VIDEO: 2016 Honda Civic Coupe portrayed in new ads

The 2016 Honda Civic Coupe has been given a set of new ads. The first (shown above) perhaps elaborates on the Civic Coupe’s new design. With its sharp lines and edges it perhaps also highlights that the Coupe was definitely not designed for squares.

In the other ad (below), a group of local photographers get together to take a picture of the Coupe. One will be quick to notice the many generations of Honda Civics on display in this ad.

“Beyond the expected that everyone else sees, you can see the next milestone and when you do that, you can be the one they didn’t see coming,” the narrator elaborated. As a refresher, the Coupe was said to allow one to “express their own personal vision of automotive perfection,” in a walk-around video.

The Civic Coupe officially entered the US market in March this year. There, it’s available in five variants (2.0 LX and LX-P; turbo EX-T, EX-L and Touring) and eight colour choices. Prices range from US$19,885 (RM82,321) for the LX variant all the way to US$26,960 (RM111,611) for the Touring model.

As for power, the Americans get to choose a 158 hp/187 Nm 2.0 litre NA engine paired to either a six-speed manual or CVT gearbox or a 174 hp/220 Nm 1.5 litre turbo mill that’s mated exclusively to the CVT gearbox. So guys, do you think the Civic Coupe has defied the norm with its avant-garde design? Share your comments below.

GALLERY: 2016 Honda Civic Coupe

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• Henry on May 11, 2016 at 10:07 am

Too bad this variant is not coming here.

• Bernard on May 11, 2016 at 10:17 am

Firstly, the way to drive a coupe like this is by way of a stick shift(manual transmission) which we definitely wont be getting! Fortunately, in Europe and US, men love manual cars(or at least with paddle shifters) ………. unlike here(for various reasons).

Secondly, all cars are great provided the price is right. Example: Who is to complain if a well known brand new 2.0 car is sold at below RM50k regardless of how it looks?

• Kancil Hybrid on May 11, 2016 at 10:50 am

For this generation Civic, I think the hatchback looks the best.

• Leafable on May 11, 2016 at 11:36 am

No one buying a B&B coupe here in Malaysia.

• sabahan on May 11, 2016 at 12:27 pm

ugliest ever 2 doors civic!!!!! to me…..

• SteveRogers on May 11, 2016 at 12:55 pm

Love this. Any chance of it coming to malaysia?

• Josh Ling on May 11, 2016 at 4:59 pm

i like the look of the coupe more than the sedan, really.