Deputy PM says government will ensure all public transportation projects are implemented as planned

MRT_Sg_Buloh

Deputy prime minister Datuk Seri Ahmad Zahid Hamidi says that the government will ensure that all projects, including those in the public transportation sector, will be implemented as planned with minimal or no delays, The Sun reports.

“We are committed to ensure all plans go well,” he said, adding that while the public transport system needed to keep pace with the nation’s progress, it had to be done in a manner that was sustainable and eco-friendly.

Addressing delegates at the 16th International Association of Public Transport (UITP) Asia Pacific Assembly being held in KL, he highlighted the progress Malaysia had made in expanding and upgrading its public transportation network and listed a number of projects that were already running or were in the process of being completed.

These include the opening of phase 1 of the MRT Sungai Buloh-Kajang Line in December this year, which will see 12 stations being operational, as well as the completion of phase 2 in July 2017, which will add another 30 stations and 30 km of travel.

Also on the cards are the Putrajaya Urban Rail project and a second Bus Rapid Transit project for the Klang Valley. In the case of the latter, the 34 km-long, 25 station KL-Klang BRT line will be up and running by 2018. Completed projects include the LRT Line Extension Project, which begins operating later this year, as well as the implementation of the Stage Bus Service transformation programme in 11 major cities across the country.

In an earlier report, Youth and Sports Minister Khairy Jamaluddin had stated that the public transport system of a country was its backbone and that an efficient and reliable system needs to be in place to ensure progress. He said that with an urbanisation rate of 60%, a proper public transport system in the country is both a necessity and a government priority.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Gargantia on May 17, 2016 at 6:31 pm

“We are committed to ensure all plans go well,” Deputy PM said…. yeah wait until 2030 completed “were plans go well” too as long as the track didn’t fall !!! Foolish statement by BN ministry !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 20
    • Yay! Gov care for us. I luv BN

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 19
    • Simpan sikit bodoh tu.. MRT phase 1 almost complete.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
      • Gargantia on May 18, 2016 at 9:54 am

Ask your BN ministry first… then supporters like u will be less bodo!

• Sometimes people become blind due to stupidity. If yo.u’d bothered, you’d know that while the LRT Extension Project is delayed (but now almost ready), the MRT SBK Line is almost ready amd on track to open service by December 2016…
      Granted, government projects tend to get delayed but credit must be given when it is clear

• seancorr (Member) on May 17, 2016 at 6:34 pm

BS, where are those park and ride facilities for the LRT section in subang and Puchong? Only a few of the many stations have it when compared to the original plan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • Take taxi lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 19
      • .please go study why need existence of lrt, mrt first in term of cost and functionality before you make your statement. Well, if u couldn’t understand it, I can’t blame u..perhaps is not your fault…..

• shiro on May 17, 2016 at 7:36 pm

riso aku bila dgr statetment dr puak2 ni…

• Terima kasih BN. Saya & dan keluarga saya tersangat kenang budi kepada kerajaan pimpinan datuk najib tun razak yang mengutamakan kebajikan rakyat & sanggup membelanjakan berbillion-billion ringgit semata-mata untuk memberi keselesaan kepada rakyat jelata. Dengan hati saya yang sungguh terharu & air mata saya yang mengalir teresak-esak, saya mengambil keputusan untuk terus mengundi kerajaan bn pada pilihanraya yang akan datang

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 24
    • Support! Support!

• azermalak on May 17, 2016 at 10:07 pm

Like it or not, its only under Najib Razak the public transports development progresses. While Mahathir introduced the LRT and Monorail but its stop there for decades. Today you have MRT, LRT, HSR, ETS, UTC and others stuff. Am not a fan of him but where credit dues its fair we acknowledged it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
      • azrai on May 18, 2016 at 9:29 am

Actually it is during the tenure of Pak Lah when they ordered the new komuter, trains. But at the time they arrive, Najib is already the PM.

• TQ for your vote on behalf of Najib. More people should be kenang budi like you. Najib will ensure that AP system continues for the benefit of majority

• shawal on May 18, 2016 at 12:09 am

Ok, tq for the reminder that you are committed to do the things that you are elected to do…
    Again….tq

• Suffrex on May 18, 2016 at 7:20 am

In another news, the nasi lemak makcik is committed to ensure her nasi lemak is properly cooked for her customers.

• Kalau tak beritau, korang pulak kata takde info, takde progress, takde transparency.
      Kalau beritau, korang pulak kata apa nak kecoh, nasi lemak, dan lain.
      Macam ni korang menangsemualor!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
  • azrai on May 18, 2016 at 9:27 am

“We need to award all the mega projects to the contractor as soon as possible since the GE will be any time in 2018. Sumbangan pilihanraya is very important. Cash is king.”