DRIVEN: 2016 FC Honda Civic 1.8L, 1.5L VTEC Turbo

Honda Civic Thai Review 53

The Europeans have the Golf, we have the Civic. Together with the Corolla, it’s one of the most iconic car nameplates in these parts. Many have either grown up with one, lusted after one or owned one; some can tick more than one box.

A household name and enthusiast favourite, Honda’s longest-running model has been with us for 43 years over nine generations. Some were groundbreaking (fifth-gen EG, eighth-gen FD) and some were not as well-loved (seventh-gen ES, ninth-gen FB), but by and large, the Civic name stood for reliable family cars with a sporty spirit.

Honda says that the all-new, tenth-generation Civic is its best ever. Pretty big shoes to fill, considering the lineage. After covering the FC on Bangkok and Jakarta motor show stands, we finally drive it to see if the claims hold water.

Honda-Civic-FD2R

Remember when Honda unveiled the eighth-gen FD Civic? I do. Fresh in the job back then, this writer jaw dropped at the sight of a futuristic entry in a conservative segment. It may be familar now, but that radical shape and spaceship dashboard was out of the world back then. Still is.

The FD was a great drive too – rev-loving i-VTEC engines, a crisp five-speed auto and nimble feet gave the monoform sedan real verve to go with the style. And we’re not even talking about the JDM Civic Type R sedan (pictured above) that made a surprise official appearance in Malaysia.

After the dull ES, the FD was exactly what Honda needed to revive the Civic’s fortunes, and the bold gamble paid off. It’s hard to improve on a revolutionary product though, and the subsequent FB Civic struggled to move the game on. The ninth-gen wasn’t even a good evolution job, going a step backwards in some areas.

The Civic’s poor form coincided with the rise of the Mazda 3 and the reloaded Toyota Corolla Altis. The Mazda, armed with expressive styling and a sporty message, appealed to the young at heart; while the Altis brought to the table comfort and refinement that was on a different plane from the FB. That, plus a sharp new suit that shaved at least 10 years off the uncle’s age.

A Honda Civic as an also-ran in the C-segment was unimaginable just a few years ago, but there the FB was, uncompetitive in a class its forebears used to boss. Something drastic was needed to address the slide, something bold and radical, something like the FD…

This could be it. Honda says that the tenth-gen Civic project was one of the most comprehensive and ambitious new-model developments it has ever undertaken, requiring an unprecedented commitment of R&D resources and engineering talent. Led by a North American team – a first for Honda and Civic – they set out to achieve “dynamic rejuvenation” and develop a car that’s “in a league of its own.” Honda even went as far as benchmarking European premium compact execs (the BMW 3 Series class) for the FC Civic.

Honda Civic Thai Review 51

It’s obvious that the Honda folk started with a clean sheet of paper. Today’s Civic looks like nothing else in the market, never mind the mass C-segment, and the novel design draws an advanced impression.

The fastback style and long body is striking, and also a big contrast from the stubby butt of the Mazda 3. Plenty of strokes on display here – aside from the coupe-like flow of the roofline and greenhouse, a prominent character line connects the door handles and defines the car’s rear haunches. The latter is matched by Mazda-style arches over the front wheels. Another rising line and crease occupies the space between the wheels. Slab-sided it is not.

The sculptured FC is rather imposing in the metal for a car in this class, and the dimensions correspond. At 4,630 mm long and 1,799 mm wide, the new Civic is a full 105 mm lengthier and 44 mm wider than the sedan it replaces. The larger footprint is coupled with a 19 mm reduction in height (1,416 mm) for a sleek appearance. The wheelbase – cut by 30 mm from FD to FB – is (almost) back to where it was, at 2,698 mm.

One wouldn’t have guessed that the new Civic is just 10 mm longer than an Altis from just looking at it. Must be the sloping roof and wider/lower stance (24 mm wider, 44 mm lower than Altis) influencing perception.

Two Thai variants were on hand in Chiang Mai, the base 1.8 E and the range-topping Turbo RS. The entry variant rides on 16-inch rims – an inch smaller than the Turbo’s – and lacks fog lamps, chrome door handles and dual exhaust pipes, although the latter is invisible by design (the Indonesian Civic Turbo uses step-down mufflers that feel contrived).

Thais who opt for the RS get LED headlamps, LED foglamps, a gloss black winged grille and a full-length boot spoiler. The latter two items, plus the “RS” name, are Thai-market specials and may not feature in Malaysian-spec CKD Civics. The Indonesian Civic Turbo uses a “VTEC Turbo” emblem instead.

Honda Civic Thai Review 8

LED daytime running lights and distinctive horn-like LED rear signatures are standard. Expect Modulo accessories, including a bodykit and a shorter spoiler than the one you see here. Like the new look or not, no one can accuse Honda of playing it safe this time around.

The interior designers were a little more restrained. The dashboard of the new Civic follows the trend set by the City and Jazz in terms of layout, but the design is sharper and more technical. The sportier net effect is also due to the high centre console, which effectively demarcates the driving zone.

Gone is the two-tier arrangement from the previous two generations, and in comes a large binnacle housing a central rev meter and digital speedo. The panel is digital with customisable menus (boost meter included) and features a red theme in the Turbo – a great showroom USP – but this stubborn writer prefers the white-based analogue dial in the 1.8, which doesn’t look basic at all as there’s a large digital section.

Same goes for the centre stack, which houses the by now familiar Honda touchscreen head unit in the Turbo. The 1.8’s relatively ancient system – with small screen and physical buttons – allows for simpler/faster operation on the move.

Ditto the air con controls. The Turbo gets dual-zone auto air con, which means that both dials are used as temp controls. This relegates fan speed adjustment “into the screen”, activated by pressing the “Climate” button – that’s one extra step for a frequently used function.

It should be clear by now that the low-tech 1.8 cockpit suits this dinosaur better. Sure, it doesn’t look as advanced without the Turbo’s colourful displays, but it also doesn’t serve daily reminders that you went for the cheaper variant, as many base models tend to do. More importantly, it’s straightforward to operate and distracts less from the business of driving.

Honda Civic Thai Review 11

The feel from behind the wheel is very conducive. Along with the two-tier dash, FD/FB quirks like the raked windscreen and small diameter steering wheel have been ditched for a more conventional working space.

Unlike the ninth-gen, the FC’s driver seat – which has a unique narrow-at-the-shoulders design – goes down very low; couple this with the tall centre console (a trick shared with the HR-V), high dashboard and shorter distance to the windscreen and you get an enclosed cockpit feel.

Even if you discount the unique cabin shape of the previous two models, this cozy, enveloping cabin feel is new for the Civic. The feel is sporty in a technical way; think BMW and previous-gen Audi as opposed to the minimalist-sporty approach of today’s Audis and Mazda. Speaking of Mazda, the Civic’s carbon-print central belt on the front chairs appears to be inspired by Hiroshima’s 2. Another sporty cue is the mirror-finish push start button, which stays illuminated in red on the move.

Quality is generally good, with a thin layer of soft-touch plastic covering the dash top, the panel facing the passenger and front door caps. The texture is back to normal after the “flowery” pattern of the ninth-gen, and there’s printed stitching and nice metallic inserts as garnish.

The only bits that stick out for me are the panels surrounding the steering buttons – neither gloss nor matte, they look cheap and attract prints. The empty right spoke on the Thai-spec 1.8 E (no cruise control) yields when pressed, and the “glass effect” of the buttons are rather toy-like in sunlight. There’s a new slider volume control that some might find useful.

All gear must be stored away before driving, and there are no lack of holding areas in the new Civic. Like the HR-V, there’s a tunnel below the centre stack housing the power outlet, USB and HDMI ports. It fits a charging phone, and the area ahead of the gear lever is wide enough for an iPhone 6s Plus.

The centre console box is very deep and should have no problem hiding away clutch bags or iPads. There are two cupholders within, one fixed and one removable. We also managed to fit two DSLR cameras head-to-head in the glove box. Top marks in this area.

Like Thailand, Malaysia will get two engines – a 1.8 litre naturally-aspirated i-VTEC engine and the headlining 1.5 litre VTEC Turbo engine. The NA motor – which produces 141 PS at 6,500 rpm and 174 Nm of torque at 4,200 rpm – is the same R-series SOHC engine from the previous-gen. It has been retuned to match the new Earth Dreams Technology CVT gearbox, which retires Honda’s five-speed auto in the Civic.

The L15B7 direct-injection downsized turbo unit makes 173 PS at 5,500 rpm and 220 Nm of torque from 1,700 to 5,500 rpm. It effectively replaces the 155 PS/190 Nm 2.0 litre NA engine in the local line-up, and like the 1.8 NA, is mated to a CVT automatic with paddle shifters. There’s no other gearbox for the turbo engine but this CVT, even in the US, where the base model is a 2.0 litre NA with a six-speed manual.

We started off in the 1.8L, which is expected to take the lion’s share of sales despite the Turbo grabbing all the headlines. Having recently reacquainted myself with the FB Civic 1.8, it’s obvious that the FC, even with a carryover engine, is a much more pleasant companion in urban driving. The difference in noise levels is big, and this is down to the FC’s superior insulation and the CVT.

Driving around town is significantly more effortless with the CVT. The previous 5AT 1.8 needed revs to get going, which meant more engine noise. That typical hardworking Honda motor sound isn’t obvious here; the FC has more urge at low speeds and also gets up to highway speeds with less fuss. It does a pretty decent impression of a regular torque converter auto too, with stepped drops in revs as you ease off the throttle. No manual mode, but it’s not needed.

CVT used to be one of the most dreaded acronyms for those who view motoring as more than just commuting (this writer included), but this CVT-equipped Civic is a better car for most of the time, for most drivers. With this current crop from the Japanese big three, the stepless ‘box isn’t something to be feared anymore.

Honda Civic Thai Review 65Honda Civic Thai Review 63

Slimmer A-pillars improve visibility and we also noticed better insulation from not just the engine bay, but wind and tyre noise as well. It remains to be seen if the Civic can remain hushed on harsh Malaysian roads – my guess is that while improved over the previous Civic, the Altis would still edge it on cruising serenity.

Ride comfort was untroubled by the roads around Chiang Mai, but we did notice a slightly more knobbly quality on the Turbo’s 17-inch wheels. Far from uncomfortable though, it’s no Type R. Like NVH, ride needs to be confirmed by the myriad obstacles our roads boast, but what’s for sure is the Civic’s newfound competitiveness in the comfort stakes.

No tight and twisty sections in our route, so there weren’t any tyre-screeching hijinks behind the wheel, which has pleasing weight (on the heavier side in this user-friendly camp) but precious little feel. None of the sort you’d find in the boisterous Mazda 3.

On to the point everyone is talking about, the turbo engine. VTEC Turbo – can an engine sound more evocative than that? The branding might conjure images of breathtaking Type R performance, but the expectations of enthusiasts can be counterproductive in this case, because the Civic 1.5L Turbo is all about efficiency. Efficiency in getting up to speed and efficiency in burning fuel.

We don’t have figures for the latter, but the Turbo’s FC will beat the old 2.0 NA and current 1.8 NA. What we can tell you is the way the Civic Turbo gathers speed and how one should not approach it. Not like how you would drive a Volkswagen Group turbo dual-clutch car, for instance. What you ask from the VAG car, you’ll get back in real time. Let’s not forget that the boosted Civic is still paired to a CVT, and a progressive right foot is key to a harmonious partnership.

There’s no pronounced turbo effect, or “kick in the back” as some would call it, but a linear build up in speed. The car is undoubtedly fast – never mind our old 2.0, it’ll even outdrag the USDM Civic Si with a 2.4L NA – but doesn’t quite feel that brisk pulling from low speeds. Plant your foot down on the accelerator and the drivetrain’s response is slow. I don’t think it’s turbo lag per se, but the combination of turbo and CVT characteristics.

Honda Civic Thai Review 52

Adopt a more measured approach and the Civic’s ample torque can be better enjoyed. It’s better at “rolling starts” than traffic light GPs and cut-and-thrust racing, a smooth operator that works best with a smooth driver. Of course, this isn’t at all an issue if you’re not expecting GTI-like sharpness from this family car.

For this reason, the 1.8L is my pick. Paired with the package-improving CVT and an all-round better car, the starter engine serves up more than adequate performance for a daily driver, and its basic amenities serve this tech-averse writer well. If I were to have more power and speed, I’d like to feel the rush as well, and not just arrive there.

Before you forget that this is a family car, here are some notes from the back seat. Honda points out that the narrow-top shape of the front seats (as opposed to a square) gives rear passengers a more airy feel, and we agree. You’ll also find class-leading leg and knee room, and headroom isn’t an issue despite the sloping roof as the rear bench is mounted low.

No more flat floor, although the hump isn’t very high. There’s a plastic panel between the outside of the seat back and the door, and it got in the way of my arm leaning naturally on the door armrest – a surprising find. Even without that flaw, the Altis is better from the rear thanks to a higher seat base and more natural seating position. There are no folding seats, courtesy of a crossbar at the end of the boot, which is not in the US-spec car.

Make no mistake, the Civic is back on form with this tenth-generation, which is probably as revolutionary as the EG and FD were. After the lacklustre ninth-gen, Honda needed something special to regain the initiative, and the FC delivers.

While the Toyota Corolla Altis majors on comfort and refinement, and the Mazda 3 focuses on driver appeal and very little else, the new Civic is an all-rounder. With improved refinement; turbo, tech and toys in the top model; fresh fastback styling and a sporty appeal; many a young man will feel a stirring in the loins dreaming of the Honda Civic. Just like the good old days.

Specs and trim of our Thai test cars may not match eventual Malaysian-spec cars. The tenth-gen Civic has now been launched.

GALLERY: Honda Civic 1.5 Turbo RS, Thai-spec

GALLERY: Honda Civic 1.8 E, Thai-spec

GALLERY: Media drive photos

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• vodka on May 12, 2016 at 10:29 am

The new Orchid Pearl White looks great on the Turbo RS in these pictures!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 5
    • Pity the turbo. Limited by the CVT. I can imagine cruising at high speed and the engine keeps roaring

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 31
      • vodka on May 12, 2016 at 11:15 am

From the reviews I read, this CVT simulates a normal auto transmission with stepped shifting points.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
        • Guiness on May 12, 2016 at 11:52 am

Gear simulation by CVT is confusing

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
        • tested Focus six spped 1.5 ecoboost, the g-force is shiok…so eager to try civic turbo with cvt and decide which one to go for…

• i’m sure it is improved. but for that much power, maybe it failed to deliver the excitement. it’s fast but you can’t appreciate the speed. if honda can develop a DCT to pair with this i think it will be awesome. not that it’s bad. enough for mundane life but petrolheads may be disappointed.

• CVTsux on May 12, 2016 at 10:09 pm

I thought it was like conti, reading all this it is worse much than Proton, better don’t do review.

Next!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 17
      • Danny Tan (Member) on May 12, 2016 at 11:25 am

Not really John, below 2,000 rpm at a 110 km/h cruise

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 9
        • Thanks Danny. I know is not legal speed. But how about 150 km/h?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 19
          • Danny Tan (Member) on May 12, 2016 at 12:34 pm

I didn’t check, but it wasn’t buzzing abnormally loud, otherwise I would have noted

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 10
          • Danny u’re certainly going downhill. Im getting 2,500rpm cruising 110km/h light-footed!!!

• Lee Chun Yuan on Jul 13, 2017 at 5:37 pm

John. You pump what patrol 1st? Try pump RON 100, you will feel the different.

• Going downhill I don’t hit 1500rpm also

• DUh bro. Do you even know how cvt work? It tend to get to the lowest rpm during high speed due to unlimited gear. Soo cruising at high speed should not be a problem. Its the ‘g’ that are missing due to given characteristic.

• Civic white shud only be Championship White. Others r heresy

• takNakP1 on May 12, 2016 at 10:30 am

these mode is going to steal a lot from T regardless of the pricing as many doesn’t really cares just like HR-V.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
  • Will buy this, then replace with Tubro Cumpro enjin and Porton logo :-D

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 116 Thumb down 40
    • Bailout on May 12, 2016 at 5:26 pm

Then suddenly perdana price 80-100k all jaw dropping.Next year new petronas engine also.Why must make huge profit if P1 already earned pre-profit 1.5B? Sell cheap make rm1000 profit enuf what? 1k x10k unit sold p/month x 1 year? 120M profit p/year already.Kill all price range model like jazz,city,vios,almera,mpv,suv..sure can hit 10k per month! Greedy for what? Next 5 years ask another1.5B bailout for sure get leh! Now kutty no more nobody to blame already.Dare blame mahjib? Tmro no job for u.Better think ok Drb? Later kena blow up how?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 12
    • Haha, think most of the case is reverse when potong with cumpro engine go for type r batch, maybe its a shame for them to stick with potong logo

• So Danny was saying, even the turbo is fast, but less excitement than driving a VW dual-clutcher. Better balance with the CVT still the 1.8NA

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 27
    • namanama on May 12, 2016 at 11:02 am

True, R18A is good engine,eager to rev and very responsive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
    • Yeah, until the VAG product twin clutch give the ghost….then u’ll wish that u are driving the cvt instead. No fun waiting on road side for tow truck to take ur VAG’s car wt soo called nice to drive twin clutch…hahahahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 14
      • VAG DSG, Mutitroninic, S-Tronic and PDK are far superior technologies to a common CVT. It is the perfect compromise between the driver experience of a manual transmission and the ease of an auto.

• zt100 on May 12, 2016 at 10:45 am

if only they could match my old skool EK9.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 24
  • 6 airbags and VSA, again on May 12, 2016 at 10:49 am

Good article on the engine and drive. How about the safety aspects of 10th gen Civic available in (almost all?) countries where it is released? This safety aspect blows every car out of water in the competition – the Honda Sensing. Similarly with the ‘teaser’ webpage Honda Malaysia presented to us with sweet colours, the Honda Sensing is curiously and stupefyingly missing, while presenting us with total basic safety stuff that Malaysians seem to be constantly impressed with – 6 airbags and VSA. These are basic safety features EXPECTED for cars in this category.

For those of you who are not aware of Honda Sensing, it is a safety technology package introduced in 10th-gen Civic and also included in the new Accord 2016 facelift already released in several countries overseas. It contains the following safety features (a lot, I know, which is why all other cars in its category simply cannot compete with – ehem Toyota, read this):
    Lane Departure Warning (LDW)
    Lane Keeping Assist System (LKAS)
    Road Departure Mitigation (RDM)
    Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC)
    Forward Collision Warning (FCW)
    Collision Mitigation Braking System (CMBS)

Why, until now, Honda Malaysia has been dead quiet on this issue? To the gov’s policies that might not allow these features to be introduced, get this: it is time to move on beyond 6 airbags and VSA. Sick of your mentality of 6 airbags = top-notch safety (*pengsan*)

I hope that at least the top variant gets Sensing, otherwise it’s insane to think that us Malaysians do not deserve to have safer cars than those in US, UK, Can, Aus. Our lives are apparently less important than these people really.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 146 Thumb down 10
    • Jimbo on May 12, 2016 at 11:33 am

We are totally on the same boat right here. A couple of months back I actually sent a message to Honda Malaysia’s Facebook page requesting them to at least include Sensing as an option for the full-spec Civic. They replied, of course, but with the typical PR fashion. Oh well. Hope my prayers are answered.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 5
      • 6 airbags and VSA, again on May 12, 2016 at 1:00 pm

Glad that we are on the same boat, and hope that many more are aware of this. Starry-eyed Malaysians are impressed by the ‘6 airbags in all variants’ when one of the best, most outstanding features of 10th-gen Civic is gone missing. If you haven’t seen 10th-gen Civic or 2016 Accord overseas, please Google it up on Honda Sensing and 10th-gen Civic.

Judging from the ads with no mention on any of Honda Sensing’s technologies (not even adaptive cruise control), it will likely be missing in all variants in Malaysia. Honda has been one of the bestselling non-national cars in our country for many years (and #1 last year) – Is this how you treat your loyal customers? Can you sleep at night when people’s lives at risk on the roads?

Either Honda Malaysia’s decision to exclude it or the gov/GLC is messing this up. I won’t get one without Sensing even if it’s available in top range: Poorer customers don’t deserve better safety – is that what your message is to us Malaysians?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
        • peter on May 12, 2016 at 2:11 pm

The only cars that offer these features are the Mazda 3 CKD and the Focus+ models – you might want to consider buying these models instead.

It’s the main reason why I took the Mazda 3 CKD, because of Blind Spot Monitoring and City Braking – very useful features that I don’t regret.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 2
    • industry insider on May 12, 2016 at 12:14 pm

nothing to do with GOV. Honda sensing tech is longggg in cars like peugeot, ford and continental.

HONDA MALAYSIA just ripping malaysian off

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 10
      • Weeding Lorrrr on May 12, 2016 at 5:04 pm

Then u dare buying any American make? Same lorrr said no RV ley.U want RV or Honda sensing? Cannot hv both coz later same lorr angry coz toyota now don’t hv both.

• vodka on May 12, 2016 at 1:38 pm

Developed country buyers are more likely to pay more for such options. Based on comments on PT, most think the Civic priced at ~RM140k is too much! Honda Sensing suite is only offered for top spec Civic in Australian Market. I think if the demand is there (assuming Malaysians will pay 140++k for a Civic), then HM will surely offer this on a higher spec model. If no demand then it doesn’t make economic sense for HM to offer it to Malaysian buyers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 21
      • 6 airbags and VSA, again on May 12, 2016 at 2:59 pm

In North America, Honda Sensing is available as an option for an extra USD1k (i.e. RM4k) that can be installed in their lowest variant model. HM doesn’t need to stretch it to RM140k+ – they can already do it for our lowest variant which, with the Sensing, should be within RM120-125k.

One of foreign reviews of 10th-gen Civic: “Its best new feature? The unassumingly-named “Honda Sensing” package – specifically the Lane-Keeping Assist technology bundled within that out-robots its competition by leagues. It arrives for just an extra $1,000, and this is – by far – the best $1,000 you can spend.”

Please don’t keep mentioning ‘developed countries’ as an excuse: if your brand is capable of producing such technology, don’t sell us a downgraded version just because we seem to be poorer or second-class citizen in your eyes. Or more precisely, just because it is easier to cheat Malaysians because we are not as well-informed and we’re loyal to you, right? Sad.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 0
        • sepul on May 12, 2016 at 6:19 pm

To be honest, I would agree to them for not bringing the Honda Sensing over. While safety awareness are showing signs of improving among Malaysians, the rate are still very slow and to most people, they only care about what their hard earned money can get them where they can actually see and touch, like designs and soft touch plastic.

Even as an option, I doubt 90% of buyers would even tick it because of the above. They would instead tick body kit options, for RM4k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 28
  • Tyler Durden on May 12, 2016 at 10:50 am

Bloody well written! Splendid job, Danny.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 6
  • komarad on May 12, 2016 at 10:53 am

how come US gets the six-speed manual?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
    • They dun have lazy pipu like in MY

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
      • They don’t have TRAFFIC JAMS and bad road design like MY.

Long highways, twisty roads.

• crash on May 12, 2016 at 4:02 pm

Dear Danny,
      I would like to know about the Civic Turbo. Does the direct-injection engine has diesel-clatter like sound from the outside just like those petrol-powered Mazda Skyactiv engines ? Especially when you start the engine in the morning..

• noannualleave on May 12, 2016 at 10:12 pm

Next thing you do is calling tow truck for towing it to SC, lol

• stasta on May 13, 2016 at 11:32 am

yes all direct injection engine have loud clatter sound during cold start.

• Danny Tan (Member) on May 13, 2016 at 4:05 pm

There’s no diesel-like clatter on idle, as you’d find on say, a BMW DI Turbo engine. It’s pretty cultured.

• Wonder? on May 12, 2016 at 4:59 pm

Coz Bolehland many lazy people signal also never use..why must bring in manual? Still wonder meh?

• tokmoh. on May 12, 2016 at 10:59 am

All variants can’t fold rear seats?

WTF how to be a good family car liddis. What a way to kill practicality points of the car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 3
    • farghmee on May 12, 2016 at 3:14 pm

this is shocking as well.

dua to that black brace? then why US model dun get the bracing? different material stiffness (US/Asia)?

• sepul on May 12, 2016 at 6:14 pm

Maybe suspension tuning is different. Regional models usually differs more than just equipment levels. Materials and suspension tuning also differs at some point.

• toyotamacai on May 12, 2016 at 10:17 pm

Buy Sportivo edition, you got 20hp 50Nm added instantly with those bodykits

• Civic RS on Jun 18, 2016 at 1:44 pm

Australian market 10G Civic just released this month (built in Thailand) has 60/40 split folding rear seating so it depends on the market. If I remember correctly, the 9G for Australia also had folding rear seats. There are other differences as well, For example, the Civic RS for Australia has a sunroof but Thai market RS has no sunroof. The the of line VTILX (1.5T) available has full set of Honda sensing technologies. This model is not available for the Thai market.

• Wow..audi A5

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • the 1.8 is with the huge chrome grille at front rite?

dont look good with so much chrome…

• seancorr (Member) on May 12, 2016 at 11:34 am

I still remember when the 8rh gen was launched it was a total wow factor for me but this one…hmmm I don’t like the design…looks too much like a family car with no Honda racing genes built into it but the tech in it is worthy of my respect.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
    • tokmoh. on May 12, 2016 at 12:39 pm

The sloping roof silhouette kinda reminds me of Volvo S60, only sharpened, edgier, more aggressive.

The lack of rear folding seats though… Who cares if the beam across can make handling sharper, I’d gladly trade that for practicality when and if I need to carry long luggage.

A very reluctant approval for me.

• sackthedesigners on May 12, 2016 at 9:49 pm

If the beam is there so civic sedan is actually civic hatch with boot.

Sack the designers!

• F30 is much nicer

• With the new CIvic and facelifted Accord, coupled with the HR-V juggernaut, this is no doubt going to be Honda’s year. Again.

• Arjun on May 12, 2016 at 11:42 am

Will get Civic Turbo and fix Race Chip.. wil be more powerful and more fuel efficient :)

• Semi-Value (Member) on May 12, 2016 at 11:51 am

no folding seats, this i cannot brain…funny when the more driver oriented mazda3 has them but not the more family oriented civic..either way…good return to form..RIP ALTIS

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 4
  • Arjun on May 12, 2016 at 11:57 am

will go for civic turbo and fix race chip, wil be more powerful and more fuel efficient :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • heybadigol (Member) on May 12, 2016 at 12:07 pm

I’ve driven both FD and FB, and each held their own advantage over the other. The FD handles better, but the FB was more refined and its engine was torque-ier. The sound system in the FD was horrible (no bass and highs were muddled and un-focussed).

Anyways, I think the Civic FC here is comfortably better than both FD and FB. I’m not sold on the FC’s looks, but its growing on me. Im surprised that the turbo and CVT combo wasnt the preferred weapon of choice by the writer. The lack of seat in the pants shove is surprising. Perhaps the CVT is tuned differently for Thailand – compared to the US. Cos a blown engine on a lightweight car (in the low 1300kg) should provide a decent shove.

Ive always been curious as to why it has a central hump in the rear floor – as this is FWD. Cos the FB before it was completely flat, and the FD was almost flat too. Is Honda planning on an AWD system, perhaps for a Type R model, hence the tunnel? Or perhaps for an Acura model (replacement for the ILX)?

• Ben Yap on May 12, 2016 at 4:09 pm

I’ve driven the FD, FB and FC. It is still a car to me…. Will be driving the FE soon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • JDM King on May 12, 2016 at 12:18 pm

Ohh Lord!!

I see Meghan Trainor and Backstreet Boys on your playlist…you yuppies..

• Philippe L. on May 12, 2016 at 12:50 pm

“There are no folding seats, courtesy of a crossbar at the end of the boot, which is not in the US-spec car.”

How come no Honda Magic folding seat??? And any reason they have that crossbar compare to the US car???

• Danny Tan (Member) on May 12, 2016 at 12:56 pm

We’ll ask the engineers when they’re in town for the local launch. Honda’s Magic seats are for hatchbacks/SUVs

• Yes please do. For city places where pickups are not popular (like in East Malaysia), sometimes fold down seats are crucial to the occasional IKEA visit or fishing trip!

• heybadigol (Member) on May 12, 2016 at 1:37 pm

The FB had a crossbar too, hence it too could not fold seats. But that bar does make the body more rigid, with benefit to handling. Having said that, FD had no crossbar (so seats can fold – on the 2.0 model only though) and still handled well

• nabill (Member) on May 12, 2016 at 1:15 pm

Thats the thing about Cvt, it dulls everything, no matter how much horsepower n torque u have… All for the sake of efficiency n good FC….. ‘Linear power delivery’ is almost present in every single review of any car equipped with a Cvt….. And u cant full throttle in a cvt, might as well gently accelerate to achieve the speed u want…. But, an average family man doesnt really care…
    I can see why the writer prefers the 1.8..more affordable, and still enjoys the new design n interior as the Turbo… Bt as with any Honda msia products currently, this gonna fly off the showrooms, until a geniune alternative is found, mazda 3 still a niche model, the altis is pathetically equipped and the koreans fighting with ppl’s unfounded perception of their models… Other alternatives either have horrifying customer service or downright unreliable hardware(looking at u VW, Peugeot n so on) This is a winner of a product….

• heybadigol (Member) on May 12, 2016 at 2:39 pm

The thing is ive seen American reviews (on Youtube) where they floor the Civic’s throttle and the CVT instantaneously goes to the lowest allowable ratio, like a normal auto’s kickdown.

• nabill (Member) on May 12, 2016 at 2:46 pm

But u still have to wait for the gearbox to catch up with the engine rpm..

• ajdar on May 12, 2016 at 10:25 pm

Compared to this Honda i will take the Peugeot 208 thp anytime! Brtter engine and overall quality,

• ajdar on May 12, 2016 at 10:27 pm

Compared to this Honda i will take the Peugeot 308 thp anytime! Better engine and overall quality, Malaysians are dimwit when it comes to cars!

• When will it be this Driven video on youtube?

• Guest on May 12, 2016 at 1:20 pm

Will it be possible have Driven video on youtube?

• no folding seats mean less cost invested, cost savings?…why the engine doesn’t have cover? it just looks so untidy…don’t tell me that there is no heat/noise insulation foam for the bonnet too…please don’t bully malaysian la…

• Go tesco buy plastic tray cover lah

• Megane on May 25, 2016 at 10:23 pm

No engine cover so that the heat can dissipate faster hahaha … What the heck looks messy like shait .

• Si Vee Tee on May 25, 2016 at 10:27 pm

Hi mate is your new Civic manual ? Nope mate automatic ..alright ..standard automatic ? No …. CVT

hahaha …

• cendol (Member) on May 12, 2016 at 1:53 pm

I am afraid the price of new Civic will encroach into Base Honda Accord category ,
    It is more economic sense to buy Honda Accord then.

• anonymous on May 12, 2016 at 2:11 pm

Most likely the Civic Turbo will do

• Ben Yap on May 12, 2016 at 4:12 pm

just get a jetta if you want fast car. Now only RM88,888.

Dollar per hp is good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
    • Chokeng on May 12, 2016 at 4:53 pm

Prefer 1.5turbo than 2.0 accord more.. Can’t accept jelly people say driving my papa car.

• babemagnet on May 13, 2016 at 12:38 pm

Civic ady uncle’s car, you want youngster car go get GTi, ok?

• and it does not have rear blower as compared to US model?

• Ben Yap on May 12, 2016 at 4:14 pm

from the pic, u can see no rear blower.

next time do browse through the pics before asking questions, ok?

• You mean hair blower?

• heybadigol (Member) on May 13, 2016 at 9:11 am

US/Canada models have rear seat heating only, not blowers. Indonesia gets rear AC vents. Malaysia? We”ll find out soon

• Hunky on May 12, 2016 at 4:48 pm

Will sell out like hot pisang goreng.North America COTY.Who can deny? UMW sleeping for the next 5years.Maybe can discount 30k for altis then can consider.

• drMpower on May 12, 2016 at 5:10 pm

i have seen the pattern of writers when they do review on new models, tend to trash talk the models the new ones replace. brownies points, for sure, but i bet u one tequila shot that the next civic, when reviewed, will trash talk this mint-to be launched FC Civic

watchout that cvt turbo combo. that going to be favourite punching bag.

• Wee fuk yew on May 12, 2016 at 6:00 pm

Apart from the new design and turbo charged 1.5 l engine the interior looks cheap to me. I saw the us example has better quality finishing. Maybe its honda’s strategy to offer dumbed down products for 3rd world countries

• Cheung on May 12, 2016 at 6:37 pm

Any engine paired with CVT will not be as powerful as an conventional automatic

• frank on May 12, 2016 at 9:40 pm

how many golf bag can fit into the boot ?

• Captain Obvious on May 12, 2016 at 9:41 pm

Is it me or is this article really hard to read?

• TiBuN on May 13, 2016 at 4:57 am

Saw some of the comment about taking in “Honda Sensing” technology, but considering the road marking and condition here, coupled with the way people drive (e.g. cut into your lane brainlessly), the technology will not help but cause worse issue to the driver
    I think the world today focused too much on fuel consumption and no longer build cars like they used to for the plain old EG where its drivability and road holding. Guess the model FC fits this module right :P Hope that Honda brings in manual variant as part of the option

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 15
  • 6 airbags and VSA, again on May 13, 2016 at 4:02 pm

At least 4 of the technologies offered by Honda Sensing can be turned on/off as desired: cruise control, lane keeping assist, road departure mitigation and collision mitigation braking system. These technologies are NOT NEW – Merc, BMW and other premium brands already have them for years.

Those who say that Malaysian roads are not suitable for Sensing, it is safe to say that you have not driven before in the UK or US. Please try not to assume that the drivers and road conditions there are paradise. Wait until you have driven the roads there during winter – it’s dangerous due to snow and sleet, not to mention the numerous cyclists there prone to causing accidents.

The main difference between developed countries and us is not due to mere road conditions – it’s our mindset. Don’t ever fear technologies if you want progress. Think beyond 6 airbags and VSA if Malaysians want to have less road accidents’ death rate, one of the highest in the world. Cronies like Honda Malaysia wants profit (money, money and money), that’s the biggest reason they use Malaysians as guinea pigs in their double standard practice of excluding Sensing in our market.

Go sleep at night calmly, Honda Malaysia executives and shareholders, while your RM100k+ customers risk their lives on the roads.

• are you sure the cabin is not noisy any more, noisy cabin is a trademark of honda.
    accord,crv all noisy cabin

• anonymous on May 31, 2016 at 12:38 am

The steering wheel for base model no i leather?

• Honda Civic 8thG on Jun 10, 2016 at 9:05 am

wow!! HC 10th G!!!! as one of Honda end user for years, i do have other model at my porch….ie KIA K5 FL, Honda 1.8 8thG for my eldest son,K3 2.0 for Angah…New Jazz for my Mrs and Toyota Yaris for my younger princess…n NEW KIA Sorento just purchased recently for family to use.After been using some of this all models for years, personally for me, this new HC10thG nothing to be impress and have WOW factor.. compare to KIA K5 features or even KIA K3 2.0,infotainment and interior honestly i would rather save my $$$ rather than to own this new HC10thG…
    sorry Mr HONDA…not interested for this model..
    all the best :-(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • Hin Leong on Jun 18, 2016 at 7:10 pm

I road tested the 1.5 turbo Civic today. It drove very smoothly with balls upon pressing the accelerator. Probably the best Honda I ever driven. The only negative sadly is still the awful road noise.

• Curious on Jun 22, 2016 at 10:27 pm

Why US version has foldable seat but Malaysia has the cross-bar behind the rear seat?

• Daniel on Jun 26, 2016 at 9:00 am

I’ll still pick the mazda 3 over this anytime. Nothing outstanding apart from the turbo.

• David Chai on Jun 27, 2016 at 10:08 pm

Beware buyers! Honda Malaysia has just replied my inquiry on their choice windscreen on our local Civic. They wrote back clarifying…

Dear Mr. David Chai,

Thank you for contacting Honda Malaysia Sdn Bhd.

With regards to your enquiry, please be informed that our All-New Civic model is not fitted with the Acoustic Windscreen but with Normal Laminated Windscreen.

We appreciate your keen interest and your continuous support towards Honda products.

Should you require any other information, please do not hesitate to contact our Toll Free Line at 1 800 88 2020.

Warmest regards,
    Online Customer Care

I hate to admit it but I am extremely disappointed with Honda Malaysia for not revealing this particularly sensitive information to the public!

When launched in US, Honda boasted on the use of Acoustic Windscreen on Civic 10th Gen which reduces noise intrusion into the cabin.

My suspicion began when I visited Honda again after pre-booking Civic 2016 which is expected to arrive next month. But then I checked the code on the windscreen which has no marking of being a piece of Acoustic Windscreen and that prompted me to write in to Honda Malaysia. To my dismay, the above was their honest reply.

• ramps on Jul 07, 2016 at 11:06 am

hi, does anyone here own the honda FC 1.8L ? how is it? For me, i think my driving style is just slow and steady and thus i think i wont choose up to 1.5 turbo. may i have some advise?

• Damian DC on Jul 08, 2016 at 6:07 pm

I just got the new civic barely a week ago and already a few problems.

1. The chrome piece on the front bumper was not fixed properly so it was jutting out.
    2. The wheel alignment was a little to the right.
    3. The most damning of all, it feels like the car is forever in econ mode because the AC switches off every 5 minutes.

Brought it in to the service center today and I wasted 4 hours of my life that I’m never getting back. They easily fixed issue 1 and 2 but the AC, no luck. Worse of all, they have no clue what’s the problem. I had half a tank of petrol and 265KM left to go on the meter. They kept revving the engine and test driving the car when I got the car back I was down to a quarter of a tank and 130KM left.

As a first time Honda owner, I must say its the worst goddamn experience ever. For something priced at 135K you’d expect they know what the hell they are doing.

• No one on Jul 14, 2016 at 12:05 am

Tell the people on honda to recheck the programming. In the US they have a problem with the damn braked apparently is a faulty sensor and a programming error. Not sure does Malaysia honda have such talent to fix it. Good luck.

• No Honda Civic on Jul 16, 2016 at 12:55 pm

I test drove the 1.5 turbo. it was so noisy when i press the pedal. It felt like a hurricane and tornado just collided.

• Johnny on Jul 28, 2016 at 3:32 pm

I can’t get over that plastic panel next to the back seats. Your shoulder brushes against it while getting in and sitting down. Really takes away the premium feel of it. I think almost all C-segment cars have that padded.

• Looks like a promising package, and finally, Honda has gone turbo. As much as I love V-Tec, Honda does not make peaky screamers anymore…
    It is good to also see that ASEAN markets are getting getter safety kit on their cars, hopefully, Toyota will follow suit. In other Markets the Corolla comes with a minimum of 4 airbags and 7 one anything above Mid Spec.
    Kudos to Honda.

• Undecided on Jan 18, 2017 at 4:16 pm

I would like to know base on your experience in driving this car for the 1.5 tcp, how does it dare against the honda accord 9th gen FL 2.0vti-l in terms of NVH, and high speed stability (say >140km/h) in a straight line on highway and long sweeping bends such we can find on the highway. I know in terms of performance it surely can’t beat the turbos for the accord, but I just want to know in terms of stability and comfort level between these 2 cars. Tq for your feedback.

• Raj.S on Mar 02, 2017 at 10:36 am

I bought the 1.5TCP recently, but the quality control was a let down – the weld joints inside doors were of poor workmanship….Melaka JOB….

• Lee Chun Yuan on Jul 13, 2017 at 5:36 pm

Engine Roaring?… I own Civic TCP. Well, nope. 133km/h just in 2000rpm. Is depends what type of patrol you pump in. For me? I pump RON 100. The accelerate is real fast. WTF