Honda Thailand officially opens new Prachinburi plant

Honda Prachinburi Thailand-01

Honda Automobile Thailand today held the opening ceremony for its new plant at the Rojana Industrial Park in Prachinburi province. The event was attended by Thai deputy prime minister Dr. Somkid Jatusripitak, Japanese ambassador to Thailand Shiro Sadoshima and Takahiro Hachigo, president and CEO of Honda Motor Co Ltd.

The all-new factory, equipped with Honda’s latest efficient and environmentally-responsible production technologies, will enhance the company’s capability to deliver products for customers in Thailand and abroad. A previous report mentioned that Thailand will now be Honda’s fourth largest base, with Prachinburi boosting annual Thai production capacity to 360,000 units.

With the concept of “delivering quality products with the optimal balance of human craftsmanship and advanced production technologies,” Prachinburi has adopted Honda’s latest production tech. This includes the world’s first flowing cell ARC (Assembly Revolution Cell) Line, which you can read in detail here. It also inherited eco-friendly tech from Honda’s Yorii plant, the company’s most advanced factory in Japan.

The Prachinburi plant started mass production with the new, tenth-generation Civic in March, following the production start for plastic parts, and engine parts which started in October 2015 and February 2016 respectively. The plant plans to produce sub-compact and compact models in the future.

“Thailand has increased its presence as one of Honda’s production hubs by supplying products and components not only for the home market but also for the world including ASEAN nations, which drive our global sales growth. I am committed to making certain that the role of Thailand will become even more valuable with the completion of this all-new Prachinburi factory with full advantage of Honda’s newest production technologies,” Hachigo said.

We’ve driven Prachinburi’s first fruit – read our review of the 2016 Honda Civic FC 1.8 and 1.5 Turbo.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Madani on May 12, 2016 at 5:10 pm

Honda already have Pagoh.

All these additional foreign automotive plants & FDIs will not benefit P1 & P2 in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • Bailout on May 12, 2016 at 5:32 pm

Toyota factory idle another 10 years.No interesting cars in pipeline so far.Waiting chr another 2years.. Hoping more taxi driver change to new altis.Don’t expect Bolehland make more sales.Umw going nowhere.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 21
    • Thai people buy Toyota lah, unlike Proton factory in Tanjung Malim where all workers eat kuih lapis 8 times a day, sleep in the store room and if got time, kongkek awek. Don’t expect the bailout of RM1.5B to sustain this nasi lemak company very long

• Albert on May 12, 2016 at 5:46 pm

Honda alone in Thailand produces 360,000 cars.That is half of Bolehland’s entire car sales in 2015.
    If protong did not become a FAILED EXPERIMENT,and gomen gives huge incentives to japanese car manufacturers,we could have become the Detriot of asia. But cos of this monster called proton,rakyat are slapped with exhorbitant duties to protect it.
    All of us should be driving Japanese ,Korean cars with minimum duties.
    But cos of this 12 Billion Rm sapping monster,gomen got to fork out 1.5 B this year as bailout.
    Next year ,it may hit rm 2.6B…..or even higher bailouts cos Proton is still badly managed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 5
    • Bodoh piang on May 13, 2016 at 5:48 am

If Bolehland become Detroit of Asia who’s going to be the workforce? Surely u don’t want to.Only indon,bangla,Myanmar fill up the position.Everyone said it was P1 fault.U think the auto makers don’t hv brain to do research? They sure knew decades ago Bolehland not fit bcoz not practical on population wise,labour wage & local supplies.Even just P1 100% local made also hv to rely on China materials.I think whoever said Detroit of Asia better migrate there & work in factory earn minimum wage.Resign your office job! Want? If Bolehland so bad then tell me any car factory in your beloved over high respect Singapork? Asyik2 Detroit of Asia,ask your mother work then!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
      • Silly Con Valley of Asia on May 13, 2016 at 6:28 am

Even if they consider to built factory here also final decision not on Malaysia side.They know Malaysian ask for ribu ribuan salary,very shy to accept ratus ratusan gaji.Maybe should blame your grand grand mother & father not breed more child during 60s or blame why less Malay not migrate from indon,less Chinese migrate from China,less Indian migrate from India or orang asli not having bedroom fun with colonial British,Portuguese or Japanese in jungle.Or maybe should blame Mara,Uitm,PDRM,Bomba,1mdb.Many other high impact factories can do,why just think about auto factory? Thai became detroit of asia but don’t sell car so cheap also.Recently increase tax some more!

• Milobun on May 13, 2016 at 9:21 am

Didnt UMW sent their pple to work in thai also? As long as money comes in & these foreign labourers spent money in the country, it will be beneficial. Malaysians who do not want to work as labourer can work as supervisor or executive or chairman lah~

• Milobun on May 13, 2016 at 9:26 am

(off topic) Btw Singapork doesnt prefer this kind of industry. They prefers high tech intellectual property stuff like computer chips. It was mentioned in their school textbooks more than 10 years ago.

• Ensign on May 13, 2016 at 7:16 am

Actually we don’t have enough assembly plant workers to go large scale. Banglas will be needed.

• Krasher on May 12, 2016 at 5:47 pm

More jobs for the Thai but more jobless M’sian.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
  • Malaysian Driver on May 12, 2016 at 5:51 pm

Thainland people: Ko Purn Kap! thank you Mahathir, thank you for making Thailand the largest automotive hub in Asean. The amount of money, job opportunities and benifits made to the Thailand people is too great to measure. Thank you Mahathir for your far sight vision to make Thailand so successful today, we couldn’t be more grateful to this great leader from Malaysia. Long live the friendship between Thailand and Malaysia.

Ko Purn Kap! from the people of Land of Smiles :)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 0
  • Aiman Azami on May 12, 2016 at 6:01 pm

lol

• horrayooi on May 12, 2016 at 7:15 pm

They ( Honda ) build their factory in Thailand because of bureucracy, protectionism and productity (lack of it) problems in Malaysia. Our lost. So sad.

• gundam mama on May 12, 2016 at 7:58 pm

Proton can open as many factories as they want in Malaysia….but still nobody buys their cars….hahahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • Passerby on May 12, 2016 at 11:34 pm

pls don’t… 1 factory already 1.5B if 5 factory we need 7.5B to bail useless proton

• Nissan on May 12, 2016 at 9:03 pm

This is nothing compare to P1 plant in SA and tanjong malim

• Congratulations Honda Thailand, i’m very proud of you and i shall continue to support your product

• Genius on May 12, 2016 at 11:42 pm

Malaysia never awake. Poor top management. All policies is failed. Never learn from mistake. Hopeless.

• Observer on May 13, 2016 at 10:02 am

I read a lot of discouraging comments every time new factory open in Indonesia or Thailand. That is sad. Malaysian should proud of your auto industry. I understand that it probably loss money now (or for some time) but it will even loss much more (money, knowledge and skill) if it is collapse. All the big boys in the industry will laugh and you really do not want it to happen. What Malaysia need right now is full commitment from all stake holder (people, industry, government) to pull it to sustainable then growing industry. You do not want to just become consumer, worker or cost added dealer of this industry but should be in the top of the chain. If market size is your excuse, imagine Hyundai and KIA when they started.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
    • Donkey John on May 13, 2016 at 11:33 am

Be proud of failure soft loan rm1.5 billion duit rakyat?

What a sick joke.

• Krasher on May 13, 2016 at 4:20 pm

I’m just so sad of your comment.

• RM1.5B is probably not enough, we need more. I hope Najib can continue to support Proton