2016 Honda Civic previewed ahead of M’sia launch

Honda_Civic-2

As promised, Honda Malaysia is previewing the 2016 Honda Civic at My Auto Fest 2016. The tenth-generation C-segment contender made its public debut here in Malaysia today, appearing in its local specification form.

The radically-styled fastback sedan is shown in top-spec Turbo guise, equipped with full-LED headlights, LED fog lights and 17-inch two-tone alloy wheels; it’s also clad in the new, dark silver hero colour called Lunar Silver Metallic, which we spotted on an undisguised car last weekend.

Unlike the Thai-market RS though, we won’t be getting a gloss black grille (chrome for us) or a full-width rear spoiler. No RS badging either – just a subtle VTEC Turbo emblem.

Honda_Civic-15

Inside, we can spot leather seats (with a carbon fibre pattern on the centre stripe), paddle shifters, dual-zone automatic air-conditioning and the Honda Display Audio infotainment system with a seven-inch touchscreen. A peek through the heavily-tinted rear windows also revealed rear air-con vents, which are missing on Thai-market models.

Power comes from either a retuned 1.8 litre i-VTEC naturally-aspirated four-cylinder petrol making 141 PS at 6,500 rpm and 174 Nm of torque at 4,200 rpm, or a brand-new 1.5 litre VTEC Turbo mill that kicks out 173 PS at 5,500 rpm and 220 Nm of torque from 1,700 to 5,500 rpm. Both engines are mated exclusively to a continuously variable transmission (CVT).

The standard kit list is long, with even the base 1.8 litre variant getting Remote Engine Start and Walk Away Auto Lock – the former works at distances of up to 40 metres, while the latter automatically locks all doors when the driver walks away with the key beyond 2.5 metres from the car. An electronic parking brake, a brake hold function and an eight-way power-adjustable driver’s seat are also standard across the range.

Also commendable is the standard safety kit on offer, with all variants getting six airbags, Vehicle Stability Assist (VSA), Hill Start Assist (VSA) and rear ISOFIX child seat anchors. There’s no hint of the Honda LaneWatch feature – found on the Thai-spec RS – being available, however, even on this range-topping car.

The new FC Civic is now open for booking, and will be launched in the second quarter of this year, which means it will be here very soon. In the meantime, you can read our full review and check out a new vs old gallery with the outgoing ninth-gen FB.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• We want sunroof pleaseee!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 122 Thumb down 93
    • Sunroof ? Not enough heat ????

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 81
      • targa on May 20, 2016 at 3:44 pm

And many don’t even use sunroofs in this country..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 98
        • Now let’s wait for Accord 1.8T

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
          • actually sunroof very useful at our country.

after parking long hours under the sun, the moment you start engine & open up your sunroof, heat will release very fast.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 116 Thumb down 7
          • Operation Manager on May 20, 2016 at 6:29 pm

I cant see any selling point on new 2016 Civic(rm140k). Passat 1.8T rm120k, Accord 2.0 rm128k, Jetta1.4TSI 240Nm rm88k, Mazda3 210Nm rm106k. (1)Honda engine famour with HIGH WEAR & TEAR; as its mechanically design need to ramp higher RPM in order to near competitor TORQUE (eg. Mazda3 Skyactive 2.0 210Nm) . The higher RPM the faster Wear & Tear and create MORE VIBRATION affected engine mounting & overall vibration. Thats the reason you can hear bunyi lembu on honda engine and many engine overhall at workshop. (2)The EARTH DREAM still the same as old VTEC, open the bonnet you could see a MESSY UNMANAGED of Honda Engine, tons of wires/cable link here & there everywhere (you cant find these level of messy engine design at TOYOTA MAZDA even P2). (3)Performance nothing to surprise, can’t even beat FORD, MAZDA, VW, etc… 1.5T even make buyer as WHITE RAT to validate the initial design for future imorovement. (4)1.5Turbo 220Nm the least powerfull emgine performance in market; 1.5 ECOBOOST=240Nm, 1.4TSI= 240Nm, even heavy the Civic but can perform better. (5)1.5T Civic petrol comsumption like drinking water (pair to KOREA fuel comsumption, but Korea turbo much much more higher TORQUE than Honda turbo) (6)The exterior design, FRONT & REAR like loose chemistry, cant match. Interior similar CITY design.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 98 Thumb down 39
          • make sense on May 20, 2016 at 11:05 pm

Same nonsense comment over Honda news again? Be more creative a bit…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 39
          • make sense on May 21, 2016 at 9:08 am

Let’s talk facts.
            1. Honda engine famous for high wear and tear, due to low torque – this statement alone is unfounded. I have driven R18A engine (civic FB) and I am surprised by the low end torque. Now Honda takes it a take further to introduce DI + turbo.
            2. Messy engine? Do you open the bonnet and admire the engine? Honda philosophy is machine min man max, so I rather have bigger interior, and cramped engine. Also, the smaller the engine space, the safer the car during frontal crash.
            3.Can’t beat? Another unfounded statement. Have you seen the 0-100 time of this new Civic? Many reviewers have proven that the new civic can achieve ~7.2s, definitely no slouch.
            4.Torque is not the sole measurement of engine, wonder who thought you that. Horsepower and efficiency also very important. You like torque, buy diesel car.
            5. Lol. Last time I checked, Honda engine are known for fuel efficiency, Korean on the other hand, are misleading the consumers by claiming unachievable MPG and get sued (remember the US elantra case?). Check the fuelly page of new Civic 1.5T, you will be amazed that average consumption by many users are 36 MPG, much lower consumption than even Mazda3 skyactiv.
            http://www.fuelly.com/car/honda/civic/2016
            6. Who likes it will like it, who hates it will hate it.

Let’s talk facts here, clearly they are too many of these people drag down the quality of this free site. Some comments are outright unreadable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 29
          • nonsense on May 21, 2016 at 6:05 pm

Nothing above makes sense

• nonsense on May 21, 2016 at 6:44 pm

1. You failed to give proof why more torque will get lesser wear and tear engine.

2.Keyword here is messy engine not about small or large. You failed again.

3. 7.2 sec is just approximate figure. As the variable varies, the result will also vary. Dun be gullible believing everything on net. Example, 109PS Vios and 120PS City – performance is not that obvious

4. Nowadays torque is the word, you want hp for top speed go ahead. YOu dun even use it everytime. And yes, fact is the number is the least than other competitors.

So please give rational comments or it will all go nonsense

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
          • make sense on May 21, 2016 at 10:17 pm

1. Why should I give proof? I am neither a honda engineer nor an automotive engineer. Wear and tear is bound to happen as long as there is friction, it happens for practically everything. Do you have Honda engine oil analysis data to prove the point that wear and tear is higher in Honda engine? From consumer POV, I only care about whether my engine can last more than few 100k easily. One thing is Honda engine can take 0W20 engine oil, this somewhat proves that Honda engine is designed with high precision and less friction. Moreover, Honda is currently 2nd place in least problem car brand, what you say about this?
            2. Yes, keyword is messy engine, point taken. So my question is do you buy a car based on how tidy the engine is? How does this affect the driving experience?
            3. I just pointed out this new civic is not slow like some nonsense basher above said. At least I have something to back me up. This is a family sedan, not a race car. However it is a big leap forward from FD or FB. View the link below.
            autohome.com.cn/135/
            4. Where and when did I say the new Civic is the highest torque? Number is the least? Have you forgotten in Malaysia, main Civic competitors are Altis 2.0 187nM, Slyphy 2.0 191nm and Mazda 3 210nm. Focus and VW are higher yes, on paper.

I am being very rational here. At least compare to some guys above.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 19
          • Nonsense on May 22, 2016 at 7:53 pm

1.Taking 0w20 oil is nothing to shout about nowadays

2.Yup messy engine may hint low built quality

3.Turbo but no turbo feeling

4.You just agreed Civic has lowest torque

• Hassan Amir on May 20, 2016 at 1:23 pm

So much hype because of their 6 airbags. But most important is the price. Malaysians see PRICE. If price is good, it will sell well.

But what happens when Honda prices the Civic so close to Accord like the last time? This was the MAIN reason previous Civic was a big failure.

People rather add a bit more to get a proper big D class sedan if it is only a few thousand more. Nowadays you go bargain for an Accord, can even get RM128k also.

Big headache….buy Civic small C class sedan (albeit 6 airbags) for RM120k or buy huge luxurious Mercedes feel D Segment Accord for RM128k.

Both Honda and Toyota have failures like the Altis and Civic cause they price is so close to their larger D segment.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 99 Thumb down 10
      • Josh Ling on May 20, 2016 at 6:20 pm

errr….in case you didn’t realize, the one before last one, the FD generation, also was sold at similar price level. and that one sold like nobody business, so successful that nissan would have to postpone its own C-Segment car plan, and toyota would have to come up with the facelift of corolla sooner than normal because the sales was so terrible.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
      • make sense on May 21, 2016 at 12:50 am

Clearly Civic is targeting young executive, which tends to prefer style. Don’t think the hype is due to 6 airbags but due to the refreshing styling, turbo engine and generally very positive review from US and China.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 17
      • Kalimaca on May 21, 2016 at 11:52 pm

Go ahead and buy your lowest range Accord. You get fabric seats, halogen headlamps, 2.0 engine sloppy engine. Mercedes feel? More like proton saga feel.

• Accordwin on May 22, 2016 at 7:25 pm

D segment car is more comfortable than C segmenter like Civic

• civicx on May 20, 2016 at 1:31 pm

better to get lanewatch

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
      • policeman on May 20, 2016 at 6:35 pm

Better to learn how to drive instead of relying on electronic aids.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 5
    • in malaysia? really?

• Penjara Oh Penjara on May 20, 2016 at 2:26 pm

UMW can close shop now. Altis will be completely dead. But pity Honda. Honda wants to price it cheaper but MITI does not allow it.

Honda has been told by MITI to price this car above RM120k to protect our favourite Proton. After nobody will buy their Preve and Perdana

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 40
      • Cakapcoxk on May 20, 2016 at 3:32 pm

You sure kah? Or cakap main main saja

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 7
      • Apa kebanggangan ini?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
      • sjjsjsja on May 20, 2016 at 6:04 pm

Thailand civic topspec rm139k salah Proton kah???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
        • Rostrum on May 24, 2016 at 7:54 pm

… CIVIC TURBO RS THB1.19M baht…. so..kalau tak duk thailand jgn sebat je statement.. Turbo RS tak masuk pon malaysia…kalau masuk sah2 MITI letak harga 160k…so proton tak salah…cuma org yang nak protect sgt proton yang salah.

• kuriang on May 20, 2016 at 5:02 pm

Yes agreed. Only experience users know how.

• Zoom Zoom on May 20, 2016 at 12:41 pm

Nice!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 14
  • So many features missing from thai specs. Wow, they make Malaysian like dumb=.=

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 8
    • Make sense on May 20, 2016 at 4:42 pm

Thai doesn’t have rear aircond. Maybe for malaysian rear aircond is a more appealing features compare to sensing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 12
  • seancorr (Member) on May 20, 2016 at 12:59 pm

Now that’s proper standard kit even for the base model. UMW will need to start upping its game or face the music.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 22
    • 300k pipu bought their moving coffins, ada apa toyota kesah?

• heybadigol (Member) on May 20, 2016 at 1:09 pm

Let’s hope so. The Toyota brand sells by itself here cos of the many loyal repeat buyers. UMW could just put tyres on a coffin and ppl will still buy, just because it has a Toyota badge.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 6
      • Toyota alredi put wheels on coffins and yet still 300k pipu continue to buy this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
    • Same L00 on May 20, 2016 at 1:48 pm

This sushi is any time better than your recond sausage

• Ben Yap on May 20, 2016 at 2:21 pm

UMW likes to listen to music. It’s Ed Sheeran singing!

• UMW core business is not selling cars so they don’t care coz uncle still buying by the truck loads

• diseaser on May 20, 2016 at 3:24 pm

Faster than a 316

• Ex VGM staff on May 22, 2016 at 8:56 pm

316 has its own characteristics. It is FR chassis with 8 speed auto gearbox. While Civic is FF with CVT.

• For the walk-away auto-lock 2.5m, what happens if someone is sitting in the car while the driver walks away with the key? (e.g. go into convenience store in petrol station)

Will the alarm sound? My current W204 C200 – if I lock the car with someone sitting inside, the inner sensors will detect movement and car alarm will ring.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
    • If u wanna walk away with a passenger in the car, leave your keys with them lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
      • That’s not true. Cars that don’t have auto lock feature, the passenger can lock the car from within for security purposes and the alarm won’t sound, even if the driver has the key and walks away.

A better system for this would be that if the inner sensors detect movement in the car, the auto-lock will be disabled when driver walks away so alarm won’t be triggered. The passenger can then have the option to lock the car from within if he/she chooses to.

Now I believe that’s more constructive than “leave your keys with them lah”.

If every problem with a feature you have to solve manually as a user, how will a product improve? Just like 15 years ago, if someone suggests a power window with pinch feature so we don’t need to keep holding down the power button to fully wind down the window, would your response then be – “if you want to fully wind down your window, just keep pressing the power button, lah”?

• Wah204 on May 20, 2016 at 6:59 pm

Can feel u are very proud of yr 204

• What’s the point of your comment? I am just giving an actual example using what I drive.

That’s just like me saying that I “can feel that you’re feeling contempt because you perceive that I’m proud of my 204”. This is not right, why does a discussion have to be so hostile?

• Honda also got inner sensor maa.. Better still, there’s a switch to deactivate if you wish to. No worries at all

• Ah I see, thanks. I used to have a Honda City too and had the same issue if the driver locks the car from outside with passenger inside.

• Pengguna Bijak on May 20, 2016 at 1:02 pm

Bye bye Proton Perdana.

Better spend RM140k on that new Civic instead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 15
    • Depends on buyers priority. Size or badge.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
    • policeman on May 20, 2016 at 6:38 pm

Then spend 30K after 6 months to replace the CVT. Just like what many City owners are doing now. That’s why you can see so many used, current generation of CITY for sale.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 16
      • Never tried cvt, no talk on May 21, 2016 at 11:26 am

Just drive your kancil. U don’t know how good this City cvt is.

• karam singh on May 22, 2016 at 8:59 pm

Lucky Honda and Proton are both in DRB camp.

• Henry on May 20, 2016 at 1:04 pm

This car will be in the bestseller list for sure. (thumbs up)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 11
  • heybadigol (Member) on May 20, 2016 at 1:05 pm

Rear AC vents is available. So that means we get the Indonesian Civic specs, minus the fake step down exhaust tips. Wish they gave beige leather interior option for those who find all black boring.

• ColaBear on May 20, 2016 at 1:08 pm

Civic Turbo VS Focus Ecoboost VS 408 e-THP. Any thoughts?

• rchoo on May 20, 2016 at 4:23 pm

I like the comparison

• focus on May 20, 2016 at 10:35 pm

definitely focus…go and test drive the sport+, then you will know what i am talking about…the interior win civic few tiang…lol

• Pakulupapito on May 21, 2016 at 2:57 pm

Better gat NA

• Sammy Loo on May 23, 2016 at 8:15 pm

There is no comparison between them, Civic is a confirm winner by a big margin.

Look out for the sales chart after Civic is launched and immediately can you see much more Civic FC than Focus + 408 combine.

• Vtec broo on May 20, 2016 at 1:09 pm

Alreaay test drive in thailand,me and 2 friends salesperson=4 ppl inside,very slow response,engine sound very loud,kinda whinning sound appears when try to hit hard at pedal in acceleration,this 1.5t vtec doesnt suit this cvt i guess,maybe good for town use,not for pure vtec fan,win in terms of look only,others none.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 12
    • Family car on May 21, 2016 at 10:19 am

I think for daily use should be okay, this is not a sports car bro.

• I am split between this and Perdana. I like perdana for its sheer size. What should i go for ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
    • Depends on ur priority, mate. If size is ur main need, Perdana is the best. If u just wan badge and turbo and can live with a smaller car, go for Civic.

But ultimately, just say no to Toyota coffins!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 5
      • DPCraft on May 21, 2016 at 12:20 pm

Actually this new civic is not small. It has grow bigger then last gen.

• Chow1 on May 20, 2016 at 1:11 pm

I think Corolla is a better car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 46
    • policeman on May 20, 2016 at 6:45 pm

True. It’s refined and comfortable. Hondas on the other hand have crude engines and CVT that are known to fail.

Take a look at the interior of City and Civic. Full of hard, sharp edged plastic all over the dash with huge panel gaps.

Honda is a feminine car so that’s why quality doesn’t matter. Cos women prefer style over substance. Give them a turn with some glitter on it and they’ll be happy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
  • industry insider on May 20, 2016 at 1:15 pm

boring laaaaaaaaa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
  • orang putih on May 20, 2016 at 1:17 pm

Turbo has 2 spec variants..

• heybadigol (Member) on May 20, 2016 at 1:19 pm

Just realised they’ve downgraded the tyres to Conti MC5. The previous Civic top spec had the excellent Michelin PS3, which are best in class. Also, no mudflaps? Honda Malaysia cutting down cost elsewhere to deliver the good stuff. Can’t have them all, eh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
    • targa on May 20, 2016 at 3:50 pm

I always preferred cars with mudflaps. But these days, many cars don’t get it. It’s fine if you’re buying a car with body kit coz you can’t fit them both together but look at cars without body kits and mudflaps, they look funny.

And the mudflaps on the current Honda Accord are so small, they might as well take it off.

• Honda can do better on May 20, 2016 at 1:42 pm

can honda malaysia offer honda sensing (safety features) that safe lives to new civic? lane watch, city brake, adaptive cruising, lane watch assist. sure there are many buyer would want this. thank you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • I’ll admit, I’m not the biggest fan of Japanese cars. But this new Civic is a damn good looking thing. Price this right (around RM140k max for top spec turbo) and we have a winner here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 8
  • Mata sepet is the ‘IN’ thing now for Nippon cars.

• Semi-Value (Member) on May 20, 2016 at 1:58 pm

no lanewatch, no folding seats mazda still better my grandchildren can suffer without the rear air con

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 17
  • this is one nice looking car with good features… gd job Honda Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
  • rosdi on May 20, 2016 at 2:08 pm

Exterior so fugly!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 22
  • UMW TOYOTA on May 20, 2016 at 2:08 pm

no heavy tinted rear window..jpj saman

• Interesting addition to the c segment lineup. Its quite a looker from the front but not so from the rear. Wonder if they did anything to improve the creature comfort to match that of my current altis. The civic did lack alot in that dept previously

• Medic on May 20, 2016 at 2:20 pm

RIP Altis

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • Ben Yap on May 20, 2016 at 2:22 pm

can a car powerslide with electronic parking brake?

i prefer the conventional one for ease of powersliding.

• tok adi on May 22, 2016 at 7:55 am

this time only u think u want to power slide? grab ur kancil ex 660 key and go slide through karak until ur front axle broke down

• got rear aircond vent.. nice.. tq honda malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
  • Ben Yap on May 20, 2016 at 2:57 pm

Hopefully the top of the line is cheaper than the outgoing Civic Navi. The current Navi is ridiculously overpriced!

• Megane on May 20, 2016 at 3:28 pm

The rims with black accents look like KIA products . Look cheap .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
  • bujingyun on May 20, 2016 at 3:28 pm

UMW toyota,such a shame to you.

FACEPALM

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • Seriously on May 20, 2016 at 3:55 pm

At least include Honda Lanewatch and Honda Sensing in Top Variant la. Malaysian not stupid 1 when u take out so many things. Honda Malaysia might win the b-segment with Honda City Easily, but not this 1. Adding Turbo and those LED doesn’t mean auto win…escpecially the other competitor in same segment are very strong too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
    • Seriously on May 20, 2016 at 4:04 pm

If Honda Malaysia wants to save cost, please provide Lanewatch and Honda Sensing as an optional option so the owner can upgrade in the future.But seriously Lanewatch must be included in Top spec Civic as Honda Thailand Did.

• Make sense on May 21, 2016 at 5:08 pm

Agreed. Maybe this is honda malaysia strategy to reduce production price. The more variants to be maintained the higher the production overhead.

• Bolehland.. on May 20, 2016 at 4:26 pm

Yeah, took out so many safety features available overseas.. a bit crazy. Honestly will feel cheated if I buy this one. Ppl say no Honda Sense = nonsense Civic. Charged 120k+ but still nonsense..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • Cheng on May 20, 2016 at 4:06 pm

Delivery of power shod be close to the previous gen 2.0. The big gai here is probably on the cheaper road tax instead of performance. Turbo is not a god mode for vehicle nowadays. Exora has turbo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • Yippie on May 20, 2016 at 4:28 pm

“Who care about this junk?” comments Is what i see most frm this site. Only keyboard warrior riding kapcai or myvi care most coz u can find most of them here and complain this expensive that expensive, bashing bmw suck,Audi cheat, merc old, but nvr drive one even for a mins but they knw better than those super qualified engineers or journalist with their little spm cert or closed college diploma. Paultan site standard being pull down by these bunch of junks eventhough the site is of good quality. This site is for car lover who respect the industry not unsuccessful whining babies. Discuss, not judge, u dont judge something u dont knw, dont drive, or dont own.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 35
    • BashersFC on May 21, 2016 at 9:16 am

Eh since when we cannit bash? We bash p1 in BMW article, bash toyota in honda article , we bash everything!

We bash, we dun read!

• Kan-i-na.

• vodka on May 20, 2016 at 4:55 pm

Honda Malaysia. Please offer us the Thai RS black front grill and rear spoiler as optional accessories.

• Optimus Prime on May 20, 2016 at 5:20 pm

Wow! Gen.2 backside lookalike.

• nobrand on May 20, 2016 at 5:51 pm

Just google this car review worldwide. In general 1.5 turbo not very good. Slow, noisy and not very smooth

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
    • make sense on May 21, 2016 at 12:47 am

May I know which review said the car is slow and not smooth?

• Sean Koh on May 21, 2016 at 9:07 am

As most review in motoring Malaysia did mentioned that the 1.5T engine is slightly louder but definitely faster and more powerful than the 1.8.
      Which review that mentioned such negative comments?

• Dr Lou Kean Keong on May 20, 2016 at 6:57 pm

No Honda Sensing?

• Where’s the paddle shifter ???

• Honda engine is really reliable..my fd civic(8years old) already clocked 180k km with engine sound still smooth like brand new car n fc comparable to my fren’s 1.5 myvi. On the other hand wear n tear parts gotta cost u abit. As a former civic user, im considering to upgrade to this 10gen civic.

• Bro, wait around 3years time for facelift model. Surely a better buy. Dont be like me 1st edition model Honda City, immediately buy one unit.
      After that 3 to 4 years later, facelift with better specs arrived. Pengsan bro. I regretted my mistake until now.
      Unless you are a diehard and cant wait to drive brand new 10th Gen Civic, then its finally up to you. Cheers Civic Fd fan.

• why no sensing? on May 21, 2016 at 12:57 pm

Wah someone claimed Civic FD fuel consumption is comparable with myvi 1.5

Nonsense

• make sense on May 21, 2016 at 1:44 pm

Long distance yes. Civic FD can achieve 17 – 18km/l. Driving around congested city, of course myvi much lighter chassis will have the upper hand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
          • nonsense on May 21, 2016 at 5:37 pm

Most cars have acceptable long distance FC. Only interested in heavy traffic jam FC.

And still nonsense.

• make sense on May 22, 2016 at 12:53 pm

Oh wow, let’s see who is more nonsense here. See, you are just making a very general statement without anything solid. Define acceptable? 38MPG or 40MPG? Define most cars? Why only traffic jam FC is important? Do you represent the common buyers? We know petrol engine is near it’s limitation, if you want marvellous city FC, might as well go for the hybrids.
            VW Jetta US official figures: 28MPG city, 40MPG highway. New Civic US official figures:31MPG city, 42MPG highway. Why then the new Civic is better in both city and highway if Civic has inferior technology and engine?

Obvious basher is obvious. Facepalm.

• Nonsense on May 22, 2016 at 7:30 pm

Of course jetta is less frugal bcoz it has powerful engine , 240Nm. If you want to declare civic has gone top notch, it has to be at least 250Nm or more torque with that FC. Then no argument here.

• heavily tinted rear window?
    what other spec/accessories is missing i wonder :D

• Only wish on May 21, 2016 at 11:33 am

Already looked and test drove the car. Oh, how I wish I could bought this new civic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • Pakulupapito on May 21, 2016 at 2:58 pm

Will it beat FD success?

• Redidiot on May 22, 2016 at 2:34 pm

I still cant get over the fact this car uses a CVT.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on May 23, 2016 at 9:41 pm

Consider a used Elantra at around RM50k (12-18 month old)

• same same on Jun 15, 2016 at 11:12 am

Civic is back!