Honda M’sia Flood Relief Programme – 50% off parts

Honda-Flood-Relief

Owner of that white Honda Accord stuck in last week’s massive flash flood that hit KL, and other Hondas caught in the sea of brown, take note. Honda Malaysia is having an after sales flood relief programme offering 50% discount on affected genuine parts.

The programme started yesterday and will be in effect till July 10, 2016. Affected customers are required to submit a police report and insurance cover note to Honda authorised dealers within the campaign period.

Of course, it’s only open to cars purchased from official channels (sorry, Accord Euro) and only damaged original factory OEM parts are entitled to replacement part discounts. The discount is also not applicable for claims covered under insurance. The new parts come with a six months or 10,000 km warranty.

The rainy season is ongoing, and should you be unlucky to be caught in a flood, here are a few reminders when the water subsides. Don’t turn on the ignition and don’t try to start your car. Open the door manually and avoid using remote locking (or any other electrical function). Disconnect the negative battery terminal. Make a police report and inform your insurance company before towing the car to the workshop.

Perodua owners, you have assistance too.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• No free towing?

• targa on May 18, 2016 at 11:45 am

Sounds ok, but i would expect free towing.

• Pupils, do check your insurance policy. Flood is not a default coverage and will incur extra premium. Default comprehensive coverage only include fire and theft.

Might be worthwhile to include it if you travel around flood areas often, especially the prediction is heavy rain fall expected after a long El-Nino period.

• DPCraft on May 18, 2016 at 3:29 pm

Nooo, I hope that Accord Euro is ok…

• B-Unggul on May 18, 2016 at 4:09 pm

50% is better than 20%.

But yeah, genuine parts from any authorised SC brand can still be expensive. Time to add flood coverage to your car insurance then, especially for those in KV.