BMW 360° Safety programme kicks off, aims to raise awareness of in-car safety for parents and children

BMW 360 Safety programme-1

BMW Malaysia, together with the Julia Gabriel Centre and the Association of Registered Childcare Providers Malaysia (PPBM), is organising the third edition of the BMW 360° Safety programme. Said event, which kicked off earlier this week and runs until May 14, is catered to parents with children enrolled at the Julia Gabriel Centre at Citta Mall.

The programme is meant to raise awareness on road etiquettes and in-car safety technology as well as practices that parents (drivers) should be aware off. The initiative is also being held with the upcoming school holiday and Ramadan season in mind.

It started off with a one-week Traffic Safety Programme, which is currently taking place at the Julia Gabriel Centre at Citta Mall. The on-going programme consists of a series of road safety themed activities, which have all been incorporated into individual syllabuses. Said syllabuses are divided into six parts.

On day one, participants have been given a visual lesson entitled ‘what’s on the road’, while day two consisted of a ‘little messengers’ colouring activity. Day three will see a role-playing activity (stop, look and listen) to be held. On day four, an arts and crafts activity (we hold hands) will take place and on day five, there will be a play-and-learn activity (my car seat). Finally, on day six, a practical seatbelt experiment will be conducted.

Meanwhile, at the kick-off event today, PPBM conducted a safety talk, along with a child restraint demonstration. This was an attempt to show and explain to parents how they can eliminate incorrect fitting of child seats. Also, a child restraint ‘health check’ was also conducted for families with car seats or booster seats to ensure proper installation and seat usage.

Topics covered during the safety talk today by child passenger safety consultant May Hwong included the benefits of a child restraint system (child seat), as well as the advantages of a rear-facing child seat and the types of child passenger safety systems.

Following this, BMW Malaysia will embark on a six-month programme, where the brand will visit selected kindergartens and Montessori centres nationwide, to organise the BMW 360° Safety programme in a similar fashion. During this time, BMW Malaysia will carry on with raising awareness and galvanising action for more responsible on-the-road and in-car safety practices with parents and their children.

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• Dun worry, BMW. MY pipu will still buy ur car but wun demand for child seat together cuz they expect Gov to gip them for free. Ur profit margin is still safe.

• Muniandy Periasamy on May 11, 2016 at 2:59 pm

Why embark with high class school like Julia Gabriel? This school only for the super rich. BMW should conduct this event in a normal Government school as this would be easier for “normal” children to attend also.

Or is safety exclusive to rich children and poor children are not entitled to safety?

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on May 12, 2016 at 3:59 pm

Hi, as mentioned in the article, BMW Malaysia will also visit selected kindergartens and Montessori centres nationwide in this six-month programme.

• Who is BMW Malaysia to talk about safety? Most models here don’t feature autonomous emergency braking which is standard in many parts of the world. Ok, maybe the cheapest 1 or 2 series models, I can understand. But not even the 528i has it here! And they want to talk about safety??

• Muniandy Periasamy on May 11, 2016 at 3:37 pm

BMW malaysia, if you are sincere about safety for children, you won’t be selling your child car seats for few thousand ringgit each.

Infact, besides lowering your child car seat prices, why don’t you be like Paul Tan who actually bought child car seats with their hard earned money and gave them free to the public.

Bravo to Paul Tan and team. Really respect them. As for BMW Malaysia, a company making hundreds of million ringgit per annum, why can’t you do the same?

• policeman on May 11, 2016 at 4:19 pm

Too much emphasis on “safety” these days. When I was a kid I had no child seat. I behaved and sat at the back. My parents drove at sensible speeds. No ABS/TC/BA/EBD/ESP or BS was needed. People knew how to drive well and knew the capabilities and limits of their vehicle.

• nabill (Member) on May 11, 2016 at 9:42 pm

Those days, we used to bring our toys n play on the back seat on looong journeys… Everybody had brains…no ego’s, young ppl werent behaving like retarded monkeys

• Toyota only have moving to coffin programme