Third-gen Kia Sorento – Malaysian order books open

Screen Shot 2016-05-17 at 3.23.02 PM

Kia Malaysia has officially announced that the all-new Kia Sorento is now open for booking. Set to make its Malaysian debut sometime later this month as previously indicated, the seven-seater SUV is said to be priced from the RM158k mark, according to a Naza Kia Malaysia sales advisor.

The posting on Kia Malaysia’s Facebook doesn’t provide much in the way of details beyond a rotating 360 degree-view GIF image of the SUV, and a link to the booking site. However, as we’ve reportedly earlier, there will be a total of three variants on offer to Malaysians.

The third-gen Sorento UM line-up is made up of two petrol and one diesel variant, with the latter being an absentee on the previous-gen Sorento XM in Malaysia. However, the diesel version will serve as the entry point in the range, with the petrol options occupying the higher positions in the upcoming Sorento line-up.

As mentioned above, the new Sorento will be priced from the RM158k mark for the base diesel variant. As for the petrol options, two trim levels will be offered, tentatively priced at RM168k and RM178k, respectively. Both will get a 2.4L powerplant under the hood.

We’ve already driven the five-star ANCAP rated SUV in Jordan, which you can read about here. At that time, we did not get the chance to try out the oil burner variant, but we know the CRDi well from two generations of the Santa Fe. Both are mated to a six-speed torque converter automatic transmission.

Click here to register your interest in the new Kia Sorento.

GALLERY: Kia Sorento UM spotted in Malaysia

GALLERY: Kia Sorento UM driven in Jordan

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• komarad on May 17, 2016 at 3:25 pm

looks tough..

• AutoFrenz (the original) on May 17, 2016 at 3:45 pm

They call it Kia Soprianto in Indonesia if im not mistaken…will compete with Mitsubishi Pajero, Toyota Prado and Nissan Parjo…thank you…

• Same L00 on May 17, 2016 at 5:35 pm

You know kimchi car no RV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 23
        • Same L0rrrr on May 17, 2016 at 7:11 pm

After 2 years my son saga can trade in at higher price

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
        • Every1canTalk on May 18, 2016 at 7:17 am

We know shame loo no life..
          We know shame loo talkok..
          We know UMW toyo no new tech..
          lol

• Same L00 on May 19, 2016 at 8:38 pm

When you can’t afford Toyota 4th gen Prius or Mirai, you PRETEND Toyota has no new technology. lol

Why Toyota so expensive? Go ask your beloved junk Proton lar.

• Gonggok on May 17, 2016 at 11:21 pm

Soprianto? Honestly I tergelak kuat masa baca hehe

• alaking on May 17, 2016 at 3:27 pm

rm 100K difference?! pick Sorento, X1 or CX-9.

• contender on May 17, 2016 at 3:45 pm

For KIA just wait till next year 2017 and then only buy their 2016 vehicles and get good discounts …. no point buy when they launch

Should be a decent SUV but after sales service and resale value …..???

• Really on May 17, 2016 at 9:51 pm

Actually, all car brands will give discounts to clear old stock. Even Japanese brands have to be aggressive and offer huge discounts to get sales at current economic climate.

• DPCraft on May 17, 2016 at 4:34 pm

looks bland

• Finally the proper SUV is open for booking

• JasonT on May 17, 2016 at 5:29 pm

Why still using old fog lights? In Korea and US already using quad fog lights.

• I am looking to buy 1 myself in US, only highest trim get quad fog lamp, lowest trim has no fog lamp at all…

• mohsin on May 17, 2016 at 5:34 pm

nampak macam stok lama!
    mana ice cube fog lamp? haha

• Nenek Kau on May 17, 2016 at 7:57 pm

no where near CX9 in terms of design

• waters on May 18, 2016 at 10:25 am

158K to 178K for this? You’re better of with a 2.4 CRV or a 2.5 Cx-5 at that price. Possibly even the Mitsu Outlander.

It’s too expensive for a car that has the resale value of a rock. Be prepared to lose all your money and keeping this car for life.

• Sammy Loo on May 19, 2016 at 12:53 am

again another death on arrival model with no RV

• marieta on May 19, 2016 at 8:08 am

looking back on Naza history, I think I gonna wait for facelift version…this diesel variant gonna suck on spec

• stasta on May 19, 2016 at 10:08 am

their unique selling point could have been the 180 bhp diesel engine. but instead they choose to put it in the lowest spec model instead of the high spec.

• Maynard James Keenan on May 21, 2016 at 8:30 am

I bought a new Kia Spectra in 2005. 5 years later, the car broke down and my trusted mechanic (who once worked in a Naza factory in Gurun) found out that the alternator had a yellow mark, means that it was from a kereta potong.

I will never buy a Kia again.