Mazda CX-9 SkyActiv-G 2.5T to arrive in Malaysia in Q4 2016, estimated pricing under RM250k – local dealer

All New Mazda #CX9 2.5L Turbo Skyactiv will be arrive Malaysia soon !

If you will be Interested Pls booking to avoid…

Posted by Mazda – Sales Promo & News on Friday, 13 May 2016

According to a posting on the ‘Mazda – Sales Promo & News’ Facebook page, the all-new Mazda CX-9 SkyActiv-G 2.5T looks set to arrive in Malaysia soon. How soon? Well that wasn’t disclosed in the posting, although the seven-seater SUV’s recent arrival in Australia could be an indicator.

Nonetheless, we ringed up said dealer to get a bit more info, and we’ve been told that the second-generation CX-9 is set to make its Malaysian debut in the fourth quarter of 2016, which is any of the following three months – October, November or December.

According to the same dealer, bookings for the CX-9 is apparently open, although barring any official word from Mazda Malaysia or Bermaz, we’ll notch this up as “unofficial” for now. As for specifications, no specifics have been given on the equipment that the CX-9 will receive.

Currently, the first-gen CX-9 that is still on sale is offered in a sole variant only, and according to the dealer, this will be the same for the second-gen model. A vague “high range” was used to describe the only variant. Estimated pricing provided meanwhile, is within the RM230,000 to RM250,000 mark, a discount from the first-gen CX-9 you can currently buy – RM288,380.91 (on-the-road without insurance).

With these preliminary (although not official) details being revealed about the upcoming Mazda CX-9, will you be looking forward to the arrival of the seven-seater SUV? Expect it to be imported directly from Mazda’s production base in Hiroshima, which also supplies the model to the Australian market.

GALLERY: 2017 Mazda CX-9 (US-spec)

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Very worth for the price, if it stays that way

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 3
  • contender on May 16, 2016 at 4:45 pm

RM230 -250K not exactly cheap but better than re-cond Harrier going for 220k onwards for 2015/2016. Better buy new n bigger plus CX-9 really looks good …let’s wait n see

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 2
    • Regret! on May 16, 2016 at 5:50 pm

God dammit just bought a 2015 Harrier last week D:
      Should have wait longer abit

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
      • Megane on May 16, 2016 at 11:05 pm

Pity you sir , i did not expect this CX-9 to arrive so soon as well . Im planning to buy this next year .

• applegreen on May 17, 2016 at 10:38 am

rm230k in the end this cx-9 comes with halogen reflectors only, no led headlamps :p

• Upper 200K!!
    joining the likes of Ford Everest, Toyota Fortuner & Subaru Forester XT.

• Forrester can oso get at Rm145k. 31% price down more worth it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
    • LeJohn on May 16, 2016 at 5:54 pm

The CX9 was never meant to face the that category, it always sat in the 300k region being premium Japanese 7 Seater SUV along side Lexus and Infinity. Bringing it down will definitely draw attention to those who want a premium 7 Seater SUV but not willing to fork out the money for an XC90 or BMW X5

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
  • if the price around rm 250k, i would rather buy this as my family car than other van type such as alphard vellfire elgrand odyssey etc. just my personal preference

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 2
    • X-Trail family car is rm 150K only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 26
      • xtrail third row seat not intended for adults bro..this car is same category as audi Q7 and volvo XC90

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
    • seancorr (Member) on May 16, 2016 at 7:17 pm

Depends on the family needs of course. Old people will have difficulty getting into this Mazda.

• DPCraft on May 16, 2016 at 4:51 pm

RM 250k = 250HP

• Josh Ling on May 16, 2016 at 6:24 pm

wow…then i wonder how toyota and ford gonna sell their fortuner and everest, especially the super stingy toyota?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • beatnik on May 16, 2016 at 6:31 pm

Wow.. just wow.. so much win.

• sure? on May 16, 2016 at 6:34 pm

sure or not? if under 250k will be selling like hot cake!

• European friends swear by Mazda and previous generation CX-5 and CX-9. Speaks volume…my opinion is Mazda has the best design amongst Jap cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
  • 230k seems like a fair price. might even attract some buyers from the cx5 2.5 range. Looking forward to this

• Thats very competitive pricing, thanks for not being so greedy like the rest! I’ll definitely continue supporting Mazda, they might not be the fastest cars around, but they are really fun to drive and reliable :)

• nabill (Member) on May 16, 2016 at 7:02 pm

pricing seems abit fishy…specially if its CBU…i honeslty thought is very close to 300k judging by the last cx9…but its a pleasant surprise if its really around 250k..

• Maybe the tax impose to this car is lower due to the smaller engine compare to the current CX-9. And do this new CX-9 entitle for the EEV status?

• apamau on May 17, 2016 at 5:12 pm

Ya, i suspect it could be fall into EEV, with tax incentive that make the price drop. such a big car with 2.5, like the volvo with 2.0 which is also entitle for EEV.

• seancorr (Member) on May 16, 2016 at 7:15 pm

That English ad!

• BeemerFreak on May 16, 2016 at 7:26 pm

Wow that’s a statement. In the face to Toyota and Ford with your truck based SUV….this is the 7 seater premium SUV to have from Japan. Well done Mazda.

• Imran on May 16, 2016 at 7:27 pm

Overpriced. Aussie and Japan selling from RM130-160k. But comes here RM250k+++. You have to thank that Proton creator for making car prices soar high high. You lay 100k extra to get the same thing when 95% of other countries are laying 100k cheaper. Thanks to Proton you can buy this for only RM258k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
  • apamau on May 16, 2016 at 8:07 pm

If below RM250k, then a lot of cars around this range are sweating, as it give a good price / package proposition, than includes, like some mentioned about, recond car and MPV.. especially when use as family car. Let’s see if this news is real.

• Hanye on May 16, 2016 at 8:43 pm

Cold shoulder response from consumers forces mazda to price cx9 from 290k to 250k. Mazda has learned a good lesson, others will follow suit. Hold your fire fellow potential buyers, more good news is coming.

• Ong Chee Boon on May 16, 2016 at 9:30 pm

OMG that interior quality, oozing QUALITY and elegant design!

Mazda’s Kodo concept, has a different feel in this CX-9. It looks humble, yet mighty from deep within. Very low profile design. Really alluring.

• tishaban on May 16, 2016 at 9:33 pm

Mazda Malaysia had a huge hit with the CX-5, at least in the urban areas. It had the right blend of features, drivability, fuel savings, safety kit and pricing, beating out the equivalent CUV in the segment.

Unfortunately it hasn’t been able to replicate it with the Mazda 3 in the C-segment, or the Mazda 2 in the B-segment despite being very competitive in pricing for both.

I sure hope they succeed in the premium 7-seater segment, I for one wouldn’t mind replacing my current Santa Fe with a more upmarket 7-seater when the time comes.

• Betui kan 250k? Hope it sticks. That and hopefully it doesn’t get too under-specced. In any case, it’s a real looker.

• Jimmy on May 16, 2016 at 10:26 pm

232,888 for 2WD, and 262,888 for 4WD will be reasonable to attract buyers.
    At around 300k, there are just too many good luxurious choices, GLC being the best. Mark my words, once you drive CX-9 for 3 years (after paying 300k), you will regret for not purchasing GLC/X3, if you have zero luxurious brands in your garage (unless you have a family with 7 members).
    Make yourself a list of 250k vehicles and study them properly if this is your first ‘luxury’ purchase. Test drive all of them.
    For those who can cough out a bit more, wait till next year, and make your choice.

• apamau on May 17, 2016 at 5:17 pm

I guess the intended audience won’t be GLC or people with luxurious brand in mind, as this is big car, is for those who wanna fetch more people when traveling. GLC is still a 5 seaters. Maybe able to switch some of those Estima/Alphard buyers and also those looking for 7 seater SUV.

• Sammy Loo on May 19, 2016 at 12:58 am

CX-9 competitor is not the GLC, X3 or Q5, it is the GLE/X5/Q7 that are way above 400k mark.

For 300k mark, there is no other choice better than the NX200t

• Sammy Loo on May 16, 2016 at 11:31 pm

Jandi dicapati, price drop

• 2.5 petrol is not strong enough for that size, at least 3.0 petrol, should offer turbo diesel

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 25
    • CarGuy on May 17, 2016 at 3:50 am

Read more before giving comment

• eeeriz on May 17, 2016 at 8:03 am

It’s turbocharged engine. Should suffice to most people out there. Agreed if NA engine, the car will struggle to move due to hefty weight.

• Kent Tan on May 17, 2016 at 12:38 am

Really enjoyed driving a Mazda, can’t wait for this new family car to arrive, hope it’s well priced as mentioned

• Now let see how ford is going to move their ridiculously priced pickup frame ford Everest. DeAd on arrival.

• heybadigol (Member) on May 17, 2016 at 8:32 am

I kinda doubt it will be less than RM250k. Considering its CBU and has a turbo engine. More like RM280k, which is slightly less than the current CX9. Anyways, this will be one hot SUV.

• Buck Roger on May 17, 2016 at 10:58 am

Does it has the 3rd row AC?