2016 Mazda CX-9 SkyActiv-G 2.5T arrives in Australia

Mazda CX-9 Australia arrival

The first batch of the all-new Mazda CX-9 has arrived in Australia, several months after production of the seven-seater SUV began at Mazda’s Hiroshima plant in Japan. Scheduled to be launched in the country in July, the CX-9 will be offered to Australians in a total of four variants.

When it goes on sale, the 2016 Mazda CX-9 line-up will include the entry-level Sport, mid-grade Touring, high-spec GT and flagship grade Azami. All four will be powered exclusively by the SkyActiv-G 2.5T – 2.5 litre direct-injection turbocharged four-cylinder petrol engine with both i-stop and i-ELOOP technology.

The new mill replaces the previous CX-9’s Ford-derived 3.7 litre V6 engine. Power outputs aren’t finalised for the Australian market, but the US-spec model, when running on 93-octane petrol, delivers 250 hp at 5,000 rpm and 420 Nm of torque at 2,000 rpm. A Skyactiv-Drive six-speed torque converter automatic transmission is mated to the engine, with Mazda’s i-Activ all-wheel drive system available as an option.

In terms of looks, the new CX-9 adopts the brand’s latest Kodo Soul of Motion design, evident by the prominent grille and signature LED headlamps with LED DRLs. The car also wears a new signature Machine Grey body colour alongside Soul Red. Meanwhile, the interior is completely revamped, and has been made more premium as well. The company’s i-Activsense safety suite will also be offered to Australian buyers.

According to Mazda Australia, buyer interest in the CX-9 has been very encouraging, with almost 55,000 potential purchase leads registering their interest in the vehicle, of which 13,000 want to be contacted directly by a Mazda representative. These numbers surpass those for the Mazda MX-5 prior to the roadster’s debut.

We expect Mazda Malaysia to offer the all-new CX-9 to replace the current model here, which is still on sale for RM288,380.91 (on-the-road without insurance). However, when that will occur and for how much, remain unknown. Show of hands, how many of you are interested in the second-generation CX-9?

GALLERY: 2017 Mazda CX-9 (US-spec)

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Janji Najix Tak Ditunaikan. Menipu rakat on May 11, 2016 at 5:41 pm

The Best SUV from Japan,Yet. Harrier not compete CX9 in terms of spec

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
    • For after more than 10 years, finally Japanese release turbocharger into production. Very smart in maximizing profit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
      • Toyota the smartest then. Putting turbo to the NX200t and sell it for 300+K

• Muniandy Periasamy on May 11, 2016 at 7:43 pm

The last CX7 and CX9 in Malaysia was a super and utter failure. Sales were so so so bad. Why? Very simple. Who can afford RM300k? Those rich enough who can afford RM300k, just add a bit more, can buy X5 7 seater. You can get a brand new pre reg 2015 X5 for about RM350k. The rich rather buy an X5, more status and luxurious.

The people at Bermaz are rather bodoh. Where got Malaysians willing to buy a Japanese car for RM300k? It sells well in Australia because it is so so cheap in Australia. Even kuli work in McDonalds also can buy a CX9.

In Malaysia, even a big Tan Sri with millions of ringgit will think 100X before he buys a Mazda for RM300k

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 4
      • Shamgti on May 11, 2016 at 8:36 pm

Bro i bought one cx 9 2008 until now the car still ok.Conti feel.so many people like it.Ps do ur homework la..pity u can’t afford to buy one,and predict people will not buy.U use toyota unser so dont be jelous la..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 54
        • TomboyGomenOfficial on May 12, 2016 at 3:15 am

We are all curious if you mind to share us a photo of you driving that so called brand new CX9 that you bought way back in 2008, Please prove to the world you are not one of keyboard warriors out there, then no one border to question you again. Type at no cost… highly doubthful. Many of PT reader are in high anticipation if rich people like you border to share such low EQ comment here…ha ha ha…pls look into the mirror and make a change.. make the world a better place for you and people ard..

• eeeriz on May 12, 2016 at 8:11 am

Shamgti, I concur with your statement. I myself bought a 2nd hand last year, after much debating between CX9, Alphard, Estima and previous XC90. Whilst the roadtax was a downside (RM2800 per year), the driving and performance is fantastic. Unfortunately top speed is limited to 180kmh, otherwise this will be a great buy. So far no letdown from this car.

• Hoping the price will reduce due to the smaller cc engine. But it is almost impossible by looking to the current price of MY new car model that had been launch recently.

• Chapati on May 11, 2016 at 5:41 pm

the new Toyota Fortuner still look posher & maybe better RV too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 46
    • Dedak Kau on May 11, 2016 at 6:31 pm

Better RV? Hahaha.Even UMW scare to accept trade in for previous model.If they willing to take it must be lowest price until left u naked.It goes to the all model line ups too! Lowest at their best!

• Try to be funny eh? Kelakar la kau

• nabill (Member) on May 11, 2016 at 6:07 pm

I never knew the old 3.7 was a ford engine…this looks good, i feel this n the rx450 are in one category of really bold design suv… Bt mazda generally have to up their overall refinement, the 3 and 6 are definitely noisier than their competition

• If the price in malaysia starts above RM200k, then frankly not interested.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 15
  • i really hope the 2.5 turbo engine could be fitted into mazda3, cx5 and mazda6 for the sportier version. btw this cx9 is a good much cheaper option for buyer who is searching for 7 seater suv

• Sammy Loo on May 16, 2016 at 10:50 pm

Cheaper 7 seater SUV option there is always the Toyota Rush.

For higher end 7 seater SUV there is also the Fortuner with under 200k mark.

Fitting the gap in between also got the X-Trail at 150k.

• TopsyBoXyTurvy on May 11, 2016 at 6:25 pm

Beautiful in and out. This car makes the Audi Q7 looks dated.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
    • Sam "Hailat" Loo on May 11, 2016 at 7:45 pm

I hope you’re comparing the 2017 Audi Q7 and not the heavyweight 2015 version…

Interior and tech wise Q7 still wins… CX-9 interior still… meh…

• should just price it slightly above Santa Fe, Sorento, X-Trail as they r fighting for the same group of buyers for 7seaters SUV. The current pricing is way too high (maybe due to the 3.7L engine…ouch, the roadtax). On the old pricing,ppl will just go for more premium brands particularly when there’s so much competition in this segment compared to when they launch the first gen. Mazda is making waves worldwide with their new gen but the after sales in Malaysia is ruining the brand

• Abd. Rahim Ismail on May 11, 2016 at 8:28 pm

I own a Mazda and find the after sales to be ok. Satisfied.

• W204 C63 AMG on May 11, 2016 at 10:46 pm

Stupid people compare mid size SUVs with full size SUVs.

• W204 C63 AMG on May 11, 2016 at 10:47 pm

Myvi can sit 5, Accord can sit 5 too. Your point?

• TomboyGomenOfficial on May 12, 2016 at 3:17 am

Myvi ride as bumpy as a horse, Accord feel like sitting in leather sofa.. your point pls.

• Every1canTalk on May 12, 2016 at 7:23 am

come on bro, dont direct think that x-trail is 7 seats then same category as Sorento and SantaFe, the X-trail still smaller than that and its direct competitors are Sportage, Tucson, CRV, Rav4 and etc..

• Jimmy on May 11, 2016 at 9:37 pm

Do you know that X3 and GLC are cheaper?

• W204 C63 AMG on May 11, 2016 at 10:42 pm

But the CX-9 is bigger than the X3 and GLC. It’s still cheaper than the X5, Q7 and GLE.

• Tanker on May 12, 2016 at 12:28 am

How on earth are you people comparing a CBU derived SUV with CKD rivals ? And comparing with Conti’s ? Just shows how ‘smart’ you are.