm

ricer on suprima

• Abang Alza Pakai Topi on May 11, 2016 at 9:18 am

Too bad abang-abang wira 1994 aircond sejuk can’t benefit from this offer.

• Warren Wong Yee Ket on May 10, 2016 at 7:34 pm

You’re driving a turbo car but you don’t know it has turbo?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • Blowme on May 10, 2016 at 10:10 pm

You use the oil then engine quieter. After yhat you are hearing all kinds of noise already or hearing things, like the zhushh sound.

• VisitWorkshop on May 10, 2016 at 10:51 pm

Bro, stock not supposed to have whoosh sound, check your diverter valve, could be leaking

• Oil Seal on May 10, 2016 at 9:44 pm

Shell just need to be “friendlier” on oil seals…..

• BNaik on May 11, 2016 at 8:16 am

Question is who going warranty covers engines for 12 years? After some time, this old product (oil) may EOL & no longer supply. So Shell itself or car dealer need to warranty it?

• SyntheticOil on May 11, 2016 at 8:54 am

1. Shell Helix Ultra is fully Synthetic and Shell Helix HX7 is semi Synthetic?
    2. What is the SAE rating?
    3. What is the price for the above 2 oils?
    4. Fully Synthetic oil need to change every 6 months? What is the minimum mileage? Same like mineral oil?

I want to compare it with Petronas engine oil equivalent.

• Petronas engine oil is like normal oil only.. Higher compression engine with petronas not that good.. But no choice, sc say use petronas or warranty void.. Oh and petronas released newer engine oil with cooler technology or so, the sc still use the old stupid oil..

• Saitam on May 11, 2016 at 10:19 am

This looks like an alternate way of getting “extended” warranty for your engine since manufacturer only give between 2-5 years.

Anyway, I much rather get a free umbrella or a torch.

• heybadigol (Member) on May 11, 2016 at 10:43 am

BMW service centres here also use Shell lubes. Does that mean can get 2 warranties, one from BMW and another from Shell?

• 4G63T DSM on May 11, 2016 at 12:58 pm

I have never come across any normal engine failure due to oil problem, unless there isn’t any left in the sump (which I guess isn’t covered).

I suppose its an easy warranty to provide since it’s almost impossible to prove lubricant failure itself is the sole cause of an engine failure.

• Saitam on May 11, 2016 at 5:43 pm

You are most probably right… that’s why I prefer to have a free umbrella with my purchase.

• Can it compare with VW mineral oil?

• machi on May 12, 2016 at 10:34 am

I used Castrol GTX (mineral based) on my Protong Wira 1.5 for 580,000km without an engine failure back in 1999 to 2003. I have no clue what are you trying to do here, Mr. Shell?