DBKL won’t bear costs of flood damage vehicles

Insurance cover note Malaysia

Last week’s flash floods that occurred in the Klang Valley saw around 100 cars trapped in rising waters on several major roads, including Jalan Pantai Baru and Jalan Tuanku Abdul Halim. Many vehicles were reportedly submerged under three to four feet of water, with owners having to abandon their vehicles.

Owners of these vehicles will have to rely on their insurance policy – if this has the necessary extension – to cover the cost of the damages, because the City Hall (DBKL) says it isn’t the prerogative of the government or even DBKL to bear the cost of the damaged vehicles, The Sun reports.

“No, we won’t cover it unless they had included extended coverage in their insurance. Otherwise, no,” Kuala Lumpur mayor Datuk Seri Amin Nordin Abdul Aziz told the publication in response to a query on the matter.

The publication also checked with leading insurance companies on aspects of flood damage, and it was revealed that insurance companies will not bear the cost of the damage if the client has not purchased an extension on his/her coverage policy.

“Damages of floods will only be covered if they purchase an extension on their policy which includes natural disasters like floods etc,” said one insuranc agent. A number of other leading insurance companies also stated the same policy structure on their respective websites, the report added.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• If no insurance coverage, can they sue the townhall? Just asking..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 1
    • hahaha on May 17, 2016 at 11:57 am

just need a rational judge…

will a real judge please stand up!!

• Jimmy on May 17, 2016 at 12:22 pm

With or without insurance coverage, they can sue the townhall.
      If there is true justice, you and I know who will win the case.

• remiser on May 17, 2016 at 1:19 pm

My Camry Hybrid is soaked wet, bateri kong.

Gonna sure dbkl in High Court.

• RavenAii (Member) on May 17, 2016 at 7:49 pm

In my opinion it’s actually their fault by not providing a good drainage system and causing losts in thousands of Ringgit due to vehicle damaged by flood water. DBKL just running away from their responsibility by citing that people should ‘include extensive insurance’ after they realize the costs to repair all those vehicles; which probably would reach hundreds of thousands.

• First Tengku Adnan apologized for the floods (http://www.thestar.com.my/metro/community/2016/05/14/govt-says-sorry-for-floods-ft-minister-rubbishclogged-drains-couldnt-cope-with-high-volume-of-rainwa/), and now there’s a statement saying they’re not liable for the damages.

So what on earth is DBKL’s role here? Do you just approve development plans based on so-called ‘guidelines’, then when it rains heavily, start pointing fingers from the weather, Alam Flora to corruptions?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 1
  • Sadek Segaraga on May 17, 2016 at 10:33 am

Things that DBKL “GOOD” at:
    – summon
    – seize poor people stall

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 0
  • Ollie on May 17, 2016 at 10:43 am

I paid an additional RM300+ for flood and riot damage. Not for windscreen – I know Malaysians just love to change windscreen every year for free in collusion with the friendly Dr Cermin, but I’ve been driving for 12 years, never had windscreen damage.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 9
    • Scarface on May 17, 2016 at 12:11 pm

Windscreen coverage is calculated at 15% of the cost in Malaysia. Some windscreen of modern car is very expensive due to the safety, heat or sound resistance, thin and light weight technology in it. Just look the the picture of this article. It can be someone’s few months’ salary. The insurance coverage is not compulsory but give a peace of mind in the event of windscreen damage. I insured my car windscreen for 11 years and never claim. The premium paid would have justified for two new ones. This is the price to pay for honest consumers because this coverage do not affect the NCB. Anyone can always replace the windscreen due to breakage caused by irresponsible road users who throw junks from a moving vehicle, trucks dropping pebbles or vehicle parts, bad road cleaning maintenance plus smash and snatch thieves. It will be a relief if insurance companies introduce NCB for windscreen coverage.

• Ollie on May 17, 2016 at 3:16 pm

What i meant was, I know many many people who pay extra for windscreen cover but don’t pay for flood and riots.

• Ben Yap on May 17, 2016 at 10:52 am

i think what DBKL said is fair….

after all most of the motorist will not pay the summon. so with poor summon payments, DBKL will no be able to maintain the place to avoid flood-free.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 60
    • Mohd Affandi on May 17, 2016 at 11:40 am

Does DBKL solely rely 100% on summons for it’s income?

I dont htink so bro. They, like very other kerajaan tempatan, receive grants, budgets and other monies from the government for their operational purposes.

Not to forget that they get monies from our tax, quit rent, lesen perniagaan, lesen iklan and such.

saying that because ‘people not pay summons, DBKL cannot maintain the place’ is quite absent minded.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
    • IDHWater on May 18, 2016 at 9:01 am

Wahliao, please shut your Yap lah….

• DBKL’s explanation is not good to hear,however it’s actually fair. As they said the flooding situation was caused by the huge rainfall(more than 80 mm in a hour) which is double or even triple to normal volume,meaning that it’s officially natural disaster and it couldn’t be unresistible. But if the volume is normal like 10-20mm/hour and there’s still a hit by flash flooding,I believe you could sue local authority then.
    That’s why insurance company providing an extra rider for natural disaster including flood because if not,you can’t get any compensate from anywhere but ur own pocket.
    However, I also hope DBKL can effectively use the fund to improve the infrastructure and lift up the standard so that less and less such incidents would happen in the future.

• Do they know the meaning of “prerogative”? Main bantai je.

• john is otak batu on May 17, 2016 at 11:03 am

hey DBKL, kedai kita dalam daerah DBKL pun kena banjir kilat sebsb DBKL tak bersih longkang!…awas!, kita kan boycott bayar cukai jugak… kalau tak sama-sama masuk mahkamah!

• Rudy is right…can sue town hall as first defendant, kerajaan Malaysia as second defendant. Tort of negligence. And because road users pay road tax meaning there is a contract between Road users and DBKL, so can sue “breach of contract” Because as per NYC mentioned “minister admit flood is caused by clogged drains etc (meaning DBKL negligence.
    Meanwhile, because this flood is not “act of god” and caused by DBKL, maybe insurance company can claim from DBKL too.

• Jay Law on May 17, 2016 at 11:24 am

for all the parking fees and summons..

• Undilah BN.

So nobody is responsible for the floods…car owners go makan sendiri.

• Chingu on May 17, 2016 at 12:03 pm

Rain is act of god, flood is not act of god…. It is poor city management. Someone need to get this straight

• You (DBKL) not maintain KL good enough and cost 100 cars trapped in rising waters on several major roads. Either the Owners of these vehicles are included extended warranty coverage or not, that is their are problems, Nothing do it with DBKL. You don’t say, this is Not Your (DBKL) responsible. To all Owners, kindly proceed with your claims to the tribunal. IRRESPONSIBLE response from DBKL, what a shame.

• Natural Disaster on May 17, 2016 at 1:22 pm

Key word here is “natural disaster” like flood which is what flood used to be – act of God, natural disaster. That is why insurance don’t cover it. However it KL’s case, it is actually act of man and NOT a natural disaster…

• This is definitely a man made disaster. Not natural at all. What more with the admission by the government on the clogged drains causing the flood! Can us victims start a group action to seek compensation for damages incurred?

• Cannot just point finger an accuse others being responsible for natural disaster. Flood is always deemed as natural disaster. Clog drain due to rubbish? Sit back and think where does all the rubbish come from? If the rain is exceptionally heavy no matter how efficient our drain is it would be overwhelmed. Compounded by the rubbish thrown by whoever staying upstream or in the city itself. We always expect others to do the cleaning but never bothered to take that responsibility ourself. Development around that area also probably contributed to the high volume of water flow due to inadequate drainage perhaps. Clog drain due to rubbish, go and sue all those littering.

Car insurance coverage wise, any car owner would know, natural disaster is never covered in our comprehensive insurance cover unless they don’t understand what is being covered by their car insurance. Since the word here is comprehensive most assume it is covered. It is always separate cover for natural disaster. Even if you car caught in riot or even vandal in the city, it wont be covered by our ‘comprehensive insurance’. You need separate insurance add on to cover it as well. Go peruse through you insurance policy and read. So to those working in area which susceptible to flooding, better start adding on those natural peril insurance cover to help reduce your losses. Those who are affected by the flood without insurance cover add on (natural peril), it would be a very hard lesson to learn since obviously the insurance company wont compensate your loss.

Saman/fine is never an income. If we ALL abide by the law, so the government/local authority goes bankrupt?